Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
funkymonkey
Ancient Guru
 
funkymonkey's Avatar
 
Videocard: GF 6600GT/ 6800GT went for RMA
Processor: AMD A64 3000+ @ 2.70Ghz ( Venice )
Mainboard: DFI NF4 Ultra D
Memory: 2x512MB Twinmos
Soundcard: Creative Audigy2
PSU:
Default 01-12-2004, 20:34 | posts: 5,522 | Location: Mumbai,India

updated...
More update comming in 2 days about funda of watercooling.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Hazer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce 6800GT 256MB
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 bit 3000+ / Socket 754
Mainboard: Microstar K8N NEO Platinum nForce3
Memory: 2x Twinmos 512MB PC3200 DDR400 RAM Cas 2.5
Soundcard: Creative SB Audigy 2 / Logitech X-620 6.1 Speakers
PSU: 400W ColorSit Power Supply
Default 01-12-2004, 21:54 | posts: 458 | Location: New Zealand

you tha man funky
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
lost_soul9k
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ???
Processor: Pentium 4 2.6 GHZ 800FSB HT
Mainboard: Intel 865 Mainboard
Memory: Hynix 256 MB DDR400 (sucks)
Soundcard: xfi music along with logitech z-680
PSU: 350 sumthin ..
Default 01-29-2004, 19:31 | posts: 147

yo funkymonkey, could you please give me a working email address of yours? I haven't been able to get in touch with your bro ! please, this is urgent
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
PF Prophet
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1070 mini/290x
Processor: AMD FX-9370@4.6ghz 1.4v
Mainboard: Crosshair V-Z
Memory: 32gb gskill ares 2133
Soundcard: CHV-Z + z5500
PSU: EVGA 1300watt psu
Default 02-09-2004, 10:48 | posts: 230 | Location: Washington

how do i force ps1.4 ???? i cant find that option in rive tuner
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
guardz
Master Guru
 
guardz's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTS250 1G OC
Processor: AMD64 X2 4600 @2.7Ghz
Mainboard: MSI.(OS-still XP pro sp3)
Memory: 2G GeiL Ultra (x2 1G)
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi 24 bit!
PSU: Hyper Type R 580w
Default 03-24-2004, 14:34 | posts: 765 | Location: New-Zealand

Soz this is abit late in coming but Funky that thread is so good Im book marking it, you'd have to be a moron not to I reckon. Im waiting for more great info frm you on this. Cheers dude.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Timmetje
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-26-2004, 20:52 | posts: n/a

Nice post man! just wanted to post a question how to overclock my Geforce 2 TI

Gonna increase with 5 mhz thankx m8!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
P4P1T0-BR
Member Guru
 
P4P1T0-BR's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GT 512MB 640/1950/1600 Alph
Processor: AMD64 X2 3800+ @ 2.7GHz
Mainboard: DFI LanParty Ultra-D
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR400@500 2x1GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Live! 5.1 (Dells)
PSU: eXtreem 650W
Default 05-24-2004, 17:19 | posts: 147 | Location: Brazil - Rio de Janeiro, RJ

n1, ill read later
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
nofeardave
Registered User
 
Videocard: ASUS 7800 GFX
Processor: AMD 64 FX-55
Mainboard: ASUS A8N SLI PLATINIUM
Memory: Corsair 1024 Twin XL3200
Soundcard: O\B 8CH
PSU: 3dMark 05 Score 7704
Unhappy 07-09-2004, 16:17 | posts: 6 | Location: Australia

With Rivia Tuner when over clocking there is a "Low level Hardware Overclocking" section with core clock and memory clock and the other section "Driver hardware overclocking" section also with core clock and memory clock what is the difference???

Dave
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
sav112
Newbie
 
Videocard: Galaxy 6800 GT
Processor: AMD 64 3400+
Mainboard: ASUS K8V SE
Memory: 1024 DDR 400
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-12-2005, 16:09 | posts: 17

Hi lads got a question for those who know there graphic card stuff.
I got a new system and got a gforce 6800GT 256mb card and was really happy with it, I could set all my games on max no problems and it looked fine.

Anyway ran 3dmark03 and compared my marks and was shocked when I got 4500 and people were getting 13000. anyway I thought right I have the card on max.

Antialiasing 8X

Anisotropic filtering 16x

And vertical sync on.

So I turned them to application controlled and got over 11000 marks in 3dmark.

I also ran battlefield Vet and when I play single player with 64 Ai players the game runs a bit choppy with the card on max but flawless on application controlled.

Am I missing out on graphics quality with the setting on application control or should I turn them on but on a lower setting. I see little difference on application control apart from the frame rate goes through the roof.

Is this more a game dependant thing. I still have the game settings on there very highest.

Any advice

Also my card is the Galaxy version and I run it box standard, it came with this over-clocking utility that has auto over-clock on this? Can I trust this utility to get the most out my card or should I just leave it.

I had it on core clock 415 mhz and it seemed to work great but I was not happy with it on that so went back to 370Mhz. I did before I read the great first post, so I jumped up 45mhz not the recommended 5mhz at a time.

I would only run it on auto probably but I imagine that to damage it you would have to run it on a silly setting for a time well over my stupidly done 415mhz?

Any feedback would be great as this is the place to ask

Sav.

Last edited by sav112; 01-12-2005 at 16:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
weedster
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus HD5870 1gb
Processor: AMD FX-8320@Stock
Mainboard: M5A99FX Rev2.0
Memory: G-Skill 2133 Ripjaws CL9
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-21-2005, 11:57 | posts: 62 | Location: Swiss

wow it's weird sav u must be getting uber high performances with a such card and such cpu , i have a little question about grfx card OC , is it possible to know the temperature of old grfx cards without a thermometer ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Dr. Vodka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth P67
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1333 @ 1866
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC P&C Silencer 750w
Default 02-12-2005, 23:37 | posts: 3,803 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

my mx4000 just hit an stable 330/530, from stock 274/286, 32 bit/7ns memory.

at 330/555 it shows artifacts after 3 minutes of benchies/gaming

at 335/575 it would last 2 minutes before start showing artifacts in windows

at 340/600... ehmmm-- windows & the card start to puke....

at 400/400 eh--- they start to puke...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Emanon75
Ancient Guru
 
Emanon75's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6800GT / 9800Pro / Ti4600
Processor: A64 3200+ / 2400+M / 2500+M
Mainboard: Dfi LP250GB / Abit NF7-S x 2
Memory: 2x512 Mushkin 3500L2 / 4x512 CorsairXMS 3200XLPT
Soundcard: Audigy 2 / 2 x Soundstorm
PSU:
Default 02-12-2005, 23:43 | posts: 3,795 | Location: Where I am.

Quote:
Originally posted by nofeardave
With Rivia Tuner when over clocking there is a "Low level Hardware Overclocking" section with core clock and memory clock and the other section "Driver hardware overclocking" section also with core clock and memory clock what is the difference???

Dave
Low level o/c is just what it says.. o/c via bios, iirc.
Driver level o/c is software.

If I remember correctly, driver level o/c can/will? reduce increase latency for o/c, low level does not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 03-05-2005, 11:17 | posts: 9,983

Officially it does void warranty when you overclock but you can as always work around this problem by taking some simple precautions which i will tell ya along this article.

You say this on the top of the original post but you don't mention it again. could you please explain how to do this.

Btw. I use Coolbits 2 to overclock, it just modifies the nvidia drivers to do it, and it autotests the maximum you can safely overclock your card. My nvidia 6610xl went from 400/800 to 505/1010, with no problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
PellaeonSZ
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB RAM
Processor: Intel i7 3930k @3.20Ghz
Mainboard: Intel DX79SI
Memory: 32GB DDR 3 RAM
Soundcard: Intel HD Audio
PSU: Shrug
Default 03-12-2005, 22:51 | posts: 84 | Location: Puerto Rico

Is that auto-test really reliable though? Mine also got a nice jump, but not sure if I should stick to that, or slowly o/c at 5mhz increments.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
el_oso
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-18-2005, 02:03 | posts: n/a

hi,

I have a 5900XT and the Rivatuner autotest fails at GPU clock beyond than 417 Mhz or Memory clock beyond 797 Mhz... Why is this oc so poor?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
funkymonkey
Ancient Guru
 
funkymonkey's Avatar
 
Videocard: GF 6600GT/ 6800GT went for RMA
Processor: AMD A64 3000+ @ 2.70Ghz ( Venice )
Mainboard: DFI NF4 Ultra D
Memory: 2x512MB Twinmos
Soundcard: Creative Audigy2
PSU:
Default 04-02-2005, 15:51 | posts: 5,522 | Location: Mumbai,India

I am updating original post. Will add the thing or two about newer cards and new utilities. Hope to complete this update by next week.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
hydrogen
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-04-2005, 03:27 | posts: n/a

Super-helpful. OVerclocking guide for noobs like me. I appreciate it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Crashing Edje
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-02-2005, 22:06 | posts: n/a

I showed those to a friend and he thank you, because i don't need to overclock with my 7800 gtx, but he got a 6600GT and it helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 1080 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i7-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 07-04-2005, 06:49 | posts: 9,445 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally posted by Crashing Edje
I showed those to a friend and he thank you, because i don't need to overclock with my 7800 gtx, but he got a 6600GT and it helps.

Question:
Why dont you try to OC this Monster. Its not that bad. trust me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Vinnie
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290X
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: 16GB Kingston DDR3-1866
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1020W
Default 07-04-2005, 17:01 | posts: 7,653 | Location: The Netherlands

Great job man
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Vinnie
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290X
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: 16GB Kingston DDR3-1866
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1020W
Default 07-04-2005, 17:02 | posts: 7,653 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally posted by scoutingwraith
Question:
Why dont you try to OC this Monster. Its not that bad. trust me.
Because i dont need to be oc'd
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
dunno537
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6600GT AGP (550/1120)
Processor: Pentium 4 2.8Ghz
Mainboard: intel 865 dell edition
Memory: 1Gb corsiar/twinmos
Soundcard: intergrated
PSU: Qtec 400W
Default 07-08-2005, 23:35 | posts: 14 | Location: U.K

I have a reccomendation for anyone who is or wants to overclock. run programs like rthdribl and 3dmark05 repeatedly for a few days.
this way i got my 5200 from 250/400 to 315/520 and this thing runs on passive cooling cuz i cant remove the glued on heatsink.
I personnaly reccomend that anyone with a newly installed card run these programs for a few days solid and by that i mean for a whole 24 hours. i know this is boring but the results are well worth it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
jonerkinsella
Maha Guru
 
jonerkinsella's Avatar
 
Videocard: Saph 290 Trix OC.
Processor: 5930k
Mainboard: Asrock X99 EX4
Memory: 4x4gb Ballistix Elite
Soundcard: Gfx Hdmi and ob RT1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 07-10-2005, 00:41 | posts: 1,860 | Location: IRELAND

DUNNO537 REMOVE YOUR CARD AND USE A HAIRDRYER TO HEAT SINK TO SOFTEN THE TERMAL PASTE THIS WILL GET YOUR HEATSINK OFF WITH NO FORCE BUT TWIST IT A BIT AND YOUR RITE ABOUT THE TESTS GET TO KNOW THEM INSIDE OUT AND WOT TO LOOK FOR WHEN YOU SEE IT YOU WILL NO WOT IS MEANT BY ARTIFACTS ETC
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Traxis
Registered User
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB
Processor: Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester
Mainboard: Soltek SL-K8TPro-939
Memory: 1024 GB DDR PC3200 Kingmax SuperRAM
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-17-2005, 23:47 | posts: 2 | Location: Los Angeles

Quick question- What is considered a good OC for a 6800GT? Mine is an eVGA and is running nicely at 417/1130.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
jonerkinsella
Maha Guru
 
jonerkinsella's Avatar
 
Videocard: Saph 290 Trix OC.
Processor: 5930k
Mainboard: Asrock X99 EX4
Memory: 4x4gb Ballistix Elite
Soundcard: Gfx Hdmi and ob RT1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 07-18-2005, 13:19 | posts: 1,860 | Location: IRELAND

TRAXIS ,i leave mine as specs on rite all the time but for bmarks i get my 68gt to 444x1223
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.