Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Need for speed 2016 performance and troubleshooting.
Old
  (#1)
oGow89
Maha Guru
 
oGow89's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4GHz/1.2V
Mainboard: Asrock Z87 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3@2133MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMX750 80+ Gold
Default Need for speed 2016 performance and troubleshooting. - 03-09-2016, 15:58 | posts: 1,215

I like the way the game looks, and while i might not pick it up right away, (not fan of racing game), i still want to know how it runs.

Found this while browsing.

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Need-f...-Test-1188606/

Best benchmark ever, only one card. It's enough.

DRM is locking the game, whenever the hardware is changed within a short period of time.

Last edited by oGow89; 03-09-2016 at 16:02.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 03-09-2016, 16:09 | posts: 6,769

Quote:
Originally Posted by oGow89 View Post
I like the way the game looks, and while i might not pick it up right away, (not fan of racing game), i still want to know how it runs.

Found this while browsing.

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Need-f...-Test-1188606/

Best benchmark ever, only one card. It's enough.

DRM is locking the game, whenever the hardware is changed within a short period of time.
Awesome graphics and good performance, too few content, always online, Denuvo preventing it from working in the future, no thanks.

EDIT: The game looks fantastic even on minimum, so good job on that. The rest...

Last edited by PrMinisterGR; 03-09-2016 at 16:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
freeman94
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE HD7870 OC 2GB
Processor: Core i5 3570
Mainboard: ASUS P8H77-M PRO
Memory: DDR3 (2x8GB) 1600MHz
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V381
PSU: OCZ 600W
Default 03-09-2016, 16:38 | posts: 265 | Location: Poland

what do you mean by denuvo blockiing the game?

Yes it does block if you change hardware or OS but only on short time period 48h or so, I don't beleve its forever,
So lets say I buy a game, and then after a month, i put more Ram into my hardware. Then if I'm right I could not play the game as it need to be verify with takes about 48h.

I can't understand anything on the provided website, I aint German. Could you transate it for me, the moment they say about Denuvo protection.

Last edited by freeman94; 03-09-2016 at 16:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
oGow89
Maha Guru
 
oGow89's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4GHz/1.2V
Mainboard: Asrock Z87 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3@2133MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMX750 80+ Gold
Default 03-09-2016, 16:40 | posts: 1,215

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeman94 View Post
what do you mean by denuvo blockiing the game?

Yes it does block if you change hardware or OS but only on short time period 48h or so, I don't beleve its forever,
So lets say I buy a game, and then after a month, i put more Ram into my hardware. Then if I'm right I could not play the game as it need to be verify with takes about 48h.
Well, and that is why the ain't able to bench the damn thing. Because it locks them out for awhile, that making a performance review would takes a month for just a hand-full of gpus.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
jesped
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 1070
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: HDMI+Onkyo Receiver
PSU: Seasonic 760w 80gold
Question 03-09-2016, 17:05 | posts: 102 | Location: Spain

Well, I don't get it.

I have a 390x OC'ed to 1200, i7 4,5Ghz, Win7 x64 and AMD Crimson Hotfix 16.2.1

I am unable to maintain 50fps even at 1080p, SSAO instead of HBAO and Mesh Detail, Shadows in High instead of Ultra. Even with Motion Blur off and FXAA (wich looks horrible) instead of TAA.

GPU usage tops at 90%, and fps drops sometimes as low as mid 30's...

Does it run so much better on Win10 or what?

Last edited by jesped; 03-09-2016 at 17:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 03-09-2016, 17:14 | posts: 6,769

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesped View Post
Well, I don't get it.

I have a 390x OC'ed to 1200, i7 4,5Ghz, Win7 x64 and AMD Crimson Hotfix 16.2.1

I am unable to maintain 50fps even at 1080p, SSAO instead of HBAO and Mesh Detail, Shadows in High instead of Ultra. Even with Motion Blur off and FXAA (wich looks horrible) instead of TAA.

GPU usage tops at 90%, and fps drops sometimes as low as mid 30's...

Does it run so much better on Win10 or what?
I have no idea. But I can tell you in general that Windows 10 are seriously recommended if you have Radeon hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeman94 View Post
what do you mean by denuvo blockiing the game?

Yes it does block if you change hardware or OS but only on short time period 48h or so, I don't beleve its forever,
So lets say I buy a game, and then after a month, i put more Ram into my hardware. Then if I'm right I could not play the game as it need to be verify with takes about 48h.

I can't understand anything on the provided website, I aint German. Could you transate it for me, the moment they say about Denuvo protection.
I mean that every game that cannot be cracked, is at the whim of the publisher in the future. There will never be a modding scene for it. All the best games of the last decades survived because people could touch the code. Now it's not possible. It's SO locked down that they can't even benchmark it today. What if it turns out to be awesome and you want to play it again in 5 years time, when EA has closed the servers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
biggyca
Master Guru
 
biggyca's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX GTX980 SOC
Processor: i5 6500
Mainboard: Gigabyte h110m-s2v
Memory: 8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Fortron 600w
Default 03-09-2016, 19:46 | posts: 344 | Location: Croatia

I think there is a big difference in performance with Frostbite when you're using Win7 vs Win 10
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
jesped
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 1070
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: HDMI+Onkyo Receiver
PSU: Seasonic 760w 80gold
Default 03-09-2016, 20:11 | posts: 102 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
I have no idea. But I can tell you in general that Windows 10 are seriously recommended if you have Radeon hardware.
Can you elaborate specifics on why?

Battlefield and Battlefront run great in Win7, and they use the same Frostbyte3 engine, right?

I tried Win10 a while back and I got worse fps in Witcher 3 and GTAV. Besides, RadeonPro was crashing a lot more too, and some features like DoubleVsync didn't even worked properly.

Has the situation improved lately?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
AHPD
Member Guru
 
AHPD's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Tri-X @4096SP
Processor: Core i7 6700K @4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 5
Memory: Trident Z 32GB 3200Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: Thermaltake TPG-850M
Default 03-09-2016, 20:43 | posts: 76

1) RadeonPro isn't updated in a while (and will crash with Fiji hardware).
2) Windows 10 is the same as 8.1. It did not improve nor deteriorate performance across both my 280X and Fury.
3) DX12 is only for Windows 10 so it's probably a good idea to upgrade.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
oGow89
Maha Guru
 
oGow89's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4GHz/1.2V
Mainboard: Asrock Z87 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3@2133MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMX750 80+ Gold
Default 03-09-2016, 21:15 | posts: 1,215

Quote:
Originally Posted by AHPD View Post
1) RadeonPro isn't updated in a while (and will crash with Fiji hardware).
2) Windows 10 is the same as 8.1. It did not improve nor deteriorate performance across both my 280X and Fury.
3) DX12 is only for Windows 10 so it's probably a good idea to upgrade.
4) no dx12 game worth the upgrade up to this point, and the one game that is supposed to be a dx12 game is like me taking a dumb when im having diarrhea.

There you go updated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 03-10-2016, 00:37 | posts: 6,769

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesped View Post
Can you elaborate specifics on why?
Battlefield and Battlefront run great in Win7, and they use the same Frostbyte3 engine, right?
I tried Win10 a while back and I got worse fps in Witcher 3 and GTAV. Besides, RadeonPro was crashing a lot more too, and some features like DoubleVsync didn't even worked properly.
Has the situation improved lately?
Window 10 is using WDDM 2.0, that helps optimize draw call performance, which is currently the single largest pitfall of GCN.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AHPD View Post
1) RadeonPro isn't updated in a while (and will crash with Fiji hardware).
2) Windows 10 is the same as 8.1. It did not improve nor deteriorate performance across both my 280X and Fury.
3) DX12 is only for Windows 10 so it's probably a good idea to upgrade.
Windows 10 is a bit better (more light) than Windows 8.1. It also has WDDM 2.0, which is the best reason to upgrade IMO.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
oGow89
Maha Guru
 
oGow89's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4GHz/1.2V
Mainboard: Asrock Z87 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3@2133MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMX750 80+ Gold
Default 03-10-2016, 18:56 | posts: 1,215

Benchmark has been updated to include more gpus,

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Need-f...-Test-1188606/

The r9 390 performs equal to the r9 nano.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
SimBy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290
Processor: i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 760 Platinum
Default 03-10-2016, 21:06 | posts: 189

780Ti ouch. Nano also not very impressive.

Last edited by SimBy; 03-10-2016 at 21:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mooby29
Member Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290X@1150/1500mhz
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Gskill DDR3 PC12800 16GB
Soundcard: Focal Chorus 826V
PSU: Enermax Revo 85+ 1250W
Default 03-15-2016, 10:43 | posts: 128

Shaky framerate here with R9 290X@1150/1500mhz, even @ 1080P.
Those expecting stable 60FPS are gonna be disappointed (except if you got a Fury X Crossfire warmachine I guess)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
oGow89
Maha Guru
 
oGow89's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4GHz/1.2V
Mainboard: Asrock Z87 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3@2133MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMX750 80+ Gold
Default 03-15-2016, 11:14 | posts: 1,215

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooby29 View Post
Shaky framerate here with R9 290X@1150/1500mhz, even @ 1080P.
Those expecting stable 60FPS are gonna be disappointed (except if you got a Fury X Crossfire warmachine I guess)
CPU maybe?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Cool 03-15-2016, 11:24 | posts: 2,871 | Location: HolyWater Village

Can't setup my PSX 2 Dual Shock, x360ace also not working Properly.
Only x1 Joy supported lol but they Give for NFS G29/27 support (how many Gamers using this for NFS? lol)
So Digital Pedal/Brake for me lol i like:
Right analog = Gas/Brake
Left analog = Stering

All things in Game must be done in Keyboard (Ghost's Sucks, Criterion FTW)

PS. Where are the Good Old Games

Last edited by OnnA; 03-15-2016 at 11:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 03-15-2016, 11:35 | posts: 6,504 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimBy View Post
780Ti ouch. Nano also not very impressive.
Nano might be even throttling wouldn't be that impossible. Would be nice to have Fury and Fury X on the list tho.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
kegastaMmer
Master Guru
 
kegastaMmer's Avatar
 
Videocard: a cheap naked sub-heater
Processor: an underrated room heater
Mainboard: a heater bed
Memory: heating reminder
Soundcard: heater already loud enoug
PSU: coolest furnace feeder
Default 03-15-2016, 12:16 | posts: 236 | Location: hot springs, cool summers

let me cry for all the fermi owners ;-; and racing lovers ;-;
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 03-15-2016, 17:41 | posts: 2,871 | Location: HolyWater Village

Some screens from my RIG AMD Fat1one

1792:1344 90Hz Shadow Low/Med and rest All Ultra + TAA Max and Reshade 1.1 + SweetFX with HighPass_settings.h (only High-Pass Sharpening)

USE_LUMASHARPEN 1
USE_TECHNICOLOR2 1
USE_VIBRANCE 1
and:
High-Pass Sharpening


Now i Have RX-7

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by OnnA; 03-15-2016 at 19:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 03-15-2016, 18:16 | posts: 6,769

This looks sweet! Are Reshade and SweetFX really needed?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 03-15-2016, 19:49 | posts: 2,871 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
This looks sweet! Are Reshade and SweetFX really needed?
Always bro

BTW it's more "crispy" & Clear
also TAA tends to Smooth to much (kind of Blurry so My answer is Reshade with HighPass_settings.h)

Last edited by OnnA; 03-15-2016 at 19:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
GeRmAnOs
Member Guru
 
GeRmAnOs's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB R9 390OC 8Gb 1050/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 at 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD65 (MS-7640)
Memory: 16GB Ballistix Sport
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Seasonic X-650 80PlusGold
Default 03-16-2016, 15:10 | posts: 64 | Location: Poland

Onna are you from poland or you buy russian/polish (cheap)version??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Mooby29
Member Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290X@1150/1500mhz
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Gskill DDR3 PC12800 16GB
Soundcard: Focal Chorus 826V
PSU: Enermax Revo 85+ 1250W
Default 03-16-2016, 19:20 | posts: 128

If you play this game on a 1080P TV with motion compensation stuff (like the marketed 100hz, 200hz etc...), want your game to be buttersmooth and as crisp as it gets:

1 - Enable your motion compensation option in your TV.

2 - Go to your documents\Need For Speed\Settings folder and open the PROFILEOPTIONS_profile file with Wordpad.
Edit the refresh rate line like this:
Code:
GstRender.FullscreenRefreshRate 30.000000
There's an ingame option for the refresh rate but in fact it just limits the FPS, not sets an actual refresh rate.

3 - Open notepad
Copy this line:
Code:
Render.ResolutionScale 1.8000000
And then save the file as User.cfg and put it in the Origin Games\Need For Speed folder.
(1.800000 is ok with my overclocked R9 290X, tweak this according to your hardware, try 1.5000000 or less for example if the framerate gets messy ingame, 2.000000 if you got a Fury/Fury X)

There you go, buttersmooth fluidity thanks to the motion compensation, no frame dips and goodbye the 1080P TAA blur:
http://imgur.com/a/p9r6g for screenshots
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 03-16-2016, 19:22 | posts: 2,871 | Location: HolyWater Village


Slavic my Bro.
Different region.

Last edited by OnnA; 03-18-2016 at 21:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Lumaan
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus R9 290X 4GB OC
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820 3.6GHz
Mainboard: ASRock X79 EXTREME6
Memory: 16Gb DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi (PCIx)
PSU: Silverstone 1000W
Default 03-16-2016, 22:20 | posts: 30

Those pics gives me a feeling of Underground 2
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.