Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
G L
Don Juan
 
Videocard: Leadtek 8800 GTS 640 MB 600/1000
Processor: Core 2 E6600 @ 3.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5B-E
Memory: 2x 1 GB OCZ PC8500 @ 355 3-3-3-8
Soundcard: SB Live
PSU: Seasonic M12 700 watt
Default 09-27-2004, 03:47 | posts: 10,261 | Location: San Ramon, California

Keep in mind that very few companies make their own ram chips. Samsung, micron, hynix, infineon are a few of the places with fabs. The rest buy from the big guys. So it is not suprising if even "joe-bob's ram" works fine and overclocks decently, as its just going to have Samsung/Micron/etc. brand chips on them anyway.

Not trying to knock Ultra RAM, may be the best stuff ever for all I know. I'd say the time it would especially pay to be choosy with brands is when buying the faster OC ram, like PC4000. There really isn't a real spec for it, so the how you rate your RAM is kind of up to you once you get past PC3200. Smaller guys may have looser standards then the big guys.

As for Ultra, I think the X-connect power supply was their breakout product.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...asp?mfrid=1583

Try to find an Ultra product that tigerdirect does not carry (they even have Ultra PC100), and a retailer that stocks even 1/4 of what tigerdirect does. I haven't done the gruntwork on this one, I'll admit. However, I've been trolling tigerdirect.com fairly often the last year or so as they take my company's POs, and I'm always seen a ton of "ultra products". I'd never seen so much as a single "ultra" review until a month ago or so when the ultra x-connect power supply hit the streets.

That does not mean there is anything wrong with them, of course...
   
 
Old
  (#52)
MrBen
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GeForce4 ti 4200 128MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.2ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: 1.5GB PC3200
Soundcard: SB Live
PSU: Antec 500W Modular
Default 09-27-2004, 07:09 | posts: 805 | Location: Seattle, Washington

All true things. I cam across this brand by chance and figured I'd try it out. I've been monitoring tigerdirect for the past several years, even back when it was only a yahoo.com store.

All I'm saying is I paid quite a bit less for my memory than the other name brands and I haven't been let down in the least.
   
Old
  (#53)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 09-30-2004, 15:08 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Difference between Registered (ECC) and Unbuffered (Non-ECC) RAM, if anybody wants to know. Check link -

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....hreadid=108351
   
Old
  (#54)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-04-2004, 00:34 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Also, regarding PC3500/3700/4000 etc.....

Quote from a post of mine somewhere else: -

"They say officially supported upto PC3200 (like all board manufacturers) because that's the highest supported standard by JEDEC (RAM speeds committee people.) Of course higher speeds will work, but they are unofficial, and thus not supported by the mobo companies.
In fact higher speed RAM is very useful for overclocking."
   
 
Old
  (#55)
portista
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-06-2004, 06:24 | posts: n/a

hullo Wildstyle forgyve me but could u tell how can i chek those e.g.2,5.3.3.something that i read somhere on my mem.;#
   
Old
  (#56)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-06-2004, 19:12 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

You can use CPU-Z to find out what timings etc you are running. ( http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php )

Also, you could take a trip to the BIOS and look there.
   
Old
  (#57)
gunrun
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-10-2004, 18:03 | posts: n/a

I just got a new pc. when i run cpuid it says my ram is running at 200mhz isnt it supposted to be 400mhz? i have geil 1gig 512*2 pc 3200???


cpuz says..


200.3mhz
fsbram cpu 11.0
2.5
3
3
6
12
16

does this sound right?
   
Old
  (#58)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-10-2004, 18:51 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Yeah. that program is just showing your RAM frequency in non-DDR terms, it's fine.
Timings are just... normal timings, and again they're fine.
   
Old
  (#59)
seltun
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce2MX400-32Mb 175/166@Quadro2M
Processor: AMD Athlon 13x100 @ M 10x133
Mainboard: ASUS AK7V8X-e deluxe
Memory: Kingston 2x512Mb DDR400
Soundcard: on-board & stereo
PSU: RaidMax 480W
Default 11-11-2004, 23:18 | posts: 32 | Location: Portugal

this is really very extremelly usefull information

thx wildstyle cause ...... u started it
   
Old
  (#60)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 11-12-2004, 00:41 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Thanks.
I know it's a long read but it's there to help people learn - so the thread can have as many replies as it needs as far as I'm concerned.
   
Old
  (#61)
georgi55
Master Guru
 
Videocard: BFG GeForce 8800 GT OC 512MB
Processor: Intel Core2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2
Mainboard: X38 Chipset
Memory: 3GB Dual Channel DDR2 at 800MHz
Soundcard: On-board
PSU: Dell 375W approved for 8800GT card
Default 12-14-2004, 16:21 | posts: 314 | Location: Ashburn

Good thread, thansk

Last edited by georgi55; 12-14-2004 at 16:23.
   
Old
  (#62)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 12-17-2004, 19:46 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

   
One question... or two.
Old
  (#63)
Newbe2.0
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Question One question... or two. - 12-23-2004, 21:58 | posts: n/a

what is Better? 2Gb 512*4 PC3200 (2-2-2) or 4Gb 1Gb*4 PC3200
(3-8-4-4)?
Whith an Athlon 64 FX model 51 processor, what is better, 400 Mhz or higer?

thanks for all!
   
Old
  (#64)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 12-23-2004, 22:01 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

What type of thing are you using this PC for to warrant 4GB? Hehe.
If you're gaming then the 2GB with lower latencies, if you're encoding/photoshop etc then probably the 4GB.

With an FX51, 400MHz will suffice if you don't intend to overclock, however I don't know any S940 boards which OC good so you'd probably get away with simple PC3200.
   
Old
  (#65)
Newbe2.0
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-24-2004, 12:45 | posts: n/a

Jeje, I use the pc for make 3D images (whith programs how 3d Studio max) but for gaming too XD (i love games!). I'll buy a 939 socket (GA-K8 NXP SLI).
Thanks for all!
   
Old
  (#66)
aldo123
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG GeForce 295
Processor: i7 920
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58-Extreme
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600 Dominator
Soundcard: X-FI Extreme Music
PSU: TT 700W
Default 01-05-2005, 19:47 | posts: 38 | Location: New Zealand

hi, been reading this post carefully(i hope), and i was wondering if anybody can help- i've saved up some cash from Cristmas, and iwas wanting to purchase some Corsair XMXPro Memory -My mobo is the MSI K8n Neo2 Platinumum, which says that supports upto pc 3200 memory in DDR mode- currently i am using 1Gb of Kingston Value Ram with timings under CPU-Z of 3-3-3-8, the Ram im hoping to get is pc4000 with timings of 2-2-2-5(allegedly)- as a keen gamer, this brand and type are mentioned by gamers cosistently- but can i run this on my present mobo?
   
Old
  (#67)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 01-05-2005, 21:11 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Hey

The info was buried in the thread, so I updated the first post with what you need.

As for 2-2-2-x @250MHz? Suppose if BH5 was given enough vdimm...
At 200MHz yeah (BH5/BH6/TCCD) but 250 will usually require at least 2.5-3-3-x timings.

Edit: Typo.

Last edited by WildStyle; 01-06-2005 at 18:18.
   
Old
  (#68)
rickbanr
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVIDIA 6800 Ultra
Processor: AMD64 3500+ (coming soon)
Mainboard: Still deciding
Memory: 2 x 512 Mb PATRIOT XBLK
Soundcard: Still deciding
PSU:
Default 01-15-2005, 21:59 | posts: 20 | Location: UK

Just join the forum.

AN EXCELENT ARTICLE AND THREAD !!!

I think i know where iam going to start spending my time.

Tanks to all.
   
Old
  (#69)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 01-15-2005, 22:04 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Thanks for the compliment.
   
Old
  (#70)
John
Ancient Guru
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 01-19-2005, 13:56 | posts: 16,763 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

Quote:
Originally posted by aldo123
hi, been reading this post carefully(i hope), and i was wondering if anybody can help- i've saved up some cash from Cristmas, and iwas wanting to purchase some Corsair XMXPro Memory -My mobo is the MSI K8n Neo2 Platinumum, which says that supports upto pc 3200 memory in DDR mode- currently i am using 1Gb of Kingston Value Ram with timings under CPU-Z of 3-3-3-8, the Ram im hoping to get is pc4000 with timings of 2-2-2-5(allegedly)- as a keen gamer, this brand and type are mentioned by gamers cosistently- but can i run this on my present mobo?
OCZ VX PC3200 @ 3,4v or so will do 2-2-2-x @ 250 no problem in that board. Couple it up with a ddr booster
   
Old
  (#71)
Ekajaya"VaLvE"
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770
Processor: 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS
Memory: 6GB OCZ
Soundcard: Auzen X-Plosion/Denon AHD
PSU: Enermax Modu 87+
Default 03-16-2005, 21:58 | posts: 412 | Location: Berlin,Germany

Quote:
Originally posted by WildStyle
What type of thing are you using this PC for to warrant 4GB? Hehe.
If you're gaming then the 2GB with lower latencies, if you're encoding/photoshop etc then probably the 4GB.

With an FX51, 400MHz will suffice if you don't intend to overclock, however I don't know any S940 boards which OC good so you'd probably get away with simple PC3200.

i want to ask ,sorry bout little bit off topic,i just played doom 3 for the first time,i played it smooth but sometime its little bit lagged like thinking for the next frame ,but no stuck,is this because my memory just 512 mb? thanks for the help
   
Old
  (#72)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 03-16-2005, 22:32 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

TBH I'm not really sure how that game responds to different amounts of system RAM 'cause I thought it was poor and got bored of it, so didn't play around with it or read threads/articles about it.

Have a look @ the games section, and post this question there if necessary.
   
Old
  (#73)
DustOut
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG 6800GT OC
Processor: Athlon XP 2700+
Mainboard: MSI K7N2 Delta
Memory: 1.5 Ghz PC3200
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS / Logitech Z-5300 Speakers
PSU:
Default 03-24-2005, 16:14 | posts: 11 | Location: Albuquerque, NM

Well, I came in here with RAM questions and you guys answered all of them. Great article and thanks!
   
Old
  (#74)
Crovean
Member Guru
 
Videocard: BFG 7800 GS OC 256MB
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 2800 (2092)oc
Mainboard: ASUS K8V SE Deluxe
Memory: Kingston 512 DDR400 2.3.2.5
Soundcard: SoundMAX Digital Intergrated Audio
PSU: Antec
Default 03-26-2005, 22:32 | posts: 111 | Location: USA

I was wondering if anyone here had a ASUS K8V SE Deluxe mobo using Kingston value ram PC3200 CL3, and what timing you where using.

My current settings are 2.5, 3, 3, 8
   
Old
  (#75)
Brian the King
Maha Guru
 
Brian the King's Avatar
 
Videocard: Mobility Radeon HD 5470
Processor: Intel Core i5 430M
Mainboard: Intel HM55
Memory: 4096MB DDR3 PC3-10700
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: 6 Cell Li-Ion Battery
Default 04-10-2005, 14:38 | posts: 1,300 | Location: IL

Yo, I don't really understand this as well as I do other things [I'm 15].

I was wondering if this was 'good' for DDR2 533 RAM.





If it's not, how do you change timings if you have a BIOS without the option to do that? I have a Dell [not really tweakage material] and there are no RAM options in the BIOS. Is flashing the only way to get to those options? [If so, no thanks]

Also, I don't really understand the FSB clock/RAM clock correlation. Anyone want to try and explain it again?
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.