TV For A Monitor

Discussion in 'The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section' started by Disuto, Mar 19, 2014.

1. Disuto

Disuto Guest

GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 690 4GB
    Hello community,

So, I'm having trouble finding something that will work for me. I'm a game developer and when I'm making games I need a lot of room, so I've been switching back and forth between 3 to 4 monitors. I've been thinking of just getting a 32 inch TV instead but needed help understanding what is it that I need to be looking for to ensure that the TV will work great with a PC.

Recommendations are welcomed but only if you have the model number, and it meets the criteria:

120hz refresh rate
    rather small bezel
    32"
    1080p

I would really appreciate any help with this.

Thank you,

Disuto.

2. Lucifer

Lucifer Guest

GPU:
    Gainward RTX 2060S
  3. yasamoka

yasamoka Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    More resolution not size, I say. Took a look at the 1440p Korean monitors?

Remember too that a TV will have more input lag than a good monitor. Lowest number I've seen for a TV was 18ms which is a full frame of lag and that is frowned upon when dealing with gaming monitors. And that's the lowest figure, you might see anywhere from 60-100ms which is too much.

4. 0blivious

0blivious Ancient Guru

GPU:
    7800 XT / 5700 XT
    The TV industry must be improving as my recent 42" Vizio HDTV is 6ms and I use this as my primary monitor.

5. yasamoka

yasamoka Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    That's response time, not input lag. Totally different things. Response time is the time a pixel takes to transition (almost fully) from one state to another (e.g. Grey-To-Grey). (Pure) input lag is the time it takes from the moment the signal is sent till the moment the panel itself is being updated with the information (disregard pixel response times).

On a sidenote, that TV cannot receive a 120Hz signal. The 120Hz refers to an internal motion smoothing algorithm.