Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
flashnc
Maha Guru
 
flashnc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770
Processor: MSI Z87 GD-65/ 4670K@ 4.4
Mainboard: EVGA760Classi/watercooled
Memory: 3X2 DominatorGT CL8 2000
Soundcard: TB AK-R8's
PSU: Corsiar 1000
Default 08-29-2004, 23:38 | posts: 1,206 | Location: Wisconsin

check to make sure it has 1.6 memory on "both sides" of the card..if it does then flash it....... i forgot where ( what page it is on..but start looking in the page 6 area and read from there in the link he gave you...Flashnc

Last edited by flashnc; 08-29-2004 at 23:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 08-30-2004, 00:23 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by flashnc
check to make sure it has 1.6 memory on "both sides" of the card..if it does then flash it....... i forgot where ( what page it is on..but start looking in the page 6 area and read from there in the link he gave you...Flashnc
It doesn't have to be 1.6ns RAM. Mine's only 2.0ns and it's fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default 09-02-2004, 03:55 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

Quote:
[i]
1) Buy some flopies.

2) Insert the first floppy, right click it, choose format, and choose to make it a bootable DOS floppy.

3) Copy the following files onto the floppy*: flashrom, flashrom.chg, and flashrom.rom (DISK1)

4) Repeat step 2 and copy the following files onto the floppy*: atiflash.cfg, dos4gw, gvf11, and r80x256v.f1 (DISK2)

5) Repeat step 2 and copy the following files onto the floppy*: ATI.X800XT.256.Samsung16, flashrom, flashrom.chg, and flashrom.rom

6) Reboot and tell BIOS to boot from floppy, then restart.

7) Insert floppy (DISK1) and wait for DOS prompt.

8) Type the following command: flashrom -s 0 X800Pro_original.bin

9) Reboot and switch to floppy DISK2... wait for DOS prompt

10) Type the following command: gvf11 -P -F R80X256V_filename.F1

11) Reboot, go into Windows XP, and check in ATI tool to see if all 16 pipelines are now unlocked. If sucessful, proceed to step 12.

12) Insert DISK3 and reboot, wait for DOS prompt.

13) Type the following command: flashrom -p 0 ATIX800XT-filename.bin

14) ALL DONE! Check with benchmarks and torture tests to make sure the card is working like an XT. [/B]
Everything works!

I bought sapphire x88pro-vivo, yestarday,
i made all the steps ang, vuala....!
All the 16pipelines ready to rock!

There is a little problem, i would say BIG problem, but....

After the flash, i just cant hit any higher than:
510 Core.
520 Mem.

I make 11300scores on 3dmark03.

How can i o/c more,
and what should i do?

Please somebody help me, cuz i gave 470$$bucks !!!

WTF is goin' on?
--------------------------
WildStyle, plz responde to my needs!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Quazi
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-02-2004, 07:42 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
Everything works!

I bought sapphire x88pro-vivo, yestarday,
i made all the steps ang, vuala....!
All the 16pipelines ready to rock!

There is a little problem, i would say BIG problem, but....

After the flash, i just cant hit any higher than:
510 Core.
520 Mem.

I make 11300scores on 3dmark03.

How can i o/c more,
and what should i do?

Please somebody help me, cuz i gave 470$$bucks !!!

WTF is goin' on?
--------------------------
WildStyle, plz responde to my needs!
First of all, you spent $70 more than you needed to imo. But, if you get a XT PE out of it, you're still better off m8. XT PE MSRP is $499. Anyway, to your dilema. I take it that you are using an XT PE's bios and having to clock down. If not, try to flash an XT PE's bios to your card. Timings are a bit different from the Pros and this may allow you get the clock speed you want. If you are using an XT PE's bios now and are having to clock down, then you might try two things. You could try another XT PE bios. It seems some bios are better that others for clocking. Or, you can perform a volt mod using the pencil trick. I think this would probably be what you need to do. Before my pencil trick volt mod, I could only get 527MHz out of the core. After the volt mod, I can get 587MHz out of the core. I don't run it there because oc'ing the memory takes away a bit. But I can get 543/558 with no problems out of my X800Pro 12 pipe non-VIVO. Hope this is helpful m8. Good luck.
   
Reply With Quote
 
pro@xt
Old
  (#30)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default pro@xt - 09-02-2004, 22:07 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

Thanx m8.

I'll try another bios by now, and report back the results.

If things get nasty, i'll try the volt-mod, but as a last step.

I'm little scared to volt-mod it, but if it has
to....

Now i'm running my XT PE at 510/510 cuz it's solid stable.

I mark 11300scores.

When the card is full load, it hits 70C-73C.

If somebody has something on mind, just reply it.
---------------------------
WildStyle, i'm baggin' you to answer me!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 09-02-2004, 22:15 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

What's with needing me to answer your queries?
There are many more knowledgable people here who know more than I do on the subject. (Cough *SL2* cough... man, bad cough today.)
   
Reply With Quote
SL2?
Old
  (#32)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default SL2? - 09-02-2004, 23:34 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

what is SL2?

and if i put watercool,
is there any chance to hit much higher frequences?

And please tell me wtf, should i do to make it better?

I spend lot of bucks on that damn card!

Help me out, i have read every forum i found and just cant find the solution.

I even drop to 500/500 when is hot outside!

I just dont want to accept such a poor freqs.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: SL2?
Old
  (#33)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default Re: SL2? - 09-02-2004, 23:51 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
what is SL2?

and if i put watercool,
is there any chance to hit much higher frequences?

And please tell me wtf, should i do to make it better?

I spend lot of bucks on that damn card!

Help me out, i have read every forum i found and just cant find the solution.

I even drop to 500/500 when is hot outside!

I just dont want to accept such a poor freqs.
The problem is indeed voltage. Water cooling will help with your temps but you wont gain any higher frequencies untill you voltmod [Volt mod + water cooling = say hello to GPU 590+ and normal temps].

Anything 80C or below is perfectly fine for an overclocked 'Pro' on load.

Use the X800XTPE.Samsung.Rev.01 bios if you're not allready as it loosens the memory timings slightly to allow for more stable / higher memory clock frequencies. It should allow you to hit default 520 / 570 without a volt mod.

If you're experiencing 'snow' type artifacts then you should get some BGA ramsinks and improve your airflow around your card.
   
Reply With Quote
X800pro@xt!
Old
  (#34)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default X800pro@xt! - 09-03-2004, 00:24 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

Hey, SL2 ur my man from now on.

Ok.

First, can u give me a link to that bios:X800XTPE.Samsung.Rev.01
I'm using :Sapphire.X800XT.256.Samsung16
and i just can hit any higher than 510/510 stable.
Ur are tellin me that i should be stable at 520/560, but i'm not!

I actually barely hit 70C full load.

And if volt-mod it, will i broke or somehow damage my card!

Give me cluez plz.

I want to try that bios ur talking of.

And ask me quastions if u have to, so i can give u answers, and point you closer to my problem!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 09-03-2004, 00:55 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

See, SL2 is the man regarding X800's.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: X800pro@xt!
Old
  (#36)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default Re: X800pro@xt! - 09-03-2004, 01:14 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
Hey, SL2 ur my man from now on.

Ok.

First, can u give me a link to that bios:X800XTPE.Samsung.Rev.01
I'm using :Sapphire.X800XT.256.Samsung16
and i just can hit any higher than 510/510 stable.
Ur are tellin me that i should be stable at 520/560, but i'm not!

I actually barely hit 70C full load.

And if volt-mod it, will i broke or somehow damage my card!

Give me cluez plz.

I want to try that bios ur talking of.

And ask me quastions if u have to, so i can give u answers, and point you closer to my problem!
http://home.wanadoo.nl/c.everdegem/A....Samsung16.bin

^ I believe that is the same BIOS I used [Built By ATi]. Had a hard time finding a source named Rev01 [Mvktech's updated his site and cleaned out his downloads for now ]. I'm not 100% sure that's the one [Might be the same as your current one]. You'll need try it and see I'm afraid. BTW check that you still have 16 pipelines afterwards.

After the flash, your RAM should be able to keep the default 573Mhz clock speed. If it's unstable, then lower your GPU clock speed from 520Mhz to 510Mhz-500Mhz.

If you pencil voltmod it you'll loose your warrenty from an ethical point of view. There is a chance you can fubar it up.
Basically, go here:
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=817&s=1

You'll need a digital multimeter, a 2B pencil and a piece of cellotape/good electrical tape [About 2cm will do it]. If you take your time and do it slowly [E.g. don't be a cowboy] you should be fine.
If you're a completely stupid muppet who's just asking for it to go pear shaped and you're thinking about attempting a blind voltmod it's 4 lines [one on top the other] with a 2B pencil. That will net you up to 585Mhz on the GPU stable but temps/artifacts at 585Mhz are your concern.
   
Reply With Quote
x800pro@xt marks!!!
Old
  (#37)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default x800pro@xt marks!!! - 09-03-2004, 05:25 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

"General Information
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
DirectX Version 9.0b
Mobo Manufacturer http://www.abit.com.tw/
Mobo Model IC7/IC7-G(Intel i875P-ICH5)
AGP Rates (Current/Available) 8x / 4x, 8x
CPU Intel Pentium 4 4376 MHz
FSB 327 MHz
Memory 512 MB

Display Information
Graphics Chipset ATI RADEON X800 XT PE
Driver Name RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition
Driver Version 6.14.10.6458
Driver Status WHQL - Not FM Approved
Video Memory 256 MB
Core Clock 756 MHz
Memory Clock 693 MHz

Sound Information
Sound Adapter Driver Name
Sound Adapter Driver Version

Benchmark Settings
Program Version 3DMark03 Revision 4 Build 0
Resolution 1024x768@32 bit
Texture Filtering Optimal
Pixel Processing / Antialiasing None
Post Processing false
Vertex Shaders Optimal

Main Test Results
3DMark Score 18076 3DMarks
CPU Score Not enough CPU tests run

Detailed Test Results

Game Tests
GT1 - Wings of Fury 428.2 fps
GT2 - Battle of Proxycon 138.1 fps
GT3 - Troll's Lair 107.4 fps
GT4 - Mother Nature 123.6 fps
"
--------------------------
Hey m8z, can u belive that?
A guy named Oshi...something just flash his card to XT, with stock cooling.
His card is HIS X800Pro, the one with da fansy cooling solution.
He doesnt say how he did this, but i think he is lying or something, cuz 18kmarks, that just unbelivable!
Just look at the scores, i'll be f glad if i just can hit 15k..or let say 13k at least, but 18k is my ultimate dream!
With stock cooling !
omg.
If there is a chance to hit such scores, i'll buy watercooling right away tommorow!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default 09-03-2004, 07:49 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

^ P4 4.37Ghz / 327FSB

GPU: 756 / Mem: 693

I'd say it's possibly legit but I can't see him churning out those scores with stock cooling unless it was artifacting horrendously.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Quazi
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2004, 13:25 | posts: n/a

Believe it or not. Those scores are possible m8's. A m8 of mine in the forum I frequent was getting the same results from overclocking his ram and cpu over the 4GHz mark. As a matter of fact, he was using the same mobo. These cards are being bottlenecked terribly by our systems. One thing about it though, as technology increases as far as cpu speed, the better these cards will perform. I believe him only because I know someone else that was getting these numbers by overclocking his system to the max.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
madpoet
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2004, 20:17 | posts: n/a

So is there a definitive list for which cards this generally works for? Or a place I can get one that meets the specs? I hate asking like an idiot
   
Reply With Quote
X800XT Q
Old
  (#41)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default X800XT Q - 09-03-2004, 23:03 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

Hi
I have some quastions
for u SL2 and WildStyle.

Is my CPU, (which is 3200+/2200Mhz/Barton/512L2/200fsb/),
bottlenecks my X800XT PE 256MB?
I have 2x256DualChannel 3200 Ram.

And why i get artifacts and snow at freq. like 520/520, i just cant find out why, cuz most of the people who has flashed their cards to Xt, easyly hits at least 520/550 without probs.?

Give me clues!
   
Reply With Quote
forgot
Old
  (#42)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default forgot - 09-03-2004, 23:08 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

I just wanna tell ya, that i dont go over 75C max temps, and some say that, such temps are not so high.
I would say that i never actully go over 70C, but let say 75C for example.

Poeple with 80C hits like 520-540core/550-600mem

As i told u, my VC is Sapphire X800Pro@XT PE vivo, and everything
which is needable to be moded!

I cant understand why is this happaning to me?
   
Reply With Quote
Re: forgot
Old
  (#43)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default Re: forgot - 09-05-2004, 02:22 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
I just wanna tell ya, that i dont go over 75C max temps, and some say that, such temps are not so high.
I would say that i never actully go over 70C, but let say 75C for example.

Poeple with 80C hits like 520-540core/550-600mem

As i told u, my VC is Sapphire X800Pro@XT PE vivo, and everything
which is needable to be moded!

I cant understand why is this happaning to me?
Every AMD XP CPU is a bottle neck for this card, lol. Don't let it bother you too much, just means if you get a shiny AMD64 or a really high end P4 [3.6Ghz, ect] you'll notice much larger jumps in performance.

If you're getting 'snow' type aftifacts then I'd suggest purchasing some BGA ramsinks [OCZ copper ones would do niceley] and possibly purchase the new VGA Silencer HSF to keep your GPU nice and cool [Hot air from the fan is probably what's causing your RAM to overheat]. That and generally improve your airflow ect.
Could just be that your card wont overclock as high as other peoples, not everyone's a winner I'm afraid. However, a 16 pipe card for the cost of a 12 pipe is a bargin anyway, so you should still be satisfied.

I have a Suttle XPC with a TV card in my PCI slot so it's pretty compact in there. So I don't like to let my card get over 75C as well.
Over 75C is fine for some people and I think ATi said themselves that it's perfectly fine to let them hit up to 80C before temps become a concern.

Last edited by SL2; 09-05-2004 at 02:28.
   
Reply With Quote
overclock. better freq.
Old
  (#44)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default overclock. better freq. - 09-05-2004, 03:18 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

First, i wanna thank you for ur complete answer.

I'm afraid that such things like, "VGA Silencer HSF", and
BGA ramsinks, cant be found where i live.
I'll ask them on mondey, can they supply me with one of those, but if i couldnt find one, could u tell me different models, that will help me to keep my card cooled and straight?

For example, TermalTake GIANT 3,and TermalTake copper RAM sinks, will they do the job?

Any other suggestions?

Thanx a lot m8!
   
Reply With Quote
Re: overclock. better freq.
Old
  (#45)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default Re: overclock. better freq. - 09-05-2004, 03:33 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
First, i wanna thank you for ur complete answer.

I'm afraid that such things like, "VGA Silencer HSF", and
BGA ramsinks, cant be found where i live.
I'll ask them on mondey, can they supply me with one of those, but if i couldnt find one, could u tell me different models, that will help me to keep my card cooled and straight?

For example, TermalTake GIANT 3,and TermalTake copper RAM sinks, will they do the job?

Any other suggestions?

Thanx a lot m8!
Arctic Cooling Rev. 4 VGA Silencer
http://www.tekheads.co.uk/s/product?product=603515

You'll probably only be able to get them from online sites like that one. I would not recommend the Thermaltake GIANT 3 for two reasons; One, I'm not sure if it will fit the X800 series and two, I don't think it's up to the job of cooling it much better than the standard HSF.

The Thermaltake copper ramsinks you mentioned will be for TSOP [rectangular] type ram. They can still fit onto BGA [square] ram modules but you will need to make sure that they don't bridge any other components on the PCB [I'd using some Coolermaster aluminium TSOP type sinks and it's fine].
What I did was to doubled them up together so each rear BGA ram module had two heatsinks attached to them. 2x rectangle heatsinks make a large square heatsink. Much better for heat dissipation.
You will need 8x TSOP ramsinks for the rear and 4x TSOP for the front [Standard 'Pro' cooler blocks the ram modules slightly so you can only fit one heatsink per module. You may find that the top corner one will need to be positioned at a 45 degree angle to fit next to the HSF].
I should note that you wont need any heatsinks for the front if you purchase a VGA Silencer Rev. 4 as it comes with a plate that covers the ram modules on that side.

Last edited by SL2; 09-05-2004 at 03:35.
   
Reply With Quote
cooler
Old
  (#46)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default cooler - 09-05-2004, 03:50 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

Ok so i think i'll be able to purchase The Silenser and the Coolermaster RAMsinks, but i have a quastion.

Is it better to put a watercool on the card?
And what type do u suggest?
Can u give me links to buy em online or tell me the names?


Thank u very much, u are helping me so...
   
Reply With Quote
Re: cooler
Old
  (#47)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: ASRock Z97M-ITX/ac
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V565
PSU: Corsair CS650M
Default Re: cooler - 09-05-2004, 04:01 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Zarul
Ok so i think i'll be able to purchase The Silenser and the Coolermaster RAMsinks, but i have a quastion.

Is it better to put a watercool on the card?
And what type do u suggest?
Can u give me links to buy em online or tell me the names?


Thank u very much, u are helping me so...
I don't know of any water cooling blocks that would fit the X800, you'd have to wait for other people to answer that question or create a new thread in the Overclocking/Modding forum.
Water cooling would give you much better cooling results, but if your not very up together with the subject, I'd pass on it.

As for RAM sinks, I'd stick with the Thermaltake ones because they are of a higher quality and are a better design [Plus they're copper]. I'm only using coolermaster one's atm because that was all I could get hold of on short notice.
   
Reply With Quote
re
Old
  (#48)
Zarul
Master Guru
 
Zarul's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB@661core
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400@3.6
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: DOMINATOR/8500C5/2x1GB
Soundcard: X-FI XtremeMusic/Z-5500
PSU: FORTRON BlueStorm AX500W
Default re - 09-05-2004, 04:09 | posts: 358 | Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

10x m8.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Xv-Le-vX
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA E-Geforce 6800GT + NV Silenver 5
Processor: A64 3200+ NewCastle /w XP-120+Panaflo
Mainboard: DFI LP NF3 250GB
Memory: 2*512MB OCZ EL GOLD VX
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek AC 97
PSU:
Default 09-05-2004, 10:49 | posts: 39 | Location: BC, Canada

Quote:
If you pencil voltmod it you'll loose your warrenty from an ethical point of view. There is a chance you can fubar it up.
Basically, go here:
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=817&s=1
Does anyone have better pictures of the penciling? like where to actually pencil on the pcb board? A before and after picture which clearly shows the after penciling. Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Spike1977
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ATi Radeon X800 XTPE 256MB VIVO Artic Cooling Rev4
Processor: AMD Atholon 64 Bit 3200+ (temp = 34C 100% load)
Mainboard: Asus K8V SE
Memory: 1536DDR 3200
Soundcard: Creative Audigy
PSU: ASUS DVD-ROM + Pioneer DVD-RW x4
Default 09-05-2004, 12:00 | posts: 236 | Location: Isle of Wight UK

With the Arctic Cooling Rev. 4 VGA Silencer, you will not need ramsink's, as the silence fit's over the ram and takes the heat away from them as well.

I brought ramsinks at the same time and then found that I had just brought them for no reason!

I am running my X800Pro, now as a fully 16 Pipe X800 XT PE, Core 520, Mem 520 (1120 DDR).

Sweet results as well.

Spike
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.