Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-15-2017, 11:04 | posts: 6,425 | Location: Australia

AVG and Avast are now the same company. Still separate products, although I believe this is more in the direction of just UI and user experience, the detection stuff would be very similar.

I like the comments 'never had an AV and never had a virus'. How do you know you haven't had a virus, trojan, keylogger etc if you haven't used anything to detect them? The same people who say this are probably people who never go for a medical checkup. They haven't died yet, so obviously they're in perfect health...

Last edited by thatguy91; 05-15-2017 at 11:07.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-15-2017, 13:02 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
AVG and Avast are now the same company. Still separate products, although I believe this is more in the direction of just UI and user experience, the detection stuff would be very similar.

I like the comments 'never had an AV and never had a virus'. How do you know you haven't had a virus, trojan, keylogger etc if you haven't used anything to detect them? The same people who say this are probably people who never go for a medical checkup. They haven't died yet, so obviously they're in perfect health...
I wasn't aware that Avast had taken over AVG. I fully expect the AVG name to be phased out over the next couple of years. AVG was the first free AV and was very good back in those days but fell into disrepute for a while. The newer versions have rebounded but now that Avast has acquired them, it makes sense to continue both brand names for a while, but not forever. I also suspect that the Avast and AVG branded products will be exactly the same behind different UI's. Avast is a fine product but they have added too many things to the free version that I don't care about and feel have no place in an AV product. I'm using Bitdefender Free which seems to be excellent, especially in it's web protection and is extremely light on resources. It has none of the added "features" of Avast (which I used for years) and simply is a scanner of everything that comes into or goes out of your system. It only has one configuration option, On or Off, but I don't believe it needs anything else. It quarantines things and you can then choose to exclude them and they won't be scanned again. The product learns how you use your system and tailors itself to that. I highly recommend it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
philp
Newbie
 
Videocard: 16GB
Processor: Interal core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 05-15-2017, 13:33 | posts: 1

Kaspersky. Been using it for years now and it works perfectly
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-15-2017, 18:50 | posts: 7,462 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
AVG and Avast are now the same company. Still separate products, although I believe this is more in the direction of just UI and user experience, the detection stuff would be very similar.

I like the comments 'never had an AV and never had a virus'. How do you know you haven't had a virus, trojan, keylogger etc if you haven't used anything to detect them? The same people who say this are probably people who never go for a medical checkup. They haven't died yet, so obviously they're in perfect health...
long as avast does not become resource hog like avg became, which why i stopped using avg, After stopping using avg i used ClamAV for while but that had no on demand scans modules, and and in the end things got bad so i went to avast.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
SacredKnight27
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280 Dual X
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Default 05-15-2017, 21:20 | posts: 182

AVG has always slowed my system. I try with every major revision just to see and its never not been a resource hog in a way no other AV has ever impacted my system.

I stick with Bitdefender Free. I don't need bells and whistles.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-15-2017, 23:06 | posts: 7,462 | Location: USA

I still wating for bit defender free get out beta for windows 10 or is official support now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
SacredKnight27
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280 Dual X
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Default 05-16-2017, 03:07 | posts: 182

Yeah, the new BD Free has been out of beta for some time now. Supports Win10 officially.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-16-2017, 09:32 | posts: 12,068 | Location: United kingdom

Nod 32 is the worst av I've ever used I wouldn't use it for free. I've used pretty much everything over the years. Best I've used is bitdefender combined with malwarebytes and adw cleaner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-16-2017, 18:11 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by SacredKnight27 View Post
Yeah, the new BD Free has been out of beta for some time now. Supports Win10 officially.
Yep I'm using it on 3 systems and it's great. One is my desktop gaming rig with Win 10, another is my RCA atom based Windows 10 tablet, and the third one is my 2011 Windows 7 AMD laptop.

BD says it needs a multicore CPU. I thought about using it on a single core Celeron 1.6ghz desktop with Win 7. I asked Bitdefender and they said it would work but there might be slowdowns so I stuck with Panda free on that one which works well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-16-2017, 18:16 | posts: 7,462 | Location: USA

time to gice BD free a try again
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 05-16-2017, 18:23 | posts: 12,906 | Location: Finland

I used to use Avast but nowadays it's just a bloated mess that slows down your PC noticeably. Now I use Norton. It's much lighter and faster than Windows Defender which makes it already worth it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-16-2017, 22:31 | posts: 7,462 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
I used to use Avast but nowadays it's just a bloated mess that slows down your PC noticeably. Now I use Norton. It's much lighter and faster than Windows Defender which makes it already worth it.
never will i use norton, there crap infested systems so badly that it use to take hour to uninstall it from systems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
joe187
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 1050Ti 4G OC
Processor: Sandy 2600k @ 4.2+HT
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: EVGA DDR3-2133-16gb
Soundcard: ALC898 Onboard
PSU: EVGA-500B
Default 05-18-2017, 06:07 | posts: 417 | Location: NY, USA

If you need FREE, i would only use BitDefender-Free at this point. All other free ones either cause weird issues, or just plain suck.

As for built in windows-defender, i guess it's probably OK but even that has caused me issues in the past, and it kind of turned me off. Maybe better now but still i can't imagine it being as effective as BD.

Last edited by joe187; 05-18-2017 at 06:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Pręses
Maha Guru
 
Pręses's Avatar
 
Videocard: Strix GTX 970 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz Ripjaws
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V375 + CS 26 II
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 05-18-2017, 07:25 | posts: 899 | Location: South Africa

I use Avast Free. Just remember to untick most of the things during its install to keep it lightweight.

Not using A/V is a bad idea. Wannacry can infect systems that don't do anything other than being connected to a network/internet if your port 445 was open. Has nothing to do with using common sense.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
mikev190
Master Guru
 
mikev190's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080Ti AMP! Extreme
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 16gb G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Soundcard: Arctis 5
PSU: Super Flower Leadex 850w
Default 05-18-2017, 08:00 | posts: 235 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pręses View Post
I use Avast Free. Just remember to untick most of the things during its install to keep it lightweight.

Not using A/V is a bad idea. Wannacry can infect systems that don't do anything other than being connected to a network/internet if your port 445 was open. Has nothing to do with using common sense.
To be fair Wannacry in itself isn't the end of the world. Having your Data backed up externally is what matters.

The amount of customers PC's I've cleaned up with variants of the Ransomeware is silly. But 90% of the tears could of been avoided with backups. Oh and of course having Windows up to date.

Common sense is the best preventor of virus/malware. Plus it means more money for me if people don't take the advice.

Personally my experience with AV hasn't been great. Kaspersky causes my pc to BSOD for no reason, the endpoint for business is equally bad (even updating the control panel can be a pain) Norton is.... I'm not even going to bother saying. Bitdefender is good, but NOD32 has been the best for many years for me.

I'm currently using defender with a quick scan of Malwarebytes every few week. Not had a virus or anything nasty, but then again not every consumer is a Techy.

With my new build I may go back to NOD32 though as it makes sense

Just my 2c
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Pręses
Maha Guru
 
Pręses's Avatar
 
Videocard: Strix GTX 970 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz Ripjaws
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V375 + CS 26 II
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 05-18-2017, 08:09 | posts: 899 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikev190 View Post
To be fair Wannacry in itself isn't the end of the world. Having your Data backed up externally is what matters.

The amount of customers PC's I've cleaned up with variants of the Ransomeware is silly. But 90% of the tears could of been avoided with backups. Oh and of course having Windows up to date.
Obviously backups are a must I'd still prefer not being ransomwared though! Just amazed that some gurus think that just using common sense is enough - exploits in browsers and operating systems can't easily be prevented and viruses can infect when those are exploited.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
mikev190
Master Guru
 
mikev190's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080Ti AMP! Extreme
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 16gb G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Soundcard: Arctis 5
PSU: Super Flower Leadex 850w
Default 05-18-2017, 08:20 | posts: 235 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pręses View Post
Obviously backups are a must I'd still prefer not being ransomwared though! Just amazed that some gurus think that just using common sense is enough - exploits in browsers and operating systems can't easily be prevented and viruses can infect when those are exploited.
No I wouldn't be too pleased either lol!

Common sense is the key though. Half the time AV detect them too late anyways. These machines I've cleaned recently had: Norton, Kaspersky, AVAST, AVG and defender (on various examples)

I've known customers allow people on their machine remotely because they thought they was Microsoft. Then the scammer uses the Event viewer to scare the victim into letting them 'fix' their PC. No AV can make up human stupidity lol.

I'd imagine most users here either game or use their PC's for work. So to be fair most people here wouldn't run into many viruses.

My best advice is to use ToR for any dodgy sites, or just use noscript etc on the other browsers. Avoid dodgy torrents and phishing emails and you'll be fine. Oh and if you have UAC on you can stop part of the ransomeware as it requests to use Windows Batch process before it encrypts everything.

TLR pick which ever AV you like, but remember it's not an immunisation, more of a band aid and that mixed with a bit of thought will lead to a healthy happy PC

Last edited by mikev190; 05-18-2017 at 08:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-18-2017, 18:59 | posts: 7,462 | Location: USA

they have to listen to the whole "back up" sugestion, i have set up mutliple computer for people with Backup drive and all that I find they dont actual listen more often then not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-18-2017, 19:05 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
I used to use Avast but nowadays it's just a bloated mess that slows down your PC noticeably. Now I use Norton. It's much lighter and faster than Windows Defender which makes it already worth it.
I used Norton for 10 years and loved it. It's a great AV and Internet security package. I just didn't want to pay for protection any more so decided to try free. I've been through Comodo, Avast, and Panda but have now settled on Bitdefender.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 05-19-2017, 10:19 | posts: 12,906 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dch48 View Post
I used Norton for 10 years and loved it. It's a great AV and Internet security package. I just didn't want to pay for protection any more so decided to try free. I've been through Comodo, Avast, and Panda but have now settled on Bitdefender.
I can't really use free stuff since I use my PC for work too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
never will i use norton, there crap infested systems so badly that it use to take hour to uninstall it from systems.
Care to open that up a bit? You mean your systems got viruses or what? If it's some kind of ancient version before they completely overhauled it that doesn't really count anymore.


------
Just noticed that Norton moved to pure 64-bit recently... Nice.


It looks like f-secure has been improving a bit lately... https://www.av-test.org/en/antivirus...ows/windows-7/ Might five it a try at some point. I used to use it around year 2000 and earlier. At one point it become really heavy but it looks like that's not true anymore.

Last edited by Anarion; 05-19-2017 at 10:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Wolf9an9
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming
Processor: i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T DeLuxe
Memory: Corsair 12Gb @ 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Logitec 5.1 X530
PSU: Antec HCP 1200W
Default 05-19-2017, 11:58 | posts: 111 | Location: South Africa

I have used Norton AV on my own, wife's and grandson's pc's for more than 10 years without any problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
Amaze
Maha Guru
 
Amaze's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1 1550/7800
Processor: Intel 2500K @4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: O2+ODAC
PSU: Coolermaster v700
Default 05-20-2017, 22:13 | posts: 2,193 | Location: Norway

I use Malwarebytes 3 and Defender.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-20-2017, 22:24 | posts: 17,572 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
If it's some kind of ancient version before they completely overhauled it that doesn't really count anymore.
Haven't tried it in many years, but when I worked in a repair shop, we would joke to the customers if they came in with Norton & malware problems combined, that Norton 'is' the virus

It was such a PITA to remove 100% too, had to have dedicated removal tools not just their own uninstaller, particularly if they used NIS, network problems even after removal with the default uninstaller that forced us to find norton removal tools to finally get their internet working again

That and McAfee IS were the two main PITA to remove (2010)~

It put me off their products for life though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Fender178
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 FTW 2113/8996
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 32Gb 2133
Soundcard: RealTek AC1150
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 05-20-2017, 22:42 | posts: 3,269 | Location: Pennsylvania

I'm using a paid AV called FSecure and it has done a very good job. I would never touch Norton ever again. I have worked on PCs with a modern day version of Norton and its a terrible AV it doesn't catch anything or find anything that I have scanned with it vs Scanner programs that I have used such as Malwarebytes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
primetime^
Maha Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon RX580
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 05-21-2017, 06:10 | posts: 820 | Location: SC

As powerful as today's setups are, I cant see the logic in running with zero protection these days...Anyways built in defender is fine for people who use good judgment like myself
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.