Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
I think I got a bug
Old
  (#1)
IchimA
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 970 Gtx OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-ud3h
Memory: 12 Gb DDR III - 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1+Logit G51
PSU: Cooler Master M850
Default I think I got a bug - 02-15-2017, 17:09 | posts: 776 | Location: Romania

Hy,

When trying to open any word or excel file ( even create new and open ) I got a warning from avast of a virus. It said something of IP 131.253.61.84 .

Tracked the IP it said it was from USA . trying to copy/paste into web browser toked me to login page of Microsoft. ??? off course I did not entered my login details but ... strange.

Now I am doing a full scan with avast and then will let malwarebytes have a scan .

P.s. I think there was also an antivirus that you can put on a cd and did a scan from it;s own operating system . Can't remember name.

What do you think !? Am I infected ? ( also .... just to say ... i did download something shady yesterday )
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 02-15-2017, 17:56 | posts: 9,422 | Location: USA

and what does scan return?

IP may be where microsoft sends telemetry data, in which case that would not be malicious.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sn-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 02-15-2017, 18:18 | posts: 1,450 | Location: The Netherlands

I'd start by deleting normal.dot from your profile and check if macros are disabled. And try again
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
IchimA
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 970 Gtx OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-ud3h
Memory: 12 Gb DDR III - 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1+Logit G51
PSU: Cooler Master M850
Default 02-15-2017, 20:39 | posts: 776 | Location: Romania

Scan return are negative. What is the best program to search for a key logger? I had my Origin account stolen like 5 years ago . So I need to check for key logger also .
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
SombraGuerrero
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 1070
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-C
Memory: 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek, Logitech Z
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 02-25-2017, 21:09 | posts: 13 | Location: Minnesota, US

MalwareBytes is my goto scanner of malware and keyloggers and such. ClamAV is a nice and portable application. If you're really wanting to be thorough, you might also try a rootkit analyzer.

ARIN does identify this IP as belonging to Microsoft's offices in Redmond, which Bing Maps confirms is an actual place, so I would be inclined to believe this is a legitimate IP. Spoofing is always possible; you are wise to be cautious, but I think this is okay.

Last edited by SombraGuerrero; 02-25-2017 at 21:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.