Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-04-2015, 02:25 | posts: 6,570 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

To completely remove OneDrive from your profile save the following as .bat file and run it:

@echo off
echo Uninstalling OneDrive...
start /wait "" "%SYSTEMROOT%\SYSWOW64\ONEDRIVESETUP.EXE" /UNINSTALL

rd C:\OneDriveTemp /Q /S >NUL 2>&1
rd "%USERPROFILE%\OneDrive" /Q /S >NUL 2>&1
rd "%LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\OneDrive" /Q /S >NUL 2>&1
rd "%PROGRAMDATA%\Microsoft OneDrive" /Q /S >NUL 2>&1

reg add "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{018D5C66-4533-4307-9B53-224DE2ED1FE6}\ShellFolder" /f /v Attributes /t REG_DWORD /d 0 >NUL 2>&1
reg add "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{018D5C66-4533-4307-9B53-224DE2ED1FE6}\ShellFolder" /f /v Attributes /t REG_DWORD /d 0 >NUL 2>&1

echo.
echo OneDrive has been removed. Windows Explorer needs to be restarted.
pause

start /wait TASKKILL /F /IM explorer.exe
start explorer.exe
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
blaugznis
Member Guru
 
blaugznis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1060 6GB
Processor: Intel i5 6500
Mainboard: GA-H110M-S2
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W
Default 08-04-2015, 06:17 | posts: 115 | Location: Latvia

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
My solution to this was Disable Windowupdateclient logs
How to do that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 08-04-2015, 07:42 | posts: 14,883 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
I didnt see it on the upgrade do to i was to busy mess with OS and test my stuff out, but by time I messed stuff up my start menu button by removing all apps from the system, I just reformated and did clean install, did the reg trick to stop driver installs, this when i noticed those error cause I went back to looking at event viewer like 3+ times day out of habit

Though i do have question The few apps i didnt remove cause i did remove them all, Apparently need Firewall to not be disabled or it shoot out an error about cant update them.

Theoraticly "IF" i set firewall to manual and not disabled, Will this stop those errors?

Also my event viewer is missing the TWin/UI log, which is the log that logs those app errors
Likely no because I already have the Windows Firewall enabled, always have, yet I still see those errors. I am also using an upgrade from Windows 8.1 Pro and not a clean install.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-04-2015, 18:28 | posts: 7,337 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Likely no because I already have the Windows Firewall enabled, always have, yet I still see those errors. I am also using an upgrade from Windows 8.1 Pro and not a clean install.
intresting seeing MS seem to say those error are cause Firewall is disabled. maybe some those error are cause I removed some of those apps trying to update? yet again some those apps that try to update/fail to register with firewall have been removed from my user profiles too, my solution was Event Viewer>Application and service logs>Microsoft>Windows>WindowsUpdateCLient>disable logs

Ironicly what was working upto now, no long works even with the above log disabled I get those error clear logs and set firewall back to auto and reboot and the logs/errors are gone

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaugznis View Post
How to do that?

Event Viewer>Application and service logs>Microsoft>Windows>WindowsUpdateCLient>disable logs


Only error i cant seem to get rid of is

The Sync Host_Session1 service terminated unexpectedly. It has done this 1 time(s). The following corrective action will be taken in 10000 milliseconds: Restart the service.

Serives it not listing in services but file it refering too is c:windows\system32\Mobsync.exe

Last edited by tsunami231; 08-04-2015 at 19:33.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ket´s mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 08-04-2015, 20:58 | posts: 3,950 | Location: outside the Box...

yay, someone made a tool..
thx to Jonas Zimmermann

DoNotSpy10
its in german doh, the site..



Quote:
Quote:

Freeware
Current Version: 1.0.0.0
Supports Windows 10
German and English user interface (depending on the system language)
Clean and simple user interface
Lets you easily protect your privacy



DoNotSpy10 is the world’s first antispy tool for Windows 10. Its straight-forward user interface allows you to manage
how Windows 10 respects their privacy. Microsoft introduces many new “diagnostic” features with Windows 10. These services help Microsoft collect
usage data and thus to provide a better service. However, collecting and sharing your data with one of the world’s leading technology companies
puts your privacy at risk. There are services which are able to record your keyboard input, your speech and any other actions of the user. Others share
your WiFi credentials with your contact or connect you to networks shared by your contacts.
DoNotSpy10 provides you with the opportunity to easily manage what you want to share and what not. While many of the settings represent what
you can configure using the Settings and various other apps, there are also tweaks that are not easily accessible through the apps Windows provides.
DoNotSpy10 combines them all in one application – it’s time to protect your privacy, let’s start!



Current Features

Disable Telemetry
Disable Biometrics
Disable Handwriting Data Sharing
Disable Handwriting Error Reporting
Disable Application Telemetry
Disable Inventory Collector
Disable Steps Recorder
Disable enabling Lock Screen Camera
Disable and Reset Cortana
Disable Location
Disable Sensors
Disable Web Search
Disable Windows Media DRM Internet Access
Defer Windows Upgrades
Disable App Notifications
Disable Password Reveal Button
Disable and Reset Advertising ID
Disable SmartScreen Filter for URLs
Disable Sending Writing Info
Disable Access to Language List
Disable App Access to Location Info
Disable App Access to Camera
Disable App Access to Microphone
Disable Getting to know me
Disable App Access to Account Info
Disable App Access to Calendar
Disable App Access to Messages
Disable App Access to Radios
Disable Sync With Devices
Disable Windows Feedback Requestes
Disable Windows Update Sharing
Disable Windows Update for other Products
Disable WiFi Sense
Disable Windows Defender
Disable Automatic Windows Updates
Disable OneDrive
Disable Automatic Driver Update

http://pxc-coding.com/de/portfolio/donotspy10/

have fun

edit:
the installer uses Open Candy, so make shure u read while install it....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 08-05-2015, 04:39 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA View Post
yay, someone made a tool..
thx to Jonas Zimmermann

DoNotSpy10
its in german doh, the site..



Quote:



http://pxc-coding.com/de/portfolio/donotspy10/

have fun

edit:
the installer uses Open Candy, so make shure u read while install it....
Almost all not necessary unless you're paranoid. The only thing I disabled is Cortana because I have no use for it. The WiFi thing is harmless because people have to be in your contacts or network already plus be close enough to use it. The synching is a great feature and OneDrive is completely harmless. The only bad thing could be a forced driver update but the rest is much ado about nothing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-05-2015, 21:27 | posts: 6,570 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dch48 View Post
Almost all not necessary unless you're paranoid. The only thing I disabled is Cortana because I have no use for it. The WiFi thing is harmless because people have to be in your contacts or network already plus be close enough to use it. The synching is a great feature and OneDrive is completely harmless. The only bad thing could be a forced driver update but the rest is much ado about nothing.
If you use a local account many of these features are disabled by default anyways.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 08-05-2015, 21:35 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
If you use a local account many of these features are disabled by default anyways.
Which I will never do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ket´s mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 08-05-2015, 21:46 | posts: 3,950 | Location: outside the Box...

Only for teh true paranoid guys, if u arent one, move along and dont comment on that haha


i finished the "Anti MS" hosts list..
ill put it on pastebin..

--> http://pastebin.com/krsQTypn

WARNING: this (with an modded dnsapi.dll) will/should block all MS connections that we know of atm...

of course there wil be new adresses, so it needs updating..

but all in all, its very good so far, tested one day, and nothing got out..

Of course, UPDATE wont work haha, this is for teh truly paranoid i guess..

the DNSAPI.DLL, im not gonna upload it since it would be dunno, not legal? i should make an tutorial so everyone can do it by himself.. its a system file non teh less.. (safety reasons)

If you guys want...?!?!

greetz BetA

-----------------

EDIT:

just found this...
looks pretty decent, all cms tweaks with information and such...

edit:
the PDF looks pretty ok, lots of stuff..

quote:
Quote:
I would like to present to you Windows 10 Full Optimization guide that includes eradication of Windows 10 spying, bloatware, worthless features, and prevents Windows Update from downloading drivers.

This guide was NOT written/created by me. I simply summarized it for easy application.

Please read the Optimization Guide.pdf to see which tweaks you may want to remove from Optimization Guide Tweak.cmd file (which I included in Windows 10 Full Optimization Guide.zip archive).

Additionally, I suggest disabling IP Helper service, Windows Search service, and TCP/IP BIOS Helper service.

Here's the stand-alone Optimization Guide.pdf
--> https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...on%20Guide.pdf
and here's the Windows 10 Full Optimization guide that includes .cmd, .reg, .exe and other files types to help you fully optimize Windows 10.
--> https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...timization.zip

If you follow this guide and apply these tweaks - you'll have one hell of lean, mean, optimized, and fast OS, the best MS OS to date.
source:
http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=32408


deffo worth a look

Last edited by BetA; 08-06-2015 at 02:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Flakman
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS Strix ROG 1070
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: G.SKILL TridentX 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC892-DTS-CG
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 08-06-2015, 01:23 | posts: 613

Awesome thread, you all are an amazing source of information.

TUVM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
primetime^
Maha Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon RX580
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 08-06-2015, 05:28 | posts: 801 | Location: SC

very nice thread...thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-06-2015, 18:11 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Free Re Install Of The Windows 10 DVD Player

https://matthill.eu/tutorials/instal...d-player-free/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
N0sferatU
Maha Guru
 
N0sferatU's Avatar
 
Videocard: Old Radeon (not gamer)
Processor: Intel Core i7 LGA 2011
Mainboard:
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard: Denon AHD7000 Headphones
PSU: Corsiar
Default 08-06-2015, 18:57 | posts: 1,631 | Location: United States

I don't have the time to read the whole thread at the moment so maybe this was already posted...

If you're running a multi-monitor setups and you move the mouse quickly to a corner where your other monitor is it'll hold there briefly. It screwed me up a few times as I accidentally closed a window thinking I passed the mouse to the next screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
primetime^
Maha Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon RX580
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 08-06-2015, 20:26 | posts: 801 | Location: SC

Extraordinary, I noticed you have 2 options listed for getting windows 10 in your guide. You might should put a brief description as which would be best suited for the person in question. More specifically downloading the ISO versus using the MediaCreationTool. Even i'm not crystal clear on this

Last edited by primetime^; 08-06-2015 at 20:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-06-2015, 21:24 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by primetime^ View Post
Extraordinary, I noticed you have 2 options listed for getting windows 10 in your guide. You might should put a brief description as which would be best suited for the person in question. More specifically downloading the ISO versus using the MediaCreationTool. Even i'm not crystal clear on this
Makes no difference, just alternative ways of doing the same thing really, MCT downloads an ISO, as does the link for downloading the ISO

Difference is, the MCT can make a USB stick for you, or upgrade the machine for you, or just download the ISO - downloading the ISO is if you want to create a USB or DVD manually
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ket´s mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 08-06-2015, 21:31 | posts: 3,950 | Location: outside the Box...

new stuff arrived
and its open source too...

The tools name is: DestroyWindowsSpying

http://filepony.de/download-destroywindowsspying/

newest version: Destroy Windows 10 Spying 1.4.2

its a german expert forum doh, so use an translater..

Quote:
Heres a German Forum with an Tutorial, they also checked it for virus, malware, etc etc..

GERMAN:
Quote:
Quote:
DestroyWindowsSpying – Überwachung in Windows 10 entfernen
--> http://anleitung.trojaner-board.de/d...-entfernen_571

zitat:
Quote:
Diese Anleitung zeigt, wie man mit DestroyWindowsSpying (Destroy Windows 10 Spying) die Überwachungsfunktionen in Windows 10 entfernen kann. Das kostenlose Tool ist kostenlos.

Contents

1 Destroy Windows 10 Spying downloaden
2 Überwachungsfunktionen in Windows 10 entfernen
2.1 Vor DestroyWindowsSpying Benutzung Backup erstellen
3 Was überwacht Windows 10 alles?
4 Vorsicht vor DoNotSpy10 wegen Adware

Destroy Windows 10 Spying downloaden

Laden Sie bitte den DestroyWindowsSpying hier herunter und speichern Sie die Datei auf dem Desktop. Wir haben die Datei analysiert und konnten keinerlei Malware feststellen. Der Quelltext des Tools liegt der Software bei. Das Tool wird auch ständig weiterentwickelt. Die jeweils aktuelle und die vorherigen Versionen können unter dem Download-Link gefunden werden........
more @ link

Have Fun..
edit:
The tool is also "open Source", very nice, done right the first time, haha

the source code comes with the download

some pics:





greetz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
Mr_ALLroy
Maha Guru
 
Mr_ALLroy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-6700k @4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: CMD32GX4M2B3000C15
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Corsair HX1000i
Default 08-06-2015, 23:37 | posts: 1,961 | Location: Calgary Canada®

@ BetA,

I can't find info on what exactly the "Remove Windows 10 Spying" is doing or removing. Is there a complete list of this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ket´s mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 08-06-2015, 23:50 | posts: 3,950 | Location: outside the Box...

heres a bit more info on it..
but its also in german, sorry...

http://anleitung.trojaner-board.de/d...ows-10-spying#


if you scroll down a bit you can see 3 buttons, hosts, tasks and apps. when you click on it you see what it does there.. the rest use an translator..

greetz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
BMfan
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9290 Tri-x OC
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
Memory: Kingston2400 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 08-07-2015, 00:18 | posts: 6 | Location: Capetown

Thank you for this thread.

I'm hoping someone can help me.
i have MPC-HC pinned to my taskbar and i pin a variety of shows to it,unfortunately it only has a limit of 11 items pinned and recent.
Is there any way that i can increase that amount to 20 recent items?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-07-2015, 01:29 | posts: 6,570 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

If anyone is having problems with Microsoft Office 2013, or it is not behaving properly when using with Windows 10, download and install the following tool to help diagnose any problems:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=36852
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-07-2015, 01:37 | posts: 7,337 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
If anyone is having problems with Microsoft Office 2013, or it is not behaving properly when using with Windows 10, download and install the following tool to help diagnose any problems:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=36852
I stopped using MS office years ago, I use OpenOffice now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
primetime^
Maha Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon RX580
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 08-07-2015, 02:06 | posts: 801 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
I stopped using MS office years ago, I use OpenOffice now
How does it compare to wps office?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-07-2015, 02:23 | posts: 6,570 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
I stopped using MS office years ago, I use OpenOffice now
So......What is your point? Who cares if you use open office. If there are others like me who happen to use Office 2013 they may find that tool useful in diagnosing some of the issues they may have when migrating to Windows 10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 08-07-2015, 02:24 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
If anyone is having problems with Microsoft Office 2013, or it is not behaving properly when using with Windows 10, download and install the following tool to help diagnose any problems:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=36852
My Office 2007 things are working perfectly. I only use Word and Outlook though.

I have tried other things like Open Office, which is not compatible with all Office files even though it claims to be. Kingsoft, which is okay. LibreOffice (basically the same as Open Office). Nothing beats the real thing and 2007 is good enough for me. I actually preferred the 2003 version because it didn't have the ribbon interface yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-07-2015, 02:31 | posts: 6,570 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dch48 View Post
My Office 2007 things are working perfectly. I only use Word and Outlook though.

I have tried other things like Open Office, which is not compatible with all Office files even though it claims to be. Kingsoft, which is okay. LibreOffice (basically the same as Open Office). Nothing beats the real thing and 2007 is good enough for me. I actually preferred the 2003 version because it didn't have the ribbon interface yet.
Nice. I was having issues with the Outlook connector as it kept installing an older version and e-mail accounts wouldn't sync properly with MS Office 2013. I did some digging and found that tool which helped rectify the problem. I like Office and only started using it in recent years because I was able to get it for free through school. Before that I used the free stuff. Now, the more I use MS Office the more I find how lacking the open-source stuff can be at times.

Last edited by pimp_gimp; 08-07-2015 at 02:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.