6800GT >> QudroFx4000 questions

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by quyeno, Nov 23, 2004.

1. quyeno

quyeno Guest

Hi guys,

I'm a total newbie at all this modding stuff, i'm so new to it i never even realised this kind of stuff could be done. I'm a 3d artist and currently using a quadr4 900 and WAS about to buy a QuadroFx 4000, that was until i seen a thread at CGChannel about this, it pointed to this forum. To say the least i am absolutely blown away, not only by the fact that this can be done but also by the shear technical skills at this forum! Its amazing.

I have read some of the threads but theres so much info for my newbie head, i can't figure out what to look out for when buying a 6800. I would be grateful if someone could please clarify some points for me.

1. If i want a QuadroFx 4000, do i need to buy a 6800GT? 6800 ultra or will a 6800 do?

2. Does the amount of onboard memory matter? I'm planning to get a 256Mb card.

3. Does brand matter? XFX, PNY, etc... if you have successfully modded a brand, i would love to know which!

4. Is there a better chance of success if i buy a 6800 that uses the P201 PCB? Would that be because its the same board layout as the real quadroFx 4000?

I know its alot of questions but i would be grateful for any help. Hardmodding the card would be a problem as theres a good electronics repair firm just down the road.

Peace
    Quyeno

2. AlecRyben

AlecRyben Guest

GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    1. Standard 6800 will do nicely, since it has the same configuration 12pipe,5vps of a real OEM Dell Quadro FX 4000. If you do get a GT or Ultra, be sure to patch the BIOS with Rivatuner's patch scripts in order to use the full 16pipe,6vp configuration.
    2. It doesn't matter, memory size is being counted at initialization time.
    3. Brand shouldn't matter, but there are no guarantees here.