Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-05-2004, 13:12 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Xv-Le-vX
Does anyone have better pictures of the penciling? like where to actually pencil on the pcb board? A before and after picture which clearly shows the after penciling. Thanks!
Follow their 9800XT guide:
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=760&s=1

Exactly the same basic principles as the X800 volt mod.


Quote:
Originally posted by Spike1977
With the Arctic Cooling Rev. 4 VGA Silencer, you will not need ramsink's, as the silence fit's over the ram and takes the heat away from them as well.

I brought ramsinks at the same time and then found that I had just brought them for no reason!

I am running my X800Pro, now as a fully 16 Pipe X800 XT PE, Core 520, Mem 520 (1120 DDR).

Sweet results as well.

Spike
I wasn't aware that the Rev. 4 came with a back plate for the rear RAM modules. Fair enough.
   
Reply With Quote
 
rev.4
Old
  (#52)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default rev.4 - 09-05-2004, 13:14 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

10x guys.

i'l check it out.
   
Reply With Quote
watercool.
Old
  (#53)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default watercool. - 09-05-2004, 13:15 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

what ca u tell me about the Cool-Matic X800 Cooler?

Is it good?

it costs 150$
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Xv-Le-vX
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA E-Geforce 6800GT + NV Silenver 5
Processor: A64 3200+ NewCastle /w XP-120+Panaflo
Mainboard: DFI LP NF3 250GB
Memory: 2*512MB OCZ EL GOLD VX
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek AC 97
PSU:
Default 09-06-2004, 04:23 | posts: 39 | Location: BC, Canada

Quote:
Follow their 9800XT guide:
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=760&s=1

Exactly the same basic principles as the X800 volt mod.
so do i just pencil in one pin to another? or the entire resistor itself? and does it matter where on the pcb board i pencil it in? like on the white box around the resistor or inbetween it?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-06-2004, 10:11 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Xv-Le-vX
so do i just pencil in one pin to another? or the entire resistor itself? and does it matter where on the pcb board i pencil it in? like on the white box around the resistor or inbetween it?
You pencil along the side of the resistor, bridinging the contact points. This lowers the resistance which increases the voltage being allowed to pass through.

Pencil in the same place as they did to be sure. Be careful not to knock/shake/wipe the pencil graphite off or you'll loose you voltmod.
Pencil on the PCB/along side of restistor rather than ontop of the resistor.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Xv-Le-vX
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA E-Geforce 6800GT + NV Silenver 5
Processor: A64 3200+ NewCastle /w XP-120+Panaflo
Mainboard: DFI LP NF3 250GB
Memory: 2*512MB OCZ EL GOLD VX
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek AC 97
PSU:
Default 09-06-2004, 19:55 | posts: 39 | Location: BC, Canada

thanks sl2
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 09-10-2004, 08:05 | posts: 64 | Location: USA

so exactly what does Vivo mean i'm so confused. It just that your card supports video in and video out? or is it much more complicated.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-10-2004, 12:56 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by dzy_1
so exactly what does Vivo mean i'm so confused. It just that your card supports video in and video out? or is it much more complicated.....
Yep, Video In Video Out.
That means that is has a rage theater chip [See rear side of card] and there's a very, very good chance that you can flash it to a different BIOS to unlock the 4 softlocked pixel pipelines. Some OEM's were lazy/rushed so you may even get 1.6ns ram [as opposed to 2.0ns] so can OC the ram much further.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 [8GB]
Processor: 6820HK [4.0GHz]
Mainboard: MSI MS-17A1
Memory: 16GB DDR4 [2400]
Soundcard: ESS Sabre HiFi
PSU: Delta 230W
Default 09-11-2004, 22:15 | posts: 5,407 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

Small ATI RADEON X800 Pro VIVO -> X800 XT Guide, was told by WildStyle to slap it on here , Remember use at your own risk!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 09-11-2004, 22:23 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

I'll edit it into the first post too, so that it's easier to find.
Thanks UZ7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
Gajdycz
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-12-2004, 03:16 | posts: n/a

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE


1. i heard saphirres flash to xts well

2. it has that yellow connecter(pics)

3. ur knowlegde?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-12-2004, 05:18 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

1. Most VIVO models flash to XT [16 pipelines] fine [Saphire, Connect3D, Gigabyte, Powercolour, HIS].
2. I'll refer you to the following disclaimer:
Quote:
Please note: due to manufacturer version updates, pictures may vary from the actual item. Newer versions of this item may be shipped before the picture shown is updated.
3. It is not a VIVO so 9/10 it will not unlock the 4 locked pixel pipelines [12 -> 16] via flashing. That doesn't mean you can't attempt hardmodding it.

[Repeated post for the thread]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Gajdycz
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-12-2004, 16:08 | posts: n/a

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

will this flah?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-13-2004, 01:50 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Gajdycz
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

will this flah?
Most probably. The only sure way to know is to get one and see.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Quazi
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-13-2004, 02:28 | posts: n/a

It doesn't have the rage theatre chip on the back. If that is an actual picture of the card if you arder it, then no, it will not flash. I know the advertisement says VIVO, but VIVO cards have a CD input below the power connection molex and a rage theatre chip on the back of the card. If a card says and doesn't have these items, than it isn't a VIVO and probably will not flash.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-13-2004, 02:42 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Quazi
It doesn't have the rage theatre chip on the back. If that is an actual picture of the card if you arder it, then no, it will not flash. I know the advertisement says VIVO, but VIVO cards have a CD input below the power connection molex and a rage theatre chip on the back of the card. If a card says and doesn't have these items, than it isn't a VIVO and probably will not flash.
The photo's are just a visual aid. Please read my previous post.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 09-13-2004, 05:42 | posts: 64 | Location: USA

Do ATI brand cards have that or only those Asus, etc have those chips?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Quazi
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-13-2004, 06:01 | posts: n/a

Most all manufactures that produce the X800Pro also produces the VIVO card also.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-13-2004, 06:15 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

VIVO = Comes with RageTheater chip = Rushed OEM's softlock X800XTPE's to VIVO X800Pro's to fill demand.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 09-13-2004, 09:31 | posts: 64 | Location: USA

The thing is I just bought a x800 pro that is signified as being produced by ATI not by other manufacturers. The stats on the ATI website states that the pro doesn't have video in features, so i was wondering if ATI even makes Vivo cards or just other companies do it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-13-2004, 10:11 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by dzy_1
The thing is I just bought a x800 pro that is signified as being produced by ATI not by other manufacturers. The stats on the ATI website states that the pro doesn't have video in features, so i was wondering if ATI even makes Vivo cards or just other companies do it.
Not sure, but seeing as the press sample BBA [Built By ATi] X800Pro's were all VIVO models, a few have to exist somewhere.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 09-13-2004, 19:43 | posts: 64 | Location: USA

SWEET! W00t thnx dude, hehe!

EDIT: IT CAME IN AND IT HAS A RAGE THEATRE CHIP!!!! w00t I LUV U ALL!! ok i'm done ^^ so if i have anyproblems with the flashing i'll be back to bother you guys again! thnx

Last edited by dzy_1; 09-14-2004 at 07:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
wilka91
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX GeForce 7900GT Faulty Edition!
Processor: Athlon64 3400+
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-K8NE
Memory: 1024 MB RAM PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy
PSU: Fortron Blue Storm 500W
Default 09-25-2004, 14:26 | posts: 204

My friends, it turns out that my BBA X800 Pro overclocks pretty well, I can run any benchmark or game @ 540/570 (and even more).

Is it any indication that this could be an easily moddable card?

I still have to find a conductive pen ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Quazi
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-25-2004, 19:49 | posts: n/a

If your card has a yellow connector just below the power connection and/or the rage 3D theatre chip on the back of the card, then it will easily mod into an XT PE because it is a VIVO. If not, I don't think it will mod at all. At least the last two X800Pro non-VIVO's I've owned would not mod, even with doing the hard mod and flash.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-25-2004, 21:48 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by wilka91
My friends, it turns out that my BBA X800 Pro overclocks pretty well, I can run any benchmark or game @ 540/570 (and even more).

Is it any indication that this could be an easily moddable card?

I still have to find a conductive pen ...
Not really. Overclockability has no relation to whether a mod will be sucessful or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.