Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-11-2017, 17:59 | posts: 7,367 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Strange, I just checked all links yesterday while updating one of them and it was live

I`ll leave it in the OP for a week and see if it comes back online, if not I`ll remove it




Depending on which file sharing site I use to download the same file, one will get removed by NOD32 and one will be fine

Exact same file, just downloaded from different sites gets one of them flagged
well the MSDN downloader is the one suspend.

I using the https://www.heidoc.net/joomla/techno...-download-tool

Downloader it, it show clean from process explore, Was gona download window 10 iso but it still dont have the jan 2017 update iso no of the places do
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-11-2017, 19:31 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

This MCT will download the January updated ISOs

Code:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=691209
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-11-2017, 19:38 | posts: 7,367 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
This MCT will download the January updated ISOs

Code:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=691209
yah ever time I try to download an iso with that it fails midway threw the iso, every time and multiple computers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-11-2017, 19:43 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
yah ever time I try to download an iso with that it fails midway threw the iso, every time and multiple computers
Same router?

Tried rebooting the router?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-11-2017, 22:41 | posts: 7,367 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Same router?

Tried rebooting the router?
eh I got to work in VM (behind same router) I have of 1607 just to be copy all of it on to usb stick, and be told I dont have permission to copy the autorun in the iso to my own usb stick.

I had to Copy contents of the autorun and create my own autorun.ini on the usb stick.

I am assuming MCT thingy dont download premade jan 2017 iso it makes it own? cause the SHA1 hash is not the same as the actual jan 2017 iso listed on msdn download page.

Last edited by tsunami231; 03-11-2017 at 22:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-11-2017, 22:54 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
eh I got to work in VM (behind same router) I have of 1607 just to be copy all of it on to usb stick, and be told I dont have permission to copy the autorun in the iso to my own usb stick.

I had to Copy contents of the autorun and create my own autorun.ini on the usb stick.

I am assuming MCT thingy dont download premade jan 2017 iso it makes it own? cause the SHA1 hash is not the same as the actual jan 2017 iso listed on msdn download page.

Yea each ISO will have a different hash iirc due to how the MCT creates it rather than downloading the same one each time

Wonder if the download is failing on the host machines because of your anti-spying programs lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-11-2017, 23:21 | posts: 7,367 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Yea each ISO will have a different hash iirc due to how the MCT creates it rather than downloading the same one each time

Wonder if the download is failing on the host machines because of your anti-spying programs lol
no clue, but the antispying SD beacon was used in VM of 1607 too so i doubt that why. it was failing on the creation of the iso, not the downloading part though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-11-2017, 23:28 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Strange it would happen on different machines, must be something common between them all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-11-2017, 23:33 | posts: 7,367 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Strange it would happen on different machines, must be something common between them all

MS OS and AVAST computers possible it Avast issue,
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-12-2017, 00:00 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Ah you're still using Avast

I dropped that PoS years ago now, far too many Win 10 machines with unexplainable problems due to that AV, not worth the hassle
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-12-2017, 00:19 | posts: 7,367 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Ah you're still using Avast

I dropped that PoS years ago now, far too many Win 10 machines with unexplainable problems due to that AV, not worth the hassle
I still use it cause my only issue with them is the boot time issue, Which they fixed in one build and caused again in the next build a month later, atlest the issue is revered now more times then not it boot with correct times instead of the long 45sec ones.

I hate computer I hate software I hate tech at this point, I was born in the wrong era! lmao
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-12-2017, 00:23 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
I still use it cause my only issue with them is the boot time issue, Which they fixed in one build and caused again in the next build a month later, atlest the issue is revered now more times then not it boot with correct times instead of the long 45sec ones.

I hate computer I hate software I hate tech at this point, I was born in the wrong era! lmao

Sell everything, buy a camper-van and travel the world

The last straw with Avast for me was the gf's brothers tablet, shut it down and it would fail to power on again, took me about 5 repairs to work out it was Avast causing it because it seemed like a power issue, I had to take the back off to disconnect the battery to get it to power on each time

Not sure how it managed to do that, something to do with hibernation/fast boot maybe, but removed Avast and have had no problems with it since

Since that day I refuse to install Avast on any Windows 10 machines I repair
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-12-2017, 00:46 | posts: 7,367 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Sell everything, buy a camper-van and travel the world

The last straw with Avast for me was the gf's brothers tablet, shut it down and it would fail to power on again, took me about 5 repairs to work out it was Avast causing it because it seemed like a power issue, I had to take the back off to disconnect the battery to get it to power on each time

Not sure how it managed to do that, something to do with hibernation/fast boot maybe, but removed Avast and have had no problems with it since

Since that day I refuse to install Avast on any Windows 10 machines I repair
The ghost in the machine/The ghost in the shell? the gnomes?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-12-2017, 08:55 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
The ghost in the machine/The ghost in the shell? the gnomes?
The Avast gnomes have turned against us
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-19-2017, 17:48 | posts: 17,547 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Removed suspended account downloader and added Techbench dump to OP

(Techbench dump seems to work for some and not others, working for me atm)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.