Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The Guru's Pub
The Guru's Pub Hang out with Guru3D's staff and other visitors, have a nice civilized chat, nothing hardware related though !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Framerate anxiety
Old
  (#1)
archie123
Maha Guru
 
archie123's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aorus 1080ti Extreme
Processor: I7-5930k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Asus X99-S
Memory: 16GB Hyper X Fury
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 850w RM Series
Default Framerate anxiety - 05-24-2017, 06:34 | posts: 2,359 | Location: UK

This is good advice .... but i just cant do it , i tried last night and broke into a cold sweat ha ha I blame my many years on this forum

http://www.pcgamer.com/learning-to-l...ffer_pcgamerfb
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
big ROBOT bill
Maha Guru
 
big ROBOT bill's Avatar
 
Videocard: R480+ Nitro @ 1425/2030
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.3 noctua
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P
Memory: 16GB Ripjaw DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DG & Logitech
PSU: 750W Seasonic
Default 05-24-2017, 07:01 | posts: 859 | Location: New Zealand

Great read, I concur, I shall turn Fraps off right now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 ARMOR 4G OC
Processor: i7-2600k (Thanks sykozis)
Mainboard: ASRock H61icalf
Memory: 8GB G.S DDR3 1600 --TK--
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 05-24-2017, 12:29 | posts: 4,103 | Location: Beech Island SC,USA

haha, good read indeed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980ti sc+
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 05-24-2017, 13:42 | posts: 7,065 | Location: Washington DC

I always have MSI: AB on but its mostly to monitor temps. I really don't care if I'm getting 80fps or 100fps. If the game runs well and isn't a slideshow that's all I care about.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 05-24-2017, 14:01 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

There is some good truth in all of this.

Still, im so used to monitoring tools now that it feels strange not to have it on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 05-24-2017, 16:15 | posts: 1,021

Hm, how does the author of that article get around the game looking blurry (during movement) when it goes below ~80FPS? (Only an issue on high refresh monitors; 60Hz monitors are always blurry.)

I never use an FPS counter when playing (unless I want to test settings). But when FPS reaches 80, I get the blur. I'm not looking at a frame counter. I'm just noticing things getting blurry.

Last edited by RealNC; 05-24-2017 at 16:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: HyperX Beast 16GB 2133
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: XFX 750w Silver
Default 05-24-2017, 16:35 | posts: 10,009

I know some people who would benefit from turning off the FPS counters if I'm honest.

That's not to say I don't use them myself, although I generally only do so to test settings before I start playing a game properly. After that I don't look unless I feel that something is off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
xodius80
Master Guru
 
xodius80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti
Processor: i7 6700nk Stock
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: ADATA 16GB DDR4
Soundcard: Essence ST@HD598
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 05-24-2017, 16:38 | posts: 733 | Location: Ecuador

got a freesync mon, a rx470, i also ditched the fps counter, everything is smooth. except mechwarrior but i know that game is unoptimized as hell
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Zooke
Member Guru
 
Zooke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X SLI @ 1475
Processor: 4790k @ 5GHz 24/7
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: G-Skill 2133 32Gb
Soundcard: ATH-700X
PSU: AX1500i
Default 05-24-2017, 17:02 | posts: 110 | Location: UK

Once you get used to the super smooth high framerates it is very difficult to enjoy games that cannot reach those heights.

I prefer to lower certain settings than sacrifice framerates much below 90.

It does help that I don't like certain settings anyway, such as that blurry field of vision thingy, or chromatic aberration, so they can go straight away.
I also prefer sharper images, so too much anti-aliasing is also something I balance out.

The things I won't lower are textures, view distance (I like seeing all the stuff miles away) and game effects like explosions etc. Lighting is also something I like at max.

I suppose it's what you get used to, not owning a console means that 30fps is a non-starter for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
rm082e
Master Guru
 
rm082e's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970 SLI Reference
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: 720w
Default 05-24-2017, 17:32 | posts: 274 | Location: Oklahoma

I'm on a 60hz monitor, and I always run V-sync. That means games are either 60, or choppy. So long as it's smooth, I don't pay attention to the OSD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 05-24-2017, 17:54 | posts: 12,887 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhlkoho View Post
I always have MSI: AB on but its mostly to monitor temps. I really don't care if I'm getting 80fps or 100fps. If the game runs well and isn't a slideshow that's all I care about.
I have hardware monitor on too but I'd never let that mess my screen. However, that's one reason why I bought Logitech G510s - LCD screen. If I get a keyboard without display, I'll just alt-tab to check graphs if I feel like there's a problem.

Last edited by Anarion; 05-24-2017 at 17:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Fox2232
Ancient Guru
 
Fox2232's Avatar
 
Videocard: Fury X - XL2420T(Z)@144Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,8,20 1T
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 05-24-2017, 19:16 | posts: 5,353 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

I am going to solve it with 240Hz Freesync screen.
Something like: http://aoc-europe.com/en/products/ag251fz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
Processor: Core i7 5820K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A/USB 3.1
Memory: Kingston HypX 16GB 3Ghz
Soundcard: Essence STXII Senn. HD650
PSU: Super Flower 1200W
Default 05-24-2017, 20:05 | posts: 6,565 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
Hm, how does the author of that article get around the game looking blurry (during movement) when it goes below ~80FPS? (Only an issue on high refresh monitors; 60Hz monitors are always blurry.)

I never use an FPS counter when playing (unless I want to test settings). But when FPS reaches 80, I get the blur. I'm not looking at a frame counter. I'm just noticing things getting blurry.
Well for SP games I agree to some extent with the author, but in MP shooters I played often I've even been able to blind test the difference between 120 fps @ 120Hz and 110 fps @ 120Hz...

I wouldn't fully call it blind or a visual test, but I felt something weird, a sort of "drag" on my mouse-movement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooke View Post
I prefer to lower certain settings than sacrifice framerates much below 90.
Same here, the only 2 games I've managed to muster through at sub 40 fps are Metro 2033 (at release) and Crysis tbh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 05-24-2017, 20:26 | posts: 9,409 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
I am going to solve it with 240Hz Freesync screen.
Something like: http://aoc-europe.com/en/products/ag251fz
Better off with a 165hz panel 1440P
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 05-24-2017, 20:29 | posts: 1,021

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrupt^ View Post
Well for SP games I agree to some extent with the author
I see the blur in both SP and MP games. It doesn't matter if it's Witcher 3 or Counter-Strike. Once the frame rate approaches 80FPS... blur.

With a 60Hz monitor, it doesn't make a difference 50FPS vs 60FPS looks about the same. 100FPS vs 60FPS, the difference is HUGE.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
H83
Maha Guru
 
H83's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus ROG Strix GTX1070
Processor: I5 7600K @5.0Ghz (1.28V)
Mainboard: Asus ROG Strix Z270F
Memory: G.Skill DDR4 16G 3200Mhz
Soundcard: ROG SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair RM850i
Default 05-24-2017, 20:44 | posts: 1,877 | Location: Mars

Good thing i donīt care too much about this issue. Iīm still using a 1080p 60Hz monitor and iīm used to play games with some blur or frame rate dips. For me the most important part is if the game or not. For example Dark Souls has some severe frame rate issues in certain areas and i donīt care too much because itīs one of the best game i have ever played.

But maybe my opinion will change in the near future after i buy a 144Hz screen that some gurus have advised as a must buy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
stereoman
Master Guru
 
stereoman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 GTX Windforce 3 OC
Processor: 4790K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB BallistixTracer 2400
Soundcard: Avid MBOX 3 + KRK ROKIT 5
PSU: CM Silent Pro 1000W
Default 05-24-2017, 21:12 | posts: 555

I can't remember the last time I even cared to check FPS on my regular games unless it's a new game and there's something seriously wrong I never bother and since I switched to G Sync Screens a locked 60 fps has become a bit of a non issue, I can relate though it can become an obsession.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
RzrTrek
Maha Guru
 
RzrTrek's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX580 (8GB)
Processor: i5-7600K
Mainboard: PRIME Z270-A
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: ALCS1220A
PSU: RM750x
Default 05-24-2017, 21:16 | posts: 884 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

I can't tell you how many times I've just been sittin' there looking at the frame counter go below 60 and how bad that made me feel instead of playin' the actual game itself, but no more of that, time to enjoy life.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
Processor: Core i7 5820K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A/USB 3.1
Memory: Kingston HypX 16GB 3Ghz
Soundcard: Essence STXII Senn. HD650
PSU: Super Flower 1200W
Default 05-24-2017, 22:27 | posts: 6,565 | Location: Belgium

I only check my FPS counter when I feel "laggy" and usually the counter then confirms my suspicions :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Realtek....
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 05-25-2017, 00:51 | posts: 19,890 | Location: US East Coast

Last time I actually cared about getting the highest framerate possible was when I was addicted to WoW. Doing 25m raids was hell on framerates. Had to keep tweaking settings to get 60fps minimum.

Lately, I've been monitoring framerate very closely in BF4 MP. Trying to stay around 60fps... Had to increase graphics settings to Ultra to get the framerate that low....lol What's the point of FreeSync if you're just going to let your framerate outpace your monitor? BF4 is the only PC game I play these days... Usually, if I'm gaming, it's on XBox with my son playing Halo....lol


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 05-25-2017, 01:42 | posts: 17,651 | Location: Glasgow

It's not uncommon for me to have a detailed osd running even while watching a movie.

I do agree that sometimes having an OSD on while gaming is just a massive distraction, but alot of the time you see or feel it drop and then you look up and see that confirmed with the numbers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Jujudlapampa
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Strix GTX1070 2088/2302
Processor: I7 7700K/Noctua D15s
Mainboard: MSI Z270 Gaming pro carb.
Memory: Ballistix 2x8gb 3000mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet! PP L8 600W
Default 05-28-2017, 22:46 | posts: 92 | Location: France

This is so relatable, I've been through something like this as well.

I'm the same way, with framerate and temperature.

It's kinda understandable when you spend a lot of money on a rig, spend countless hours to tweak and optimize, you expect close to perfect results (according to what hardware you have, and what you SHOULD expect from it).
In the reality, not everything depends on you of course.

I, too, dropped my FPS counter because I felt like I wasn't enjoying my games.

Even though, I still cringe at every little stutter and hiccup, but I try to suppress it a bit.

It's not really a healthy line of thought, but goddamn a smooth experience feels so nice.

EDIT : I sound like a drug addict ._.
It's not that bad really.

Last edited by Jujudlapampa; 05-28-2017 at 22:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
TaskMaster
Master Guru
 
TaskMaster's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galax GTX 980 SLI 4gb
Processor: Intel i7 4960x 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 64GB Dominator Platinum
Soundcard: XFI Titanium f4tality pro
PSU: Coolermaster 1000Watt
Default 05-29-2017, 03:16 | posts: 685

Never check my fps unless there is an obvious issue. Aside from that I do not care.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
XP-200
Ancient Guru
 
XP-200's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 970 Strix
Processor: Intel i7-4770 @ 3.40ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z87-K
Memory: Corsair XMS3 16GB 1333
Soundcard: VIA HD Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600w+80
Default 05-29-2017, 09:58 | posts: 3,752 | Location: UK

I turned off any and all monitoring programs long ago, at one point if a temp or reading went above a certain level i was stripping the whole PC down again to cure it, now these days i just enjoy the PC without these things, they were a nuisance when i look back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970GTX
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 05-29-2017, 10:03 | posts: 4,552 | Location: Spain

I have everything off and my PC is still alive after like 5years....

playing things mostly maxed
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.