Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Internet speeds stuck at 120Mbps/13.7MBps
Old
  (#1)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default Internet speeds stuck at 120Mbps/13.7MBps - 05-17-2017, 10:56 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

I'm heading to bed but wanted to leave this here, so short on details for now. I recently got Google Fiber 1Gbit and not a single computer or application is able to go past the exact amount in the thread title. 5 different speedtest sites all come back with 900+ up and down. Yet Steam, Uplay, Origin, MS catalog, nVidia driver downloads, GOG Galaxy and many others shoot right up to 120Mbps/13.7MBps and sit there until the download or upload is done. Wildlands took forever to download and never budged from 13.7 in over an hour! I've put off downloading DOOM 2016 until I've figured this out.

I've tried messing with my NIC settings but there are a few dozen to change, so I might need some guidance in that area. Here is a recent screenshot to show exactly what I'm talking about.

 Click to show spoiler



I know the name says NIC #2 and adapter says Ethernet 4, but this is the only network device in my entire system. I've removed and installed the device multiple times and it always names them like that. I can upload more photos or provide any information needed. I'm also looking at this tweak guide (https://www.speedguide.net/articles/...ip-tweaks-5077) as a possibility if no other options seems to help. I really hope we can get this figured out as I'd really like to use the internet I'm paying for! Thanks in advance, Guru's!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Deckard
Master Guru
 
Deckard's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 980Ti 6GB
Processor: AMD FX-9590@4.940ghz
Mainboard: Asus CHV Formula-Z 990FX
Memory: 32GB HyperXBeast @2133
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Zx
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 05-17-2017, 11:29 | posts: 383 | Location: London UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
I'm heading to bed but wanted to leave this here, so short on details for now. I recently got Google Fiber 1Gbit and not a single computer or application is able to go past the exact amount in the thread title. 5 different speedtest sites all come back with 900+ up and down. Yet Steam, Uplay, Origin, MS catalog, nVidia driver downloads, GOG Galaxy and many others shoot right up to 120Mbps/13.7MBps and sit there until the download or upload is done. Wildlands took forever to download and never budged from 13.7 in over an hour! I've put off downloading DOOM 2016 until I've figured this out.

I've tried messing with my NIC settings but there are a few dozen to change, so I might need some guidance in that area. Here is a recent screenshot to show exactly what I'm talking about.

 Click to show spoiler



I know the name says NIC #2 and adapter says Ethernet 4, but this is the only network device in my entire system. I've removed and installed the device multiple times and it always names them like that. I can upload more photos or provide any information needed. I'm also looking at this tweak guide (https://www.speedguide.net/articles/...ip-tweaks-5077) as a possibility if no other options seems to help. I really hope we can get this figured out as I'd really like to use the internet I'm paying for! Thanks in advance, Guru's!
I am on 1Gbit fibre too, (not google)

Can you post your router/modem setup too? make sure QoS is not on.

did you use the tcpip optimiser from speedguide.net?

what CAT Ethernet cable do you have? you need at least 5e for gb, 6 is just extras shielding from interference.

Also check that your not coiling your ethernet cable or its not near electrical sockets etc...

make sure the connection speed is set to Auto = full duplex 1GB if its not 1gb full duplex then then set it manually in negotiate connection speed settings.

Also check steam is connecting to your local server not some random one.
i get 80-90MB/s on steam downloads and dont have any problems. its downloaded in seconds.

My gut feeling is that QoS is on in your router modem settings.if you are using some traffic prioritising software like (Asus - Game first).. ditch it if you are.

Good luck

Deckard
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-17-2017, 20:08 | posts: 7,359 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
I'm heading to bed but wanted to leave this here, so short on details for now. I recently got Google Fiber 1Gbit and not a single computer or application is able to go past the exact amount in the thread title. 5 different speedtest sites all come back with 900+ up and down. Yet Steam, Uplay, Origin, MS catalog, nVidia driver downloads, GOG Galaxy and many others shoot right up to 120Mbps/13.7MBps and sit there until the download or upload is done. Wildlands took forever to download and never budged from 13.7 in over an hour! I've put off downloading DOOM 2016 until I've figured this out.

I've tried messing with my NIC settings but there are a few dozen to change, so I might need some guidance in that area. Here is a recent screenshot to show exactly what I'm talking about.

 Click to show spoiler



I know the name says NIC #2 and adapter says Ethernet 4, but this is the only network device in my entire system. I've removed and installed the device multiple times and it always names them like that. I can upload more photos or provide any information needed. I'm also looking at this tweak guide (https://www.speedguide.net/articles/...ip-tweaks-5077) as a possibility if no other options seems to help. I really hope we can get this figured out as I'd really like to use the internet I'm paying for! Thanks in advance, Guru's!

If speedtest show 900+ but other thing dont like steam other stuff talking about tells me those server are limiting your speed

just cause your provisioned for 1gbit dont mean all server you connect to can and will give you your max speeds
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980ti sc+
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 05-17-2017, 20:46 | posts: 7,065 | Location: Washington DC

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
If speedtest show 900+ but other thing dont like steam other stuff talking about tells me those server are limiting your speed

just cause your provisioned for 1gbit dont mean all server you connect to can and will give you your max speeds
Steam and Origin definitely can handle faster than what he's getting. My downloads from Steam average 30-35MB/s

Could be something simple like the above poster said. Check you have the right cables and if you are plugged into a switch make sure its Gigabit capable.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-17-2017, 21:18 | posts: 7,359 | Location: USA

his cables arnt the issue if speedtest say 900+mbit but those servers stop at 120mbit. if it was his cables the issue the speedtest would stop at 120mbit too

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-17-2017 at 21:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-17-2017, 22:10 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckard View Post
I am on 1Gbit fibre too, (not google)

Can you post your router/modem setup too? make sure QoS is not on.

did you use the tcpip optimiser from speedguide.net?

what CAT Ethernet cable do you have? you need at least 5e for gb, 6 is just extras shielding from interference.

Also check that your not coiling your ethernet cable or its not near electrical sockets etc...

make sure the connection speed is set to Auto = full duplex 1GB if its not 1gb full duplex then then set it manually in negotiate connection speed settings.

Also check steam is connecting to your local server not some random one.
i get 80-90MB/s on steam downloads and dont have any problems. its downloaded in seconds.

My gut feeling is that QoS is on in your router modem settings.if you are using some traffic prioritising software like (Asus - Game first).. ditch it if you are.

Good luck

Deckard
My friend one street over has AT&T Gigapower and gets much faster downloads than I do. I'll have to post router settings later as it is attached to my roommates Google account.

I haven't used the tcpip optimizer, honestly hadn't even heard of it until now.

So far I've used 2 different CAT6 cables, 2 different CAT5E cables and 2 different CAT5 Patch cables. Exact same behavior with all 6 of them. Only one of those 6 cables has ever been coiled and the closest one got to an outlet was about 4 feet away. I've tried all of these cables in the router directly and then into my Gigabit switch that some of out other devices run off of. No noticeable difference since they both stop at 120Mbps/13.7MBps.

As for the duplex stuff, it is definitely connecting at 1Gbit since all of my network transfers both ways go at ~100MBps.

I've tried all the Steam servers in Texas so far and all of them do the same 120Mbps/13.7MBps thing. I don't have any software in the background other than MSIAB. None of my programs use their built in speed caps either.

I'll have to check QoS in the router later. It is so strange to me that speedtests work fine, network transfers work fine and even my X1 gets 600-800Mbps in its internet speed test!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
If speedtest show 900+ but other thing dont like steam other stuff talking about tells me those server are limiting your speed

just cause your provisioned for 1gbit dont mean all server you connect to can and will give you your max speeds
I understand that not every site or service would allow me a full gigabit, but for every single site and program to stop at the exact same speed leads me to believe there is an issue somewhere. I sure hope we can figure it out, because my previous TWC 100/10 internet plan could download at ~15Mbps on a good day!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhlkoho View Post
Steam and Origin definitely can handle faster than what he's getting. My downloads from Steam average 30-35MB/s

Could be something simple like the above poster said. Check you have the right cables and if you are plugged into a switch make sure its Gigabit capable.
Yeah, my buddy who loves close by gets 60-70MB/s in Steam with an older computer than mine and an older, slower SSD. Something, maybe OS level or router level, is keeping normal everyday programs from exceeding this artificial cap of sorts. You can read above about what I've done with cables and my switch, but I've also gone so far as to unplug all other devices in the entire house and have just my desktop in the first LAN port of the router. Same exact behavior.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-17-2017, 22:12 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
If speedtest show 900+ but other thing dont like steam other stuff talking about tells me those server are limiting your speed

just cause your provisioned for 1gbit dont mean all server you connect to can and will give you your max speeds
Easy test, download multiple files simultaneously to max out the connection with HTTP
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-17-2017, 22:36 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Easy test, download multiple files simultaneously to max out the connection with HTTP
Okay, I hope I understand what you are saying. I just downloaded 1GB+ files on 3 different computers (bedroom, living room, kitchen) at the same time. They are all wired (CAT5E to switch, CAT5E to switch, CAT6 to router) and they all shoot right up to 13.7MBps and sit there until the download is done.

2 of the 3 machines are on SSD's and task manager shows about 5% usage, so that shouldn't be an issue. 3rd machine is on a 1TB WD Black and shows about 10% usage. Also, we are all on different browsers (Edge, FF, Chrome) so that leads me to believe that it isn't a browser issue. Here is another screenshot from about an hour ago when a Wildlands update came through. Uplay has no cap on speeds.

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-17-2017, 22:57 | posts: 7,359 | Location: USA

are you sure you dont have steam/uplay and any other game platforums you may use set to limit the bandwidth it uses.

It not cable issue it either your HDD it limiting you which i highly doubt, server you connecting to are limiting you, or you have something on system limiting those places on your system.

It not your router cause if it was router limiting you, you would never seeing 900mbit in first place, less you have these machines show this issue, running threw VPN threw the router, which dont think you do cause you again would never see that 900mbit on speed tests.

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-17-2017 at 23:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-17-2017, 22:59 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
are you sure you dont have steam set to limit the bandwidth it uses
100% sure. I just checked Steam and Uplay. Neither of them are capped, or even have a cap that would always result in *exactly* 13.7MBps on every download. This is why I think it is a router/NIC/OS setting somewhere.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-17-2017, 23:19 | posts: 7,359 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
100% sure. I just checked Steam and Uplay. Neither of them are capped, or even have a cap that would always result in *exactly* 13.7MBps on every download. This is why I think it is a router/NIC/OS setting somewhere.
I out ideas are any of them connected to router directly? or all them going from router to switch to switch to system?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-17-2017, 23:21 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Did you ever check if QoS was enabled?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-17-2017, 23:30 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
I out ideas are any of them connected to router directly? or all them going from router to switch to switch to system?
I've tried 4 different computers (3 of mine, 1 of my friends desktop) in my router and switch and they all exhibit the exact same behavior.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Did you ever check if QoS was enabled?
My roommate isn't home yet, so can't get into the router yet. That is my next step, then we can move on to trying other things.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-17-2017, 23:35 | posts: 7,359 | Location: USA

IF QOS was reason limiting it would limiting on all connections, unless the router can do QOS and Bandwidth limiting at same time. Mine *AC66U* can not not sure about other routers.

IF the router bandwidth limiting specific systems then that can be reason why. All my Wired devices have unrestricted speeds, all wifi is redistricted to 10mbit

IS the 900mbit speedtest shown on same system show those specific speed caps steam/uplay??, cause last i check bandwidth limiting will pick and choose what to limit on system, as it limits all activate on said system limited.

I still think something out side our network is limiting you.

Sort of you using VPN on the systems them selves or proxy, cause all that can also limit speed too, but if you have 900mbit speedtest on same systems show those specificly speed limits there probably isnt vpn either

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-17-2017 at 23:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-18-2017, 04:37 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Did you ever check if QoS was enabled?
Yep. It was on. I turned it off, reset the router along with all devices. Same behavior. Spent 2 hours with a Google Fiber tech, and they are stumped. I asked if I could just plug in my TP-Link AC1900 and apparently that isn't supported.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
IF QOS was reason limiting it would limiting on all connections, unless the router can do QOS and Bandwidth limiting at same time. Mine *AC66U* can not not sure about other routers.

IF the router bandwidth limiting specific systems then that can be reason why. All my Wired devices have unrestricted speeds, all wifi is redistricted to 10mbit

IS the 900mbit speedtest shown on same system show those specific speed caps steam/uplay??, cause last i check bandwidth limiting will pick and choose what to limit on system, as it limits all activate on said system limited.

I still think something out side our network is limiting you.

Sort of you using VPN on the systems them selves or proxy, cause all that can also limit speed too, but if you have 900mbit speedtest on same systems show those specificly speed limits there probably isnt vpn either
Yes, the speedtest results were from the same computer that has every other internet related thing capped at 13.7MBps. All 3 of my computers and my friends laptop are the same way. I can actually start a download in Firefox, it shoots up to 13.7MBps and won't budge, start downloading a game in Uplay, it shoots up to 13.7MBps and won't budge, open a new tab and start a speedtest that shoots up to 900+ both up and down.

For some reason, speedtests are the ONLY thing going above 13.7MBps under any and all circumstances so far. No VPN's or anything going on. Super simple setup for troubleshooting. Wall jack -> Google Fiber box -> CAT5E to my desktop. I've tried everything I can possible think of. I'm just going to exchange my router at the local store in the next day or so to see if that does anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Zooke
Member Guru
 
Zooke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X SLI @ 1475
Processor: 4790k @ 5GHz 24/7
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: G-Skill 2133 32Gb
Soundcard: ATH-700X
PSU: AX1500i
Default 05-18-2017, 05:55 | posts: 110 | Location: UK

Something is clearly capping you,
What happens when you download from 2 sources at the same time ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-18-2017, 06:18 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooke View Post
Something is clearly capping you,
What happens when you download from 2 sources at the same time ?
Interestingly enough, they fight over the 13.7MBps until one of them finishes.

 Click to show spoiler



This is so weird and annoying, I've never seen anything like it in my many years and many computers. It's like somewhere between my wall jack and my PC something (router, OS?) is tagging data or capping data for some reason.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-18-2017, 08:59 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Is it possible that speedtests use something other than http?

Maybe HTTP vs HTTPS or p2p etc?

What about torrents, what speed do you get from them?

FTP transfers? Try downloading Ubuntu from one of the FTP 1gpbs links here
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+cdmirrors

Might need to set a few going from different servers as I can't find one that maxes my 76meg connection on it's own
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 4G
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: XonarDG+HD595
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-18-2017, 09:42 | posts: 2,741 | Location: Ibaraki, Japan

If there speed limit per port on router, it's worth checking it.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-18-2017, 10:18 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Is it possible that speedtests use something other than http?

Maybe HTTP vs HTTPS or p2p etc?

What about torrents, what speed do you get from them?

FTP transfers? Try downloading Ubuntu from one of the FTP 1gpbs links here
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+cdmirrors

Might need to set a few going from different servers as I can't find one that maxes my 76meg connection on it's own
I got anywhere from 30MBps to 45MBps before the file finished downloading. I'm starting to think that Google is maybe shaping data or throttling based on the data type or connection type. I have no idea how this download is not affected by my "120Mbps" issue, yet Uplay/Steam/MS download all fight over that 13.7MBps slice! Agh! I've already screwed so much stuff up messing in the registry that I'm going to have to restore my most recent backup tomorrow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sverek View Post
If there speed limit per port on router, it's worth checking it.
I checked every single page of the router and didn't see anything like that. The Google Fiber network box/router has much simpler and fewer options that I had expected.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-18-2017, 10:20 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
I got anywhere from 30MBps to 45MBps before the file finished downloading. .
Did you download multiple files at once to try and max the connection?

Well you know you're not limited to 13.7MB/s on everything then, sounds like http has the problem, not sure what speedtests use, would have thought http too though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-18-2017, 10:46 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Did you download multiple files at once to try and max the connection?

Well you know you're not limited to 13.7MB/s on everything then, sounds like http has the problem, not sure what speedtests use, would have thought http too though
Yes. I did 2, then 3, then 4 at the same time. It split the 30-45MBps between them but would not go over that. That is much better than 13.7MBps, so at least not everything is stuck at that level. Uplay is still stuck no matter what I do, but for some odd reason I got up to 54MBps in Steam *after* I changed the download server to somewhere in Canada!

I'm going to have a nice long chat with a high level Google Fiber tech in the next day or so. Thanks for all of the help and suggestions so far.

EDIT - I changed the Steam download server to Vancouver and holy crap it is fast now! I'm falling asleep at my computer so I'll leave you with this.

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by BuildeR2; 05-18-2017 at 10:53. Reason: Steam seems to work
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 4G
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: XonarDG+HD595
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-18-2017, 11:11 | posts: 2,741 | Location: Ibaraki, Japan

Sorry if I missed it, but have you tried sending file within LAN between PCs to bench network speed?


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-18-2017, 11:29 | posts: 2,283 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by sverek View Post
Sorry if I missed it, but have you tried sending file within LAN between PCs to bench network speed?
Yes. All wired computers can do ~100MBps over the LAN with no issue. This problem is just with downloading from the internet and every other program except Steam now. Off to bed with me, I'll update some tomorrow.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-18-2017, 22:53 | posts: 7,359 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
Yes. I did 2, then 3, then 4 at the same time. It split the 30-45MBps between them but would not go over that. That is much better than 13.7MBps, so at least not everything is stuck at that level. Uplay is still stuck no matter what I do, but for some odd reason I got up to 54MBps in Steam *after* I changed the download server to somewhere in Canada!

I'm going to have a nice long chat with a high level Google Fiber tech in the next day or so. Thanks for all of the help and suggestions so far.

EDIT - I changed the Steam download server to Vancouver and holy crap it is fast now! I'm falling asleep at my computer so I'll leave you with this.

 Click to show spoiler
This implys the issue is not your end its the servers you connecting too that are limiting you
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
download, internet, network, speed, upload

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.