Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
VSR - Any Way to Hack 144Hz?
Old
  (#1)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Question VSR - Any Way to Hack 144Hz? - 12-17-2015, 08:01 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

I had an Nvidia GTX 970 before, where I ran 2880 x 1620 on DSR @144Hz with no problems. I used to love my 280X I had when I used it on my 60Hz monitor.

Yesterday I got an MSI 290X Lightning, and I cannot run any VSR resolutions on 144Hz - All are 120Hz and lower, most are 60Hz actually.

Considering the 970 and 290X are pretty equally matched in terms of processing power, I am really disappointed in this realisation. I thought going back to AMD would be a forward step, but now I am really disappointed. I don't like the way jaggies are processed with AA, I loved the natural way they look with DSR(VSR).

So I would like to know if anyone here has found a way to hack 144Hz in VSR somehow?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 12-17-2015, 08:32 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

@Ho3n3r, I'm really guessing at this point (never had >60hz lsd's) ...but did you tried the manual way to adjusting ref rate? I mean "hex'in" via creating custom res's. Cause I guess "dal" method wouldn't allow to add 144hz? Or am I wrong?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 12-17-2015, 08:36 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
@Ho3n3r, I'm really guessing at this point (never had >60hz lsd's) ...but did you tried the manual way to adjusting ref rate? I mean "hex'in" via creating custom res's. Cause I guess "dal" method wouldn't work? Or am I wrong?
Thanks for the reply. I am actually reading this post of yours, as we speak - > http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=404125 - very interesting, I am hoping maybe it will help me too.

Maybe there is something lost in translation though? Because I am not exactly sure what you mean by the above reply. "Dal" method, what does that refer to?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 12-17-2015, 08:39 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho3n3r View Post
..."Dal" method, what does that refer to?
Post #2 ...down below. "EASY MODE (with VSR increased limit)"
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 12-17-2015, 08:42 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
Post #2 ...down below. "EASY MODE (with VSR increased limit)"
Oh, right. I'm still reading the first section, that's why I'm not with you yet.

Great post, I will go through it in detail, because I cannot believe that this is not possible, and if it stays this way, it's a major balls-up on AMD's part as I have been singing their praises to everybody lately.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
theoneofgod
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 (CFX retired)
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800w
Default 12-17-2015, 12:00 | posts: 3,945

Using Dal you should be able to add 144.

The last 4 00's are refresh rate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 12-17-2015, 12:42 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by theoneofgod View Post
Using Dal you should be able to add 144.

The last 4 00's are refresh rate.
Thanks, will do.

Any chance of this causing damage to my GPU or something?

And do I only need to do Part II, or Part I and then Part II?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 12-17-2015, 14:54 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho3n3r View Post
Thanks, will do.

Any chance of this causing damage to my GPU or something?

And do I only need to do Part II, or Part I and then Part II?
Just try "dal" method first. It should work fine with standard timings and pixel clocks. If you wanna do more custom on that - use manual.

And ofc, your AMD gpu will burn down alongside with your neighborhood. A lot of people may or may not die (they will die acctually) ...

PS. AMD interview about gpus burn down while using latest Crimson drivers

Last edited by fr33jack; 12-17-2015 at 15:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
theoneofgod
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 (CFX retired)
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800w
Default 12-17-2015, 15:07 | posts: 3,945

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho3n3r View Post
Thanks, will do.

Any chance of this causing damage to my GPU or something?
No
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 12-17-2015, 15:20 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by theoneofgod View Post
No
Don't lie to him...he deserves the truth! We all here in this Catalyst driver forum section working slaves for AMD. They kidnapped us! We live in the corporate AMD basement and they occasionally let us write something in the comment section...we barely eating! I have not seen a female species over 10 years! And for telling the truth just this once they definitely will give me like 20 lashes...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
theoneofgod
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 (CFX retired)
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800w
Default 12-17-2015, 15:20 | posts: 3,945

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
Don't lie to him...he deserves the truth! We all here in this Catalyst driver forum section working slaves for AMD. They kidnapped us! We live in the corporate AMD basement and they occasionally let us write something in the comment section...we barely eating! I have not seen a female species over 10 years! And for telling the truth just this once they definitely will give me like 20 lashes...
If Dal won't burn it, something else will...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 12-17-2015, 16:48 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

So, good news and bad news.

The good news: I have successfully added the resolution I want, with the Hz - the exact same settings I used with DSR on Nvidia with this monitor, and I am able to select these settings in the game's config screen.

The bad news: game goes in, but screen remains totally black. I can hear the menu sounds when I move the mouse over certain elements, but I can't see it at all.

I can go to task manager to kill it, so not the end of the world, but it would still have been nice to use it.

I guess this GPU isn't that good after all?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
theoneofgod
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 (CFX retired)
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800w
Default 12-17-2015, 16:51 | posts: 3,945

Downsampling on AMD hardware is a bit... Limited.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 12-17-2015, 16:54 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by theoneofgod View Post
Downsampling on AMD hardware is a bit... Limited.
Good to know, thanks. I have made a post on AMD forums' VSR thread, but going on evidence here, it won't be updated anytime soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R390 1200/1720
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 12-17-2015, 19:55 | posts: 3,460 | Location: United Kingdom

I used to be able to use 144 hz with downsampling with old drivers, can't get it working.

Scaler bs limit apparently, the software downsampling work around had no such problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
sammarbella
Ancient Guru
 
sammarbella's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
Processor: I7 3770 4.1Ghz (H2O)
Mainboard: Asrock xtreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentX CL7 32GB
Soundcard: SB Zx sennheiser PC350SE
PSU: Lepa G1600
Default 12-17-2015, 22:20 | posts: 3,551 | Location: Imagine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho3n3r View Post
Good to know, thanks. I have made a post on AMD forums' VSR thread, but going on evidence here, it won't be updated anytime soon.
Good luck with that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 12-21-2015, 07:01 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammarbella View Post
Good luck with that.
My naivety shines through, eh?

I was hoping the 15.12 Crimson driver might have it, but no such luck. Kinda regretting selling my 970 for this crap now... and it's using more power.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
sammarbella
Ancient Guru
 
sammarbella's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
Processor: I7 3770 4.1Ghz (H2O)
Mainboard: Asrock xtreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentX CL7 32GB
Soundcard: SB Zx sennheiser PC350SE
PSU: Lepa G1600
Default 12-21-2015, 07:23 | posts: 3,551 | Location: Imagine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho3n3r View Post
My naivety shines through, eh?
No, no.

Everything is possible in relation to AMD.

A strong faith make some ppl around believe AMD drivers and support are perfect.

I don't have such faith and i guess it's the same for you reading your last comment.

Ppl with faith say it helps...


Last edited by sammarbella; 12-21-2015 at 07:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 01-14-2016, 07:41 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Yeah. I've gone back to my previous GPU, running DSR 2880x1620 @144Hz without a hitch again.

I like the basic functionality of AMD more than Nvidia, but BS like this, the difficulty to get 3D working for a few games, never mind most games, etc., is really illuminating their shortcomings.

Thank you Nvidia, and bye bye AMD. Don't have time to wait years until they catch a wake-up, unfortunately. No reply even to my thread on AMD forums yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
BAZOKA1942
Master Guru
 
Videocard: sapphire r9 390
Processor: i5 4670k
Mainboard:
Memory: 8 giga
Soundcard:
PSU: 650 w
Default 01-14-2016, 12:54 | posts: 154 | Location: canada

hi
plz admin of this site guys (theoneofgod A2Razor sammarbella..) make kind of request petition or so !? to amd official using the admin rights xD + for amdmatt guy but with insistence this time
and made kind of vote of people requests to give to amd :
1- 2- 3- ....
i know that they start changing considering market share and nvidia +game developers ignore amd about low performance tessellation low fps draw calls
the last thing nvidia challenge them about gameworks (witcher3 case) so they start changing
and move their lazy a** but !

we need those in emergency :

1 dynamic vsync
2 triple buffer dx
3 a properly working fps limit and power limit esspecially in video max frequency + in games alot of down clock
4 (bug fixes black screen blue screen etc memory +volt problems hardware acceleration problems etc.. stability the basics for any user)

those they have no excuse about them cause radeon pro japamd already do them by himself

those are optional and advanced supposed easy for amd "advanced micro devices take 10 years "

1 dynamic tessellation like nvidia to down quality when needed
2 maybe smaa type filter or mlaa types no blur one very important
3 color profile preset like dynamic -games etc for games + improve vsr
4 of course corssfire profiles and shadaw play like experience
but put in your mind that they dont do all things for now market strategies
sorry for my very bad english

Last edited by BAZOKA1942; 01-14-2016 at 13:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
sammarbella
Ancient Guru
 
sammarbella's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
Processor: I7 3770 4.1Ghz (H2O)
Mainboard: Asrock xtreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentX CL7 32GB
Soundcard: SB Zx sennheiser PC350SE
PSU: Lepa G1600
Default 01-14-2016, 15:59 | posts: 3,551 | Location: Imagine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAZOKA1942 View Post
hi
plz admin of this site guys (theoneofgod A2Razor sammarbella..) make kind of request petition or so !? to amd official using the admin rights xD + for amdmatt guy but with insistence this time
and made kind of vote of people requests to give to amd :

1- 2- 3- ....
i know that they start changing considering market share and nvidia +game developers ignore amd about low performance tessellation low fps draw calls
the last thing nvidia challenge them about gameworks (witcher3 case) so they start changing
and move their lazy a** but !

we need those in emergency :

1 dynamic vsync
2 triple buffer dx
3 a properly working fps limit and power limit esspecially in video max frequency + in games alot of down clock
4 (bug fixes black screen blue screen etc memory +volt problems hardware acceleration problems etc.. stability the basics for any user)

those they have no excuse about them cause radeon pro japamd already do them by himself

those are optional and advanced supposed easy for amd "advanced micro devices take 10 years "

1 dynamic tessellation like nvidia to down quality when needed
2 maybe smaa type filter or mlaa types no blur one very important
3 color profile preset like dynamic -games etc for games + improve vsr
4 of course corssfire profiles and shadaw play like experience
but put in your mind that they dont do all things for now market strategies
sorry for my very bad english
I'm not Admin or Mod or anything special in here.

Welcome to the "good English" club, mine is "special"

You ask for something PrMinisterGR already tried in this thread:

Overhead will probably not change. What about essential features?

AFAIK AMDMatt is not AMD Rep in here anymore, try AMDJoe but don't expect miracles.

IMHO AMD don't give a s*** about what his GPU customers want from drivers if is something different than fancy backgrounds and social connectors petitions.

Fill in reports over toilet paper have similar effect on drivers than online petitions and reports to AMD but at least with toilet paper you can use them for something useful.

Last edited by sammarbella; 01-14-2016 at 16:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 05-12-2017, 21:55 | posts: 586

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAZOKA1942 View Post
hi
plz admin of this site guys (theoneofgod A2Razor sammarbella..) make kind of request petition or so !? to amd official using the admin rights xD + for amdmatt guy but with insistence this time
and made kind of vote of people requests to give to amd :
1- 2- 3- ....
i know that they start changing considering market share and nvidia +game developers ignore amd about low performance tessellation low fps draw calls
the last thing nvidia challenge them about gameworks (witcher3 case) so they start changing
and move their lazy a** but !

we need those in emergency :

1 dynamic vsync
2 triple buffer dx
3 a properly working fps limit and power limit esspecially in video max frequency + in games alot of down clock
4 (bug fixes black screen blue screen etc memory +volt problems hardware acceleration problems etc.. stability the basics for any user)

those they have no excuse about them cause radeon pro japamd already do them by himself

those are optional and advanced supposed easy for amd "advanced micro devices take 10 years "

1 dynamic tessellation like nvidia to down quality when needed
2 maybe smaa type filter or mlaa types no blur one very important
3 color profile preset like dynamic -games etc for games + improve vsr
4 of course corssfire profiles and shadaw play like experience
but put in your mind that they dont do all things for now market strategies
sorry for my very bad english
Microsoft wants game developers to implement Triple Buffering for VSync in DX titles for fullscreen. If you want the automated way, use Windowed Fullscreen, as TB will be applied automatically by Windows.

Having a forced Triple Buffering in drivers option violates MS's dictate and will prevent driver from getting WHQL certification. This is why neither AMD or NV has this feature.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Thumbs down 05-12-2017, 22:00 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAZOKA1942 View Post
hi
plz admin of this site guys (theoneofgod A2Razor sammarbella..) make kind of request petition or so !? to amd official using the admin rights xD + for amdmatt guy but with insistence this time
and made kind of vote of people requests to give to amd :
1- 2- 3- ....
i know that they start changing considering market share and nvidia +game developers ignore amd about low performance tessellation low fps draw calls
the last thing nvidia challenge them about gameworks (witcher3 case) so they start changing
and move their lazy a** but !

we need those in emergency :

1 dynamic vsync
2 triple buffer dx
3 a properly working fps limit and power limit esspecially in video max frequency + in games alot of down clock
4 (bug fixes black screen blue screen etc memory +volt problems hardware acceleration problems etc.. stability the basics for any user)

those they have no excuse about them cause radeon pro japamd already do them by himself

those are optional and advanced supposed easy for amd "advanced micro devices take 10 years "

1 dynamic tessellation like nvidia to down quality when needed
2 maybe smaa type filter or mlaa types no blur one very important
3 color profile preset like dynamic -games etc for games + improve vsr
4 of course corssfire profiles and shadaw play like experience
but put in your mind that they dont do all things for now market strategies
sorry for my very bad english
This - and subsequent replies - have 0% to do with the topic at hand. Make your own thread and stop spamming this one please.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 05-12-2017, 23:19 | posts: 9,610 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chastity View Post
Microsoft wants...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho3n3r View Post
This - and subsequent replies - have 0% to do with the topic at hand. Make your own thread and stop spamming this one please.

Did you two even bother to look at the post date?

About 1.5 years ago..

Safe to say he's not monitoring this thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Ho3n3r
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 290X Lightning
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Huntkey 700W
Default 05-13-2017, 01:34 | posts: 22 | Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Did you two even bother to look at the post date?

About 1.5 years ago..

Safe to say he's not monitoring this thread.
I am the original poster of this thread, and I have every right to remain subscribed to it, in case somebody posted any new relevant information to it.

So it's not necessary for others to comment in here and start a new discussion in my thread about something totally irrelevant, giving me email alerts.

Nothing is stopping them creating their own threads outside of mine.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.