Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
pointless discussion
Old
  (#1)
The General
Ancient Guru
 
The General's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI FireProV4800 GDDR5
Processor: Quad Xeon X3220 2.40ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inc. 0200DY
Memory: 4GB DDR3 Memory
Soundcard: SoundMAX Integrated HD
PSU: Thermaltake TR2-430
Thumbs up pointless discussion - 04-28-2017, 05:30 | posts: 3,084 | Location: Los Angeles, CA | Maryland, Dundalk

Thread is closing soon. Good luck with whatever os you guys are enjoying.

Last edited by The General; 04-29-2017 at 04:33.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-28-2017, 07:48 | posts: 6,586 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

You do realize Windows Vista (including SP2) support ended this month? You might want to upgrade at the very least to Windows 7.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...cle-fact-sheet

Last edited by pimp_gimp; 04-28-2017 at 07:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
RandomDriverDev
Banned
 
Videocard: 1080 / 8GB and 1060 / 6GB
Processor: Xeon
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic
Default 04-28-2017, 08:29 | posts: 111

Windows Vista will not be able to access many of websites.

one of the reasons driver support ended for it was the RSA key requirements for driver signing changed and only 7+ supports them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
radosuaf
Maha Guru
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 1050 Ti D5 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-6402P
Mainboard: MSI H110 PC MATE
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default 04-28-2017, 08:46 | posts: 1,441 | Location: Poland

I've been using 8.1 for some time, also had been using on my Core 2 Quad setup from 2008 or 2009 and no problems whatsoever - in some cases slightly slower than 7, in some cases faster than 7.
Don't use any magic 3rd party apps - just remove everything from PowerShell and voila - there are just like 2 or 3 apps left, for which you can just remove shortcuts and forget about them. Biggest mess comes usually from programs that are supposed to make Windows "better".
Best Windows for me. I never liked Vista too much. And I've been using W7 for 7 years prior to 8.1. When you start using Win+X menu and put shortcuts on the desktop, you may forget about Start screen almost completely.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
The General
Ancient Guru
 
The General's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI FireProV4800 GDDR5
Processor: Quad Xeon X3220 2.40ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inc. 0200DY
Memory: 4GB DDR3 Memory
Soundcard: SoundMAX Integrated HD
PSU: Thermaltake TR2-430
Thumbs up 04-28-2017, 09:19 | posts: 3,084 | Location: Los Angeles, CA | Maryland, Dundalk

Window 8.1 issues for me was game performance, it was bad. Most order games perform poorly, and most apps didn't work. Using windows 7 or Vista i don't have any issues with anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
You do realize Windows Vista (including SP2) support ended this month? You might want to upgrade at the very least to Windows 7.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...cle-fact-sheet
Ending support for the OS doesn't mean the OS is going to stop working. When it comes to a point where i can't use win7 or vista , then i will use win10 on a secondary build, but i highly doubt that happens anytime soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomDriverDev View Post
Windows Vista will not be able to access many of websites.

one of the reasons driver support ended for it was the RSA key requirements for driver signing changed and only 7+ supports them.
Websites is working fine for me, videos works great, browsers, music, apps, gaming is faster over windows 7. Vista is just like win7, but now that i have better hardware i can finally use the OS good without any hassle. Using either OS is fine, i just pick vista over win7. I also love the design and features of vista, who can forget about this
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
RandomDriverDev
Banned
 
Videocard: 1080 / 8GB and 1060 / 6GB
Processor: Xeon
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic
Default 04-28-2017, 09:24 | posts: 111

Good luck to you, but you'll see in time as TLS 1.0 is disabled across the net.

oh, also, better disable iphelper, since it leaks memory on vista (only fixed on 7+)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 04-28-2017, 09:39 | posts: 17,720 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Not sure how Vista performs better than 7, Vista was a hog, 7 was essentially a massively optimised and fixed Vista with a much better UI

All I can assume is you're using bad drivers, all machines I have moved from Vista to 7 have performed worlds better

Using apps like Metro killer isn't the best idea either, grab something like StartisBack or another 3rd party start replacement to kill the start screen and unless you choose to open apps, you're more or less metro free with 8.1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 04-28-2017, 15:31 | posts: 9,603 | Location: USA

Yep most likely bad/outdated drivers..

Better of with 8.1/7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 04-28-2017, 15:49 | posts: 13,104 | Location: Toledo Ohio

We are for one of our Cisco dated VOIP interface, because it only works with XP and Vista.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
The General
Ancient Guru
 
The General's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI FireProV4800 GDDR5
Processor: Quad Xeon X3220 2.40ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inc. 0200DY
Memory: 4GB DDR3 Memory
Soundcard: SoundMAX Integrated HD
PSU: Thermaltake TR2-430
Default 04-28-2017, 16:42 | posts: 3,084 | Location: Los Angeles, CA | Maryland, Dundalk

I'm a bit confused by some of the replies here. I have been using windows 7 for years, there's nothing wrong with the OS. It runs games, and videos and everything else perfectly fine, just like Vista. I said that Vista was just faster overall, that's because it uses less resources.(Recording is faster, some games are faster about 5% increase in framerates) I never said windows 7 is a problem or i had issues with it. As for windows 8.1, the main reason why i stop using that is because of the poor performance in older games and most apps did not work on windows 8.1 ( Keep in mind i was only testing the OS ) and i didn't care for the UI/Store. Even if i have used a different app to removed Metro, i still wouldn't have like the UI. Just like i don't like it in Windows 10. Also i install Windows 8 for gameloft but you have to have the store enable to be able to play those games. Why is there even a freaking store on a PC OS anyway?

Windows 8 and Windows 10 look like tablets. And i have no idea what in the world MS was thinking when they designed it. As for Vista being a system hog, yea that is only if you have slow hardware. Its working perfectly fine on my end, games, apps, videos, sites, can have lots of windows open, playing music haven't slowed down one bit. I do plan to use/test windows 10 again, but i will do that on my secondary workstation build i plan to build later. But if it doesn't work out I'm heading right back to using windows 7.

Anyways, I'm going to stick with Vista on this computer, if you guys like using windows 8 and 10, all the best.

Last edited by The General; 04-28-2017 at 16:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
aka2k
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 8800 GS
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 400CX
Default 04-28-2017, 16:49 | posts: 56

I hate using Windows 10, but Forza Horizon 3 won't run on anything else, so I'm stuck with it. And since I'm too lazy to dual boot often, that's it.

But Vista was great after SP1, even better with SP2. One of the biggest underdogs in history. But it looks great and worked really fine with then current hardware. Had it running on a Pentium E2200 with a Nvidia 8800GS. It rocked for me back in 2008.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-28-2017, 17:09 | posts: 6,586 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by The General View Post
Ending support for the OS doesn't mean the OS is going to stop working. When it comes to a point where i can't use win7 or vista , then i will use win10 on a secondary build, but i highly doubt that happens anytime soon.
I know it'll still work. But just like in the past when an OS support ends, other vendors start to drop support for it as well. As long as you stay offline with it you should be fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 04-28-2017, 17:15 | posts: 17,720 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Least you've got no telemetry to worry about with Vista
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 04-28-2017, 17:21 | posts: 7,558 | Location: USA

i still have laptop that uses it, i still have yet to change it to win7
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
The General
Ancient Guru
 
The General's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI FireProV4800 GDDR5
Processor: Quad Xeon X3220 2.40ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inc. 0200DY
Memory: 4GB DDR3 Memory
Soundcard: SoundMAX Integrated HD
PSU: Thermaltake TR2-430
Default 04-28-2017, 17:25 | posts: 3,084 | Location: Los Angeles, CA | Maryland, Dundalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by aka2k View Post
I hate using Windows 10, but Forza Horizon 3 won't run on anything else, so I'm stuck with it. And since I'm too lazy to dual boot often, that's it.
Honestly your best is to when you can buy Xbox one. I am around Christmas. I am thankful Quantum Break was ported to play on Windows 7 though. Also think about building a secondary rig or just buy a nice cheap prebuilt on ebay to play older games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aka2k View Post
But Vista was great after SP1, even better with SP2. One of the biggest underdogs in history. But it looks great and worked really fine with then current hardware. Had it running on a Pentium E2200 with a Nvidia 8800GS. It rocked for me back in 2008.
DX11 update helps as well. Without it, can't play my favorite game Sleeping Dogs

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
I know it'll still work. But just like in the past when an OS support ends, other vendors start to drop support for it as well. As long as you stay offline with it you should be fine.
Wait are you thinking about Viruses and stuff? Using 64bit Os's protects you from Viruses. If i was using 32bit it would be a big issue, but i never had any viruses using 64bit . Also what do you mean stay offline? I'm online now with it, and i don't have any problems. Browsers, videos all working in 1080p or 1440p just fine, downloading, watching movies, no problems at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 04-28-2017, 17:32 | posts: 3,534 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by The General View Post
I said that Vista was just faster overall, that's because it uses less resources.(Recording is faster, some games are faster about 5% increase in framerates)
Which is against experience of all other gurus (including me). I remember well how my work rig became faster and more stable after I installed Win7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
The General
Ancient Guru
 
The General's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI FireProV4800 GDDR5
Processor: Quad Xeon X3220 2.40ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inc. 0200DY
Memory: 4GB DDR3 Memory
Soundcard: SoundMAX Integrated HD
PSU: Thermaltake TR2-430
Default 04-28-2017, 18:47 | posts: 3,084 | Location: Los Angeles, CA | Maryland, Dundalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Which is against experience of all other gurus (including me). I remember well how my work rig became faster and more stable after I installed Win7.
Keep in mind, of the hardware that i use. I'm sure if i was using hardware from 2014-2017 yea windows 7 would be faster. But I'm using stuff from 2007-2008 haha. I'm using a x3220 from 2008 i believe and a GPU from 2010. It gets the job done extremely well, but its still old. But as i said i never had any trouble with windows 7, just vista uses less resources, thus my hardware yea its a bit faster.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 04-28-2017, 19:31 | posts: 12,910 | Location: Finland

I had Vista on my laptop (after I had to uninstall the Windows 7 Enterprise) but man was it slow... and support was **** even before Microsoft axed the support for it. I upgraded that to Windows 10 Insider beta and that way I got it upgraded to full Windows 10 Pro for free. It runs soooo much better. Much better resource usage and no weird HDD trashing. Vista was dog slow resource hog.

Last edited by Anarion; 04-28-2017 at 19:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
radosuaf
Maha Guru
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 1050 Ti D5 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-6402P
Mainboard: MSI H110 PC MATE
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default 04-28-2017, 19:49 | posts: 1,441 | Location: Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
As long as you stay offline with it you should be fine.
Just make sure your e-mail client, web browser and antivirus are updated, be fairly cautious and you're OK with Vista. My mother used XP until Dec last year with Avast, Firefox and Thunderbird and no problems at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
radosuaf
Maha Guru
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 1050 Ti D5 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-6402P
Mainboard: MSI H110 PC MATE
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default 04-28-2017, 19:51 | posts: 1,441 | Location: Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by The General View Post
Windows 8 and Windows 10 look like tablets.
Win 8.1 configured correctly (without any 3rd party apps) looks 95% like W7, just better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
styckx
Maha Guru
 
styckx's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 1080 FE
Processor: I7 2600k @ 4.2
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB PC3-14900
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default 04-28-2017, 21:58 | posts: 1,280 | Location: South Jersey

Vista faster than 7, 8 and 10? lol O-K..

brb.. Checking to see if I have any bridges to sell.. Apparently the market is good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 04-28-2017, 22:27 | posts: 3,534 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by The General View Post
Keep in mind, of the hardware that i use. I'm sure if i was using hardware from 2014-2017 yea windows 7 would be faster. But I'm using stuff from 2007-2008 haha. I'm using a x3220 from 2008 i believe and a GPU from 2010. It gets the job done extremely well, but its still old. But as i said i never had any trouble with windows 7, just vista uses less resources, thus my hardware yea its a bit faster.
I was talking namely about old HW at work. It was DELL PC with P4 (no HT) with pre-installed Linux originally. I remember I was trying to install P4D and some newer CPUs with HT but failed, and later I discovered that chipset was the one specially limited to one core CPUs.
Vista was noticeably slower then Windows 7 on that grandpa. And it was Vista with service packs against young toddler Windows 7.

Last edited by mbk1969; 04-28-2017 at 22:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 04-29-2017, 02:57 | posts: 6,845

Everyone who isn't upgrading their OS has no idea about how computers work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 04-29-2017, 03:50 | posts: 1,804

Uh, but how do I install Win 10 on my P60 rig? It has nowhere near 1GB of ram in it let alone a HD (250MB) large enough to install it on. IDE & ISA for the win.

Sorry, could not resist.

EDIT: BTW How is one able to install a floppy drive on a current rig? Miss that dancing baby.

Last edited by Clouseau; 04-29-2017 at 03:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 04-29-2017, 06:18 | posts: 1,804





   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.