Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
bconrados
Newbie
 
Videocard: Xfx 7900gt (520/750)
Processor: Pentium D 805 @ 3.01Ghz
Mainboard: asrock 775dual-880pro
Memory: 2X512 ddrpc3200 kingston
Soundcard: soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU: Hyper type-r 480W
Default 06-28-2006, 20:49 | posts: 24 | Location: Portugal

I would like to know how should i clean the thermal compound on my cpu since i want to put in a new fan because the one that came with it doesn't do the job well enough.
Thx
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
0blivious
Maha Guru
 
0blivious's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi 1070 X / 970 / 780Ti
Processor: i7 4790K/i7 2600K/i3 4160
Mainboard: MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16 GB @2133
Soundcard: SBZ + Logitech Z906
PSU: Corsair AX760 / CX750M
Default 07-01-2006, 19:40 | posts: 2,067 | Location: Bremerton, WA USA (Go Mariners)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bconrados
I would like to know how should i clean the thermal compound on my cpu since i want to put in a new fan because the one that came with it doesn't do the job well enough.
Thx
I used a dry lint free rag to remove as much as i could, and then used small dabs of rubbing alcohol on a clean rag to remove the remaining thermal paste.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
extermin8tor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x8800GTX
Processor: Athlon 5600+ X2 @3.2ghz+WC
Mainboard: Gigabyte AM2 Motherboard
Memory: 2048MB DDR2
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: BFG Tech 750Watt
Default 07-08-2006, 05:27 | posts: 165 | Location: adelaide, australia

wtf 0blivious?
it took you 3-4 hours to build a pc, im not dissin u, its just weird.
like you unpack the stuff, take out the old crap if upgrading, or just fit stuff in and be careful.
it took me like one hour to build my first pc.

and also anti-static gloves dont do much. ive never used any and ive never stuffed any components up (although newbies should use them)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
0blivious
Maha Guru
 
0blivious's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi 1070 X / 970 / 780Ti
Processor: i7 4790K/i7 2600K/i3 4160
Mainboard: MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16 GB @2133
Soundcard: SBZ + Logitech Z906
PSU: Corsair AX760 / CX750M
Default 07-13-2006, 23:47 | posts: 2,067 | Location: Bremerton, WA USA (Go Mariners)

Quote:
Originally Posted by extermin8tor
wtf 0blivious?
it took you 3-4 hours to build a pc, im not dissin u, its just weird.
like you unpack the stuff, take out the old crap if upgrading, or just fit stuff in and be careful.
it took me like one hour to build my first pc.


Keep in mind that 2 hours of that was installing/optimizing windows, drivers and programs. Also, I was trying to do some clean wire management.

And to anyone building a pc, it doesn't hurt to take your time. In fact, I'd recommend it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
A lil question
Old
  (#30)
th3cl3ric
Newbie
 
th3cl3ric's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980ti
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming5
Memory: 16GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default A lil question - 07-26-2006, 04:45 | posts: 20

Hi all, im new, and always visit the guru3d website since a long time.

I recently started to work so now i hav money to build my own PC, but after reading some reviews and lot of information about videocards my question now is: What is the best videocard maker? ASUS, MSI, EVGA, XFX, BFG? cause as everyone, we want the best of the best , so plz I need a lil advice in this subject.

I will apreciate all ur help


P.D. The card I want to buy is one with NVidia Geforce 7800 GT
   
Reply With Quote
Good thread
Old
  (#31)
pentastar111
Master Guru
 
pentastar111's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 285's (SLI)
Processor: Intel i7 920 H2O cooled
Mainboard: Foxconn Bloodrage
Memory: 3 gig G-Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sonar xfi
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1050 w
Thumbs up Good thread - 08-06-2006, 20:48 | posts: 737 | Location: Southern California

Not that machine that i'm using now is bad i just want to build "my own". Am jumping into it headfirst. the supprot from this site is very good. Thanx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Cerberus Knight
Newbie
 
Cerberus Knight's Avatar
 
Videocard: Onboard
Processor: Intel Celeron 1.4Ghz
Mainboard: Acer Laptop
Memory: 256mb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU:
Default 10-03-2006, 05:03 | posts: 11 | Location: Australia, QLD

Well I'm undergoing a New system build and one hint that i have learnt while searching for components is to look for reviews for the companies you want to deal with. I read one review that made me re do my New Pc Budget and had to spend an extra $100AUD, but found it was nessacry.......And a very good guide to boot Lol
   
Reply With Quote
Raid arrays
Old
  (#33)
@renadier
Master Guru
 
@renadier's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2X AMD R280X @ 1072/1250
Processor: FX 8350 @ 4600 (1.47v)
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X 2200/2600
Memory: 8gb Crucial 1866mhz
Soundcard: logitech x540 5:1
PSU: EVGA Supernova 1000 G2
Default Raid arrays - 08-10-2007, 12:29 | posts: 500 | Location: Milton Keynes,England

hello,
you might want to add some raid to your pc's...i am amazed at the diffrence 2-4 hard drives made to my system.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID

hard drives are only about 30 and 4x is not that bigger price tag as i still got 640 gb of space...but iam mirrored and iam using raid 10 and have 320gb of space x2.

...i lov my unbreakable hard drive ..and it is loads better a raid 0 than a single...and AMD 64 x2 with ATI 2x2 mirror of performance raid 0's sounds good too....nerrr ...wish i had the AMD x4

sata lead= 1.5 to 3gb/s

raid 0 is 2 in 1=same size as the 2 disks...like so
raid 1 is 2 in 1=same size as one disk...like this

1 disk is 1.5gb/s read or write,
2 disks in rad 0 is 1.5gb/s read and 1.5gb/s write : good for fast reading and writing.
2 disks in raid 1 is 3gb/s read and 1.5gb/s write : good for fast reading..replacing files or reading to other hosts
4 disks in raid 10 is 3.0gb/s read and 3.0gb/s write: + good at both reading and writing double speed
4 disks in raid 0+1 is 3.0gb/s read and 3.0gb/s write: + good at both reading and writing double speed


it makes good use of all quad core and dual core cpu's

raid 10 with maxtors 7200 =128gb/s index and 12ms random access.
rapter 1500 raid 0 =144gb/s index and 8ms random access.

put my maxtors in raid 0 and its 67gb/s index and 18ms random access.

tested in sandra.

i got instructions to make a raid in my motherboard manual...but

to make a hardware raid might take the next steps...

1.you need to find out if you have raid capabilitys on your motherboard..most sata's do.

2. you will need number of hard drives and a raid driver from the motherboard support cd ..make disk utility...you should make a A\: drive diskette with a raid driver mine was ati raid driver and was not the jmx ahci driver.

3.add a hard drive to a red and one to the black corresondent sata port and attach the power supply ...mine is 1+3 and 2+4 port numbers.

4.start pc up and enter bios...change setting to raid enabled and hard drives as raid and change the boot to dvd/cd rom , save and restart.

5.enter the raid controller by using command..mine was ctrl and f.

6.define your raid setup..raid 0 performance or raid 1 security or combos of both or 10 or 0+1 and if you wish a single disk use jbod ,save and restart.

7.put the windows dvd or cd in the drive and press f6 when windows asks when loading from a disk...put your raid driver diskette in the a drive when asked and add the 32bit/64bit raid driver...load on windows to the drive.

8 .add the control interface for the raid controller and check it is healthy...that should be a much better file system.

...dont mean to sound like iam being funny as iam just a raid fan..
raid is the of files.

yours sincerely,
@renadierperforation.

Last edited by @renadier; 08-10-2007 at 22:47. Reason: iam dislexsic
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
convicted.007
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI / X600 / 128MB
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ / 1.8 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte / GA-K8NF-9
Memory: DDR / 2Gb Kingston 200MHz
Soundcard: Realtek AC97
PSU: N/A
Default 05-13-2008, 02:15 | posts: 1 | Location: Alberta

*******
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.