Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
[Official] Windows 10 - Redstone 1 RTM
Old
  (#1)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default [Official] Windows 10 - Redstone 1 RTM - 07-15-2016, 18:08 | posts: 17,551 | Location: 127.0.0.1







 Click to show spoiler





Code:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10ISO/




Code:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

Code:
https://gist.github.com/mkuba50/27c909501cbc2a4f169be4b4075a66ff#windows-10-education-redstone-1-id-242
January 2017 Refresh Redstone 1 - 14393.0.161119-1705 (ESD)

JANUARY 2017 RS1 REFRESH ESD's


Enterprise VL, Education VL, Pro VL, Pro Retail

Code:
http://pastebin.com/raw/VpHchsrp
Credit: abbodi1406 - MDL


Last edited by Extraordinary; 01-21-2017 at 17:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
primetime^
Maha Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon RX580
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 07-15-2016, 19:02 | posts: 801 | Location: SC

Good to hear. Almost time for clean install again lol. I don't have a lot of stuff installed this go round anyway. (and all my steam/origin games are backed up)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-15-2016, 19:05 | posts: 17,551 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Yea, I'm ready for a clean install, only had this one since April and explorer refuses to last a day without crashing at least once

EDIT - And icons don't refresh automatically most of the time, move something to the desktop, it's nowhere to be seen until I refresh

Tempted to clean install 14390 but might be a PITA if it's not RTM

Last edited by Extraordinary; 07-15-2016 at 19:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-15-2016, 20:54 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

Dona has said it is not the final build.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-15-2016, 20:55 | posts: 17,551 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
Dona has said it is not the final build.
Not in so many words, she said "Um...not RTM", but just a couple of days ago on Windows Weekly she was pushing how they are trying to get away from calling it RTM now, so...

Take it as you will, could end up being RTM, might not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-15-2016, 20:57 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

Neah, not that one.

@win10fan haha, we have more builds coming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-15-2016, 21:00 | posts: 6,365 | Location: Australia

It's not RTM, people only began thinking that because it's close to 16 July, which is what people think the version number 1607 alludes to. Just like TH2 with 1511, it actually means yymm, so 2015 November. The 1607 is 2016 July.

Due to the new build structure it's possible RTM could be right on release. This makes more sense than having release day updates, but that may still happen. There is much less need for them now to have it done several weeks before. There isn't any need for naming them release candidates, as that implies the build could be ready for release.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-15-2016, 21:05 | posts: 17,551 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
Neah, not that one.

@win10fan haha, we have more builds coming.
Yea I read that too, still no confirmation saying this is not the August 2nd build, yea there will be more builds coming, she is head of the insiders programme which will continue after RS1 RTM

Not saying 14390 is RTM, but she seems to be avoiding a definite answer about it using things that could mean others

Tbh, I'm a bit sick of these minor releases, I want to reinstall with RS1 and forget about the insiders programme for a while now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-15-2016, 21:05 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

Well she did say RS2 has not begun so imho RS1 still hasn't been signed off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-15-2016, 21:07 | posts: 17,551 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
Well she did say RS2 has not begun so imho RS1 still hasn't been signed off.
Didn't see that tweet, I thought they worked on newer releases simultaneously, so Windows 7 was in progress before Vista RTM'd kinda thing?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-15-2016, 21:12 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

That's what she said

@donasarkar @win10fan so you're switching to rs2 now?
@never_released @win10fan not yet. you'll know when.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-15-2016, 23:04 | posts: 17,551 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
That's what she said

@donasarkar @win10fan so you're switching to rs2 now?
@never_released @win10fan not yet. you'll know when.
Ah, just that Insiders are not switching to it yet, no doubt it's been in development for a while already though

She's just head of the Insiders programme
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 07-16-2016, 01:16 | posts: 7,369 | Location: USA

maybe it will also fix what ever compatibility issue Avast has with with Win10 since 1151 I dont have high hopes that avast will be fixing it, But altest the disappearing startbar issue will be fixed,

Last edited by tsunami231; 07-16-2016 at 01:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-16-2016, 02:56 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Ah, just that Insiders are not switching to it yet, no doubt it's been in development for a while already though

She's just head of the Insiders programme
Let's see what happens. I'm still hoping for some bug fixes .. Edge needs some polish and that bug from a while ago with the selection box appearing shows up from time to time on start and calculator. I did a clean install in hyper-v but it was the same so no upgrade issues there. I'm keen to do a clean install because of my steam issues though. There's still some weird labelling in services.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 07-16-2016, 04:43 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

When it comes, I will do a system backup and then apply the update with crossed fingers. I will only clean install as a last resort. I hope it doesn't become necessary.

I had to clean install Threshold but I'm convinced now that it was because I had messed around with the partitions and had even resized the Windows one. I made the changes because I wanted to eliminate the 8gb recovery partition that was left over from the 8.1 OEM installation. There were also 2 500 mb recovery partitions instead of one. I deleted the extras and resized the main partition. When Threshold was released, It never showed up in Windows Update and trying to upgrade with a disk or the upgrade tool would not work.

This time I haven't touched the partitions since the clean install so hopefully, it will work.

Last edited by Dch48; 07-16-2016 at 04:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-16-2016, 07:11 | posts: 6,365 | Location: Australia

Windows will create a couple of small partitions at the beginning of the drive, you shouldn't delete those. If you really need that space you need a bigger drive (or look at manually applying Xpress4k/Xpress16 file compression).

Basically all upgrade installs that weren't UEFI to begin with would still be legacy. The easiest way to see this if you had no idea of anythng else is how Windows boots. If you continually see the BIOS logo right from boot, and then it stays but with the Windows circular progress indicator below it until Windows is loaded, you are in UEFI mode. If you see the Windows logo then you are in legacy mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-16-2016, 10:17 | posts: 17,551 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
Let's see what happens. I'm still hoping for some bug fixes .. Edge needs some polish and that bug from a while ago with the selection box appearing shows up from time to time on start and calculator. I did a clean install in hyper-v but it was the same so no upgrade issues there. I'm keen to do a clean install because of my steam issues though. There's still some weird labelling in services.
Yep, far from perfection, but any improvements over TH2 are welcome, as I typed this, my taskbar icons disappeared and appeared one by one again lol

As always, Patch Tuesday will be there to fix what they leave broken in RTM, 12 months since 10 RTM, TH2 is a world ahead of what it was originally
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
PurSpyk!!
Master Guru
 
PurSpyk!!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan X Sli,VN247H
Processor: Core i7 990x @ 4.52Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T - Deluxe
Memory: 24GB Corsair XMS 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi connected to Digital
PSU: Corsair HX 850W
Default 07-16-2016, 10:49 | posts: 558 | Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Not RTM, and as I said in an earlier discussion 1607 is not a date but the year and month of the release, so rtm could be 31/07.

Still some odd issues with the icons, and the start menu losing all text after playing games, Edge losing titles, not closing with multiple tabs, if this lands up being close to rtm, I am a bit worried, does not seem polished enough.

Last edited by PurSpyk!!; 07-16-2016 at 11:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 07-16-2016, 17:51 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Windows will create a couple of small partitions at the beginning of the drive, you shouldn't delete those. If you really need that space you need a bigger drive (or look at manually applying Xpress4k/Xpress16 file compression).

Basically all upgrade installs that weren't UEFI to begin with would still be legacy. The easiest way to see this if you had no idea of anythng else is how Windows boots. If you continually see the BIOS logo right from boot, and then it stays but with the Windows circular progress indicator below it until Windows is loaded, you are in UEFI mode. If you see the Windows logo then you are in legacy mode.
My drive is 1TB so I didn't absolutely need the space. I just wanted the drive to be in the default configuration for Windows 10 and it wasn't.

My machine boots by very briefly flashing the OEM logo, then the last part of the BIOS info, then the Windows logo, then the circle, then the Welcome screen, and then the desktop. I skip the lock screen and log on stuff. The motherboard does not support UEFI at all.

My tablet is UEFI and it only shows the OEM logo, then the Windows logo, then the Welcome screen, and then the desktop. Your descriptions don't seem to be accurate.

Last edited by Dch48; 07-16-2016 at 17:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-16-2016, 18:01 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

You can safely delete the extra recovery partitions in setup. WU spawned 3 of those even though there is a partition at the beginning of the drive. I went back to 1511 and in setup got rid of those 3, extended C:\, and I can boot into recovery environment just fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
primetime^
Maha Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon RX580
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 07-16-2016, 21:32 | posts: 801 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
You can safely delete the extra recovery partitions in setup. WU spawned 3 of those even though there is a partition at the beginning of the drive. I went back to 1511 and in setup got rid of those 3, extended C:\, and I can boot into recovery environment just fine.
Yea it would be nice if it would NOT create extra partitions if they already existed but its good to know extras are safe to delete
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 07-17-2016, 03:13 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
You can safely delete the extra recovery partitions in setup. WU spawned 3 of those even though there is a partition at the beginning of the drive. I went back to 1511 and in setup got rid of those 3, extended C:\, and I can boot into recovery environment just fine.
Yes you can safely delete them and do whatever you want. However, you may not be able to upgrade to the next major revision without doing a clean install.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-17-2016, 06:29 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

I've upgraded via WU just fine even after removing extra recovery partitions but it's good to be aware ... might help in troubleshooting in the future.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-17-2016, 06:34 | posts: 6,365 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dch48 View Post
My drive is 1TB so I didn't absolutely need the space. I just wanted the drive to be in the default configuration for Windows 10 and it wasn't.

My machine boots by very briefly flashing the OEM logo, then the last part of the BIOS info, then the Windows logo, then the circle, then the Welcome screen, and then the desktop. I skip the lock screen and log on stuff. The motherboard does not support UEFI at all.

My tablet is UEFI and it only shows the OEM logo, then the Windows logo, then the Welcome screen, and then the desktop. Your descriptions don't seem to be accurate.
Even if you computer is UEFI, the disk needs to be set up as GPT partition type, not MBR. Also, you need to boot off the USB stick in UEFI mode (USB stick set up as GPT). You don't need to worry about using any other programs for this, if you USB stick is in GPT, you can just format it in FAT32, open the Windows ISO and copy the files across. It is then bootable .

If you want to check, open an elevated command prompt and type:
diskpart

When the prompt in diskpart shows, type:
list disk

In UEFI mode, there will be a start under 'GPT'. All my drivers are set as GPT:


Notice disk 7, I plugged that in as that is the USB stick I have Windows install on.

The following are just examples I found on the web, but they serve the purpose.

If you see something like:

(Windows 8.1 mind you, but I believe 10 is similar)

You are absolutely 100 percent booting in legacy mode. Your computer might be UEFI, but UEFI computers support legacy boot.

Then there's running msinfo32. To do this, just run:
msinfo32

You will see a screen like the following (from my computer):


I highlighted the line to look at. However, I'm not sure whether that shows whether your computer is UEFI and booting in legacy mode or not.

Then there's using bcdedit. From an elevated command prompt, type:
bcdedit /enum

You will see a similar screen to this (from mine):


I've highlighted the lines relating to UEFI.

Last edited by thatguy91; 07-17-2016 at 06:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 07-17-2016, 08:52 | posts: 9,938 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

Russians were saying yesterday there's a 14393.7 that's rtm+day zero patch and now a 14393.0 has shown up in buildfeed. Let's see...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.