Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
[New Bios] ASUS ROG Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming OC 4GB
Old
  (#1)
KissSh0t
Ancient Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX 470 Strix Gaming
Processor: AMD FX 8320
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Exclamation [New Bios] ASUS ROG Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming OC 4GB - 06-16-2017, 01:27 | posts: 4,970 | Location: 0.0.0.0

I just thought I would mention that the ASUS ROG Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming OC 4GB has received a new bios on the Asus website.



This is what the bios looks like now for those with this card to compare against.



I haven't tested it enough to see if it has fixed the screen losing connection when playing video games... guess I'll find out in the coming days.

*Fingers crossed this makes the card stable at default clocks*

*edit*

After about 2 hours of using the card no black screens at default clocks...

*Fingers crossed this is really really fixed for real*

xD

Last edited by KissSh0t; 06-16-2017 at 05:09.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Romulus_ut3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Vapor-X 3GB Boost
Processor: Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1
Memory: Vengeance 2x4GB 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Creative 24 bit Live! 5.1
PSU: Thermaltake 650W Smart
Default 06-16-2017, 06:17 | posts: 502 | Location: Bangladesh

It took them long enough, but you can rejoice that it's fixed now! Enjoy gaming, my friend. You've suffered enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
KissSh0t
Ancient Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX 470 Strix Gaming
Processor: AMD FX 8320
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 06-16-2017, 08:07 | posts: 4,970 | Location: 0.0.0.0

It looks like it's ok.. I've tried Space Engineers & Dishonored 2 & Prey so far and it has not black screened once when before it would have in that time period at the default clocks.

I still feel like at any moment the screen is going to go black and my eye is twitching xD

Could anyone tell me how would I see what it is they changed with the bios?

I tried opening the new bios and comparing it to the previous one that I had backed up with gpu-z using Polaris Bios Editor, but all the settings are identical.. at least what the editor shows is identical, maybe there are other values that the editor does not show?

Last edited by KissSh0t; 06-16-2017 at 14:29. Reason: spelling error
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Romulus_ut3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Vapor-X 3GB Boost
Processor: Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1
Memory: Vengeance 2x4GB 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Creative 24 bit Live! 5.1
PSU: Thermaltake 650W Smart
Default 06-16-2017, 14:11 | posts: 502 | Location: Bangladesh

My guess is that a portion of the UEFI GOP of the VBbios was messed up. I am guesstimating. Does your GPU maintain better boost/base clocks now, btw?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
KissSh0t
Ancient Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX 470 Strix Gaming
Processor: AMD FX 8320
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 06-16-2017, 14:25 | posts: 4,970 | Location: 0.0.0.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romulus_ut3 View Post
Does your GPU maintain better boost/base clocks now, btw?
I haven't checked that yet actually.. the main issue for this specific card model is it losing connection to the monitor resulting in the screen turning off like when you unplug the monitor cable from the video card then the monitor just says no signal.. that's what it was doing when playing video games, sometimes after a few seconds, sometimes after half an hour to an hour.

Before this new bios I was having to undervolt and underclock the two upper states to make the card stable, now it's just default everything, fresh crimson install and it seems to be running as intended.

Last edited by KissSh0t; 06-16-2017 at 14:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
INJ3CT8R
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX RX470 OC
Processor: Intel i5 6600
Mainboard: ASUS H170 Pro Gaming
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 700 Watt
Post 06-16-2017, 15:47 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by KissSh0t View Post
I just thought I would mention that the ASUS ROG Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming OC 4GB has received a new bios on the Asus website.



This is what the bios looks like now for those with this card to compare against.



I haven't tested it enough to see if it has fixed the screen losing connection when playing video games... guess I'll find out in the coming days.

*Fingers crossed this makes the card stable at default clocks*

*edit*

After about 2 hours of using the card no black screens at default clocks...

*Fingers crossed this is really really fixed for real*

xD
Hey man I really need your help. I have exactly a same issue with my Asus RX 470 Strix from two month ago. I did a lot of things from increasing power limit in wattman to changing many drivers with stick voltage and frequency but no signal issue is remain. Maybe the card run fine for many hours maybe get no signal in 5 minutes of gaming. Also my psu is 700 watt and is enough

This is also 2 different topic one is mine with the same problem as you can see


https://community.amd.com/message/2802610
https://community.amd.com/thread/204905


I will be very appreciate if you give me the guide step by step to fix this nightmare problem. How I can change bios and where is that bios to download? Ia the risk to breaking my card?

Thanks a lot man...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
KissSh0t
Ancient Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX 470 Strix Gaming
Processor: AMD FX 8320
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 06-16-2017, 20:47 | posts: 4,970 | Location: 0.0.0.0

Do you have the overclocked model of the asus rx 470? the product model is ROG STRIX-RX470-O4G-GAMING

The bios is available on the support page on the asus website, here are two links for the same card.

US webpage https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/...Desk_Download/

Australian webpage https://www.asus.com/au/Graphics-Car...Desk_Download/

Under driver and tools tab > Windows 10 > bios.

And I have uploaded a copy of the file available on the asus website to my mediafire account http://www.mediafire.com/file/tjos9c...X_RX470_OC.rar

Basically extract the file and run it as administrator, you don't need to be on Windows 10, for example I am on Windows 8.1.

It will then apply the new bios to the card and ask that you reset once it is applied and that is all you do and then it has the new bios.

Hope that helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
INJ3CT8R
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX RX470 OC
Processor: Intel i5 6600
Mainboard: ASUS H170 Pro Gaming
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 700 Watt
Default 06-17-2017, 01:41 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by KissSh0t View Post
Do you have the overclocked model of the asus rx 470? the product model is ROG STRIX-RX470-O4G-GAMING

The bios is available on the support page on the asus website, here are two links for the same card.

US webpage https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/...Desk_Download/

Australian webpage https://www.asus.com/au/Graphics-Car...Desk_Download/

Under driver and tools tab > Windows 10 > bios.

And I have uploaded a copy of the file available on the asus website to my mediafire account http://www.mediafire.com/file/tjos9c...X_RX470_OC.rar

Basically extract the file and run it as administrator, you don't need to be on Windows 10, for example I am on Windows 8.1.

It will then apply the new bios to the card and ask that you reset once it is applied and that is all you do and then it has the new bios.

Hope that helps.

Yes man exactly I have that same model... Thank you very much I flashed new bios and checked also in gpu-z to make sure it is flashed properly. Me also From 2 hours of gaming I didn't had problem hopefully and I hope never get no signal anymore later... Unfortunately we never knew when gpu loses signal maybe one week gpu run fine but I think and new bios really fixed that because asus was aware of it but If the problem come back I will post here.. Again thanks for this useful topic..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
KissSh0t
Ancient Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX 470 Strix Gaming
Processor: AMD FX 8320
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 06-17-2017, 04:36 | posts: 4,970 | Location: 0.0.0.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by INJ3CT8R View Post
Yes man exactly I have that same model... Thank you very much I flashed new bios and checked also in gpu-z to make sure it is flashed properly. Me also From 2 hours of gaming I didn't had problem hopefully and I hope never get no signal anymore later... Unfortunately we never knew when gpu loses signal maybe one week gpu run fine but I think and new bios really fixed that because asus was aware of it but If the problem come back I will post here.. Again thanks for this useful topic..
Very good to hear, hopefully this bios fixes it 100%

Before this bios update I was underclocking and undervolting the card with wattman to make it not black screen when gaming.

Just in case this card ever does have that terrible black screen again I will put a screenshot of those wattman settings here, hopefully wont ever have to use them.

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asus rx 470 strix

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.