Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Success - Sapphire ATI X800 Pro VIVO -> ATI X800 XT Platnium Edition
Old
  (#76)
proendo
Newbie
 
Videocard: GeForce 7900 GT OC 680/830 1.55v
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron(tm) 170
Mainboard: DFI NF4 ULTRA SLI Expert
Memory: OCZ Plat EB PC4000
Soundcard: M-AUDIO Firewire 410 4in10out
PSU: Thermal Take Tough Power SLI 750W
Default Success - Sapphire ATI X800 Pro VIVO -> ATI X800 XT Platnium Edition - 10-01-2004, 22:52 | posts: 21

I orginally ordered a Leadtek Geforce 6800 TDH (advertised as having 12 pixel pipelines and 5 vertex pipelines.

I got the LE model instead, paying a premium for it. Leadtek confirmed that this card should not be sold in North American market at all.

Needless to say it had 8 pixel pipelines 4 vertex pipes.

I figured this out by coming to these boards and reading about rivatuner and I thought I would try and unlock pipelines on the 6800 card. Well that didnt work to good. Then I started reading about the X800


I sent the 6800 back and ordered a Sapphire ATI X800 Pro VIVO for around 200 CAN more.

This card has now successfully been bios flashed and runs great under xp as an ATI X800 XT Platnium Edition @ 519.75 core and 560.25 memory (41 gpu temp | 36 chip temp) have not tried overclocking yet

I am finding however that perhpas my system is not keeping up.

CPU AMD XP 2500 (stock)
CASE thermaltake Xaser III runs cool around 37.6
RAM 2x512mb spectk 1811d70b 512 16x(32Mx8) pc3200 cl3 up to 200mhz cl2.5 up to 167 mhz
bank0 256 RAM (3.0-3-3-6CL 2CMD)
bank1 256 RAM (3.0-3-3-6CL 2CMD)
bank2 256 RAM (3.0-3-3-6CL 2CMD)
bank3 256 RAM (3.0-3-3-6CL 2CMD)
bank interleave 4 way
speed 2x210mhz (420mhz data rate)
multiplier 6/5x
width 64 bit
MB Gigabyte GA-7VT600-P-L
Maxtor 40 gig ata 133 7200 8mb boot drive
SATA RAID 0 2x maxtor 80 gig 7200 8mb drive
M-AUDIO revolution 7.1
DVD-burner
probally some other stuff I left out

Basically in PCMARK 05 (firefly forest) I am getting on average 15-20 fps on thier test which is quite choppy I think.

Any suggestions on getting this box running quicker?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Quazi
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-01-2004, 23:45 | posts: n/a

Congrats on the flash. Your system is probably the minimum that these higher end cards should be run on. I am actually running a bit less than you, with a P-4 3.06GHz cpu and only 533MHz fsb. You are using PC3200 ram so that is telling me you are running 800MHz on your fsb, which is great. Let the 3DMark05 run it's course and see where you score. I have been scoring in the low 5000's with my meger system. And you would be surprised what a little bit of overclocking on your cpu will net you. This is where the X800's get bottle necked. Just go a little at a time to make sure your system is stable and the heat is controlled. I think you will do much better by overclocking your cpu some.

Also, install the Cat 4.10 Betas (Build 8.07) Seems as though our X800's have been handicapped because with all the previous Cat drivers, the cards were not able but to utilize 128MB of the 256MB memory the cards have. The 4.10 Betas fixes that. My 3DMark05 score jumped from 3563 using the 4.9's to 5081 using the 4.10 Betas. If you install the 4.10 betas and score in the high 4000's to the low 5000's, without overclocking your cpu, then I'd say you are good to go. But if you do oc your cpu some, you will definately see improvements in your scores and gameplay.

Last edited by Quazi; 10-01-2004 at 23:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
proendo
Newbie
 
Videocard: GeForce 7900 GT OC 680/830 1.55v
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron(tm) 170
Mainboard: DFI NF4 ULTRA SLI Expert
Memory: OCZ Plat EB PC4000
Soundcard: M-AUDIO Firewire 410 4in10out
PSU: Thermal Take Tough Power SLI 750W
Default 10-02-2004, 17:04 | posts: 21

THis driver?

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=877
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
proendo
Newbie
 
Videocard: GeForce 7900 GT OC 680/830 1.55v
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron(tm) 170
Mainboard: DFI NF4 ULTRA SLI Expert
Memory: OCZ Plat EB PC4000
Soundcard: M-AUDIO Firewire 410 4in10out
PSU: Thermal Take Tough Power SLI 750W
Default 10-02-2004, 19:06 | posts: 21

I am having an issue with ATI's CCC 4.9 driver and the beta 8.07 driver.

For some reason I cant control my anolog monitor refresh rate

for instance

I can change the refresh rate to 75hz @ 1280x1024 when the monitor only can do 60hz @ 1024 x 768

basically in any resolution it will do 60hz only no matter what I tell it to do.

Also the monitor in windows is being displayed as default monitor. I tried manually selecting from the driver list "Korea Data Systems Visual Sensations VS-7i" which I know it is from the previous video card. and it only shows the correct refresh rates for the mointor at certain resolutions but still the monitor will not obey the command to go into 75hz @ 1024 x768

I re installed windows with fresh driver install and still no luck.

Any suggestions?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
flashnc
Maha Guru
 
flashnc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770
Processor: MSI Z87 GD-65/ 4670K@ 4.4
Mainboard: EVGA760Classi/watercooled
Memory: 3X2 DominatorGT CL8 2000
Soundcard: TB AK-R8's
PSU: Corsiar 1000
Default 10-02-2004, 23:31 | posts: 1,206 | Location: Wisconsin

you dont have to run the new CCC panel with the 8.07's you can use the older version control panel.not sure if this will help but its worth a try. Flashnc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Alpine$un
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-04-2004, 00:49 | posts: n/a

I've tried downloading the BIOS links on this thread, but non of them seem to work. Can anyone post a working linky (And better still a fool proof idiots guide on what I need to do with it!)

Thanks in advance
   
Reply With Quote
Fool proof
Old
  (#82)
proendo
Newbie
 
Videocard: GeForce 7900 GT OC 680/830 1.55v
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron(tm) 170
Mainboard: DFI NF4 ULTRA SLI Expert
Memory: OCZ Plat EB PC4000
Soundcard: M-AUDIO Firewire 410 4in10out
PSU: Thermal Take Tough Power SLI 750W
Default Fool proof - 10-04-2004, 16:12 | posts: 21

Alpine$un.

If you have a X800 PRO VIVO, THis is for you.

Fool Proof Guide


I used this alone and everything worked out. There is 3 stpes shown on the site

1) To back up your BIOS: (Floppy 'A')

2)To flash to the Gigabyte X800XT BIOS for enabling the 4 locked pipelines (Floppy 'B')

3) To flash to the ATI Retail X800 XT BIOS, for improved over clock (Floppy 'A')


I used 1) and 2) from the site and I now have an X800 XT Platnium Edition! 16 pipes fully functional.

I didnt use step 3) I was happy with default 520mhz core / 560mhz memory for now.

Last edited by proendo; 10-04-2004 at 16:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
PF Prophet
Master Guru
 
PF Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 1070 mini/290x
Processor: AMD FX-9370@4.6ghz 1.4v
Mainboard: Crosshair V-Z
Memory: 32gb gskill ares 2133
Soundcard: CHV-Z + z5500
PSU: EVGA 1300watt psu
Default 10-06-2004, 02:47 | posts: 231 | Location: Washington

moded my card using bios from http://www.techpowerup.com/bios/

i used the asus x800 XT PE bios becouse my card is an asus and i figuared what the hell

works like a charm any xt PE bios from there should cover you but i can say the asus ones work great
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
phrozin
Ancient Guru
 
phrozin's Avatar
 
Videocard: gskill ripjaw 2133
Processor: i7 4960x
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair
Default 10-13-2004, 09:00 | posts: 2,842 | Location: Earth

nice site prophet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
alexgontijo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 7800 GTX
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.7 GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP NF4 UT UltraD
Memory: GSKill 2 GB F1 DDR500 MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Audigy2
PSU: Samsung 740N
Default 10-14-2004, 21:09 | posts: 140 | Location: BH - Brazil

Just a urgent question:

Does anyone knows if a X800PRO modded to X800XT PE is recognized as XT PE in the BIOS and in the drivers? ATI Tool shows it like PRO or XT?

Please, I need this information asap!

Or I have another question: MSI X800XT PE comes with the cooler that covers the memory modules or not? Because my friend is buying one, that don't have the memory covered, but in the MSI site the picture shows a covered card.

Thanks!

AleX

Last edited by alexgontijo; 10-14-2004 at 21:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default 10-14-2004, 23:06 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

About the MSI card, i dont know is it ram-covered!

About the Pro-XT q., YES it shows the card
as XT anywhere u check! It actually became a XT model, as long as u back-flash the card to its original BIOS, it will be XT on any PC u install it!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
alexgontijo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 7800 GTX
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.7 GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP NF4 UT UltraD
Memory: GSKill 2 GB F1 DDR500 MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Audigy2
PSU: Samsung 740N
Default 10-15-2004, 05:05 | posts: 140 | Location: BH - Brazil

Thanks Zarul!!

I'm confirming what you're saying, and its correct!

AleX
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
SVT Amateur
Maha Guru
 
SVT Amateur's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2 Ghz @ 3.925 Ghz
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE w/ Intel 925XE PCI-Express
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1 GB DDR2 PC2-4300 533 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 10-16-2004, 04:56 | posts: 1,100 | Location: San Antonio, Texas

Does anyone know if I can flash my PCI-Express x800 XT VIVO card with a AGP x800 XT PE VIVO bios?? I am 99% sure no PCI-Express x800 XT PE card has been made but am I right in guessing that an AGP bios won't work on a PCI-Express card??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default 10-16-2004, 07:05 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

I'm almost sure that u CAN flash it!
Doesnt matter wethever is AGP or PCI-E !
Just u have to gather some info how to do it, cuz i dont know!

Wish u luck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
SVT Amateur
Maha Guru
 
SVT Amateur's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2 Ghz @ 3.925 Ghz
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE w/ Intel 925XE PCI-Express
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1 GB DDR2 PC2-4300 533 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 10-16-2004, 13:10 | posts: 1,100 | Location: San Antonio, Texas

I just noticed I don't have a floppy drive Guess I would need to burn those files on a CD and just boot from CD instead.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default 10-16-2004, 19:43 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

yeah, u have to !

actually, I prefer to use CD instead of floppy, cuz u never know, most of the diskkets are faulty, and can damage ur card if wrong flash is done!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
SVT Amateur
Maha Guru
 
SVT Amateur's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2 Ghz @ 3.925 Ghz
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE w/ Intel 925XE PCI-Express
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1 GB DDR2 PC2-4300 533 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 10-16-2004, 22:16 | posts: 1,100 | Location: San Antonio, Texas

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
yeah, u have to !

actually, I prefer to use CD instead of floppy, cuz u never know, most of the diskkets are faulty, and can damage ur card if wrong flash is done!
Nice to know that I can update the bios from a floppy. Now I just need to find someone that has flashed their x800 XT PCI-Express to x800 XT PE with an AGP bios or even a PCI-Express bios if one exists.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
carfunatics
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 9800 Pro
Processor: XP-M2600@240x11 (2646MHz_
Mainboard: DFI LanParty Ultra B
Memory: 2x512 Mushkin PC3200 2-2-2 Special
Soundcard: Acoustic Research
PSU: Kicks Butt
Default 10-16-2004, 22:51 | posts: 42 | Location: Chicago, Illinois

That's a great score.
But it's not because it's a Gateway PC.

It's because that HIS X800 XT ICE-Q simply hauls ass.
I seriously doubt that flashing to an XT-PE bios will gain you anything that can not be gained by increasing the clocks further if you can. Don't see why it would be a problem flashing either.

Your intel has me beat by a whole lotta megahertz and our scores are almost identical. http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=81060
05 is extremely card dependent.
I'm using an ATI X800 Pro VIVO flashed to an ATI-XT PE if you'd like to compare.

IS the HIS card available with the Dell? Or added at a later date?

Last edited by carfunatics; 10-16-2004 at 22:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
SVT Amateur
Maha Guru
 
SVT Amateur's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2 Ghz @ 3.925 Ghz
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE w/ Intel 925XE PCI-Express
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1 GB DDR2 PC2-4300 533 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 10-16-2004, 23:12 | posts: 1,100 | Location: San Antonio, Texas

Quote:
Originally posted by carfunatics
That's a great score.
But it's not because it's a Gateway PC.

It's because that HIS X800 XT ICE-Q simply hauls ass.
I seriously doubt that flashing to an XT-PE bios will gain you anything that can not be gained by increasing the clocks further if you can. Don't see why it would be a problem flashing either.

Your intel has me beat by a whole lotta megahertz and our scores are almost identical. http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=81060
05 is extremely card dependent.
I'm using an ATI X800 Pro VIVO flashed to an ATI-XT PE if you'd like to compare.

IS the HIS card available with the Dell? Or added at a later date?
I think AMD's do better in the benchmarks than the Intel's (I've seen a lot of lower AMD's getting around the same score as me). I also think it is probably due to the amount of RAM I have, and that is next on my list to be upgraded. It looks as if you have also overclocked your FSB (although I could be wrong) and no Gateways don't offer the x800's, I got it from superpcmart. I have seen other x800 Pro users getting a lot higher clocks than me just due to the XT PE bios (and also good cooling systems, but my card also has a decent cooling system).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default 10-17-2004, 17:16 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

I didnt notice that u have XT card. So it is absolutely unnessery to FLASH it to XT PE bios. U'll not gonna gain more performance, u just gonna void ur WARRENTY if u do it! So just dont! U have one of the best card on the market. That HIS X800 is just great. The card has that Arctic Silencer Rev.4, the best cooler for X800' cards! Just overclock the card as much as u can and that's all u can do to gain more FPS! I'm tellin u, dont FLASH ur card, u dont need this!
Acttuly "6079" is one of the highest scores on earth! So....i think ur a happy man!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default 10-17-2004, 17:18 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

i make 5460 scores !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
SVT Amateur
Maha Guru
 
SVT Amateur's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2 Ghz @ 3.925 Ghz
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE w/ Intel 925XE PCI-Express
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1 GB DDR2 PC2-4300 533 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 10-17-2004, 19:18 | posts: 1,100 | Location: San Antonio, Texas

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
I didnt notice that u have XT card. So it is absolutely unnessery to FLASH it to XT PE bios. U'll not gonna gain more performance, u just gonna void ur WARRENTY if u do it! So just dont! U have one of the best card on the market. That HIS X800 is just great. The card has that Arctic Silencer Rev.4, the best cooler for X800' cards! Just overclock the card as much as u can and that's all u can do to gain more FPS! I'm tellin u, dont FLASH ur card, u dont need this!
Acttuly "6079" is one of the highest scores on earth! So....i think ur a happy man!
Thanks. I decided earlier not to try to flash it because I haven't found a PCI-Express bios, I can't find anyone who has a PCI-Express card flashing their bios, I don't have a floppy drive, and I don't think the gains (if any) would be worth the work it would take. I'm just one of those guys that goes from hobby to hobby and when I have find one I like I find out everything I can about it and do whatever I can to make it the best. Right now I'm on the computer modding bug and I have definately learned that I will build my next computer. As we speak I am putting up on eBay some of my other hobbies (top of the line iPAQ with $500 accessories, XMod that has $200 invested in it, PlayStation 2 with $300 accessories). Who knows what will be next?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
freeman28
Member Guru
 
Videocard: SLI GTX 670
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 12 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair GS700W
Default 10-25-2004, 14:06 | posts: 130 | Location: Portugal

the Club 3D ATI Radeon X800 PRO 475/450 256MB VIVO can be moded to a X800 XT???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
SVT Amateur
Maha Guru
 
SVT Amateur's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2 Ghz @ 3.925 Ghz
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE w/ Intel 925XE PCI-Express
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1 GB DDR2 PC2-4300 533 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 10-25-2004, 14:14 | posts: 1,100 | Location: San Antonio, Texas

Quote:
Originally posted by freeman28
the Club 3D ATI Radeon X800 PRO 475/450 256MB VIVO can be moded to a X800 XT???
Yes, it seems that all x800 Pro VIVO's just have the 4 remaining pipelines turned off, and not cut. You can enable these by flashing an XT bios, and from what I've heard the Gigabyte bios is the one to use. But I'm no expert on this as I haven't done the flash, but there is plenty of information in this thread to lead you to what you need in order to do this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
darkclone13
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire ATI x800XTPE@560/600 w/c
Processor: AMD64 3400+ @ 2.5ghz,AC Cuplex XT
Mainboard: Asus k8v Deluxe
Memory: 1.5GB Corsair xms pro3200LL
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS/Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1
PSU: Sony 19" LCD, Sony 19"CRT
Default 11-02-2004, 03:04 | posts: 48 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Anyone try and flash their sapphire X800XT(non PE) to the sapphire X800XTPE bios? I want to flash but don't have a pci card if anything fails and would like some feedback from some members. Should i use the ATI X800XTPE bios because i heard they overclock better? Should i use the gigabyte flash utility?

Please give me some feedback, btw, my vanilla XT will do 560/600 with no artifacting at all, completely stable.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.