Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
My system freeze in 3dgames using riva tuner to overclock.
Old
  (#101)
ellison
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Unhappy My system freeze in 3dgames using riva tuner to overclock. - 09-30-2002, 08:17 | posts: n/a

Please help my system is win-me xp2000+ InnoG44200 asus 333 512mb 266ddr. When I overclock my video card it freeze. After I switch the rivatuner to maximum in the low level "more" screen it helps but sometimes it still freeze. Can sombody suggest something to tweak in the riva tuner so that it wont freeze.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Energizer
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-01-2002, 11:41 | posts: n/a

I got actually a creative blaster gf4 ti 4600 128mb, tb 1,2, 256sdram and I get about 7000 points in 3dmark2001.

4in1 driver installed
detonator 40.71

vsync off
antialiasing off

Also my mobo is asus a7m266 http://www.asus.com.tw/mb/socketa/a7m266/overview.htm

windows 98 se (just formated and installed)

Don't just get why this is so slow
in games it drops usually to 30 fps or something like that

(i havn't tweaked anything and i suck in it )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
Pepper_jeff
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce FX 5900XT (435/920) 22" @ 1600x1200
Processor: Pentium 4 2.8Ghz @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: Abit SR7-8X
Memory: 1Gb PC2700 DDR @ 358Mhz
Soundcard: Creative: Audigy 4 Pro, DDTS-100, Gigaworks S750
PSU: 6 Fans on 5v (inc PSU) = Silence
Lightbulb 10-05-2002, 15:25 | posts: 211 | Location: England

have you read the "PC133 Games" section in general hardware becuase i have exactly the same problem with mine, I only get 7000marks with my ti 4200 (128mb), and it was to do with my 512mb PC133 SDRAM,
so ive orderd 256mb PC2700 and it will arive soon,
(i can only afford 256mb at the moment.)
:drink:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Energizer
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-08-2002, 10:54 | posts: n/a

Hups what where i thinking. I have 256 ddr.

I think i was kinda tired when writing that =)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
Energizer
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-09-2002, 15:59 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by SammyBoy
I know what he's talking about. After loading the matched detonator database (that's the second folder icon), you have to go to the System line (not System Advanced), expand it, then scroll down to EnableAliAGP. Right click it, click the lighted bulb, save the changes, and reboot. This will enable AGP Texture Acceleration, which the GF4 seems to rely on more than previous GF cards (my brothers GF3 didn't benefit nearly as much as mine did, as I had a 20-30% performance increase, and his was more like 5-10%, and we both have very similar systems).

-SammyBoy
So how do i get to system line ? (using windows 98se, rivaturner20rc12)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
1337-5UP3R
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-10-2002, 08:08 | posts: n/a

ok energizer. perhaps u need to dl the GTU www.guru3d.com and click on dl. dl the version with the questions. extract the contents and follow the install directions. then, all u have to do is (assuming u use OpenGL), click on the fastest button in the lower right-hand side corner. that will lower your performance (ie: image quality) slightly, but will increase the speed! u can also click the OpenGL tab and place your mouse cursor over the different options. a scrolling marquee will appear near the bottom of the program. you can also click the ? button and click on the options to see what benefits each option holds for you. most of the stuff u need to supe-up your g-card needs to be researched and installed on your own. u should also modify your BIOS settings which I know nothing about!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
1337-5UP3R
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-10-2002, 08:10 | posts: n/a

oops not energizer.

To ellison:

maybe u should focus on tweaking your g-card before o/c'ing it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
1337-5UP3R
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-10-2002, 08:15 | posts: n/a

ellison, maybe your g-card cannot handle the o/c. never o/c it higher than 10% the defult, unless u modify ur g-card (cue to laugh at my lack of knowledge in this field! ) i have not read the past posts, so maybe u should do that.
   
Reply With Quote
Thank you so much...
Old
  (#109)
scouro
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Talking Thank you so much... - 10-15-2002, 06:46 | posts: n/a

Especially to Mc Deth who started it all....


I downloaded Rivatuner.


I have a Leadtek 4600 with an xp2100 512 DDR pc2100 memory and an ASUS a7a 266 MOBO.

I was always getting scores on 3dmark 2001 between 6500 and 7500.

It never seemed right and had tried almost everything.


I downloaded Rivatuner and it was telling me my AGP FASTWRITES were not enabled.....though the bios said they were. Weird.

Anyways im up to 10618 MARKS NOW.....WOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO FInally after 6 months of buying this awesome videocard I can finally say that its working RIGHT!!!! Thank you all especially MCDETH.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
killaklown4
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-17-2002, 13:32 | posts: n/a

this may be an out of place question, but, ive oced my video card(pny geforce4 ti4200 64mb). i havent added any extra fans or cooling devices to my comp. what is the max oc settings i can get. (right now im runnin with 255/515) Just wanted to know if i can get any higher without overheatin or fryin my card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
DivxFAN
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-18-2002, 03:57 | posts: n/a

I have GeForce 4600 , Win XP. every time I play NHL 2003 or Fifa 2003 , getting a blue screen with nv4_disp.dll error. Does anyone know how to fix it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
SSJ Trunks
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Post 10-22-2002, 13:35 | posts: n/a

My bois sux too, its got nowt settings for AGP, and i have to disable AGP texturing for my games to work, good thing I'm getting a new comp, spec built baby!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
<=M=>
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-27-2002, 06:52 | posts: n/a

Haven't taken the time to read through all of teh 11 pages.. WIll the rivia tuner work on NON WHQL drivers ???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
Caligatio
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-29-2002, 03:04 | posts: n/a

I used to get scores in the 10k now I'm reduced to only 8,850 (look at my system specs and you see why I'm pissed). What I've tried:

Detonator Drivers 30.82, 30.87, 40.41, 40.72, and Leadtek Drivers 31.00
Flashing Video Card BIOS to 4.25.0027
Flashing the Mobo BIOS
Using VIA Drivers 4.43 and 4.41
Setting AGP Apature to 128 MB
Enabling Fast Write and Side Band Addressing

I still can't break the 9k mark for some reason like I used to be able to
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
totof
Member Guru
 
Videocard: X800 XL 512MB
Processor: Athlon64 3500+
Mainboard: MSI K8N neo4 platinum
Memory: 1GB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 CAS2
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-29-2002, 19:48 | posts: 60 | Location: scotland

Quote:
Originally posted by DivxFAN
I have GeForce 4600 , Win XP. every time I play NHL 2003 or Fifa 2003 , getting a blue screen with nv4_disp.dll error. Does anyone know how to fix it?
i had this problem with my old GF2

i turned out to be a power issue as Asus card tend to use alot of power it made my 5v line voltage drop and caused the crash you're speaking about

beleive it or not i took apart from the gpu and gave it a good clean. that gave me a bit of voltage back and my games stopped crashing.

i guess it could be software related but if you're games runs nice and suddenly crash it suggests a hardware problem

what is the wattage of your psu?
are the crash random?
try checking the voltage value in your bios if you can it might give you a clue

again i might be talking out of my

ps: by the way how is the NHL game compared to previous versions?

Last edited by totof; 10-29-2002 at 19:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
a k i
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-30-2002, 04:06 | posts: n/a

how did u take it apart!?!?!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
totof
Member Guru
 
Videocard: X800 XL 512MB
Processor: Athlon64 3500+
Mainboard: MSI K8N neo4 platinum
Memory: 1GB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 CAS2
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-30-2002, 04:10 | posts: 60 | Location: scotland

simple my man
removed the 2 screws that were holding the fan onto the plate which is stuck on the gpu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
a k i
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-30-2002, 04:48 | posts: n/a

dude thats the fan/heatsink not the gpu itself
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Slaphappy125
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-30-2002, 07:12 | posts: n/a

dang it i posted on the wrong thread
   
Reply With Quote
A7V333 BAD BENCH
Old
  (#120)
dasaint
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default A7V333 BAD BENCH - 10-31-2002, 00:38 | posts: n/a

ok heres whats going on i am running a A7V333-Raid system as you can see in my sig but i was only able to get a 6500 outta my bench to me THAT BLOWS!!!!!!!!

my old GF3 could get 7000 outta it whats my problem???

were talkin no overclocking on my puter what so ever jes all stock any ideas????
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
SSJ Trunks
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Post 10-31-2002, 00:41 | posts: n/a

listen man, i got a BM score or 635, with my G2, beat that sonny jim! i dont care about benchmark, i just care about quality and speed of game and it rund gr8 on my comp, no probs at all! so as long as the programs you want to run with your A7V333-Raid are running smoother and faster you dont need to worry!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
dasaint
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-31-2002, 00:46 | posts: n/a

my games are lagging too like UT2k3 this is no joke when i was doing the bench i was getting around 140FPS on low textures as soon as it hit high im talking <35FPS!!!!! and with my setup i should at least hit 10000 on a bench not 6500 i woulda jes stuck with my TI-200 if i knew these results
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
a k i
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-31-2002, 01:05 | posts: n/a

haha you got a nice system dasaint your the first one that i saw in guru that has a better sound system then me hehe some people have better sound cards, sure but you got some nice speakers down boy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
dasaint
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-31-2002, 01:08 | posts: n/a

i love my sound system... its got 2 14" car subs as 1 front channel 2 8" subs as another Front channel a normal center and rears, and a 150W Powered Sub

MY PARENTS HATE IT!!!! but man does it sound good

Last edited by dasaint; 10-31-2002 at 01:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
a k i
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-31-2002, 01:19 | posts: n/a

my god man! runnig your sub off as normal speakers is crazy! i bet it blows your ears off!! but its not good for the sub u knoe the high freq is bad of the sub after a long period of useage their made for low freq thats y its called a sub hehe
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.