Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core i7 or X99 chipset giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Asus x99 II + 6800k not booting / shuts down after 1 second
Old
  (#1)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Unhappy Asus x99 II + 6800k not booting / shuts down after 1 second - 06-10-2017, 02:03 | posts: 571

Hi, ill try to make this as short as possible.
I am trying to figure out "what to RMA".

What happened:
Today, during my usual twitch streams my computer shut down, pressing the power button, turns the PC on for about 1 sec and then it shuts down again.

What i tried:
Resetting the CMOS (both via jumper & also via removing the battery for 5 minutes)
Disconnecting all the external peripherals & all HDD's & SSD's
Removing the GPU & different GPU
Different power supply
Just one stick of ram instead of 2 (tried both sticks)
Disassembling the machine, making a bare-bone setup on my desk (mobo, ram, cpu, cpu cooler, psu)

While doing all of this, i managed to get the "limited" pc to start up couple of times (never fully), usually due to no VGA output or with the error message that i need to connect all the power cables for the GPU (while all of them were connected properly).
After many re-tries i managed to get into BIOS 2x, all i did afterwards was apply defaults and save (shouldn't do much since the CMOS was reset anyway).
The board rebooted after doing so and then shut down, resulting in the previously described "1 sec and then shuts down" behavior.

Since i don't have a spare 6800k or an x99 motherboard to test, i am kinda out of options.

Do you guys have any ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 06-10-2017, 08:05 | posts: 1,084 | Location: England

Is there any Q codes or fault LEDs lit up on the motherboard at all when you try and power it on?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 06-10-2017, 09:16 | posts: 571

Quote:
Originally Posted by anxious_f0x View Post
Is there any Q codes or fault LEDs lit up on the motherboard at all when you try and power it on?
Yup, although i find them extremely unreliable in this case.

During the testing (when the board ended up running longer than 1 second) the GPU fault led usually ended up glowing, then Q code varied heavily at this stage, usually also pointing to GPU.

When the board only lasts around 1 second, the CPU fault led is glowing and the last Q code i can see is between 20 and 25, this should be "pre memory PCH initialization" if it falls into the 19-1C range of Q codes according to the manual.

During "normal operation/proper boot" the board usually cycles through all of them while booting, for 0.5 sec and less in some cases but they did light up.

If i remember correctly the CPU fault led was on for 1-2 seconds every time the motherboard was booting, so i am not sure i can rely on the status from debug leds in this case.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Marco Borsato
Member Guru
 
Marco Borsato's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 Ti (1450/4000)
Processor: 6700k @ 4.7 Ghz ~1.35v
Mainboard: MSI Z170A Gaming M7
Memory: 16GB DDR4 2400 (Corsair)
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi HD
PSU: Corsair RM-750i
Default 06-10-2017, 09:45 | posts: 149 | Location: The Netherlands

This sure sounds like a bad motherboard my friend, are there any bent pins on the CPU socket?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 06-10-2017, 10:21 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

As you've tested/replaced all but the chip and the board, and unlikely to be the chip, looks likely it's the board
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 06-10-2017, 11:46 | posts: 571

No there are no bent pins on the motherboard.

Thanks for the help guys, i also think its the mobo, ill send the mobo out to asus for an RMA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 06-10-2017, 23:22 | posts: 9,409 | Location: USA

Did You try updating to latest 1701 bios via USB flashback?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 06-10-2017, 23:27 | posts: 571

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Did You try updating to latest 1701 bios via USB flashback?
No i didn't, the board was still running 1504, as there was no hardware change done in the system, and i was rocking the 1504 for months without any problem, it didn't seem relevant at the time.

In retrospect, i should have probably tried to remove the cpu again and get the 1701 flashed, but i didn't even have a pc on which i could make the flashstick with 1701.

:/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 06-11-2017, 04:13 | posts: 9,409 | Location: USA

You don't need to remove CPU btw.. just make sure plugged into outlet..

Of course you'll need a laptop or something to make it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 06-11-2017, 12:12 | posts: 1,084 | Location: England

Asus X99 boards have a bad habit of killing Intel CPU's so I wouldn't be surprised if it still doesn't boot after the RMA.

Good luck though, hopefully it is just the motherboard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 06-11-2017, 12:18 | posts: 571

I will also drop the CPU for RMA on monday, too bad i didn't have a spare cpu or mobo, i could have at least found the exact part that is breaking stuff, as now its still kinda 50:50.

Worst case scenario the CPU comes back as being "ok".
I don't really feel like waiting up to 2 months to get my machine fixed in case the mobo would be ok (the RMA period here is up to 30 days).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
The1
Member Guru
 
The1's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA 780ti SC, H20
Processor: I7-4930K, H20.
Mainboard: Rampage IV Black Edition
Memory: 4x8 G.Skill
Soundcard: Klipsch\MusesEssence Dac
PSU: BFG 1000
Default 06-12-2017, 11:36 | posts: 48 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by _cTn_ View Post
I will also drop the CPU for RMA on monday, too bad i didn't have a spare cpu or mobo, i could have at least found the exact part that is breaking stuff, as now its still kinda 50:50.

Worst case scenario the CPU comes back as being "ok".
I don't really feel like waiting up to 2 months to get my machine fixed in case the mobo would be ok (the RMA period here is up to 30 days).
Good Morning, may seem to simple but I had a very similar issue and did all of the usual troubleshooting steps.
Was going to rma the board and decided to replace the battery instead of just remove and bang....
All good and haven't had a problem since...
Give it a try, easy cheap and may save a lot of time.
Good Luck..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 06-12-2017, 15:26 | posts: 571

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
Good Morning, may seem to simple but I had a very similar issue and did all of the usual troubleshooting steps.
Was going to rma the board and decided to replace the battery instead of just remove and bang....
All good and haven't had a problem since...
Give it a try, easy cheap and may save a lot of time.
Good Luck..
Thanks for the idea, sadly everything went out for RMA already, so will see what kind of info i get from the RMA center.

However i had the battery out of the mobo for a brief period, measured it with my volt meter, everything seemed ok on that front.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 06-12-2017, 15:40 | posts: 6,341 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by anxious_f0x View Post
Asus X99 boards have a bad habit of killing Intel CPU's so I wouldn't be surprised if it still doesn't boot after the RMA.

Good luck though, hopefully it is just the motherboard.
Same with X79.. I highly suggest to send CPU for test at the same time, as i have got the same problem and it was not the mainboard, but the CPU. ( the worst is both was brand new and running since one night only..

So many time lost in RMA process ( and as i couldnt wait, i have buy a second mainboard ( who have finally do i have understand it was not the mainboard ).

Last edited by Lane; 06-12-2017 at 15:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 06-12-2017, 15:55 | posts: 571

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lane View Post
Same with X79.. I highly suggest to send CPU for test at the same time, as i have got the same problem and it was not the mainboard, but the CPU. ( the worst is both was brand new and running since one night only..

So many time lost in RMA process ( and as i couldnt wait, i have buy a second mainboard ( who have finally do i have understand it was not the mainboard ).
Damn, seems like quite a few people had some issue with the "enthusiast" intel platform :/
BTW thats exactly what i did (i sent both mobo and cpu for an RMA), i like to debug everything my self and then just send the broken component for an RMA, but i don't really have 2011-3 compatible cpu or mobo just laying around.
For all i know at this case, both things could be broken.

Whats funny is that about a month ago my 980 ti started to have huge temperature problems, i RMAed the card, turned out it was a "faulty" ram module, which they replaced...
Since the RMA took too long i bough my self an 1080 and now my "whole" machine RIPs, so i am without a working machine again... typical
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 06-15-2017, 09:27 | posts: 1,084 | Location: England

Let us know how it goes with the RMA, Intel are usually pretty good when it comes to replacing things, ASUS takes a bit longer but overall you shouldn't have to wait long.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
_cTn_
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX 980TI
Processor: Intel i7-6800K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A-II
Memory: 16 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 06-18-2017, 17:21 | posts: 571

Hi guys, so i got my hardware back, the motherboard was ok (all they did was flash the bios to the latest version and test it), the cpu on the other hand was replaced straight away.

I have rebuild the machine, everything seems to be running fine, the CPU doesn't overclock as good as the old one (sad eyes) but it runs around 10 C cooler during stress tests

Ill let it run for a couple of days on 4.1 GHz @ 1.26V and see if everything is ok, so far so good.

Thank you guys for your help!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 06-18-2017, 19:24 | posts: 1,084 | Location: England

Good to hear you got it sorted, I had a 6950X die on me so I know the feeling
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.