Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Installing Windows XP on AM4 Ryzen 7
Old
  (#1)
AMDK6
Newbie
 
Videocard: 32MB
Processor: AMD K6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500 Watts
Default Installing Windows XP on AM4 Ryzen 7 - 05-21-2017, 23:34 | posts: 19

Windows 7 is now supported. Anyone here try installing XP on any AM4 CPU and any success or failures? I'm hoping it either installs fine or need some files to be modded.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-22-2017, 06:33 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Windows 7 yes, but XP? Why?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AntiSnipe
Member Guru
 
AntiSnipe's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 950
Processor: AMD FX-6300
Mainboard: Gigabyte 970A-UD3P
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Anything NOT Creative Lab
PSU: Antec TP750w
Default 05-22-2017, 07:48 | posts: 107

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Windows 7 yes, but XP? Why?
Because it's the 'best Windows yet!'
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 05-22-2017, 09:29 | posts: 666 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiSnipe View Post
Because it's the 'best Windows yet!'
I think it is time to move on mate

unless your using some old ass hat hax tools?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-22-2017, 11:49 | posts: 6,365 | Location: Australia

True XP is 32-bit only, meaning limited to 4 GB of usable RAM. Not really practical! Besides, most new software won't run on it and it's a security hole quagmire. XP 64-bit is actually Server 2003 'XPerised', where Windows XP was 5.1, XP x64/Server 2003 was version 5.2.

A separate nostalgia note, Server 2003 can be converted into XP (all the base code is there, includign the XP boot logo!), but still use 2003 updates. If someone were to insist on running XP it would probably be a less-dangerous security hole wise preposition.

Realistically Windows 10 should be used. I know a lot of people are anti-Windows 10, but most of the time the reasons are pretty p!$$ p00r, I wouldn't be surprised if it were started by a competitor or someone with competitor centric idealogies.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
AMDK6
Newbie
 
Videocard: 32MB
Processor: AMD K6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500 Watts
Default 05-22-2017, 13:13 | posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Windows 7 yes, but XP? Why?
Legacy software run natively on a modern computer runs super silky smooth. The 8 cores of the Ryzen 7 can be tapped into as long as you can install XP. XP works on Skylake so I'm just curious if anyone has attempted it on the Ryzen 7 yet. Dual Boot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 05-22-2017, 13:18 | posts: 13,020 | Location: Toledo Ohio

I would try it just for giggles lmao. I'll see what I can do tonight!
   
Reply With Quote
Xp 128gb
Old
  (#8)
AMDK6
Newbie
 
Videocard: 32MB
Processor: AMD K6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500 Watts
Default Xp 128gb - 05-22-2017, 13:30 | posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
True XP is 32-bit only, meaning limited to 4 GB of usable RAM. Not really practical! Besides, most new software won't run on it and it's a security hole quagmire. XP 64-bit is actually Server 2003 'XPerised', where Windows XP was 5.1, XP x64/Server 2003 was version 5.2.

A separate nostalgia note, Server 2003 can be converted into XP (all the base code is there, includign the XP boot logo!), but still use 2003 updates. If someone were to insist on running XP it would probably be a less-dangerous security hole wise preposition.

Realistically Windows 10 should be used. I know a lot of people are anti-Windows 10, but most of the time the reasons are pretty p!$$ p00r, I wouldn't be surprised if it were started by a competitor or someone with competitor centric idealogies.
XP has been patched to 128GB. Sorry this is news to you.
ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10547

I wouldn't worry about security which is beyond the scope of the original thread. But if you can image your OS in a clean state restoring XP will only take 5 seconds due to its small size. If you install software that intercepts any programs from running you can easily avoid 95% of the crap that tries to infect your OS regardless if it is XP or Windows 10. Most of the time infection is caused by the user running a file they got tricked into opening. A simple OS image restore in 5 seconds and you are back to a clean OS uninfected. Don't believe the hype that you must always use the latest Windows OS to feel safe. This may be true for novice users or newbies. But then W10 will become obsolete just like every previous OS because of no more support to patch these loopholes. And 0 day ones can get Windows 10 as well so nothing is safe. But restoring a 20+GB image vs a 2GB image I'll take the 2GB one. The main reasons Windows 10 isn't as accepted compared to say Windows 7 is the added spyware and defaulted snoop options during setup. By default they should have made it NO no no no no... Also you can no longer activate the W10 copy offline or by phone. I'm not sure why the sudden change from Windows 7 and earlier except to crack down on piracy or something is the only reason I can think of. The earlier Windows OS you could install and no need to activate. Windows 2000 seemed to be the last OS that followed this rule.

But as far as any updates I'm not too concerned about those and I'm sure most hackers are going to target Windows 10 and 7 now compared to XP or Vista which only make up about 10% of the share world wide. And again any infection can be restored back to clean state in seconds.

But if you truly wanted Windows 10 to be accepted they should have just made it free to use and no activation required similar to Mac OS strategy these days with Sierra and so on.

But on a side note if Windows 7 had DX12 support patch update no one would even bother with Windows 10. That's just my opinion but unless you got some good reasons to choose 10 over 7 if both had DX12 support I can't see any. Not to mention a lot of USB 3.0 driver issues for Windows 10 due to in-box or lack of official Intel ones.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
AMDK6
Newbie
 
Videocard: 32MB
Processor: AMD K6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500 Watts
Default 05-22-2017, 13:33 | posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
I would try it just for giggles lmao. I'll see what I can do tonight!
It will work on your system Intel Skylake. I'm looking for a pure AMD Ryzen user or other AM4 socketed CPU since XP drivers don't exist.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-22-2017, 13:57 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDK6 View Post
Legacy software run natively on a modern computer runs super silky smooth. The 8 cores of the Ryzen 7 can be tapped into as long as you can install XP. XP works on Skylake so I'm just curious if anyone has attempted it on the Ryzen 7 yet. Dual Boot.
Can you name some software that runs on XP but not on 7?

Genuine question, I'd like to try getting it to run on 7 myself, or know an alternative that runs on 7 fine, I can't think of anything that anyone would need to run (personally) that only XP can run today
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
AMDK6
Newbie
 
Videocard: 32MB
Processor: AMD K6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500 Watts
Default 05-22-2017, 14:17 | posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Can you name some software that runs on XP but not on 7?

Genuine question, I'd like to try getting it to run on 7 myself, or know an alternative that runs on 7 fine, I can't think of anything that anyone would need to run (personally) that only XP can run today
There's probably a huge list for that if you google around. I haven't spent the time running XP software on Windows 7 to give you that list. But if you can imagine running Windows 98 games on XP I'm sure there is a huge list that won't work properly as a comparison. But namely legacy games will not 100% work on Windows 7. About what percentage that won't run on Windows 7 I don't know the figure as I haven't tried. For non graphical software I'm sure Windows 7 might be able to run 100%. But I prefer to run the software on the native OS it was meant for the best compatibility without tweaking it and it also runs the fastest. Also the memory usage of older programs uses a smaller fraction than those of Windows 7 64 bit. So assuming you had identical setups for XP and Windows 7 and installed the 32 bit versions on the XP and the 64 bit versions on the W7 you should notice a sizable difference in space usage for the same functionality.

Compare the space difference used between XP and 7 it will be dramatic.

But just from an OS comparison for a complete install.

Windows XP is under 2GB
Windows 7 is around 20GB.

Also there will be a day when Windows 7 will no longer be supported by any graphics cards so I'll be waiting for when that happens to grab that last generation for running Windows 7 specific software on the latest hardware that can install Windows 7.

I'm glad they got a Ryzen that has 8 cores and uses 65 Watts. Otherwise it wouldn't have peaked my interest. Poor Intel is still stuck with 4 cores maybe for another generation or two. I just wish there was some socket 1155/1150/1151 adapter to use on AMD CPUs. I got a nice passive cooler I want to mount on it. I'm not sure why didn't AMD just use the same mounting holes as the Intel ones for AM4.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 05-22-2017, 14:56 | posts: 9,409 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDK6 View Post

Windows XP is under 2GB
Windows 7 is around 20GB.
But who cares?

Why does that even matter?

Not 20gb, more like 8gb with pagefile+hibernation disabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
AntiSnipe
Member Guru
 
AntiSnipe's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 950
Processor: AMD FX-6300
Mainboard: Gigabyte 970A-UD3P
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Anything NOT Creative Lab
PSU: Antec TP750w
Default 05-23-2017, 02:17 | posts: 107

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passus View Post
I think it is time to move on mate
I know, I was just joking...sort of. If I could still use XP (or better yet Windows 2000) I sure as heck would though, just to avoid the massive bloat of the newer versions. I moved to Linux after Windows 7, but keep a Windows 7 install handy for those pesky things that just aren't as good on Linux (games and some of my video/music recording/mixing stuff).

But, back on topic...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
AMDK6
Newbie
 
Videocard: 32MB
Processor: AMD K6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500 Watts
Default 05-23-2017, 06:16 | posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
But who cares?

Why does that even matter?

Not 20gb, more like 8gb with pagefile+hibernation disabled.
Why does what matter? Space consumption? Would you rather have a 20GB OS or a 200GB OS? I'll take a small OS size any day. Or are you thinking what advantage would a smaller OS size make? Maybe it can be loaded into pure memory instead of run off disk if someone patches it?

As far as installation size Windows 7 definitely is not 8GB. I am talking about Windows 7 64 bit installed clean with pagefile and hibernation disabled which you also stated. I'm not sure where you are getting your W7 OS as 8GB only space used. If you want to talk about to the exact GB it is identified as 20.7GB size on disk, 22.3GB actual used with 64KB allocation unit size. Actual size on disk would be around 16.9GB probably on 512 byte allocation unit size. Even installing Windows 7 64 bit you need at least 17GB of free space or it won't even start.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen5 1600
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ 3000/C14
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 06-11-2017, 22:11 | posts: 3,467 | Location: Finland

Afaik installing XP on Haswell and newer is a tough job mostly for missing drivers.

If you intend to game on XP it may be a no-go. I recently researched this a bit and found an example case where XP was installed on Haswell laptop.

In theory it worked but there were lots of unknown devices ie. missing drivers etc. Wouldn't probably work as a gaming machine as the system's not running properly.

Ryzen has no XP support whatsoever and it's a new platform so you can't use older chipset drivers for example.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Hammie
Master Guru
 
Hammie's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SMG 28" 1ms 3840x2160
Processor: 4930k Ivy-E 4.5Ghz 12HT
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79 64GB
Memory: Corsair Veng. 1890
Soundcard: Xonar D2 & KRK Rokit 10-3
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 06-25-2017, 16:44 | posts: 561 | Location: Glendale, CA

Installing XP is a SIN. Your going to hell for that. lol jk I think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Realtek....
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 06-25-2017, 22:30 | posts: 19,893 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDK6 View Post
XP has been patched to 128GB. Sorry this is news to you.
WindowsXP has a limit of 4GB supported, without being "modified". Modified does not mean "patched".

Without functional drivers, memory support means nothing. Since there are no functional drivers for current hardware, XP is useless.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-25-2017, 23:50 | posts: 3,452 | Location: Moscow, Russia

I don`t believe you can restore volume from image in 5 seconds. Video with stopwatch or it never happened.

As for newer OSs - bloated or not they use new features of new hardware (CPU instructions, CPU facilities, ACPI facilities, PCI Express facilities etc) to do the job faster/more efficiently.

Last edited by mbk1969; 06-25-2017 at 23:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
holystarlight
Master Guru
 
holystarlight's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1080 Strix SLI
Processor: Intel 6950x 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme 10
Memory: G.Skill 32gb 3200mhz
Soundcard: Chord Dave DAC / WA22
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 06-26-2017, 16:42 | posts: 709 | Location: England

restoring a disk image of 150gb on a samsung 960 pro drive, with a external 1TB samsung USB C flash drive takes me 3-4mins, I think its time to upgrade your drives. then wouldn't matter how big your disk images are, and actually use a modern OS that supports modern hardware.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Alessio1989
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Two different furnaces
Processor: It's getting old...
Mainboard: A voltage leaker...
Memory: Heap corruption
Soundcard: It's over 109db!!!!
PSU: Finally, a quite engine
Default 06-26-2017, 16:54 | posts: 677 | Location: Good-food-land

I suggest you to virtualize Windows XP. You can use VMWare Player, Virtual Box or Microsoft Hyper-V if you have Windows 10 Professional. You will no longer find Windows XP drivers for modern GPUs, but under modern virtualization software you can enable some sort of 3D acceleration for basic functionalities. Unless you need to run very old software requiring kernel drivers, you do not need Windows XP at all, even to play the majority of legacy games, since Windows 10 comes with 8-bit and 16-bit colour depth support (note: you may need to manually enable those options on single executables). For DOS games of course there is dosbox.

Last edited by Alessio1989; 06-26-2017 at 16:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen5 1600
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ 3000/C14
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 06-26-2017, 18:37 | posts: 3,467 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDK6 View Post
...The 8 cores of the Ryzen 7 can be tapped into as long as you can install XP...
You do realize XP needed, and needs, a PAE (physical address extension) patch to even support 64-bit CPUs?
Multithreading wasn't a thing when XP was created, XP isn't an effective multithreaded OS.

Also legacy XP-era software for sure isn't multicore aware anyway so re-reading I'm not actually sure what you wish to accomplish?

Like said either virtualize or try to find a second hand Sandy/Ivy (or older Core 2 era) build if you insist on running XP natively.

Last edited by AsiJu; 06-26-2017 at 18:41. Reason: corrected mistake
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 06-26-2017, 18:44 | posts: 6,365 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDK6 View Post
I'm not sure why didn't AMD just use the same mounting holes as the Intel ones for AM4.
There's the processor height consideration, but that aside it would be for various legal reasons. Do heatsink manufacturers have to pay royalties for supporting a particular socket?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.