Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Tablets and Smart Phones
Tablets and Smart Phones Got that new HTC or Samsung Galaxy ? Discuss mobile devices, pads and tabs here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-23-2016, 22:19 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Should be getting my S7 tomorrow, upgrading from the S5

See how the cameras compare, S5 is pretty good at 16MP, was hoping for 16:9 like the S5 but guess I get used to 4:3

Heard people saying the detail isn't as sharp as previous S models, seen some conflicting sample images, some looking really bad and soft/blurred and some looking really sharp and almost DSLR quality

Anyone with the S7 got any tips for getting the best images? Main thing I use on my S5 is the camera and I'd heard the S7 had one of the best smartphone cameras going atm
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 08-24-2016, 00:39 | posts: 17,644 | Location: Glasgow

It's not a huge issue to lose some default resolution and set it to 16:9 though, i could have left it as it was but less hassle to just change it to 16:9.

There is a fair amount of Samsung digital manipulation with the images that on the phone is jaw dropping until you realise its sharper than real life and on a very large TV is can look a tad noisy.

I wish i had some tips for the best image quality for set up shots but i don't, but it's easily the best camera for just getting a quick picture, which imho is much more important.

I have a young baby and about 90% of the pictures are keepers because of this phone which is what you want when you have a subject is a fast moving object.
upload image online
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 09:16 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

wow they are clear indeed, thanks

And that was just left on Auto?

Been reading you can get considerably better quality by using the Pro mode, but if those above were on Auto, I don't see a problem

The thing that is confusing me are the sample images online, for example:

This one here, when you click for full size, it looks sort of softened and a bit blurred on the textures, even close up areas on the ground

http://cdn0.mos.techradar.futurecdn....307_131637.jpg


But then you get this one, and full sized looks crisp and clear on the mat and everywhere

http://static.trustedreviews.com/94/.../samples-2.jpg


I know they are different subjects, inside vs outside, different lighting and distances etc, but the jelly beans one looks like it's taken with a different camera

Saying that, my S5 is way better at well lit, close up, than it is for outdoor distance shots
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 08-24-2016, 10:06 | posts: 17,644 | Location: Glasgow

https://goo.gl/photos/ZJdK23oj94i8eMSD9

Random ones i have taken, all on auto.
On phone at work so not sure how well that will work though.

I do agree it does better up close.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 10:17 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Well I will be happy with that, they look great to me, the hairs on the pig look very sharp and detailed, those green plants look extremely good quality too, and the cup on the railing

Well it's here, so time to play
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 08-24-2016, 10:42 | posts: 17,644 | Location: Glasgow

I quite liked the dof on the cup one.

I'm sure better could be achieved by tinkering, but so could worse.
Everything looks great on the screen when you take it, but everything dues on the amoled screen.

I even like the Samsung browser.

Happy new phone/toy day
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 11:16 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Thanks lol

Yea I found the same on my S5, things looked way better on the phone than they did once I moved them to the PC, way better screens on the phones, and the size of the pixels will make it much clearer I suppose

Wasn't impressed with having MS office preinstalled, but although it can't be uninstalled, it can be disabled and out of sight, as can most of the useless bloat

I ran a debloat script from TWRP on my S5 which removed all that, but don't like rooting new phones straight away, and the process seems a bit different with the S7, having to wipe it to disable encryption and a few other steps that seem a bit strange

I`ll wait for a while for that

Impressed with the phone already though, the performance difference between the S5 and S7 is very noticeable, display is way closer to your fingers too, almost feels like there is no glass between you and the thing you are pressing

Lovely smooth feeling to the actual phone too, nice to hold, good solid click on the home button

Usually the first thing I do is install Nova Launcher, but they've massively improved TW on this, so will give it a trial, only thing I miss is the dock icons customisation, can't move the apps draw icon to the centre or increase the number of icons on the dock (That I can see)

Fast charge is great, from 65%>100% in 35 mins

Notification dropdown is a lot better looking too, non of that weird greeny blue colour with two huge s.finder and quick connect things mashed to the bottom, just a little quick connect link

Ability to increase homescreen grid size and make the settings panels smaller is a nice touch

Think I'm going to like this phone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 11:30 | posts: 542

Just switched to this beast from my good ol galaxy nexus. Boy the battery, it lasts so
long, an hour and 30 minutes film takes 12-15% battery at 9/15 screenbrightness which
is just insane comparing it to my nexus that takes 50% xD. Screen is freaking gorgeous
until you compare it to a pc monitor. Then it looks goddamn crappy. Whites are green af
which is really weird cuz they're green on my nexus too i guess its an oled thing.

The bezels on this are so thick i press stuff accidentally way too often. But at least i can
now run in the rain which is great.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 11:50 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quick shot on Auto, looks good to me

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by Extraordinary; 08-24-2016 at 11:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 12:28 | posts: 542

Did this with the shutter at 10s

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 12:59 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Whoh very cool
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 14:09 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Just realised I'm getting red/purple spots on my photos

Anyone else get this?

EDIT - Reading XDA it seems a load of people have them and they are 'part of digital photography' and just to accept it? S5 didn't have any


Last edited by Extraordinary; 08-24-2016 at 14:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 14:28 | posts: 542

Haha I'm actually glad you posted this i thought my camera was bugged. Oddly enough
i only get them with the HDR on
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 14:32 | posts: 542

Here's a pic i took for you so that you don't feel lonely.



gotta crop so that its more obvious
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 14:58 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

lol, still sucky but at least I know it's not worth returning, maybe they can sort it with a firmware update

Wonder if it's to do with the new bigger pixel tech they're using in these sensors

I always take photos with HDR on, with it off the shadows are black
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 15:11 | posts: 542

Yeah i like to take mine with hdr on too. Its like a whole new level.
At first it thought you can even record hdr video and hyped myself up so badly untill
i actually hit the record button. xD

Anywho these purple stuff i doubt they'll be an issue if the photo ain't zoomed in.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 15:21 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Yea probably not, but that's what I like to do with a good camera, zoom in to see how much detail is there, especially on close-ups, if enough of us complain to Samsung they might fix it (probably not)

Looking forward to tonight, the low-light shots have been hyped with this thing, watched a few night-time videos taken with it vs a few other phones and it came out pretty well, could see a lot more than some of them

Still think they should have kept the 16MP and 16:9 though, seems a strange choice for such a flagship phone, I'm starting to think I can see the loss of 4MP in normal distance shots, close-ups are great, distance/normal shots don't seem much different, possibly worse than my 16MP S5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 15:30 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

S7 12MP HDR On
http://i.imgur.com/hHqcCWv.jpg

S5 16MP HDR On
http://i.imgur.com/m1I9Xj6.jpg

Tbh I really think the S5 wins there
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 15:59 | posts: 542

I'd take the s7 photo there, can't really see the difference in detail between the two
but i can see the difference in hdr. the range is bigger on the s7 by just looking at
the white wall on the right. You can see it way better.

//TimeOfDay is different though, dunno how much of a difference that'd make.

//EDIT Here's a video i made just to see if i can make the night absolutely noise-less
and i kinda did but the shutter was at 1/24th here and you can barely see anything
(not that you could actually see anything in real life) but yeah.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2d1PFVFmRg

Last edited by IceVip; 08-24-2016 at 16:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 16:42 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Yea they were a few hours apart, I took the S7 shot earlier, then while I was posting I thought I'd take the same shot with the S5, maybe 2-3 hours apart

I'm looking at the plants on the right, the weird onion globe things look way lower quality on the S7 IMO, and the bricks on the house look lower too vs the S5

I agree inside the greenhouse the HDR works a lot better with the S7, you can see a lot more in the shadows, but overall, maybe it's just me picking faults with my new toy, it still looks like the 16MP has the edge

I'm giving the S5 to my Dad soon though, so those memories and ability to compare will soon be a thing of the past

Yea you managed to just about completely remove the noise from the video, but agreed it is very dark apart from in the headlights, wonder if there's a way to bring it back up without too much noise
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 16:45 | posts: 542

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Yea they were a few hours apart, I took the S7 shot earlier, then while I was posting I thought I'd take the same shot with the S5, maybe 2-3 hours apart

I'm looking at the plants on the right, the weird onion globe things look way lower quality on the S7 IMO, and the bricks on the house look lower too vs the S5

I agree inside the greenhouse the HDR works a lot better with the S7, you can see a lot more in the shadows, but overall, maybe it's just me picking faults with my new toy, it still looks like the 16MP has the edge

I'm giving the S5 to my Dad soon though, so those memories and ability to compare will soon be a thing of the past

Yea you managed to just about completely remove the noise from the video, but agreed it is very dark apart from in the headlights, wonder if there's a way to bring it back up without too much noise
The only way to bring it back up is via ISO which introduces noise. Exposure
setting is fixed for some reason i can never actually touch that even in pro mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 16:51 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Put the flash on lol, S5 flash is pretty bright, not sure about this, not tried it yet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 16:59 | posts: 542

Oh hell naw the flash won't work at such a distance. S7 flash is really weird not only is it
yellow but its not bright at all, my gnexus' flash is brighter.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-24-2016, 17:02 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceVip View Post
Oh hell naw the flash won't work at such a distance. S7 flash is really weird not only is it
yellow but its not bright at all, my gnexus' flash is brighter.
Damn, no IR blaster either, they never seem to be 100% upgrades do they, they always take something great away first

Since you've owned yours for a while, would you say this video was still true, or filmed with something a lot higher end?

Watch in 4K




   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 2997Mhz CL15
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-24-2016, 17:14 | posts: 542

Its definitely shot on the s7. It just looks way too professional due to the smooth shots.
They use tripods and gimballs to make everything look really smooth but one thing that
gives it away(that its shot on a phone that is) is the awful sharpening that is going on.
I'm not sure what the hell but if i put sharpen from after effects its way better than what
its putting right now. And the biggest giveaway is the forests in the distance, I'm not sure
what exactly is going on here but every freaking phone camera in the history of everything
has problems with shooting forests that are like 25km away. When you look at them you
don't see separate trees you see one big green plate.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.