Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#151)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 05-24-2017, 09:23 | posts: 18 | Location: France

For SRPlus…

Hi,
You write :
i will like to build a best performance render video with 4 Titan 6Gb SLI, this video card are the last model and best official list for After effect and have fully compability with all function as like V Ray Tracing.
« I have a suspicion that once the yield rate has come down ».

i will like to know from 100% performance with 1 Titan and CUDA core for render , how many performance you obtain with 1, 2 , 3 and 4 SLI Titan?

I imagine near 400% with 4 SLI Titan?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#152)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 05-24-2017, 09:24 | posts: 18 | Location: France

For SRPlus…

Hi,

EVGA V2 run for Titan 6Gb :
http://www.legitreviews.com/evga-pro...-review_122197

Do you have test or find better SLI Bridge (with ASUS mother board) as like to build personal brigde or EVGA V2 brigde for Titan?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#153)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 05-24-2017, 09:26 | posts: 18 | Location: France

For SRPlus…

Hi,
I think to use PSU Seasonics 750W for connect mother board, HDD and few other thing, and Corsaire AX1500i for 4 Titan (by PCIe 8 Pin and PCIe 6 Pin) on PCIex16 with Fan. I will like to know how you have making for use your 2 PSU and how you use it on Motherboard, Gpu, HDD...?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#154)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 05-24-2017, 09:28 | posts: 18 | Location: France

For SRPlus…
Hi,
You write :
I'm itching to buy 4x Titan Pascal, and upgrading to the Asus Z10PE-D8 WS with E5-2687wv4's or 2697A's, but my spider sense says wait...

From my information, Asus Z10PE-D8 not make PCIe x16 with 4 SLI. it is PCIe x8 by 4 SLI, possible there are 1 slot with x16 and the other are at x8.
Asus Z10PE-D16 have only 3 way SLI…
It need to take care to use Quad or GTX, all mother board not accept Quad and GTX, usualy it is Quad OR GTX .

From my information for 4 way SLI there are only the Supermicro X10DRG-Q for Xeon E5 26xx V3 or V4.
Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#155)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 05-24-2017, 09:30 | posts: 18 | Location: France

For SRPlus…
Hi,

How you make synchronisation between yours 2 PSU for wake up?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#156)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 05-28-2017, 20:40 | posts: 117

In response to the questions:

For enablint the 4 and 3 way sli, you will have to contact me and respect I will not post info on front page, but will gladly do so off line.

The process to get 3 and 4 way working without micro stutter and good scaling is a combination of factors:
1. You must have a mobo that can support all the lanes AND deliver to some serious processing power, if you want the scaling

2. You need to have a mobo that can devide the lanes up to separate cores, most mobos can handle multicore cpu's but that's different than lane allocation

3. You need to understand compatibility bits, period

4. This is not absolute but you'll need at least a v2 bridge.

4.a if you plan on doing 4 way sli, you CAN use the standard v2 bridge, however, if you observe the 4 way sli bridges you'll notice that, the main card only gets 1 connection, the pattern is 1,2,1,2. In order to get the bandwidth on 4-way, you need a 2,2,2,2 config
4.b it's not enough to make the ribbon bridges with v2 connectors, there are some resistors that must connect to certain pins to enable the driver to get rid of the high bandwidth warning, and get the last bit of scaling.

5. OS, bios -tweaks. You must have a real understanding of the OS, windows in this case. There are registry settings that can make a world of difference. There confit and setup requirements that can also give you a substantial increase in results and stability. I'll answer this again. windows 10 is the slowest os for me and provides the least amount of benefits and control. My personal choice in order are win server 2012r2, windows 7 64, ubuntu 17.04, ubuntu 16, windows 8.1 64 and windows xp 64/ seven 2003 64. I've tried repeatedly server 16 and find it highly unstable and unreliable and slower than 2012r2, 7-64, 8.1- 64, and so forth.

My attempts with win 10 and srv 2016 have shown a product unfit for my needs and work. Quad SLI takes a drop in performance despite all my efforts on win 10.


I'm currently running 4-way 70-95% scaling on about 60 titles, including some u4 titles, OpenGL, dx10 and 11
Running about 50-60 scaling on about 30 titles some more difficult engines, no matter what I try, such as unity.

Then , warning, no matter what magic I try, some titles show only margina; improvement.

So in my collection about half the titles are in group 1, the rest remain a constant hobby to tweak.


Recently, I've made some headway on some stubborn engines by working in SFR, when all hope was abandoned on AFR and AFR2


HOPE THAT HELPS,

again, I can't openly post the changes you need to make in inspector ---> or the marketing engine of nvidia will kill it in a driver release.

Last edited by venturi; 05-28-2017 at 21:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#157)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 05-28-2017, 20:47 | posts: 117

Quote:
Originally Posted by XavierFR View Post
For venturi …
Hi,
Some software use CUDA core.
Do you have make test, with medical imaging, VMs, nuc med, isotopes, or CUDA core for permit to know the performance with yours 1 , 2, 3 and 4 SLI ?
Thanks
Yes sir
In both nuclear / isotope and medical imaging, on two applications, cuda was necessary to achieve the desired result.

That was an early adoption for me about 5 years ago and have progressed ever since. I have posted in the cuda developer forum and exchanged a lot if information.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#158)
AntonP
Newbie
 
Videocard: 4x GTX1080
Processor: 5960x 4.5GHz
Mainboard: R5E
Memory: 4x4 3200MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000w
Default 06-05-2017, 14:43 | posts: 9

Venturi, i have not got enough posts to send you PM.
Please, could you PM me how to make 2-2-2-2 (HB 4-way) bridge from EVGA V2 4-way bridge and EVGA HB 20mm bridges?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#159)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 10:21 | posts: 18 | Location: France

Hi,
thank very much venturi for your answer.
I am very happy to obtain answer
In first, i will like a lot to contact you by private message, but the system not permit me because i not have make enough post… But it miss few post for the system permit me to write you … i try to solve it…

-For answer, Let's me to know if i make a understand mistake :
1. You must have a mobo that can support all the lanes AND deliver to some serious processing power, if you want the scaling
2. You need to have a mobo that can devide the lanes up to separate cores, most mobos can handle multicore cpu's but that's different than lane allocation


Today i have 2 projets, 1 cheap and 1 high power but with the most application. It means, hight CPU frequency first, and maximum of core second.
My 2 projets are with Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with dual Xeon E5-2687W V1 and SuperMicro X10DRG-Q with dual Xeon E5-2697 V3. The video card will be 4 way SLI with First Titan generation, Air or water cooling (because some cards have poor cooling).
I have seen the Logigram for the 2 motherboards.It is permit true 4 way SLI x16Pcie.
-From ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS :
https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Z9...lpDesk_Manual/
PDF file at # 225 « A.1 Z9PE-D8 WS lock diagram » :
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...910.1496734718
For Asus, there are only Switch for divide or not the x16Pcie.
-From SuperMicro X10DRG-Q :
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...0/x10drg-q.cfm
PDF file at # 18 « System Block Diagram »:
http://www.supermicro.com/manuals/mo...2/MNL-1677.pdf
For Supermicro there are not Switch for divide x16Pcie.

I have find only this 2 motherboards permit true 4 way SLI With Dual Xeon.
I think, for Asus in Bios, to need to unactivate some Gbe Lan for to be sure to save 3 PCI-a x1 lanes free and save some Bandwidth.
But SuperMicro X10DRG-Q will need sound card

My only one problem with this 2 projects. the project with E5-2697 V3 will give only +40% performance every time, and some time +90%.

I think the 2 motherboard and CPU solve the 1 and 2 points.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#160)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 10:24 | posts: 18 | Location: France

3. You need to understand compatibility bits, period

I not see what you means… Wave Synchronization and delay ? About video cards ?
I have find only « SLI compatibility bits » : https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfil.../?id=405963369
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=392715

is it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#161)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 10:26 | posts: 18 | Location: France

4. This is not absolute but you'll need at least a v2 bridge.

I have buy EVGA V2 bridge 4 way SLI for Asus. But, Supermicro will need a other because the first slot are at the bottom ?
Else, it will be EVGA V2 bridge 4 way SLI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#162)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 10:27 | posts: 18 | Location: France

4.a if you plan on doing 4 way sli, you CAN use the standard v2 bridge, however, if you observe the 4 way sli bridges you'll notice that, the main card only gets 1 connection, the pattern is 1,2,1,2. In order to get the bandwidth on 4-way, you need a 2,2,2,2 config

Agree,if i not make a mistake,it is the why you have build your bridge and obtain more communication bandwidth betwen SLI bridge.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#163)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 10:28 | posts: 18 | Location: France

4.b it's not enough to make the ribbon bridges with v2 connectors, there are some resistors that must connect to certain pins to enable the driver to get rid of the high bandwidth warning, and get the last bit of scaling.

Ok, we will see the details.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#164)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 10:36 | posts: 18 | Location: France

5. OS, bios -tweaks. You must have a real understanding of the OS, windows in this case. There are registry settings that can make a world of difference. There confit and setup requirements that can also give you a substantial increase in results and stability. I'll answer this again. windows 10 is the slowest os for me and provides the least amount of benefits and control. My personal choice in order are win server 2012r2, windows 7 64, ubuntu 17.04, ubuntu 16, windows 8.1 64 and windows xp 64/ seven 2003 64. I've tried repeatedly server 16 and find it highly unstable and unreliable and slower than 2012r2, 7-64, 8.1- 64, and so forth.

I was thinking to use windows 8.1 64. Ok about Regedit and Windows Registry.
Yes, i am very limited by Win10. Win10 change some thing all time and one day we find decrease performance.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#165)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 11:01 | posts: 18 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by venturi View Post
I have posted in the cuda developer forum and exchanged a lot if information.
Hi,
Cuda benefit of your SLI. It was the first benefit i wanted to know.
Thanks very much

now, the system permit me private mesage...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#166)
XavierFR
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX Titan 6Gb
Processor: E5-2687w
Mainboard: Asus P9X79-E WS
Memory: 64 Gb
Soundcard: Asus
PSU: Seasonics 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 16:39 | posts: 18 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRPlus View Post
There's something being overlooked here...
If the Supermicro motherboard works the same way as the Asus dual CPU socket SLI mobo's do, such as Z9PE-D8 WS and Z10PE-D8 WS, CPU 0 controls pci-e slots 1 to 4, and CPU 1 controls pci-e slots 5 to 7, and both CPU's have 40 lanes each..
No no, Z10PE-D8 WS not work at the same:
ASUS-Z10PE-D8-WS Quad SLI multi-graphics card setups only support x8/x8/x8/x8 PCIe configuration
http://news.softpedia.com/news/The-P...d-459168.shtml
Expansion slots : 4 x PCI Express® 3.0 x16 slots (dual at x16/x16; quad at x8/x8/x8/x8)
SPECIFICATIONS[1]
[1] Specifications, content and product availability are all subject to change without notice and may differ from country to country. Actual performance may vary depending on applications, usage, environment and other factors.
https://www.asus.com/News/ChCMUvu3bWfJTIfq/
quad at x8/x8/x8/x8 = 32 Pcie lanes only
ASUS-Z10PE-D8-WS less performance than mono CPU with X99-E WS... you are as like 2 video SLI cards performance maximum. forget ASUS-Z10PE-D8-WS. For SLI performance, it is better to keep Z9PE-D8-WS
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRPlus View Post
On my Asus Z9PE-D8 WS ... 4-way has always worked flawlessly on my system, but I am using old Titans.
I was also considering building a new super workstation with 4x Titan XP for GPU rendering, but will definitely be water cooled. GPU rendering puts the Cuda cores at a constant 100% load until the render complete so the GPU's get hot fast. Should cut my render times down to a third replacing my old Titans.
...
I'm itching to buy 4x Titan Pascal, and upgrading to the Asus Z10PE-D8 WS with E5-2687wv4's or 2697A's, but my spider sense says wait...
...
On the Nvidia and SLI issue, its a load of BS in my opinion. The Pascal architecture is capable of 8-way scaling, but using NV-link, and look at the Tesla P100 NV-Link and P100 over PCI-e 3.0, you are loosing almost 10Tflops of SP compute, but both are using the same chip and HBM2 memory
...
I'm in two possibly four minds about upgrading though.
1.Dual socket 2011-3 SLI board ( probably Z10Pe-D8 WS), Dual E5-2697Av4 or 87Wv4, , and 4x Titan Pascal for an all round CPU / GPU render powerhouse. Full custom dual radiator liquid cooling.
2.Keep the old system, and build a single socket 2011-3 motherboard ( Probably Asus X99-E WS USB 3.1 ), i7 6950X CPU, and 64GB of 3200 DDR4 RAM, 4x Titan Pascal, and again full custom dual rad loop.
Its rare now that I use CPU's for rendering, mostly GPU's now, but when I am asked to do an animation using CPU's my current rig still can complete the frames in half the time a high end single socket can, so maybe I can keep the old system minus a few GPU’s just for CPU rendering and build a new system purely for GPU rendering and occasional gaming...
3.Option 2 but with a single 16 core 32 thread Xeon v4 CPU so I still have the same CPU rendering power if needed and sell off the old rig components.
4. Wait for Xeon Skylake Purley, and possibly a fully loaded Titan X Black next year?
I know there is always something better around the corner and if you always wait you'll never upgrade, but I'd rather upgrade at the start of a new platform than and the end of one, and the X99 2011-3 platform will definitely be nearing its EOL next year...
Difference betwen GTX for Render, i use Adobe for to Know the best GTX running with full Render function. after First Titan, (and Titan Black) you lose some Cuda render compatibility function, Double precision... for me there are 1 way, water cooling for first Titan for not lose few day of job. Official GTX List compatibility:
https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effect...uirements.html
For me GTX Titan are the best Cuda compatibility with lot of render. But, there are lot of render application with GPU only in CC 2017. I was hope to use CC2014, but there are not so much render by GPU. The minimum are CC 2015… CC2017 are better but with lot of other performance problem
https://blogs.adobe.com/creativeclou...rated-effects/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adobe_After_Effects
First Titan are semi-professional cards, run better than professional, you have lot of benefit by this cards, see Double precision :
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...ocessing_units

the new GTX video cards have high performance but lose compatibility with some Cuda and video render for separate professional and video game cards.

Quadro and other with SLI, run with some mother board and only with full professionnal hardware and software $$$$$

Out of first Titan, check the compatibility with yours render software function VS GTX, and 2 or 4 limited SLI first. Good luck

You want new 4 SLI...SuperMicro X10DRG-Q
CPU?
http://ppbm8.com/CPU/CPU.html
you will obtain in render +40% minimum, possible +90% than your dual 2687w V1... but with incredible more expensive.

For only video render, you need to chose betwen 4 true way SLI with SuperMicro X10DRG-Q, or 2 SLI with only old 4 core CPU , do you like i7 6700K overclocked ? or I7 6950x?:
http://ppbm7.com/index.php/tweakers-...le-or-dual-cpu
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...omparison-847/
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...rformance-843/
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...rformance-714/
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...e-Update1-806/
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...o-CC-2017-932/

I use Adobe for help to chose. some performance change with other software... it is high frequency first... number of core it is after, and need to chose 4 SLI from Dual Xeon or 2 SLI from mono CPU 4 or 6 core but overclocked... Xeon not accept overclocking as like i7.

Best regards
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#167)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 06-07-2017, 01:34 | posts: 117

I sent a few PMs out, please view


as for the difference in mobo, yes, the x10drg-q does end up being a more expensive build fore that

I did start off with the z10ped8-ws, then proceeded to the x10drg-q
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#168)
Smalling
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8 GB GTX 1080
Processor: i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 06-09-2017, 21:23 | posts: 1

Venturi, what you've achieved here is mightily impressive, and I have to ask if you're willing to share screenshots of your Inspector profiles with me.

It appears I'm going to need 15 posts before being able to PM anyone, but I'm guessing you can PM me, right? If so, can you send screenshots of your settings for every game you've got 4way-SLI working on? I realise this is asking a lot, but I want to be sure that I have all the relevant information before I take this very expensive plunge.

I'm planning to ape your exact setup, at least as far as the mobo, cpus and gpus are concerned, so let me know if it's possible to send the screenshots via PM or other private channels. I have secondary email addresses I'm willing to share publicly, if that would be simpler than PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#169)
addiecool
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 ti 3 Way SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200i
Default 06-13-2017, 14:08 | posts: 2

Venturi, A ton of thanks for making this happen. I now have a functional 3 WAY SLI System based on 3 x Geforce 1080 ti's. Its not fully complete yet but I am seeing good scaling. Cant post images or links yet as this is my first post. :-(

I have so far had success with

GAMES:
Rise of the Tomb Raider (DX 12 Multi GPU Patch)
Crysis 3
Mass Effect Andromeda (Turn off AA)
Witcher 3 Wild Hunt (Turn of AA)
Metro Last Night Redux (Medium Gains)
Far Cry 4
Far Cry Primal
Deus X Mankind Divided
Borderlands 2 (Medium gains)

Benchmarks:
Firestrike Ultra
Furmark
Unigine Heavens
Unigine Superposition (Custom SLI Profile)

Some games failed to scale well or did not scale at all, had issues
DOOM 2016

As I write, I am awaiting the MSI V2 3 WAY Bridge

The above scores are from flex ribbon bridges I currently run.

Will update soon on further progress.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#170)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 06-14-2017, 23:32 | posts: 117

I have sent out the relevant PMs

thank you always

v
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#171)
addiecool
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 ti 3 Way SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200i
Default 06-19-2017, 17:03 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by animeowns View Post
hey venturi check your private messages still waiting on your email.
Hi email me at addiecool at gmail for Witcher 3. Cant post PM's yet
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.