Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
FunkyMike
Master Guru
 
FunkyMike's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
Processor: 2630QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 09-20-2016, 14:47 | posts: 534

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacta View Post
Thanks for the concern and the advices @user1 and @FunkyMike

I don't want to mess up with the BIOS, especially if I don't know exactly what I am doing, or even if its possible to do it. I searched a lot in the last months, this laptops (msi gx60 and gx70) are quite powerfull, if you invest in an "engineer sample" cpu, which is quite cheap, you can even OC to minimize the bottleneck and play the majority of the games in high settings.

But this "little" thing man, is frustating... I know my gpu can run dx12 and can use up-to-date drivers, but because of some BS I can't.

I found a guy in youtube who claims that he installed the latest drivers, but I can't do what he does in the video, and the instructions aren't very clear as he is from thailand, and is using google translate to write. Any help would be welcome: youtube.com/watch?v=GCCEXm1Cz6A
Do you still have a video to that Russian user who modded his BIOS. Maybe I will see something that you didn't.

I checked that thai video but understood 0
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
jacta
Newbie
 
Videocard: hd8970m
Processor: a10 5750m
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: None
Default 09-20-2016, 14:59 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike View Post
Do you still have a video to that Russian user who modded his BIOS. Maybe I will see something that you didn't.

I checked that thai video but understood 0
Yeah, here you go: youtube.com/watch?v=-KnQ6vAgL9I

If I follow those steps, I end up using only the dgpu, but in device manager both appear.

If I change the option for "integrated graphics" in "GFX Configuration" to "Disabled", I have no video output, and the laptop keeps rebooting. The last time I did that, I had to enter the bios blind and set the options to default, it was scary hahaha
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
FunkyMike
Master Guru
 
FunkyMike's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
Processor: 2630QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 09-20-2016, 15:31 | posts: 534

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacta View Post
Yeah, here you go: youtube.com/watch?v=-KnQ6vAgL9I

If I follow those steps, I end up using only the dgpu, but in device manager both appear.

If I change the option for "integrated graphics" in "GFX Configuration" to "Disabled", I have no video output, and the laptop keeps rebooting. The last time I did that, I had to enter the bios blind and set the options to default, it was scary hahaha

You need to look up the key combos to reset your BIOS settings if you have no screen. OEMs have certain keyboard shortcuts to do this. You will need to google.

Another option is to use a USB that reflashes the BIOS.

But this is something you need to do for your model. No need to be scared.

Also the user in the video is changing settings in 2 places.

Graphics

and
AMD PowerXpress Configuration

Looks like PX needs to be disabled.

You might have to keep your Integrated card on.

It might switch off automatically if you disable PX.

Only way to know is to play around.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
ms178
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD3000 / 6770M
Processor: Intel Core i3-2310M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Smile 09-20-2016, 15:33 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike View Post
That Donovan6000 BIOS also applies to my Envy 17 2xxx I believe but I haven't used it since I needed this device for testing drivers in the most vanilla config possible.

I have seen the Intel drivers that had the vBIOS roms within the driver. I think it was Asder that linked us to it back in the day.

I tried using the Intel tools to see if I can flash the Intel Management Engine Interface to a newer version but I got a little worried seeing as how I was on my 3rd mobo and was just out of warranty. HP forgot to tattoo the right serial numbers into my mobo and I kind of didn't want to make things even more complicated. Maybe I would try this within a years time when I decide to retire this setup but I am not sure if it is worth it in the end.
I did succeed updating the Intel Management Engine Interface a couple of weeks ago and it was a pretty straight forward process. I guess you are aware of the Win-Raid-Forums - there was a good post explaining what one has to do and providing the needed files.

Concerning the Intel vBIOS, in a different sub-forum over there one can get the raw files and tools needed. There is also a guide for the transfer of specific Intel vBIOS settings from the old firmware version to the new one. Maybe that could be of interest concerning the switch-off of the iGPU for PXAI systems, too? But as I have mentioned earlier, that seems to be very complicated process and the risk involved probably isn't worth it to try it myself.

So if anyone out there reading this might be able to help, that would be great.

By the way, thanks a lot for all of your effort over the years and everyone involved keeping us up-to-date with our notebooks!

Last edited by ms178; 09-20-2016 at 15:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
windrunnerxj
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6850HD VaporX 1G
Processor: AMD FX6300
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: 550W
Default 09-20-2016, 18:12 | posts: 144

Wanted to download Forza 6: Apex from the WinStore app and couldn't because "this title needs hardware that your device doesn't have".

So I scrolled to the bottom and two things that I don't have are:
2GB VRAM (obviously) and DirectX Feature Level 11

My card has DX11 support and dxdiag says my D3D DDI is 11.2.
Does WinStore fails to detect a DX support level because I use these modded drivers? Can someone else test this on these drivers? Don't really want to reinstall drivers back and forth just to find out that it's a WinStore app bug.

Here's a link for the game (check in the WinStore app): https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/stor...x/9nblggh3shm7

Last edited by windrunnerxj; 09-20-2016 at 18:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Darch
Newbie
 
Videocard: 6770m
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 09-20-2016, 20:29 | posts: 2

You need Directx12 for Winstore games.

"DirectX Feature Level 11" means "Dx12 Feature Level 11"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
jacta
Newbie
 
Videocard: hd8970m
Processor: a10 5750m
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: None
Default 09-20-2016, 20:54 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike View Post
You need to look up the key combos to reset your BIOS settings if you have no screen. OEMs have certain keyboard shortcuts to do this. You will need to google.

Another option is to use a USB that reflashes the BIOS.

But this is something you need to do for your model. No need to be scared.

Also the user in the video is changing settings in 2 places.

Graphics

and
AMD PowerXpress Configuration

Looks like PX needs to be disabled.

You might have to keep your Integrated card on.

It might switch off automatically if you disable PX.

Only way to know is to play around.
I tried that, disabling PX and enabling igpu, and the results are the same, windows detects both gpu, but is always using the dedicated one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 09-20-2016, 23:28 | posts: 450

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacta View Post
@user1 Thanks for the advice

@FunkyMike Yes, you are right. I moddified the bios 3 or 4 months ago, I was trying to run "Quantum Break", a DX12 ony game, which 8650g doesn't support.

If I follow the russian video, I end up with the 2 gpu actives in the device administrator, but the laptop is always using the 8970m. I can't install new drivers because windows keeps "seeing" the igpu.

So yeah, moddifying the bios and "disabling" the igpu, results in more performance of the 8970m, but windows keeps dedecting the igpu so no driver update, no dx12 support, same situation.

I you have more info about disabling the igpu in this laptop, I will be happy to try, anyway, thanks again.
I have an idea, since windows sees the igpu but doesn't use it, have you tried adding the 8650g to the inf of 16.9.1 to see what happens ?, even if the the trinity apu isn't supported, if it is indeed performing passthrough mode, it should prevent windows from rejecting the driver install.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
jacta
Newbie
 
Videocard: hd8970m
Processor: a10 5750m
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: None
Default 09-22-2016, 15:17 | posts: 9

I tried to replicate what the thai guy does in his video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCCEXm1Cz6A) but I can't. In the comments there are some steps, but I don't understand how he uninstalls a driver, and then he still can select it in device manager haha.

@user1 I don't really know how to do that.

By the way, I tried fifa17 with the igpu, and... it works, very low fps, but works. If I use the dgpu, the game works, I can hear the sounds, but it doesn't show graphics, or it shows very glitchy ones, not playable at all. It's the only game that gives me problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
FunkyMike
Master Guru
 
FunkyMike's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
Processor: 2630QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 09-22-2016, 16:28 | posts: 534

Is it possible just to disable the iGPU from the device manager once you have switched off the PX functionality in the BIOS .. then restarting.

I presume that you have tried switching off the iGPU AND the PX functionality in the BIOS as well.

Maybe ontop of that you need to mess with setting the primary display.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 09-23-2016, 00:38 | posts: 450

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacta View Post
I tried to replicate what the thai guy does in his video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCCEXm1Cz6A) but I can't. In the comments there are some steps, but I don't understand how he uninstalls a driver, and then he still can select it in device manager haha.

@user1 I don't really know how to do that.

By the way, I tried fifa17 with the igpu, and... it works, very low fps, but works. If I use the dgpu, the game works, I can hear the sounds, but it doesn't show graphics, or it shows very glitchy ones, not playable at all. It's the only game that gives me problems.
ah i see what he did notice at 4:58, hd 8650g 16.300.2311,

I think what he did is inf mod in hd 8650g, so that he could install the newer crimson package 16.7.3 normally, and then upon reboot he probably installed the 15.301.1901 driver (the inf from 16.2.1)manually in device manager on the 8650g to get proper display output.

Ill post an 16.9.2 inf mod with trinity later so you can try doing this , unless funkymike want to do it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
jacta
Newbie
 
Videocard: hd8970m
Processor: a10 5750m
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: None
Default 09-24-2016, 02:23 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
ah i see what he did notice at 4:58, hd 8650g 16.300.2311,

I think what he did is inf mod in hd 8650g, so that he could install the newer crimson package 16.7.3 normally, and then upon reboot he probably installed the 15.301.1901 driver (the inf from 16.2.1)manually in device manager on the 8650g to get proper display output.

Ill post an 16.9.2 inf mod with trinity later so you can try doing this , unless funkymike want to do it

That could be it, if you post that inf mod I will try it. Thank you very much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 09-29-2016, 01:11 | posts: 450

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacta View Post
That could be it, if you post that inf mod I will try it. Thank you very much.
http://pastebin.com/7RsCDKMA

just copy this to a text file and rename it to C0307101.inf and replace the inf in the 16.9.2 installer directory (C:\AMD\*DriverFolder*\Packages\Drivers\Display\WT 6A_INF\)


edit:
In other news , discovered some weirdness, I took the latest 16.400 branch driver, inf modded in 6870, some interesting things happened, reclocking is broken(stuck at 100mhz) and gpu detection is mostly broken, proper display output is broken (800x600), HOWEVER, The weirdness is that I was able to launch Valley in DX11 mode, opengl /dx 9 won't create a window and will fail as expected, but dx 11 works? It really shouldn't do anything let alone render a scene(at 3 fps).


Could just be softrast fall back but that seems odd since cpu usage wasn't high, and i wouldn't expect much more than 1 fps
Edit:2
Dxdiag reveals it is softrast, amazing that it can get that kind of frame-rate on such a old cpu, you could probably play a dx11 game with 6950x without a gpu at all!

Last edited by user1; 09-29-2016 at 08:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 09-29-2016, 05:10 | posts: 2,814 | Location: Argentina

Can these be installed on Windows 7 for a 5870?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 09-29-2016, 07:01 | posts: 450

Quote:
Originally Posted by MerolaC View Post
Can these be installed on Windows 7 for a 5870?
Would require alterations to the package to install properly.

Ill see what i can do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 09-29-2016, 12:33 | posts: 2,814 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
Would require alterations to the package to install properly.

Ill see what i can do.
I appreciate it!

It's for a friend of mine.
The beta Crimson drivers for the 5870 gives him a nice noticeable boost on GTA V so, I would love to try these for him.

Thank you!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
FunkyMike
Master Guru
 
FunkyMike's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
Processor: 2630QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 10-05-2016, 13:36 | posts: 534

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
ah i see what he did notice at 4:58, hd 8650g 16.300.2311,

I think what he did is inf mod in hd 8650g, so that he could install the newer crimson package 16.7.3 normally, and then upon reboot he probably installed the 15.301.1901 driver (the inf from 16.2.1)manually in device manager on the 8650g to get proper display output.

Ill post an 16.9.2 inf mod with trinity later so you can try doing this , unless funkymike want to do it
Am embarrassed to say that we still haven't even gotten around to a UnifL build because real life etc.

I think there is a software made by the techinferno guys for eGPUs that allows users to hide their internal iGPU. That might also be a solution. Personally I haven't tried yet .. always wanted to contact those guys.



Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
http://pastebin.com/7RsCDKMA


edit:
In other news , discovered some weirdness, I took the latest 16.400 branch driver, inf modded in 6870, some interesting things happened, reclocking is broken(stuck at 100mhz) and gpu detection is mostly broken, proper display output is broken (800x600), HOWEVER, The weirdness is that I was able to launch Valley in DX11 mode, opengl /dx 9 won't create a window and will fail as expected, but dx 11 works? It really shouldn't do anything let alone render a scene(at 3 fps).


Could just be softrast fall back but that seems odd since cpu usage wasn't high, and i wouldn't expect much more than 1 fps
Edit:2
Dxdiag reveals it is softrast, amazing that it can get that kind of frame-rate on such a old cpu, you could probably play a dx11 game with 6950x without a gpu at all!
I did try to fiddle with the dlls and IDA but my skillset is non existent.
Also the dlls look much smaller than the older ones.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 10-06-2016, 02:45 | posts: 450

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike View Post
Am embarrassed to say that we still haven't even gotten around to a UnifL build because real life etc.

I think there is a software made by the techinferno guys for eGPUs that allows users to hide their internal iGPU. That might also be a solution. Personally I haven't tried yet .. always wanted to contact those guys.





I did try to fiddle with the dlls and IDA but my skillset is non existent.
Also the dlls look much smaller than the older ones.
no need, it defaults to the basic microsoft display driver which does softrast , confused me initally since in device manager it showed the driver installed, even though it wasn't loaded
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
sirDaniel
Member Guru
 
sirDaniel's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Intel Core i3 370M
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Made in China
Default 10-13-2016, 09:51 | posts: 91

Hi, according to official statement of amd here https://community.amd.com/thread/197820
"Unfortunately you cannot install different version of the driver in the same system."

I dont know what would be cause of it. i think the only way of trying install different driver anyway, is to not running installer, but install through device manager. im quite eager to know, where are the drivers stored of dgpu or they use same dlls as igpu? If having separate dlls, there could be possible to swap dlls for never versions. The culprit is that somewhere few versions after 16.2 the drivers changed its behaviors, so 16.9 may not neccesery works by swapping but earlier version might, like 16.7 or so. OGL swapping always works, i do this all the time, dx dlls swapping is more error prone.

To make things even funnier, look at heroutm user posts

EDIT: from the additional link of amd official
"What should I do if my AMD legacy product is installed another type of system?

If your legacy product is installed on a system that is also installed with an AMD supported graphics product, it is recommended that you first uninstall the legacy product before proceeding with driver installation/upgrade. Driver installation and upgrade on such systems must be done systematically as incompatibility between legacy products and newer driver releases can result in errors such as display corruption, blank screens, and unexpected driver behaviors."

Last edited by sirDaniel; 10-13-2016 at 10:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
Wardlex
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon 6750M (1GB)
Processor: AMD A6-3410mx
Mainboard: HP dv7-6b01er
Memory: DDR3 1333Mhz 8gb
Soundcard: IDT (beatsaudio)
PSU: HP 120W
Default 10-13-2016, 12:34 | posts: 9 | Location: Belarus

Hi everyone, i want to ask, possible or not create mod for non gcn?
16.150.3001.0 (10.05.2016)click to download
Or this driver work only with GCN cards ?
P.S. Sorry for my bad English.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 10-16-2016, 08:25 | posts: 450

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wardlex View Post
Hi everyone, i want to ask, possible or not create mod for non gcn?
16.150.3001.0 (10.05.2016)click to download
Or this driver work only with GCN cards ?
P.S. Sorry for my bad English.
unlikely, the 16.150 branch was the first to implement vulcan, and remove non-gcn card compatibility, much earlier driver revisions do not work. (16.150.1009 ect)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
Indy
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8670M
Processor: AMD A8
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 10-20-2016, 19:51 | posts: 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike View Post
I think there is a software made by the techinferno guys for eGPUs that allows users to hide their internal iGPU. That might also be a solution. Personally I haven't tried yet .. always wanted to contact those guys.
If you find sth. usefull let us know. I checked the site quickly and as far as I can say this is a software for Intel/Nvidia combinations

I also played around with the Drivers and device Manager pretty much and finally gave up and bought a new PC. I think it (maybe) is impossible to deactivate the iGPU and still get Display Output on AMD/AMD systems. As far as I can say my notebook display is connected via eDP to the iGPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 10-21-2016, 03:47 | posts: 450

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy View Post
If you find sth. usefull let us know. I checked the site quickly and as far as I can say this is a software for Intel/Nvidia combinations

I also played around with the Drivers and device Manager pretty much and finally gave up and bought a new PC. I think it (maybe) is impossible to deactivate the iGPU and still get Display Output on AMD/AMD systems. As far as I can say my notebook display is connected via eDP to the iGPU.
this is pretty much the problem, nvidia graphics use MDA mode for switchable graphics , where as amd graphics use LDA mode , this means of course that the second gpu must passthrough the primary this and this is why it must be active. the intel implementation of this allow can do a passthrough mode, where as the amd version doesn't appear to do this in the same way atleast.

Hiding the low power gpu probably isn't possible imho. you can functionally disable the igpu but not fully hide it. You can however install newer driver for the gcn card manually as evidenced by the amd thread on the matter, but it is not a supported configuration.

When the next major driver version comes out I will make another package.

I may also consider making a separate package that will install on trinity apu systems by adding the ids and telling it to install nothing (much like legacy section of the driver inf) which should bypass the issue and allow you to install the newest driver on the gcn card and have the newer radeon settings install easily.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
Indy
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8670M
Processor: AMD A8
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 10-21-2016, 18:39 | posts: 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
Hiding the low power gpu probably isn't possible imho. you can functionally disable the igpu but not fully hide it. You can however install newer driver for the gcn card manually as evidenced by the amd thread on the matter, but it is not a supported configuration.
Is this really possible? I have not followed all threads completely, but I have tried quite some things. If I force install a newer driver for dGPU it leads to the state of iGPU becoming Microsoft Basic Display Adapter, with different (sometimes none shown) errors. In every case it was impossible for me to use the dGPU.


Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
When the next major driver version comes out I will make another package.

I may also consider making a separate package that will install on trinity apu systems by adding the ids and telling it to install nothing (much like legacy section of the driver inf) which should bypass the issue and allow you to install the newest driver on the gcn card and have the newer radeon settings install easily.
I'll for sure try the package so it would be nice if you would not forget to include the HD8760M
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
FunkyMike
Master Guru
 
FunkyMike's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
Processor: 2630QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop
Default 10-24-2016, 14:22 | posts: 534

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy View Post
If you find sth. usefull let us know. I checked the site quickly and as far as I can say this is a software for Intel/Nvidia combinations

I also played around with the Drivers and device Manager pretty much and finally gave up and bought a new PC. I think it (maybe) is impossible to deactivate the iGPU and still get Display Output on AMD/AMD systems. As far as I can say my notebook display is connected via eDP to the iGPU.
You misunderstood me.

https://www.techinferno.com/index.ph...#comment-25412

It is possible to switch "off/passthrough/hide" the iGPU on AMD/AMD systems. I am not sure about all but I have seen enough of them where it worked.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.