Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 05-06-2017, 10:45 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
What are you doing it's more pathetic. Defending a bad service or product it feels far more incoherent. I have bought everything since hd2600 up to r9. Drivers took the way down. This year, I like 16.7.2, 16.11.5 or 17.2.1. But why that gap exist? Aren't they professionals?
Agonist is right though. Everytime its same thing with you. You talk some crap and leave.

Buy an nvidia card and just go there already.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Virs
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 390
Processor: Intel Core I5 4690k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 700W
Default 05-06-2017, 13:33 | posts: 163

Is there anything specific I have to do before WattMan will allow me to increase core voltage? I can reduce core voltage, and I can increase memory voltage, but I can't increase core voltage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
MaCk0y
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390 8GB
Processor: i5 4690K 4.6GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: GSKILL Trident X 2x8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 05-06-2017, 13:36 | posts: 82

Does overriding game settings work for anyone? I don't think it has been working for a few drivers now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 05-06-2017, 14:43 | posts: 576

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaCk0y View Post
Does overriding game settings work for anyone? I don't think it has been working for a few drivers now.
It was working for me on 17.4.4, but not with 17.5.1. May have to do with the profiles. Probably needs to be fresh installed.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
ldwar
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapp HD390x crossfire
Processor: Intel core i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 pro gaming
Memory: corsair DDR4 16Gb
Soundcard: G933 Logitech
PSU: Corsair 1200 AX
Default 05-06-2017, 17:55 | posts: 100 | Location: France

Perfect on my side, seems working like a driver, so far for now.

Thanks amd.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
021 jcu 570
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Sapphire tri-x 390X
Processor: i5-6600K @ 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: MSI Z170X
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: evga - 750W - plus gold
Default 05-07-2017, 03:23 | posts: 1

Radeon WattMan may fail to apply settings on some Radeon R9 390 series graphics products

I'm happy.. I had reported the issue to AMD and even though they took a while I'm glad they took care of it. Solved for me, Cheers.

Last edited by 021 jcu 570; 05-07-2017 at 03:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
N0bodyOfTheGoat
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 5820k
Mainboard: Gigabyte X99 Gaming 5P
Memory: 4x4GB
Soundcard: Creative onboard
PSU: Corsair RM850W
Default 05-07-2017, 05:36 | posts: 182 | Location: Southampton, UK

Promising start, for the first time in a while my pc booted to desktop first time and no Wattman error message by the clock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
ldwar
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapp HD390x crossfire
Processor: Intel core i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 pro gaming
Memory: corsair DDR4 16Gb
Soundcard: G933 Logitech
PSU: Corsair 1200 AX
Default 05-07-2017, 11:03 | posts: 100 | Location: France

Also, for those who like me, have a problem with monitor not coming back from sleep mode, and also having more than 1 monitor , here my hints ( this occurs since 17.x.x)

when you uninstall old drivers, using amd , or DDU, they do not clean up old unused monitors .

then if you have some trouble to get out your monitor(s) from sleep mode, just :

- open a cmd in administrator mode (runas)
- type set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
- then type devmgmt.msc
- in disply menu , select "display hidden devices"
- in monitor category, just delete old monitors entries (the grayed ones)

that's all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Seren
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 797OC-3GD (1GHz)
Processor: AMD 8320 @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo R2.0
Memory: 2x8GB Patriot VBM,1866,10
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: XFX 750w Core Edition
Default 05-07-2017, 15:32 | posts: 249 | Location: Perth, Western Australia

Good driver so far. OpenGL performance seems a little better too (though I haven't done any proper testing).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 05-07-2017, 15:51 | posts: 3,104 | Location: HolyWater Village

Hmm, so far it's OK.
It's still installed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
DanEVO7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte RX 480 G1 8gb
Processor: FX 9590
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z
Memory: Kingston 2x8Gb
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Zx+T40 sII
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 05-07-2017, 17:15 | posts: 91 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by ldwar View Post
Also, for those who like me, have a problem with monitor not coming back from sleep mode, and also having more than 1 monitor , here my hints ( this occurs since 17.x.x)

when you uninstall old drivers, using amd , or DDU, they do not clean up old unused monitors .

then if you have some trouble to get out your monitor(s) from sleep mode, just :

- open a cmd in administrator mode (runas)
- type set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
- then type devmgmt.msc
- in disply menu , select "display hidden devices"
- in monitor category, just delete old monitors entries (the grayed ones)

that's all
Nice find. This helped with my color depth not changing to 8bit problem.
Cheers mate
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Nitro Tri-X OC+
Processor: i7 3930k@ 4.1 H100
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: HyperX 1866 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DXG X-540 5.1
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 05-07-2017, 17:19 | posts: 2,276 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by ldwar View Post
Also, for those who like me, have a problem with monitor not coming back from sleep mode, and also having more than 1 monitor , here my hints ( this occurs since 17.x.x)

when you uninstall old drivers, using amd , or DDU, they do not clean up old unused monitors .

then if you have some trouble to get out your monitor(s) from sleep mode, just :

- open a cmd in administrator mode (runas)
- type set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
- then type devmgmt.msc
- in disply menu , select "display hidden devices"
- in monitor category, just delete old monitors entries (the grayed ones)

that's all
I dont ever DDU unless I have an issue. I run 3 monitors. All work upon waking up on every 17.X driver.

I just install new drivers ontop of old ones. Rarely have an issue. Like 1% of the time.

But thanks for what you posted. I saved it in a text doc on my backup drive.


EDID overrides working great with this.


FH3 works really good now. Performance is good. No artifacts now.
Still long load times even with a nice SSD.

Having freesync work with Nascar Racing 2003 is just AMAZING.
So damn smooth now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
LIGuitar77
Master Guru
 
LIGuitar77's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 7790 2GB OC
Processor: Intel Xeon X3230
Mainboard: Intel DQ965MT
Memory: DDR2 PC2-5300 4 GB
Soundcard: MOTU Traveler fw
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 05-07-2017, 17:44 | posts: 463

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agonist View Post
I dont ever DDU unless I have an issue. I run 3 monitors. All work upon waking up on every 17.X driver.
+1, I had always done like this until that one time I did have an issue from it. Then after, I always DDU for some time. Now, it's been a long time since I am back as your statement says.

Anyhow, in the past, monitors were prevented from waking when AMD changed things to need the service to do that. It was never like that before. I don't know now since I just always leave it instead of delete.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
blppt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF, Titan Black SLI
Processor: Core i7 / FX9590
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 05-08-2017, 00:16 | posts: 73

Welp, still no fix for the atrocious CFX performance in Andromeda. TAA, FXAA, nothing fixes it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-08-2017, 03:11 | posts: 6,845

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
What are you doing it's more pathetic. Defending a bad service or product it feels far more incoherent. I have bought everything since hd2600 up to r9. Drivers took the way down.
One of the greatest pieces of bullsh*t ever written in this forum. Congrats!

You can say that they are rushing their drivers, but that current AMD drivers are getting worse is like a bad joke. Almost as if you don't have a clue about what you're talking about.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 05-08-2017, 03:49 | posts: 576

Can you imagine how bad NV Land would be without the nice programmer making NVIDIA Inspector? Just saying.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Virs
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 390
Processor: Intel Core I5 4690k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 700W
Default 05-08-2017, 06:46 | posts: 163

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
You can say that they are rushing their drivers, but that current AMD drivers are getting worse is like a bad joke. Almost as if you don't have a clue about what you're talking about.
Depends a little. They haven't *consistantly* gone done, meaning they aren't simply on a path trending downward. But my personal experience with them is that they took a SHARP dive when they introduce the ReLive drivers. I switched back to AMD about 4 years ago with the 7950 and my experience had gotten better over time, much better driver-wise, up until late last year. They had gotten better and better until 16.12.1.

Even after approximately 6 months now, the 16.11.5 drivers are more stable for me than any ReLive drivers. The good news is that they've been getting more stable than the very first ReLive drivers, which were an incredible mess for me. Which is why I think it would be false to claim that the drivers quality is going down, when I believe it has been going up for the past 5 months. It simply felt as if every driver previously made the experience slightly better, then they took a HUGE dive, and now we're catching up to what we used to have.

Either way, that user saying that the drivers "took the way down" is very much true if talking about a temporary dive. It's false if talking about a permanent dive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Romulus_ut3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Vapor-X 3GB Boost
Processor: Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1
Memory: Vengeance 2x4GB 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Creative 24 bit Live! 5.1
PSU: Thermaltake 650W Smart
Default 05-08-2017, 08:06 | posts: 521 | Location: Bangladesh

There's a lot of hatred for the nvidia products in this section of the forum. But nvidia's drivers doesn't mess up basic features like switching between different clock states as necessary. Something AMD has gotten wrong for some time now. First it was the GCN 1.0 cards and then GCN 1.1 cards.

Playing older games like Assassin's Creed, Mass Effect Trilogy, Need For Speed, Crysis etc. is a much better experience on nvidia cards than AMD. AMD's GPUs have far worse frametimes resulting in worse gameplay experience compared to nvidia's specially when equipped with less capable CPUs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
RandomDriverDev
Banned
 
Videocard: 1080 / 8GB and 1060 / 6GB
Processor: Xeon
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic
Default 05-08-2017, 09:05 | posts: 111

the open source community is still waiting for dual source blending to work properly on AMD hardware.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 05-08-2017, 09:36 | posts: 13,183 | Location: Sweden

Well they're aware of it at least, though it's been almost four months since the issue was acknowledged.

https://community.amd.com/thread/210605
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
elaganza
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Powercolor 7850
Processor: amd phenom II 955
Mainboard: Asrock 890 fx deluxe 5
Memory: 2x8 gb corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: thermaltake 640
Default 05-08-2017, 12:00 | posts: 57

The cause of my Wolfenstein NO crashed on desktop with 17.5.1 was enabling Triple Buffering in Radeon Settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
go4brendon
Member Guru
 
go4brendon's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti Seahawk X
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z
Memory: DDR3 1600mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 05-08-2017, 15:21 | posts: 105 | Location: Winchester, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by blppt View Post
Welp, still no fix for the atrocious CFX performance in Andromeda. TAA, FXAA, nothing fixes it.
Final nail in the coffin for me. Had to run ME:A on a single gpu. Busy selling my 295x2 and bought 1080ti seahawk x. Sorry team red I'm out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Seren
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 797OC-3GD (1GHz)
Processor: AMD 8320 @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo R2.0
Memory: 2x8GB Patriot VBM,1866,10
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: XFX 750w Core Edition
Default 05-08-2017, 15:34 | posts: 249 | Location: Perth, Western Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by go4brendon View Post
Final nail in the coffin for me. Had to run ME:A on a single gpu. Busy selling my 295x2 and bought 1080ti seahawk x. Sorry team red I'm out.
And... GameWorks gets another win.

Seriously though, I don't expect anything to work in GameWorks titles, I just avoid them and wait until they're dirt cheap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Nitro Tri-X OC+
Processor: i7 3930k@ 4.1 H100
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: HyperX 1866 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DXG X-540 5.1
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 05-08-2017, 17:21 | posts: 2,276 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romulus_ut3 View Post
There's a lot of hatred for the nvidia products in this section of the forum. But nvidia's drivers doesn't mess up basic features like switching between different clock states as necessary. Something AMD has gotten wrong for some time now. First it was the GCN 1.0 cards and then GCN 1.1 cards.

Playing older games like Assassin's Creed, Mass Effect Trilogy, Need For Speed, Crysis etc. is a much better experience on nvidia cards than AMD. AMD's GPUs have far worse frametimes resulting in worse gameplay experience compared to nvidia's specially when equipped with less capable CPUs.
What delusional land are you from.

Don't pass those drugs you are taking around here.

Seriously, you are one blind ignorant shill if you do not think nvidia has or had clock problems or drivers break features.

Nvidia is still a POS when it comes to HDTV scaling.
Explain to me why my 8400 gs can scale to my HDTV with zero tweaks, but my GTX 650ti, 9800GTX, or GTX 570 can not.

Ill say this one time TDR issue. Never had that BS with AMD. It was a damn nightmare with my GTX 670s, GTX 970s, and still have it happen sometimes on my server with a GTX 650tiboost.

I have many gpus from both sides from many generations. I have them hanging up on the wall. I have computers running different OS that I test them on out of boredom and fun and some things still dont change.

I have actually had more problems with nvidia drivers then AMD drivers.
Nvidia drivers are easier to use before crimson and relive came out.
Its total bs how damn laggy and slow Nvidia control panel is on a 550mb read SSD when applying settings but AMD control panel loads almost instantly on the same drive doing the same thing.

Nvidia still have not fixed the 2560x1080 DVI issue with windows 10, but that works perfectly on AMD drivers on even my old HD 5770.

Both sides have problems. Always will. Its annoying as hell when someone acts like Nvidia is problem free and AMD is garbage. Their drives have come along damn way since 2013. Especially since Crimson came out.
It even bugs when people act like AMD drivers are perfect and say only Nvidia drivers are garbage.

I hate fanboys period.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
blppt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF, Titan Black SLI
Processor: Core i7 / FX9590
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 05-08-2017, 17:32 | posts: 73

"Nvidia is still a POS when it comes to HDTV scaling.
Explain to me why my 8400 gs can scale to my HDTV with zero tweaks, but my GTX 650ti, 9800GTX, or GTX 570 can not."

Curious as to what problems you're having...I also mirror to an HDTV for movies, etc, and havent had any issues with doing so for either my Nvidia or AMD setups for as long as I can remember.

Bear in mind though, I'm using a 1080p 60hz computer monitor and a 1080p 60hz TV.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.