Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc.
Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc. In this section you can discuss general purpose application that run over your GPU, like transcoding, Physics simulation etc.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
1440p Gaming - More Future proof solution
Old
  (#1)
dataer
Newbie
 
dataer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-580 1.5GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: 12GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatality
PSU: Hiper Type-M 730
Question 1440p Gaming - More Future proof solution - 02-12-2016, 10:33 | posts: 5 | Location: Greece

Hey everyone,

I have an EVGA GTX-580 1.5GB at the moment and i am thinking to switch in either GTX970 or R9-390.
At the moment my card plays the games, in medium in most of the cases and with 2,560 x 1,440 analysis in my 27'' inch monitor, but i surely need an upgrade. I was fully sure to go for a GTX-970 but reading the probs that exist with 3.5 and 0.5 vram and the fact that i see many of the games going to need more in the next 2 years, i am thinking if the best way is to go for 970 with 4GB (3.5+0.5) or R9 390 with 8GB (seems more futureproof) or just wait the 980 to get cheaper.
The idea is to buy something that can hold off at least 3 years again (like i did with GTX580, which lasted in fact 5 years).

Thanks for everyone going to spend some time to reply me
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 02-12-2016, 11:08 | posts: 6,855 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Are you planning on reducing AA, settings and fps @1440p?
What games will you play? Do you have a screen with more than 60Hz?



Just as a little comparison, I had a i7 950@3.2GHz and a 580 Lightning XE with 3GB vram. BF4 at 1080p ultra ran with 30-40fps... now with my current rig I'm playing 140+ at 1440p ultra BF4. A 980 thus would grant you about 70 to 80fps I guess, maybe a bit more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
dataer
Newbie
 
dataer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-580 1.5GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: 12GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatality
PSU: Hiper Type-M 730
Default 02-12-2016, 11:29 | posts: 5 | Location: Greece

Thnx for your time.

The monitor i have is this is PB278Q (i can't post the link)

I don't mind reduce a bit the AA, Settings and fps, just need to be sure that with this upgrade i would be able to have a more smooth experience than the one i have now with the 550. my recent games was Fallout 4, Witcher 3, Metal Gear V, Division (beta), Xcom.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 02-13-2016, 12:52 | posts: 6,855 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

I personally would say you should opt towards AMD, probably looking for a sale on the 390X 8GB or a 390. 980 isn't that well priced at the moment, and the 970 is great for 1080p but for 1440p I wouldn't want to bet my money on it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
dataer
Newbie
 
dataer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-580 1.5GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: 12GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatality
PSU: Hiper Type-M 730
Default 02-15-2016, 09:39 | posts: 5 | Location: Greece

Thnx again, yes i am towards AMD at the moment, propably the Sapphire one.

Just a question. My PSU is 730 and Sapphire on their site, write that the recommended PSU must be 750. Do you believe that i will have issues with that?

My psu is the following HIPER Type M HPU-4M730-SS 730W (can't post links, damnit)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mugsy
Master Guru
 
Mugsy's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 480 8gb
Processor: i5-4670K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero
Memory: 16gb TridentX 2400
Soundcard: Realtek / Microlab
PSU: CORSAIR HX-650
Default 02-19-2016, 13:48 | posts: 263 | Location: Romania

If i were you i would wait until the summer. The new AMD lineup will be released then and it will be definitely better than the current lineup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
jaggerwild
Master Guru
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Videocard: Many
Processor: Many
Mainboard: Z68 Asus MaximusIV GENE Z
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 2000Mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 1KW
Default 02-21-2016, 19:11 | posts: 196 | Location: Nvidia=central heating ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugsy View Post
If i were you i would wait until the summer. The new AMD lineup will be released then and it will be definitely better than the current lineup.
Any hints what is coming in........................
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
EspHack
Maha Guru
 
EspHack's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI/HD5770/1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-980X
Mainboard: Intel DX58SO
Memory: DDR3/1600MHz/16GB/4 stick
Soundcard: ASUS XonarDX/Logitech G51
PSU: EPS Super Flower 750w
Default 02-26-2016, 08:08 | posts: 2,329 | Location: Dominican Republic

the 390 8g gets my vote, vram use will skyrocket if my predictions are right, the 970 is not a good bet today when compared to the 390 which tends to be a tiny bit faster overall without the vram limitations, and cheaper to boot

730w is plenty for your rig with that card, but considering you mentioned a 5yo gtx580 I suppose that includes the psu being 5yo? might have to take that into account
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mikev190
Master Guru
 
mikev190's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080Ti AMP! Extreme
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 16gb G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Soundcard: ROG 7.1 Centurion
PSU: Super Flower Leadex 850w
Default 02-26-2016, 09:31 | posts: 247 | Location: UK

I would go for a 980/ti or AMD equivalent.

My friend has one of those ASUS 1440p 144hz gsync monitors and to really push it he has had to SLI his 970.

When a game is SLI optimized he get's 100 fps+ in games at max setting with little to no AA. VRAM doesn't seem to be an issue yet.

However if he'd of not bought them before the 980ti he would of gone for that instead. The new cards are out soon as well so it may well be the 1070GTX? will be a good price and 1440p capable

EDIT: Forgot to mention, I had a 290x prior to my 970 - While FPS isn't much difference nvidia is much smoother! But the deal breaker for me was the power usage and the heat AMD put out, was driving the other half mad! Although it also meant after an hours gaming, we didn't need the heating on

Last edited by mikev190; 02-26-2016 at 10:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
dataer
Newbie
 
dataer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-580 1.5GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: 12GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatality
PSU: Hiper Type-M 730
Default 02-29-2016, 19:02 | posts: 5 | Location: Greece

Ty for the replies, a sidequestion:

As you can see my PSU doesn't have the pins R9 390 Sapphire card need to. If i use a cable 6pin to 8pin so i can connect the card to it, i will have any losses of the optimal performance of the card? Or it will be used full power?

Ty in advance

Ps
I understand that the optimal way was to change also my psu, but i am in a pretty tight budget atm, so if i can avoid it, will be awesome
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 02-29-2016, 21:52 | posts: 6,855 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dataer View Post
Ty for the replies, a sidequestion:

As you can see my PSU doesn't have the pins R9 390 Sapphire card need to. If i use a cable 6pin to 8pin so i can connect the card to it, i will have any losses of the optimal performance of the card? Or it will be used full power?

Ty in advance

Ps
I understand that the optimal way was to change also my psu, but i am in a pretty tight budget atm, so if i can avoid it, will be awesome
People have figured out that the additional two pins aren't really carrying any power, you should be fine with the 6 to 8 adapter. Back in the day there used to be PCIe power cables that had 6 on there, and two seperate wires going OUT of the 6 and made two additional pins, so you could hook up 8 in total with 6 wires in the cable.

If it will be sufficient to power in total to run a 380X or 390, I honestly can't tell. Maybe another guru could make an educated guess?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Osjur
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon Fury X
Processor: Core i7 3930K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV GENE
Memory: 16GB 4x4 G.Skill: 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Sennheiser HD 800
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1200w
Default 03-03-2016, 06:12 | posts: 34 | Location: Somewhere over the rainbow

Quote:
Originally Posted by dataer View Post
Ty for the replies, a sidequestion:

As you can see my PSU doesn't have the pins R9 390 Sapphire card need to. If i use a cable 6pin to 8pin so i can connect the card to it, i will have any losses of the optimal performance of the card? Or it will be used full power?

Ty in advance

Ps
I understand that the optimal way was to change also my psu, but i am in a pretty tight budget atm, so if i can avoid it, will be awesome
It has the overall watts but it is one those multi-rail junks. Four 12v lines and they only give 16amp (192w) per line. And it seems the line distribution is bizarre as well because all the lines (12v1-12v4) are sharing something with PCI-E power connectors.

Let's be frank here, 390(X) may work with that junk, or it may trigger OCP the instant you fire up something which puts enough load on the card. Also, it doesn't really help that the PSU is already old.

Ps. Sorry if you are offended when I'm saying junk. I just have a personal grudge and crusade against multi-rail PSU's

Last edited by Osjur; 03-03-2016 at 06:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
dataer
Newbie
 
dataer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-580 1.5GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: 12GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatality
PSU: Hiper Type-M 730
Default 03-03-2016, 17:54 | posts: 5 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by Osjur View Post
It has the overall watts but it is one those multi-rail junks. Four 12v lines and they only give 16amp (192w) per line. And it seems the line distribution is bizarre as well because all the lines (12v1-12v4) are sharing something with PCI-E power connectors.

Let's be frank here, 390(X) may work with that junk, or it may trigger OCP the instant you fire up something which puts enough load on the card. Also, it doesn't really help that the PSU is already old.

Ps. Sorry if you are offended when I'm saying junk. I just have a personal grudge and crusade against multi-rail PSU's

NO offense at all np. In the meantime i asked Sapphire (very helpfull in their support) and they said i won't have any problems. We will see next week when Amazon delivers. My plan is to put it with that psu and then in a year or so change only the psu witha brand new one. Thnx for the answers guys!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1440p, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.