Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RTSS v7.0.0 overlay not working in UWP games
Old
  (#1)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default RTSS v7.0.0 overlay not working in UWP games - 05-12-2017, 13:23 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

I have been using MSI Afterburner and RTSS for as long as I can remember to overclock my graphics card, monitor temperatures and other stats in pretty much all my games and to take screenshots.

I installed MSI Afterburner v4.4.0 beta (currently on beta 8) and RTSS v7.0.0 beta (currently on beta 22) as soon as I found out about them and have no issues with either of them; they continue to work as well as the previous non-beta build.

One thing that puzzles me though is why I cannot get the overlay to appear in any UWP game. The overlay appears fine in D3D9, D3D10, D3D11 and D3D12 games as well as those few that use OpenGL and Vulkan. However, it refuses to appear in Gears of War 4, Gears of War Ultimate Edition, Forza Horizon 3, Forza Motorsport 6 APEX, Halo Wars, Halo Wars 2, Dead Rising 4 and every other Windows Store/UWP game.

I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I've even done a clean installation of both Afterburner and RTSS to no avail. All my games run fine and the overlay works too as it always has in everything except UWP titles.

Can anyone help? Thanks.

(I am currently using the v382.19 Hotfix driver on Windows 10 Pro v1703 Build 15063.296 and my current graphics card is a GTX 1080 Ti although I had the same problem on my GTX 1080.)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
pstlouis
Master Guru
 
pstlouis's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 2038
Processor: Rysen 7 1700x 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 16g gskill Flare X 2400
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster
PSU: XFX 1250W
Default 05-14-2017, 17:59 | posts: 393 | Location: montreal

Same problem. Was working before that version of RTSS. I verified my setting but doesn't noticed any change.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
knuckles84
Member Guru
 
knuckles84's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Sea Hawk EK
Processor: Intel Xeon 1230 V3
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-D3H
Memory: ddr3 / 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P-860 XP2
Default 05-15-2017, 04:16 | posts: 77 | Location: Luxemburg

I have installed the last beta Version of AB/RTSS and it works very well for my UWP Games (FH3, HW2, GoW4)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
pstlouis
Master Guru
 
pstlouis's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 2038
Processor: Rysen 7 1700x 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 16g gskill Flare X 2400
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster
PSU: XFX 1250W
Default 05-15-2017, 13:31 | posts: 393 | Location: montreal

Quote:
Originally Posted by knuckles84 View Post
I have installed the last beta Version of AB/RTSS and it works very well for my UWP Games (FH3, HW2, GoW4)
what are your windows version ? I have the latest win 10 pro 64 bits version 1703 build 15063.296.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-15-2017, 13:35 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

500 views and only two replies... I guess you can only respond if you also have the problem or had the same issue and fixed it.

I really don't understand why it isn't working as the overlay works with everything else as it always has. The only reason I installed the beta was to test out the overlay with UWP games but, for whatever reason, it does not work on my PC even with a clean install (although I restored my backed up profiles).

I really don't know what else I can try at this point seeing as D3Dxx, OpenGL and Vulkan games all work fine. I don't use any other injectors (although I do have D3DOverrider running for older 32-bit games to force triple buffering but that dsiabled globally and only enabled per-game). I have tried disabling D3DOverrider but it does not change anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-15-2017, 13:37 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by pstlouis View Post
what are your windows version ? I have the latest win 10 pro 64 bits version 1703 build 15063.296.
Same version of Windows as me but this issue has persisted through several 15063.xxx builds now so I do not think that is the issue.

Do the UWP games have their own (hidden) profiles that enable the overlay for those specific games?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-15-2017, 13:57 | posts: 13,125 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

UWP support was in public development and active beta testing stages for weeks, development and testing is finished now. Everybody who wanted to take part in testing and development posted there and got their feedback. There are no replies here because nobody knows where are you mistaking, and you can find all useful info related to UWP in beta thread. I'm focused on completely different tasks now.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
pstlouis
Master Guru
 
pstlouis's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 2038
Processor: Rysen 7 1700x 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 16g gskill Flare X 2400
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster
PSU: XFX 1250W
Wink 05-16-2017, 04:23 | posts: 393 | Location: montreal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Same version of Windows as me but this issue has persisted through several 15063.xxx builds now so I do not think that is the issue.

Do the UWP games have their own (hidden) profiles that enable the overlay for those specific games?
I just install afterburner 4.4.0 beta 9 with RTSS beta 23 and UWP OSD work ok.
Try that version Darren.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-16-2017, 07:16 | posts: 13,125 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

As reflected in beta thread, there are no changes in beta 23 besides updated context help/documentation. And there were no changes related to UWP support during at least a couple months and 5 previous betas or so. So I'm afraid newer version is not the thing than cured it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-16-2017, 12:48 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by pstlouis View Post
I just install afterburner 4.4.0 beta 9 with RTSS beta 23 and UWP OSD work ok.
Try that version Darren.
I will try it but since Unwinder has said there were no changes for UWP support then I expect the results will be the same.

Oh well, it's no great loss if it still doesn't work as some UWP games have their own framerate analysis display (Gears of War 4) and framerate counters (Forza) plus taking screenshots is just a matter of pressing the Windows key + PrtScrn. The OSD works fine in everything else and the number of UWP games I have is very small anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
knuckles84
Member Guru
 
knuckles84's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Sea Hawk EK
Processor: Intel Xeon 1230 V3
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-D3H
Memory: ddr3 / 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P-860 XP2
Default 05-16-2017, 17:05 | posts: 77 | Location: Luxemburg

I have the last Insider Build (Fast Ring) installed and everything works just fine.

so lets see:
-last Insider works fine
-no reports in the official thread, that there are Problems in normal Windows 10 Installs
-as Unwider says, no UWP changes since mounths

You problem has nothing to do with RTSS or AB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
gedo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 280X DD 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-4690K @4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 3
Memory: 8GB DDR3 2133 CL9 Ares
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + ATH-AD700
PSU: Seasonic G-550
Default 05-17-2017, 05:02 | posts: 225 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
500 views and only two replies... I guess you can only respond if you also have the problem or had the same issue and fixed it.
My guess would be that people just don't own any UWP games, so they can't comment one way or another. They still like to read up on all threads that pop up - like me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 05-17-2017, 15:11 | posts: 1,746

I own most of games mentioned in the OP but I don't have any issues with OSD working in them in the latest available beta.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-17-2017, 22:23 | posts: 6,846

I'm with Creators Update and RTSS doesn't seem to be working for me in Prey, no matter what settings I apply to it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 05-18-2017, 01:48 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
I'm with Creators Update and RTSS doesn't seem to be working for me in Prey, no matter what settings I apply to it.
Its working here. Must be something else on your side.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-18-2017, 13:16 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
I'm with Creators Update and RTSS doesn't seem to be working for me in Prey, no matter what settings I apply to it.
RTSS v7.0.0 beta has been working fine for me in Prey as well with Windows 10 Pro Creators Update; it's just UWP games that don't.

Check that you don't have a profile for the game already that is disabling the overlay. I believe this new game uses the same filename for its exectuable as the older OpenGL Prey game from 2006 so it may be something to do with that. Failing that try toggling the overlay on and off using the shortcut keys as it may be turned off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
pstlouis
Master Guru
 
pstlouis's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 2038
Processor: Rysen 7 1700x 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 16g gskill Flare X 2400
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster
PSU: XFX 1250W
Default 05-18-2017, 15:41 | posts: 393 | Location: montreal

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
I'm with Creators Update and RTSS doesn't seem to be working for me in Prey, no matter what settings I apply to it.
Try Slimcleaner free. I use it after uninstalling Afterburner 4.4.0 beta 8 Rtss beta 22 then i installed 4.4.0 beta 9 and Rtss beta 23. UWP game work ok and Prey work ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Mr. Fox
Newbie
 
Mr. Fox's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI (Notebook)
Processor: 7700K
Mainboard: HIDevolution EVOC P870DM3
Memory: DDR4-3200 / 64GB (4*16GB)
Soundcard:
PSU: EUROCOM 780W AC Adapter
Default 05-19-2017, 03:20 | posts: 11 | Location: Not Disclosed / Classified

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
500 views and only two replies... I guess you can only respond if you also have the problem or had the same issue and fixed it.

I really don't understand why it isn't working as the overlay works with everything else as it always has. The only reason I installed the beta was to test out the overlay with UWP games but, for whatever reason, it does not work on my PC even with a clean install (although I restored my backed up profiles).

I really don't know what else I can try at this point seeing as D3Dxx, OpenGL and Vulkan games all work fine. I don't use any other injectors (although I do have D3DOverrider running for older 32-bit games to force triple buffering but that dsiabled globally and only enabled per-game). I have tried disabling D3DOverrider but it does not change anything.
I think it is hit or miss with Windows 10 UWP trash games. I have the latest betas of RTSS and MSI AB and it works consistently on one of my systems and the other one it does not. My P870DM3 with 1080 SLI is working great with Gears of War 4 and Gears of War Ultimate Edition. My Tornado F5 with single 1080 works sporadically with the same games. It stopped working completely on the second machine after the last Windows Update for GoW games. The only two games I play that are UWP trash are these two. Everything else I play is on Steam, Origin, Uplay or GOG. It works great on all of those. The real problem is Windows 10 UWP is totally garbage and should not be viewed as a good platform for PC gaming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-19-2017, 12:37 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by pstlouis View Post
Try Slimcleaner free. I use it after uninstalling Afterburner 4.4.0 beta 8 Rtss beta 22 then i installed 4.4.0 beta 9 and Rtss beta 23. UWP game work ok and Prey work ok.
Interesting... I might try that option myself after backing up my profiles. Can't hurt to try it, after all, and the worst thing that can happen is it still doesn't work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 05-19-2017, 13:10 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Where is the download link for rtss beta 23?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 05-19-2017, 14:46 | posts: 13,190 | Location: Sweden

It's inside the MSI Afterburner b9 software (Found here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....39#post5431939 ) and not a stand-alone donwload so if you install that and opt to install Riva Tuner it'll update to a newer version but from what Unwinder said it's mostly changes to the documentation such as the PDF file.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.