Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Games not starting or only running windowed mode after creators update
Old
  (#1)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default Games not starting or only running windowed mode after creators update - 05-15-2017, 11:23 | posts: 11

I am currently facing a very strange issue. Last week, I installed the windows 10 creators update and all of the sudden, my games would just crash on startup. I investigated further and found that some games just wouldn't start, others show a pink screen (Hearthstone) or start in windowed mode after showing me an error message (unigine benchmark, see screenshot).
When the benchmark is starting in windowed mode, it is fully utilizing my 390X without a problem.

To solve this problem, I did a clean install of the two latest AMD drivers (using DDU) but it didn't really help. I found that rebooting will fix this problem sometimes, and everything works just fine, until another reboot.
I also took a dxdiag: https://pastebin.com/niPZj1Ay
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Cool 05-15-2017, 12:09 | posts: 2,872 | Location: HolyWater Village

Try to trun Off Game Mode in Settings (Restart).
It's a no go for Fast Rigs anyway...

Also on icon click Properties and pick no for Full screen Optimisations (usually Helps)

Take care.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default 05-15-2017, 17:00 | posts: 11

Thanks. I tried, but sadly, nothing helped. I noticed that whenever this problem occurs, I can't even change my display resolution in windows settings. Also, clicking on the blue link below for adapter properties doesn't do anything (screenshot). It seems as if my card gets "disconnected" from the windows interface/control. When I check from device manager, it looks perfectly fine though. Really frustrating, I have no clue what I can do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 05-16-2017, 07:54 | posts: 666 | Location: UK

Tried a clean install of the creators update?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default 05-16-2017, 12:24 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passus View Post
Tried a clean install of the creators update?
Not yet, I really don't have time to reconfigure everything right now. I rolled back to 17.2.1 driver which does not have this issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 05-16-2017, 12:30 | posts: 666 | Location: UK

No need for a reinstall then that proves its the driver imo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 05-16-2017, 12:56 | posts: 2,872 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passus View Post
No need for a reinstall then that proves its the driver imo
Hmm or could be both

Sometimes WinX has Cluter Fest and it's in need of Clean One ->
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
alb3rto
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9-280x
Processor: i7-4770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 05-16-2017, 14:35 | posts: 5

I have same problem, fresh install win10 CU, the only working drivers are the 17.3.1, anything newer is a no go...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Romulus_ut3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Vapor-X 3GB Boost
Processor: Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1
Memory: Vengeance 2x4GB 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Creative 24 bit Live! 5.1
PSU: Thermaltake 650W Smart
Default 05-16-2017, 15:25 | posts: 504 | Location: Bangladesh

Try running sfc /scannow from command prompt with admin rights to see whether your installation of Windows is as it should be.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
FrankMackey
Newbie
 
FrankMackey's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX470/4GB (singlefan)
Processor: Intel i5-760 @3.67Mhz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD3L
Memory: 12GB DDR3@1400 Kingston
Soundcard: -
PSU: Corsair VS650
Angry 05-16-2017, 17:28 | posts: 4 | Location: Italy

I also have this problem with RX470+CreatorsUpdate. Never have before! Whatever directx games don't start, not even Steam Big Picture.
I have to reboot the pc and often it's not enough. DDU fix the problem but is very boring.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
alb3rto
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9-280x
Processor: i7-4770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 05-17-2017, 05:59 | posts: 5

oh well... I had the 17.3.1 installed, but this morning windows update installed the 17.1.1 on both my systems

update:
now the same issue as before, games not starting or problems with full screen, damn it.

Last edited by alb3rto; 05-17-2017 at 06:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default 05-17-2017, 10:17 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by alb3rto View Post
oh well... I had the 17.3.1 installed, but this morning windows update installed the 17.1.1 on both my systems

update:
now the same issue as before, games not starting or problems with full screen, damn it.
Same here Why the hell does windows update install an older driver? This is so annoying, just after the first reboot, the problem appeared again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default 05-17-2017, 10:37 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romulus_ut3 View Post
Try running sfc /scannow from command prompt with admin rights to see whether your installation of Windows is as it should be.
Thanks for this, but it didn't find any violations.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
alb3rto
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9-280x
Processor: i7-4770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 05-17-2017, 13:21 | posts: 5

Jaffi, I think I found the problem... is your monitor connected to the DVI or the HDMI? I suppose you are using a DVI. If I connect with the HDMI cable everything works
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default 05-17-2017, 18:14 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by alb3rto View Post
Jaffi, I think I found the problem... is your monitor connected to the DVI or the HDMI? I suppose you are using a DVI. If I connect with the HDMI cable everything works
Very interesting! I am infact using DVI. My Dell Monitor does not support HDMI, so I can't test it without an adaptor though.
That also explains why almost no one else had heard of this issue, I'm assuming that over 90% of customers are using HDMI these days.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
FrankMackey
Newbie
 
FrankMackey's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX470/4GB (singlefan)
Processor: Intel i5-760 @3.67Mhz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD3L
Memory: 12GB DDR3@1400 Kingston
Soundcard: -
PSU: Corsair VS650
Default 05-17-2017, 18:28 | posts: 4 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by alb3rto View Post
Jaffi, I think I found the problem... is your monitor connected to the DVI or the HDMI? I suppose you are using a DVI. If I connect with the HDMI cable everything works
I use...

Displayport -> DVI (primary monitor)
Displayport -> VGA active adapter (secondary monitor)
Hdmi -> Hdmi (tv)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default 05-17-2017, 18:31 | posts: 11

I will buy a displayport cable tomorrow and see if it's fixed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
FrankMackey
Newbie
 
FrankMackey's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX470/4GB (singlefan)
Processor: Intel i5-760 @3.67Mhz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD3L
Memory: 12GB DDR3@1400 Kingston
Soundcard: -
PSU: Corsair VS650
Default 05-17-2017, 18:35 | posts: 4 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaffi View Post
I will buy a displayport cable tomorrow and see if it's fixed.
I have this problem with DP-DVI cable
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
alb3rto
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9-280x
Processor: i7-4770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 05-17-2017, 18:39 | posts: 5

this explain me why I had always problems with my DVI connection before... when the monitor goes to sleep sometimes I had to disconnect and then reconnect the DVI cable or it will not turn on again, is AMD aware of this issue?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Jaffi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390X Nitro
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 extreme3 gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet 580W
Default 05-18-2017, 16:35 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by alb3rto View Post
this explain me why I had always problems with my DVI connection before... when the monitor goes to sleep sometimes I had to disconnect and then reconnect the DVI cable or it will not turn on again, is AMD aware of this issue?
Switching to displayport indeed seems to have fixed it. Thanks for your golden hint my friend!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
alb3rto
Newbie
 
Videocard: r9-280x
Processor: i7-4770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 05-18-2017, 19:34 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaffi View Post
Switching to displayport indeed seems to have fixed it. Thanks for your golden hint my friend!
you are welcome... my only problem now is that my monitor doesn't switch off when i shut down the pc, it keeps telling me that no cable is connected... well, I think I'll use my finger to switch it off if I still remember how to do it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
FrankMackey
Newbie
 
FrankMackey's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX470/4GB (singlefan)
Processor: Intel i5-760 @3.67Mhz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD3L
Memory: 12GB DDR3@1400 Kingston
Soundcard: -
PSU: Corsair VS650
Default 05-20-2017, 13:37 | posts: 4 | Location: Italy

When occur the error, just setting "gpu scaling on"!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.