Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
LongWayRunner
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA
Processor: Intel Core I7 2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 10-12-2016, 15:43 | posts: 211

Do your parents know what you spend money on?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
xixou
Member Guru
 
Videocard: inno3d 1070 3x in sli
Processor: I7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus X99 deluxe
Memory: 8 x 4 GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: 870W Thermaltake
Default 11-12-2016, 18:47 | posts: 107 | Location: Belgium

I tried three way SLI on GTX 1070 using nvidia inspector profile for various games but it stick using 2 cards. Tested with overwatch, deus ex mankind divided and farcry 4.
Could you send me your farcry 4 profile if you have it ?
Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
xixou
Member Guru
 
Videocard: inno3d 1070 3x in sli
Processor: I7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus X99 deluxe
Memory: 8 x 4 GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: 870W Thermaltake
Default 11-13-2016, 09:23 | posts: 107 | Location: Belgium

Oh yes , this is actually working, thanks for the hope Venturi !

The trick is to make think nvidia drivers that the game is actually enabled for 3 or 4 way sli,
meaning like for the benchmark (catzilla, uningine, 3dmark, ...).

So open nvidiaProfileInspector.exe, pick your game,
click the right button show unknown settings (glass icon),
go the entry 0x10FD4C5F and select catzilla,... (data is 0x01F296C1).
Apply changes (top right icon) then play your game in 3 or 4 way sli ^^
Note: I use a flex asus bridge v1.3 with two time 60 mm spacing for my asus x99 deluxe (p/n: 080002-00050000.
I use 3 inno3d gtx 1070 x3 graphic cards on windows 10 64 bits.

Note: I use Nvidia drivers version 373.06











   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
xixou
Member Guru
 
Videocard: inno3d 1070 3x in sli
Processor: I7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus X99 deluxe
Memory: 8 x 4 GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: 870W Thermaltake
Default 11-13-2016, 09:27 | posts: 107 | Location: Belgium

Note I painted the bridge in black because it was hugly in orange ^^

   
Reply With Quote
 
3 way sli help
Old
  (#105)
animeowns
Newbie
 
Videocard: Titan
Processor: Intel Core I7 6950x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 3 way sli help - 11-16-2016, 01:07 | posts: 18

trying to get 3 way sli in games like dying light dishonored 1 and 2 shadow of mordor a little help would be appreciated I am using the evga V2 pro led bridge I have also added dishonored 2 3d frame altering to 3 and sli gpu count to 3 in nv inspector + added the game's profile with the unknown catzilla profile trying to get 80% or better in scaling
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Dagamus NM
Newbie
 
Dagamus NM's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X Pascal
Processor: 6950X
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: eVGA 1600W
Default 11-18-2016, 19:30 | posts: 4

Hi everybody, I just joined after seeing this thread.

Venturi, I see that you built this beast for doing doses for Nuc Med.

I am very curious as to what you are doing for this application specifically.

I work for a not-for-profit org and my budget is not as deep as yours. I have just received a 6950X, Rampage V edition 10, and four Titan X Pascals. I was just going to use two of them in this build and two in another.

I am running MCNPX for general Monte Carlo code and PCXMC for fluoroscopy doses. I probably won't go to the lengths required to make these codes use four GPUs like this, I have a 5960X based build with four 980Tis that is pretty fast already.

Anyhow, I may take this to PM as there is no point in filling this thread with work related stuff that most of the users here would not be interested in.

Edit: I guess the forum requires 15 posts before I can use the PM function. Well, guess I will take a tour. Surely there are other threads of interest.

Last edited by Dagamus NM; 11-18-2016 at 21:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 11-19-2016, 01:04 | posts: 117

Dagamus NM

Thanks for asking

the server is my personal backup of the pharmacy software (in VM), its also the backup of my PACS, my RIS, my Oracle sites, and research. It is also my test bed (in VM) for 2 grant projects with isotopes. Its also a place for me to prep stuff like ACR, do my quickbooks, and some 3D reconstruction projects. and yes...even email and surf forums.

I run Ubuntu and server2012r2 from it

It does a lot. To do so I usually have to budget and design it myself as its my personal computer. My work computer is a decent build but not quite like this one

...and I play games on it, max eye candy, at real 4k 4096x2160 or 5K depending which monitor I use.

I have always tried to have a good workstation over the years, earlier in the post are examples of prior builds - but they all have had to pull double duty and cover what I need for work first

J

Last edited by venturi; 11-19-2016 at 01:07.
   
Reply With Quote
About Pascal TITAN X 4 Way-SLI
Old
  (#108)
WinterMagican
Newbie
 
Videocard: Pascal TITAN X 4Way-SLI
Processor: i7-6950X
Mainboard: ASUS ROG RAMPAGE V E10
Memory: DDR4-3200 128GB
Soundcard: Yahama NS-1000M
PSU: CoolerMaster V1200 x2
Unhappy About Pascal TITAN X 4 Way-SLI - 11-19-2016, 06:11 | posts: 15 | Location: Japan

Nice to meet you, venturi
My name is Winter Magician.
I am Japanese. I am not good at English, so I translate it with Google Translate.
I think that it is hard to read, but please read it carefully.

I longed for you and made it "Pascal TITAN X 4 Way - SLI".

While setting up "nVIDIA inspector" or "nVIDIA Control Panel" while watching the forum you participated, it does not work well.
The GPU will operate on 2 way or single.
(Final Fantasy XIV , BattleField4 , Black Desert etc...)

Is it not working if there is no "Enthusiast key Trick"?
Or is there insufficient setting of inspector?

I'm sorry for troubling you, but please teach.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
drac
Maha Guru
 
drac's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX1080 8GB
Processor: i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR4 3200mhz
Soundcard: STX 2|Swan M50W|Game One
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 11-19-2016, 08:05 | posts: 1,554 | Location: Australia, QLD

For gaming, why even 4 way... just a disaster, just do 3 or 2 way. 4 cards have never worked well, if at all. 3 are not a good idea honestly either. All speaking from a compatibility standpoint. I'm surprised the system isn't water cooled, those 4 cards must get overly hot, probably throttling.

If i had as much and any hardware I could choose i'd still only go 2x sli.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 11-19-2016, 16:06 | posts: 117

winter magician

PM me the same question
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
Pete J
Master Guru
 
Pete J's Avatar
 
Videocard: Some of those as well
Processor: Got one of those
Mainboard: Yes, she is
Memory: ming speed
Soundcard: I've talked in public
PSU: Rather personal isn't it?
Default 11-20-2016, 09:10 | posts: 409 | Location: Blighty

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac View Post
For gaming, why even 4 way... just a disaster, just do 3 or 2 way. 4 cards have never worked well, if at all. 3 are not a good idea honestly either. All speaking from a compatibility standpoint. I'm surprised the system isn't water cooled, those 4 cards must get overly hot, probably throttling.

If i had as much and any hardware I could choose i'd still only go 2x sli.
Because in some games 4x SLI works REALLY well and you can turn up the detail to insane levels.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
WinterMagican
Newbie
 
Videocard: Pascal TITAN X 4Way-SLI
Processor: i7-6950X
Mainboard: ASUS ROG RAMPAGE V E10
Memory: DDR4-3200 128GB
Soundcard: Yahama NS-1000M
PSU: CoolerMaster V1200 x2
Default 11-20-2016, 21:31 | posts: 15 | Location: Japan

Hello venturi.
OK. Thank you for reply
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
shiokarai
Newbie
 
Videocard: 3 x Titan X Pascal
Processor: i7-6850k
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Edition 10
Memory: Corsair 64GB DDR4 3200
Soundcard: FiiO X-5 II DAC
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 11-24-2016, 20:28 | posts: 15 | Location: South of Heaven

I've read this thread few times already and still can't get my head around something

What bothers me, is that Venturi said he's never seen single CPU system to properly & fully feed anything beyond 2-way SLI ie. 3-way SLI and quad SLI. I assume this is correct? And yet Thirty IR post screenshots with i7-6950x and perfect 95%+ 4-way scaling@5k... so it's also possible with single CPU and x8/x8/x8/x8 configuration + v2 bridge (= without 8-DIY connectors bridge mentioned by Venturi earlier in this thread)?

Apart from that I'm jealous about the enormous amount of knowledge Venturi has on this particular topic, it's really amazing to actually read something that has real information in it. Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 11-26-2016, 03:03 | posts: 117

You are correct
But the truth is complicated

Basically when I showed thirtyIR the secret sauce I knew it would work for his rig but despite the 95% scaling the end result is still not apples to apples to a multi socket system with the additional resource pools.

In both situations the scaling on the more thought out sli profiles is about 3.5x the performance of 1 card in the same system, this is true for both our systems
(Example I get 400 fps at 4096x2160 full candy on some titles)

HOWEVER
The performance of 1 card in a rig like thirty IR with the right CPU, memory and config is call it a factor of 100% (of max eye candy, real 4K, 5k or 8k res)
Which he and I have shown in 4K, 5k, and 8k

But
The performance of the same card in a correctly configured multi socket system (mind you "correctly configured" is a large subject in itself) has a performance of about 96%, this due to usually slower clocks in a multi core multi socket system. Now, with every card you add the demand on system A's CPU, bus, memory, and array grows - Dropping the total efficiency per card with every card you add.
This is true for both systems, but the one with the larger real resources can handle the load much better so every card on system B gets its own full CPU/socket, ram pool, cache on die, snoop, lanes and more (like allocated NUMA zones)

Think of it this way:
System A is a 2016 La Ferrari (seats 2 including driver) who's job is to carry 3 passengers across a 2 mile bridge ( a work of art for the eyes)
System B is a 2016 GTR (seats 4 including driver, with room for luggage) saddled who the the same task (the GTR is an ugly duckling compared to the La Ferrari)


The ferrari might make it across the bridge and back before the GTR makes it half way back on the return leg of the trip. But while the Ferrari is starting the second trip, the has GTR completed the whole original task.

This task is handed out repeatedly with every cycle. On occasion, some of the passengers show up with some unwieldy luggage - unfortunately the La Ferrari doesn't even have a glove box.

Further, the GTR has clones (fleet) of itself that can carry more passengers and can use multiple bridges to get to the same spot, allowing each run to have an unshared bridge.



Much in the same way is the difference between a really fast 6 or 12 ht core system on a normal bus, and comparatively speaking a "correctly configured" 44 core/ 88 HT multi socket system

Don't get me wrong, the La Ferrari is a work of art, and so is thirtyIR's system.


I just happen to be stuck with the 4 seater....

So in the same way 95% utilization in one system is not necessarily the same as 95% utilization in the second system

I hope that helps explain it

Last edited by venturi; 11-26-2016 at 03:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
shiokarai
Newbie
 
Videocard: 3 x Titan X Pascal
Processor: i7-6850k
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Edition 10
Memory: Corsair 64GB DDR4 3200
Soundcard: FiiO X-5 II DAC
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 11-26-2016, 23:37 | posts: 15 | Location: South of Heaven

Thanks for the reply, Venturi.

So what you're saying is, there's a bandwidth/resource limitation going on with Quad SLI at high resolutions (4k+) AND that scaling ThirtyIR is achieving is only applicable to a selected few games, because said limitations? That's what you mean by the car analogy?

Then, if Yes, let's say one builds a system with 2 x 4-core xeons v 4 (2 x 40 PCI-E lanes, 3.50 GHz base clock), 32 gigs of 2400 DDR4 ECC ram (minimum for quad channel@2 CPUs) and quad sli... will it scale at the full potential (assuming software related side is taken care of)?

This seems much more complicated than nvidia wants everybody to believe. I wonder whether such bandwidth/resource limitation on the average SLI PCs were the reason to abandon support for 3+ GPUs? (also moving from forward to deferred rendering/lightning in modern titles).

EDIT:

also can't make 3-way working on anything... got 3 cards, got proper SLI bridge (doesn't have a warning in NVCP, NVCP says 3-way SLI enabled), got settings applied in NVCP, made a custom profile for a game (ie. Dishonored 2 - 2-way works flawlessly) and nothing. nada. zero.

Last edited by shiokarai; 11-26-2016 at 23:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
mirkoj
Newbie
 
Videocard: 4xTitanX Maxwell
Processor: 5960x
Mainboard: Asus rampage V extreme
Memory: ddr4 64GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 12-01-2016, 14:51 | posts: 1

Hey guys.
I know this could be a bit OT but I was wondering if ANYONE can help me a bit with getting proper Elite Dangerous NV inspector settings.
I'm bashing my head trying for couple days now and no luck.
FPS does increase a bit when 4-way sli is enabled BUT there enormous amount of stuttering and jittering, it cant be even called stuttering but more like huge screen tearing. Playing with single card is better experience then with any of SLI, 2way 3 2qay or 4way.
Setup is 5960x, 4xTitan X Maxwell with evga pro SLI bridge v2, 3x pa328q 4k monitors. Tring to get nice 4 way sli for surround game play.
Please any ideas? I tried changing sli methods and all but.. no luck. I have a feeling that I'm just simply spinning in circles.
Thanks for any advice
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
animeowns
Newbie
 
Videocard: Titan
Processor: Intel Core I7 6950x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 12-11-2016, 15:28 | posts: 18

Hi venturi I have been trying to get 3/4 way working with nv inspector and the latest drivers from nvidia I would really appreciate it if you could give me step by step instructions on how to get it properly working for games such as GTA V Doom 2016 Shadow of mordor and a few other games

specs CPU: 6950x Motherboard Rampage V Memory 32GB DDR4 PSU 1500W Corsair Titan XP 3way Dell 5k monitor and true 4k monitor

Last edited by animeowns; 12-11-2016 at 15:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 12-13-2016, 01:06 | posts: 117

I PM-ed you
   
Reply With Quote
EVGA PRO V2 Led Bridge
Old
  (#119)
animeowns
Newbie
 
Videocard: Titan
Processor: Intel Core I7 6950x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default EVGA PRO V2 Led Bridge - 12-13-2016, 07:40 | posts: 18

Yes I have the EVGA Pro V2 Led bridge @ Venturi sorry my post count isn't at 15 post yet. Along with 3 titan xp video cards on a 6950x rampage V ex motherboard with 32gb of ram
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
venturi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: none
Processor: none
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: none
Default 12-14-2016, 00:11 | posts: 117

PM-ed you next step
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
GeniusPr0
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX470 4GB CrossFireX
Processor: AMD
Mainboard: MSI Pro Carbon
Memory: 32GB
Soundcard: Logitech Z-2300 + onboard
PSU: eVGA G2 1300W
Default 12-14-2016, 11:03 | posts: 1,183 | Location: Toronto

Damn, Nuclear Medicine sure pays well.

Wish I had the money to put all this together. Looking forward to the same done with Volta and HBM2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
MaroonDeath
Newbie
 
Videocard: Titan XP 3 WAY
Processor: i7 6950X
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: HX1200i
Default 12-18-2016, 20:45 | posts: 1

Venturi, do you have a custom profile for GTA V? I am running 3 way Titan XP and the micro stuttering is killing me. Selecting a different rendering mode heavily drops fps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
JonMS
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i7 5960X
Mainboard: MSI X99A TOMAHAWK
Memory: 16GB EVGA 3200MHz DDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1300W G2
Default 12-19-2016, 05:58 | posts: 72

venturi, details on your p5 case mod? I have a Z800 board laying around I'm pondering doing something with.

EDIT: Figured it out.
HPTX Motherboard tray from CaseLabs that you modified

Last edited by JonMS; 12-19-2016 at 06:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
aomsin2526
Newbie
 
Videocard: 4x Titan XP
Processor: i7-6950x 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: X99 GODLIKE GAMING CARBON
Memory: Trident-Z 64GB 3200mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Leadex Platinum 2000W
Default 01-15-2017, 21:16 | posts: 2

It's still working with latest drivers? i was planning to go 3 way sli soon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti/980TiSC PhysX
Processor: i7 6850K 4.5 Ghz 1.34 v
Mainboard: EVGA X99 FTWK
Memory: Corsair 3200mhz LPX 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 01-15-2017, 21:42 | posts: 5,227 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aomsin2526 View Post
It's still working with latest drivers? i was planning to go 3 way sli soon
Some may disagree, but going 3-Way SLI *at this time* is relatively pointless.

Last edited by HeavyHemi; 01-15-2017 at 21:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.