Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#301)
WarrenCKC
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE 2GB
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: Corsair 2 X 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative A550
PSU: Corsair CS750 (750 Watt)
Default 06-20-2014, 22:19 | posts: 16 | Location: Mauritius

Hi, I don't have any problems playing games but when I launch Heaven Benchmarking 4.0, I suddenly get a black screen followed by an error message about my GPU. Any ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#302)
theDUD3
Newbie
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX 670 iChill
Processor: i5-3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3 1833
Soundcard: Built-in ALC892
PSU: HEC Cougar 720 Watts
Default 08-27-2014, 10:34 | posts: 11

nice guide but too outdated, this desperately needs an update.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#303)
jaggerwild
Master Guru
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Videocard: Many
Processor: Many
Mainboard: Z68 Asus MaximusIV GENE Z
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 2000Mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 1KW
Default 10-31-2014, 22:37 | posts: 196 | Location: Nvidia=central heating ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WarrenCKC View Post
Hi, I don't have any problems playing games but when I launch Heaven Benchmarking 4.0, I suddenly get a black screen followed by an error message about my GPU. Any ideas?
its a driver's crash, hit Control Alt and Delete should get you back to desk top.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#304)
moka pc laptop
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9280 2 gb
Processor: intel i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500
Default 06-13-2015, 19:25 | posts: 1

no via bios....how else?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#305)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 06-13-2015, 19:32 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

I think the last poster in this thread died of old age.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#306)
boe
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PNY 980 TI
Processor: I7-6700k
Mainboard: Gigabyte z170
Memory: DDR4/16G
Soundcard: Soundblaster Sennheiser
PSU: Enermax 750
Default 04-10-2016, 20:09 | posts: 109

Hello,

I just installed the Accelero IV and would like to try out overclocking for the first time - never have done this with anything before. The first page recommends rivatuner but I can't seem to find it. Is there something newer I should be using? I'm running Win 10 and have a 980TI and have the stock NVidia drivers from NVidia direct.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#307)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 04-11-2016, 06:27 | posts: 6,733 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

As the first page is 12 years old, I guess it's not that up to date in each detail anymore

You could start with MSI Afterburner, or whichever software PNY might have for their own graphics cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#308)
boe
Member Guru
 
Videocard: PNY 980 TI
Processor: I7-6700k
Mainboard: Gigabyte z170
Memory: DDR4/16G
Soundcard: Soundblaster Sennheiser
PSU: Enermax 750
Default 04-11-2016, 15:37 | posts: 109

Thanks - I ended up Asus GPU tweak. I'm not sure if it matters. I was able to get about an 11% gain in performance with OC. After that it became unstable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#309)
No1True
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 1070
Processor: 6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default 09-22-2016, 14:43 | posts: 143

That guide lasted for a decade... update the guide so it can continue to be useful for another decade +1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#310)
WinterMagican
Newbie
 
Videocard: Pascal TITAN X 4Way-SLI
Processor: i7-6950X
Mainboard: ASUS ROG RAMPAGE V E10
Memory: DDR4-3200 128GB
Soundcard: Yahama NS-1000M
PSU: CoolerMaster V1200 x2
Default 11-21-2016, 03:59 | posts: 15 | Location: Japan

fm....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#311)
Alessio1989
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Two different furnaces
Processor: It's getting old...
Mainboard: A voltage leaker...
Memory: Heap corruption
Soundcard: It's over 109db!!!!
PSU: Finally, a quite engine
Default 02-27-2017, 02:36 | posts: 675 | Location: Good-food-land

How to disassemble ASUS GTX 1080 Strix:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4RQEqwz-HZ8

How to disassemble ASUS GTX 1050Ti Strix:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-WHqu6hTRX0

Last edited by Alessio1989; 02-27-2017 at 11:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#312)
wolik
Newbie
 
Videocard: 1080Ti/11
Processor: Xeon
Mainboard: X10DRG-Q
Memory: DDR4/32
Soundcard:
PSU: Lepa1700M
Default 03-25-2017, 05:50 | posts: 4 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by WarrenCKC View Post
Hi, I don't have any problems playing games but when I launch Heaven Benchmarking 4.0, I suddenly get a black screen followed by an error message about my GPU. Any ideas?
Neu install Haven ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#313)
Krasus
Member Guru
 
Krasus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi GTX 1060 6GB
Processor: core i7 6700
Mainboard: Msi B150 M3
Memory: 16 GB Gskill
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 04-03-2017, 22:06 | posts: 144 | Location: unknown

I have small question, I currently have Msi Gtx 1060 Armor 6gb and overclocked it with Msi afterburner. I am able to reach +176 core and +800 memory, tested with valley benchmark and time spy, firestrike(3dmark) It seems stable.

But in this review, the author also increases the voltage by %100 and uses lower values than me: -he has the same card-
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,25.html

So, do I need to increase the voltage as well or leaving it untouched(locked in afterburner) causes unstability?(since I overclocked higher than the article without increasing voltage) I also tested with Bf 1 and it seems fine. Just wondering the logic behind it.

Last edited by Krasus; 04-03-2017 at 22:09. Reason: grammar
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.