Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
DanEVO7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte RX 480 G1 8gb
Processor: FX 9590
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z
Memory: Kingston 2x8Gb
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Zx+T40 sII
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 05-05-2017, 07:46 | posts: 91 | Location: Greece

Anyone knows anything about "Color Depth"?
It's stuck at 10bpc and doesn't change to 8.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Valerys
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R290 Tri-X/4GB
Processor: Intel Pentium G4560
Mainboard: MSI H110M PRO-VD
Memory: 16GB DDR3@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Sirtec HPE 700W
Default 05-05-2017, 08:27 | posts: 269

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
Same here. Whatever it is it's a general issue with the driver, since our cards are three generations apart.
Let's wait until the big update on the game from 9th May, maybe the devs will fix the problems themselves. If not at least the heavy reliance on a single core will be fixed, they promised that

Last edited by Valerys; 05-05-2017 at 08:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Virs
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 390
Processor: Intel Core I5 4690k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 700W
Default 05-05-2017, 09:07 | posts: 153

In regard to the 390 + WattMan fix: there's still a small issue regarding the fan speed left. At least for me.

By default, it as at automatic and works as intended. Once switched to Manual, two issues appear:
1) The Fan RPM displayed is partially incorrect. The interface shows 2 different values, the Current Speed is much lower than the speed shown inside the "slider" portion of the interface.
2) After switching to manual, it becomes difficult to switch back to automatic fan speed. The interface says it has switched to automatic, but the actual fan speed remains at the same value as it was in manual and doesn't move. This happens both when using the "reset" button to bring every setting back to default, and happens when using the Manual/Automatic toggle.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
elaganza
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Powercolor 7850
Processor: amd phenom II 955
Mainboard: Asrock 890 fx deluxe 5
Memory: 2x8 gb corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: thermaltake 640
Default 05-05-2017, 09:34 | posts: 57

Wolfeinstein New Order still crashes on desktop.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Nyralim
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 290X OC/ 8192 MB
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asrock z97/extreme6
Memory: 32GB @1866 Hyper-X Fury
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000W Platinum
Default 05-05-2017, 09:47 | posts: 21

Seems like my ageless 8GB 290X will benefit from the new driver as well!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 390X MSI(1080/1500)
Processor: AMD X4 860K OC (@4.0ghz)
Mainboard: Asus Crossblade Ranger
Memory: 16gb ddr3 1866@09-10-11
Soundcard: Z5500 + ALC1150
PSU: 850W SuperNova P2
Default 05-05-2017, 10:25 | posts: 658

Weak drivers once again. Trash and hopeless movements from ati to revive their nonexistant quality. Nvidia cannot be afraid of amateurs. GIVE ME SOME FIXES ALREADY.

It's pathetic to change proper drivers EVERY QUARTER. I can't see myself red in the following months. I give them countdown to improve my life, nolifers. They never see all the bugs and they are unable to provide fixes. DX12 is broken months now in many games (artifacts/missing textures) and imagine DX12 was AMD's trump card. DX11 is always slower than Nvidia because of overhead and tessellation. So what? Is AMD a dx9 only innovator? I can't speak ofcourse about OpenGL always a failure company at that. But they have...Vulkan
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
mpv73
Newbie
 
Videocard: RX 470 4GB
Processor: Pentium G4560
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic G-550
Default 05-05-2017, 11:13 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanEVO7 View Post
Go to "Radeon additional settings" "Pixel Format" and change to "Full RGB"
That makes it too dark. And I don't want to mess with monitor settings because they were fine before 17.4.4.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
blackdog62
Newbie
 
blackdog62's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9-290X OC x 2
Processor: Intel i7 6900
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Edition 10
Memory: 64 gb Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx Logitech
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-05-2017, 13:00 | posts: 31

Now Rage works ,go figure. Same with Wolfenstein No and OB
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
DanEVO7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte RX 480 G1 8gb
Processor: FX 9590
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z
Memory: Kingston 2x8Gb
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Zx+T40 sII
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 05-05-2017, 13:34 | posts: 91 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpv73 View Post
That makes it too dark. And I don't want to mess with monitor settings because they were fine before 17.4.4.

You should recalibrate your monitor to work with Full RGB

https://www.howtogeek.com/285277/how...mi-on-your-pc/

But whatever suits you best
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Portman87
Member Guru
 
Portman87's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950 1000/1400
Processor: FX6300 4,4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: 2x4GB 1866 CL9 Ballistix
Soundcard: ALC892 SPA2602/10
PSU: FSP Group AURUM GOLD 700W
Default 05-05-2017, 16:50 | posts: 111 | Location: Bulgaria

Is this driver free from the UVD bug?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 05-05-2017, 16:55 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Portman87 View Post
Is this driver free from the UVD bug?
No driver is free from UVD bug. Just played QC and its got stuck.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 05-05-2017, 17:38 | posts: 522

If they ever fix the UVD bug I think a couple of people here will go into cardiac arrest.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
LIGuitar77
Master Guru
 
LIGuitar77's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 7790 2GB OC
Processor: Intel Xeon X3230
Mainboard: Intel DQ965MT
Memory: DDR2 PC2-5300 4 GB
Soundcard: MOTU Traveler fw
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 05-05-2017, 17:48 | posts: 458

Quote:
Originally Posted by elaganza View Post
Wolfeinstein New Order still crashes on desktop.
Nah, AMD fixed it. I suggest using DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller) in safe mode, reboot then install latest AMD driver, reboot.

I did not do that, however. I simply upgraded and not even "clean" from previous driver and all is well with respect to this. Good luck.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Rambo
Master Guru
 
Rambo's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 480->RX 560 w8 4 Vega
Processor: i5-4690
Mainboard: MSI Z97 GAMING 3
Memory: 4xG.SKILL 2400 CL10
Soundcard: Hail for bananas!
PSU: EVGA 550W
Default 05-05-2017, 18:26 | posts: 153

Meh. Stil forgots my voltage settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 05-05-2017, 18:44 | posts: 2,862 | Location: HolyWater Village

Finally good driver

FH3 -> long loading but it's OK and performance is Great
Wolf -> Fixed
OGL weird WDDM 2.2 behaviour FIXED

All games launched today runs Great

I will assume that BF4 and BF1 working OK also

Announcement
I've got 2 codes for Quake Champions Beta

1. Log in to your Bethesda.net account.
2. Redeem your code.
3. Download the Bethesda.net launcher and log in.
4. Download Quake Champions and get ready for the Closed Beta test.

-> https://account.bethesda.net/en/login

Last edited by OnnA; 05-05-2017 at 20:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Pale Horseman
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ LE
Processor: Core i7-4790K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic|1050W
Default 05-05-2017, 20:58 | posts: 23 | Location: Utopia

Quote:
Originally Posted by elaganza View Post
Wolfeinstein New Order still crashes on desktop.
It doesn't crash for me anymore. I changed nothing on my side, just upgraded to 17.5.1.

RAGE also works with no workarounds.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
Shakabutt
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280
Processor: Xeon 1240v2
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec VPF 550
Default 05-05-2017, 20:58 | posts: 8

Ever since creators update and crimson 17.4.4 i never got a single uvd clock freeze.

I would get it everytime i alt-tabed from the game into a video stream or something, no more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
prazola
Member Guru
 
prazola's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
Processor: i7 4790k / Xeon X5470
Mainboard: z97 extreme9 / P45T2RS
Memory: TridentX2400 / DDR21066
Soundcard: ACL1150 / XonarDGX
PSU: HX850 / TX650
Default 05-05-2017, 21:50 | posts: 99 | Location: Italy

Card stuck at max clock and 100% usage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 05-06-2017, 00:15 | posts: 522

OC working with Wattman, unlike before
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Nitro Tri-X OC+
Processor: i7 3930k@ 4.1 H100
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: HyperX 1866 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DXG X-540 5.1
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 05-06-2017, 03:30 | posts: 2,254 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
Weak drivers once again. Trash and hopeless movements from ati to revive their nonexistant quality. Nvidia cannot be afraid of amateurs. GIVE ME SOME FIXES ALREADY.

It's pathetic to change proper drivers EVERY QUARTER. I can't see myself red in the following months. I give them countdown to improve my life, nolifers. They never see all the bugs and they are unable to provide fixes. DX12 is broken months now in many games (artifacts/missing textures) and imagine DX12 was AMD's trump card. DX11 is always slower than Nvidia because of overhead and tessellation. So what? Is AMD a dx9 only innovator? I can't speak ofcourse about OpenGL always a failure company at that. But they have...Vulkan
Can't believe you are still around.
Why don't you just buy a Nvidia gpu and GTFO already.
You'r post looks like its from google translator and already feels incoherent from its original form.

You bring zero relevance and banter on like a cry baby. Its pathetic.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 390X MSI(1080/1500)
Processor: AMD X4 860K OC (@4.0ghz)
Mainboard: Asus Crossblade Ranger
Memory: 16gb ddr3 1866@09-10-11
Soundcard: Z5500 + ALC1150
PSU: 850W SuperNova P2
Default 05-06-2017, 06:30 | posts: 658

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agonist View Post
Can't believe you are still around.
Why don't you just buy a Nvidia gpu and GTFO already.
You'r post looks like its from google translator and already feels incoherent from its original form.

You bring zero relevance and banter on like a cry baby. Its pathetic.
What are you doing it's more pathetic. Defending a bad service or product it feels far more incoherent. I have bought everything since hd2600 up to r9. Drivers took the way down. This year, I like 16.7.2, 16.11.5 or 17.2.1. But why that gap exist? Aren't they professionals?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
big ROBOT bill
Maha Guru
 
big ROBOT bill's Avatar
 
Videocard: R480+ Nitro @ 1425/2030
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.3 noctua
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P
Memory: 16GB Ripjaw DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DG & Logitech
PSU: 750W Seasonic
Default 05-06-2017, 06:36 | posts: 859 | Location: New Zealand

Working sweet for me, got my best ever Timespy score as well
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
elaganza
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Powercolor 7850
Processor: amd phenom II 955
Mainboard: Asrock 890 fx deluxe 5
Memory: 2x8 gb corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: thermaltake 640
Default 05-06-2017, 07:57 | posts: 57

Wolfenstein NO doesn"t work still.Used ddu in safe mode but didn"t help. The only thing i quess is my win 10 has no creator update. On 17.4.4 works fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
LocoDiceGR
Master Guru
 
LocoDiceGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel®Core i5 750 2.67Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55-M
Memory: HyperX Fury @1866
Soundcard: SoundblasterZ
PSU: XFX TS 550w
Default 05-06-2017, 08:29 | posts: 649 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
What are you doing it's more pathetic. Defending a bad service or product it feels far more incoherent. I have bought everything since hd2600 up to r9. Drivers took the way down. This year, I like 16.7.2, 16.11.5 or 17.2.1. But why that gap exist? Aren't they professionals?
Drivers took the way UP for me since i bought the R9 380...i see only improvements for my card..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
VenoMaizeR
Member Guru
 
VenoMaizeR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix RX480OC 8gb
Processor: i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Gskill DDR4 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: CorsairHX 650w psu
Default 05-06-2017, 10:34 | posts: 123 | Location: Portugal/Lisbon

Now wattman doesnt save setings after reebot on my rx480 nice....anyone with this issue on RX4xx cards?

Last edited by VenoMaizeR; 05-06-2017 at 10:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.