Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1151)
PhantomGamers
Member Guru
 
PhantomGamers's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 1080 EVGA FTW
Processor: AMD R7 1800X
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Prof
Memory: DDR4 2x16GB @ 3200MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / Samson SR950
PSU: EVGA P2 1200W Platinum
Default 06-12-2017, 01:33 | posts: 74 | Location: New York, USA

So the newest aegsa is now available on my board as bios 2.40, and it posts at 3200mhz RAM speed whereas the older aegsa versions 2.30 and 2.20 don't, however it hardlocks right away after posting and showing the uefi screen.

BIOS version 2.0 running on the older aegsa works fine though at 3200mhz.

Very odd. Anyone else have the same issue with the ASRock x370 professional gaming board? Any solution for it? I'm thinking maybe one of the additional ram configuration options they added might be at fault, but I've only had the time to test the command rate option and oddly enough 1t posts more consistently than 2t on the latest bios yet still hardlocks.

EDIT: ASRock's answer to me is "use the one that works." lol

Last edited by PhantomGamers; 06-13-2017 at 04:14.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1152)
D3M1G0D
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x EVGA GeForce 1080 FTW
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
Memory: G.SKILL Flare X 16GB DDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Default 06-12-2017, 05:00 | posts: 68 | Location: Canada

Hey guys. So, I've been having periodic stability issues with my system:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mobo: ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200MHz (C16) (Part no: CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)

It would run fine for several days or weeks but suddenly become unstable. I traced the issue to the memory modules, and I would need to either remove one of the sticks or reseat them to different sockets for it to become stable again. I upgraded to the latest 1.0.0.6 AGESA this afternoon to see if the issues would be resolved, but when it booted back up it was instantly unstable (reseated and it's stable again... for now). Also note that this is not as a result of overclocking - the exact same issue happens at the base 2133 speeds, so I'm guessing there's still some compatibility issues between the parts.

Has anyone else experienced such issues? I'm thinking of buying some new RAM modules from a different manufacturer to see if they're more stable. Does anyone have any insights or recommendations?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1153)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 06-12-2017, 14:57 | posts: 52

Quote:
Originally Posted by D3M1G0D View Post
Hey guys. So, I've been having periodic stability issues with my system:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mobo: ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200MHz (C16) (Part no: CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)

It would run fine for several days or weeks but suddenly become unstable. I traced the issue to the memory modules, and I would need to either remove one of the sticks or reseat them to different sockets for it to become stable again. I upgraded to the latest 1.0.0.6 AGESA this afternoon to see if the issues would be resolved, but when it booted back up it was instantly unstable (reseated and it's stable again... for now). Also note that this is not as a result of overclocking - the exact same issue happens at the base 2133 speeds, so I'm guessing there's still some compatibility issues between the parts.

Has anyone else experienced such issues? I'm thinking of buying some new RAM modules from a different manufacturer to see if they're more stable. Does anyone have any insights or recommendations?
Try cleaning RAM contacts with alcohol or Acetone.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1154)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 06-12-2017, 15:10 | posts: 6,366 | Location: Australia

Don't use acetone!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1155)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill Trident (2x8) 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 06-12-2017, 16:22 | posts: 1,698

Quote:
Hey guys. So, I've been having periodic stability issues with my system:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mobo: ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200MHz (C16) (Part no: CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)

It would run fine for several days or weeks but suddenly become unstable. I traced the issue to the memory modules, and I would need to either remove one of the sticks or reseat them to different sockets for it to become stable again. I upgraded to the latest 1.0.0.6 AGESA this afternoon to see if the issues would be resolved, but when it booted back up it was instantly unstable (reseated and it's stable again... for now). Also note that this is not as a result of overclocking - the exact same issue happens at the base 2133 speeds, so I'm guessing there's still some compatibility issues between the parts.

Has anyone else experienced such issues? I'm thinking of buying some new RAM modules from a different manufacturer to see if they're more stable. Does anyone have any insights or recommendations?
My experience has lead me to abandon Corsair were AMD is concerned. Couldn't get wife's rig stable even though the Corsair was on the APU's QVL. Switched to GSkill, that particular kit was not on the QVL, and all issues vanished. One of many repeatable occurrences. Wife's rig was all at default as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1156)
D3M1G0D
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x EVGA GeForce 1080 FTW
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
Memory: G.SKILL Flare X 16GB DDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Default 06-12-2017, 18:09 | posts: 68 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clouseau View Post
My experience has lead me to abandon Corsair were AMD is concerned. Couldn't get wife's rig stable even though the Corsair was on the APU's QVL. Switched to GSkill, that particular kit was not on the QVL, and all issues vanished. One of many repeatable occurrences. Wife's rig was all at default as well.
Actually, I previous had issues with Corsair memory on my Intel system (4790K on MSI Gaming 7). No matter what I tried, I could not get it to run stable with both sticks in (one stick was fine). Finally replaced it with some Ballistix memory and it's been stable ever since.

I thought that was just a one-off, but this incident seems almost like a repeat, and I'm thinking of avoiding Corsair altogether in the future (maybe I'm just really unlucky with this brand?)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1157)
Embra
Master Guru
 
Embra's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro Fury OC
Processor: Ryzen 1700x
Mainboard: MSI x370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: Corsar Ven 3200 16 gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMx 850
Default 06-12-2017, 19:40 | posts: 305

Not sure I see your ram on ASRock's compatibility list:

http://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/X370%20...dex.asp#Memory
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1158)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 06-13-2017, 02:06 | posts: 52

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Don't use acetone!
Acetone is the best solution because it leaves no residue, unlike alcohol. Circuit boards are cleaned with acetone fyi. It is the ultimate evaporate. Just keep it away from certain plastics.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acetone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1159)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 06-13-2017, 06:04 | posts: 9,422 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigabytes View Post
Acetone is the best solution because it leaves no residue, unlike alcohol. Circuit boards are cleaned with acetone fyi. It is the ultimate evaporate. Just keep it away from certain plastics.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acetone
Pure isopropyl alcohol is still a much better and safer option.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1160)
Fox2232
Ancient Guru
 
Fox2232's Avatar
 
Videocard: Fury X - XL2420T(Z)@144Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,8,20 1T
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 06-13-2017, 08:32 | posts: 5,364 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Pure isopropyl alcohol is still a much better and safer option.
Yep, I have Contactol, Technical Alcohol, Aceton, ...
But for computer cleanup I always use Tech. Alcohol. It is least intrusive, worst thing it can do is to clean off cheap color paint.

Aceton dissolves/vulcanizes so many things. You never know what gets hit and what will not.

@Clouseau: Did you try with much slower memory? That fast memory at which you "bricked" could have allow MB to "boot" just enough to skip initial compatibility protection but not far enough to auto reset from failed boot count.
At slower memory it may reset just from incompatibility itself with that high clock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1161)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 06-13-2017, 18:18 | posts: 2,879 | Location: HolyWater Village





   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1162)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill Trident (2x8) 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 06-13-2017, 18:57 | posts: 1,698

Quote:
...@Clouseau: Did you try with much slower memory? That fast memory at which you "bricked" could have allow MB to "boot" just enough to skip initial compatibility protection but not far enough to auto reset from failed boot count.
At slower memory it may reset just from incompatibility itself with that high clock.
That was my thought as well. Switched out the ram and put the 3200 kit back in. Unfortunately same results. I then left the psu unplugged and the battery out for 24hrs. That accomplished nothing beneficial. Have since started the RMA process to get the bios chip reprogrammed. There is an undocumented header right next to the bios chip. Assuming that is used to directly flash the bios if one had the proper tool. Thanks for the suggestion. New board should be here tomorrow. The Prime board will go to the wife and her APU rig will go to the kids.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1163)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 06-13-2017, 21:36 | posts: 2,879 | Location: HolyWater Village

Finally New 1401 AGESA 1.0.0.6

2945MHz CL-14-15-15-34 1T 68.8 Ohms
GearDown/Power Dwn. Disabled


Beter Latency 76-78ns and +3GB/s !!! ~46GB/s All3

Last edited by OnnA; 06-21-2017 at 13:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1164)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 06-14-2017, 03:23 | posts: 52

Decided to upgrade to a Threadripper late July-August, sell my board, cooler and CPU to the Nephew. Buy another 16gb kit of G Skill for 32gb total and dual Vegas in the fall. Hope it lasts me 6-8 years.

Frankly, I am happy with the current rig. With the EVO NVMe I'm at password in 14 seconds from power up. Memory is stable at 1600mhz and ZenStates working smoothe with a 3.9ghz OC when i want it, voltages are good and temps are good. It's come a long way over the last 3 months or so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1165)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill Trident (2x8) 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 06-14-2017, 07:50 | posts: 1,698

The new board actually arrived today. Almost had a heart attack. After flashing to the new 1401 bios for the C6H, could not get anything to display on the monitor. The Q-Code stuck at 0d. After pulling my hair out for about two hours was finally able to find a thread about it in the ROG forum. Using displayport was the issue. Switched to HDMI loaded optimized defaults and now displayport is working again. Going to have to see if that was the issue with the Prime X370 board before sending it in. What a rollercoaster ride.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1166)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 06-14-2017, 10:53 | posts: 6,514 | Location: Finland

I am so tempted by Threadripper it ain't even funny. But then again I might not need that much power Just upgrade this to Zen+ once that thing comes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1167)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 06-14-2017, 12:04 | posts: 6,366 | Location: Australia

I have what appears to be 100 percent stability at 3066, and 99.99 percent stability at 3200. All tests appear stable, but typically after a couple of hours of heavy encoding it decided to GSOD (green screen of death). I could probably much around for ages and make that 100 percent stable, but 3066 isn't too bad, and no doubt future AGESA and bios revisions will further improve high memory speed compatibility.

If I weren't doing the encoding and just going on tests etc, I would have said 3200 is 100 percent stable. This is with 14-14-14-34 timings etc, at 16-16-16-39 it wasn't any better. There could possibly be one of those new settings that I could adjust to make it stable, but the extra 133 MHz (well technically, 66 real MHz) isn't worth the time and effort when there are further improvements expected.

Maybe I should sell my RAM, it's worth about twice as much now as when I bought it!

Last edited by thatguy91; 06-14-2017 at 12:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1168)
wantobe
Member Guru
 
wantobe's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080 Jetstream
Processor: 1600X@4.0Ghz
Mainboard: AX370 K7
Memory: DDR4 16GB 3200Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650x
Default 06-16-2017, 09:37 | posts: 85 | Location: UK

Just wanted to share my experience after getting 1600X with Gigabyte AX370 K7:
Used 8X2 3200Mhz Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 , Motherboard shipped with F3 Bios, booted without a problem with an XMP profile @ 3200. After updating firmware to a new beta BIOS with 1006 AGESA update ram worked only at stock speeds so downgraded BIOS back to F3 - worked @3200 like a charm again. Then I proceeded to overclocking CPU, I was wrestling with it for two days, tried all options I could think off and I could not get the CPU overclocked - whatever I did mostly it would either crash or if booted to Windows it would get stuck on 2199Mhz or if OC is sucessfull in benchmarks I was getting lower scores than with stock speeds. After exhausting all options I thought I'll give a shot to Ryzen Master - and it worked like a charm, didn't try 4.1Ghz yet, but with 4.0Ghz @ 1.40V it works just fine, NH-D15 keeps it ultra silent and in common use won't go over 61C (or 81C in HWmonitor). A pity the OC is not in the BIOS but I guess that will come with time. Hopefully this helps someone.

Last edited by wantobe; 06-16-2017 at 09:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1169)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 06-16-2017, 16:46 | posts: 6,366 | Location: Australia

Have you tested the performance of 3200 on your current bios versus 3066 on the new bios? At the end of the day it's the performance and compatibility that counts, not the frequency it is run.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1170)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen5 1600
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ 3000/C14
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 06-16-2017, 20:08 | posts: 3,471 | Location: Finland

Hey guys, out of curiosity check your CPU freq. in Windows Task Manager.

Task Manager claims my CPU is downclocking with light load / idle, but HWInfo shows fixed clocks as before and I've overclocked manually.

Also Task Manager shows (as current clock under heavy load) slightly lower value than set but reports max clock correctly. W10 15063.413.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1171)
wantobe
Member Guru
 
wantobe's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080 Jetstream
Processor: 1600X@4.0Ghz
Mainboard: AX370 K7
Memory: DDR4 16GB 3200Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650x
Default 06-17-2017, 08:33 | posts: 85 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
Hey guys, out of curiosity check your CPU freq. in Windows Task Manager.

Task Manager claims my CPU is downclocking with light load / idle, but HWInfo shows fixed clocks as before and I've overclocked manually.

Also Task Manager shows (as current clock under heavy load) slightly lower value than set but reports max clock correctly. W10 15063.413.
In my case Task manager was reporting 4.0Ghz always but CPU-Z and HW monitor was showing different values and obviously benchmark scores were lower than expected.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1172)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill Trident (2x8) 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 06-17-2017, 20:17 | posts: 1,698

Having been playing with the Crosshair now for a few days, cannot go back the Prime when it comes back. That board is going to the kids.

Have the CPU LLC @ level 3. Cannot get the rig stable using lvl 2. SOC LLC is perfect at lvl 2. Also found that by disabling the Sense MI Skew setting, the temperatures being reported are a lot more true to fact. The cpu temps are even a few C lower than on was on the Prime. Board was well worth the extra money.

EDIT:
Finally able to run the F4-3600C16D-16GTZ kit closer to its rated speed. 3466 @ 15-15-15-34 and 1.35v so bios 1401 is looking very good

Last edited by Clouseau; 06-18-2017 at 16:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1173)
mikev190
Master Guru
 
mikev190's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080Ti AMP! OC
Processor: RYZEN 7 1700X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 16gb Vengeance LPX 3200
Soundcard: Corsair VOID Wireless
PSU: Super Flower Leadex 850w
Default 06-19-2017, 02:31 | posts: 198 | Location: UK

This thread has been a major help!

Using the beta bios 9945 and I've got my ram running at 3200mhz at the proper timings!

Also think I've got a decent chip, currently at 3.8ghz at 1.3v would you say that is a good voltage for the clock speed?

Loving Ryzen
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1174)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default 06-27-2017, 00:00 | posts: 136

PRIME X370-PRO BIOS 0805
Update AGESA to 1.0.0.6a
Note: Updating BIOS method suggested
1.ASUS EZ Flash3: Update the BIOS by USB or Internet.
2.ASUS EZ Update: Update the BIOS in Windows environment, please download the ASUS EZ Update -V2.03.16 via the following link http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...981.1478769839

Download
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1175)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen5 1600
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ 3000/C14
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default Yesterday, 22:09 | posts: 3,471 | Location: Finland

I've already posted in Division thread here but will ask (since everyone there seems to run Intel):

Anyone playing The Division by any chance and getting constant CTDs?
Been like that since I reinstalled the game on Ryzen build. Tried the usual suspects like stock clocks and even Windows reinstall but no help.

Sometimes can play for 2-3 hours even but ctds more often than not, usually after 10-15 mins of play.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
am4, amd, memory, overclocking, ryzen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.