Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
Noisiv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 ACIV 1150/1500MHz
Processor: i5-4590
Mainboard: ECS Z97 Machine
Memory: 16GB HyperX 2400MHz
Soundcard: Teac UD-501->JBL LSR308
PSU: Silent Pro M700
Default 06-01-2015, 17:21 | posts: 5,816

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammarbella View Post
Try asder00 modded driver versions.
It also includes VSR.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
I believe that you can install any driver, try Wagnard's VSR Unlocker program, and then try using the dlls in the game folders.
Thanks. I did not know about any of this.
hmm, have to think about it. so many options when you have AMD...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 17:22 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

@Noisiv, you can try this

...this is my personal tweak which I apply with every driver to add 2560x1440 to 1080p, 2720x1530 to 1080p resolutions. Tho I can't tell if it works for your particular hw.

-Install any AMD Catalyst driver
-Restart
-Apply provided .reg tweak
-Restart
-Check for new resolutions.

Note: VSR (if present) must be unchecked. GPU up-scaling must be uncheck.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
Noisiv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 ACIV 1150/1500MHz
Processor: i5-4590
Mainboard: ECS Z97 Machine
Memory: 16GB HyperX 2400MHz
Soundcard: Teac UD-501->JBL LSR308
PSU: Silent Pro M700
Default 06-01-2015, 17:27 | posts: 5,816

yay ^^ ... even better
That way I can see what's going on and revert back to "official", just by deleting reg entry.

Where this comes from? Is this some custom stuff or just a pointer to present, but disabled VSR in Win 10?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
sammarbella
Ancient Guru
 
sammarbella's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
Processor: I7 3770 4.1Ghz (H2O)
Mainboard: Asrock xtreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentX CL7 32GB
Soundcard: SB Zx sennheiser PC350SE
PSU: Lepa G1600
Default 06-01-2015, 17:31 | posts: 3,550 | Location: Imagine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noisiv View Post
so many options when you have AMD...
This must be an irony from your part, the only options we have are modded and hacked ones!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 17:35 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noisiv View Post
yay ^^ ... even better
That way I can see what's going on and revert back to "official", just by deleting reg entry.

Where this comes from? Is this some custom stuff or just a pointer to disabled VSR in Win 10?
I made it long time ago to match my reg names...it's a famous "ModeTimingOverrides" reg tweak.

Btw, if your reg names are different, you can check for your particular "DAL2_DATA__2_0\Common\EDID_C41_C07F" and add "ModeTimingOverrides_DVI_Conn12546" to yours. Also, if your "DVI_Conn12546" have another numbers, just rename it to much yours...you will see it in reg file of mine...also, in your registry in here ---

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Cl ass\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

...it's not that hard. Just watch for matched names.

PS. Custom resolutions stored in "ModeTimingOverrides_DVI_Conn12546" string.

Last edited by fr33jack; 06-01-2015 at 17:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Noisiv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 ACIV 1150/1500MHz
Processor: i5-4590
Mainboard: ECS Z97 Machine
Memory: 16GB HyperX 2400MHz
Soundcard: Teac UD-501->JBL LSR308
PSU: Silent Pro M700
Default 06-01-2015, 17:51 | posts: 5,816

Oh I see what your reg did... you added VSR to my Intel 4600
to 0000, instead to 0001 (R9 290)

Another try...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 17:54 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Tho it's not a truly VSR...it's a "downsampling" tweak
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
sammarbella
Ancient Guru
 
sammarbella's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
Processor: I7 3770 4.1Ghz (H2O)
Mainboard: Asrock xtreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentX CL7 32GB
Soundcard: SB Zx sennheiser PC350SE
PSU: Lepa G1600
Default 06-01-2015, 18:18 | posts: 3,550 | Location: Imagine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
Tho it's not a truly VSR...it's a "downsampling" tweak
Really?

I don't see the real difference, the supposed "true" VSR has also reg values similar to these in the registry.

I don't believe the "hardware" and "software" VSR versions are different.

AMD explained VSR as a "hardware" only feature.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-01-2015, 18:22 | posts: 6,845

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammarbella View Post
Really?

I don't see the real difference, the supposed "true" VSR has also reg values similar to these in the registry.

I don't believe the "hardware" and "software" VSR versions are different.

AMD explained VSR as a "hardware" only feature.
The version that the 285 has is using the onboard video processing hardware to downsample with a filter from 4k, as far as I understand. The one we get is done through software.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
sammarbella
Ancient Guru
 
sammarbella's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
Processor: I7 3770 4.1Ghz (H2O)
Mainboard: Asrock xtreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentX CL7 32GB
Soundcard: SB Zx sennheiser PC350SE
PSU: Lepa G1600
Default 06-01-2015, 18:26 | posts: 3,550 | Location: Imagine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
The version that the 285 has is using the onboard video processing hardware to downsample with a filter from 4k, as far as I understand. The one we get is done through software.
So the 4K VSR we get on 290(X)295X2 using modded drivers is "software" VSR?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
zerowalker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD R9 380
Processor: i5 760 4ghz
Mainboard: P7P55D-E PRO
Memory: DDR3 8gb
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: 750 Watt
Default 06-01-2015, 18:27 | posts: 350

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
The version that the 285 has is using the onboard video processing hardware to downsample with a filter from 4k, as far as I understand. The one we get is done through software.
What does that even mean, that 285 used a set hardware filter and software uses another filter?

Results are the same (except for the filter);S
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-01-2015, 18:30 | posts: 6,845

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammarbella View Post
So the 4K VSR we get on 290(X)295X2 using modded drivers is "software" VSR?
Yeap. We don't get the VSR downsampling filter from the video unit, and that's it. Performance should be more or less the same, the quality should be better with the hardware. VSR when in hardware DOES look better than NVIDIA's DSR, but even us without the hardware support, get at least equal quality to NVIDIA with DSR.

I'm starting to wonder if my card is limited to 1440p BECAUSE it's doing it on hardware. I don't have any way of proving/disproving it though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
zerowalker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD R9 380
Processor: i5 760 4ghz
Mainboard: P7P55D-E PRO
Memory: DDR3 8gb
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: 750 Watt
Default 06-01-2015, 18:40 | posts: 350

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
Yeap. We don't get the VSR downsampling filter from the video unit, and that's it. Performance should be more or less the same, the quality should be better with the hardware. VSR when in hardware DOES look better than NVIDIA's DSR, but even us without the hardware support, get at least equal quality to NVIDIA with DSR.

I'm starting to wonder if my card is limited to 1440p BECAUSE it's doing it on hardware. I don't have any way of proving/disproving it though.
Well thing about Hardware is that it's limited.
You can't change filtering if it's not there.
Software it's possible to use anything, they could probably do some OpenCL version of Spline or whatever.

My card 6970 when VSR works (which is with normal drivers + VSR mod) is limited to 1600p, which i also think it's the hardware limit of this GPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-01-2015, 18:52 | posts: 6,845

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerowalker View Post
Well thing about Hardware is that it's limited.
You can't change filtering if it's not there.
Software it's possible to use anything, they could probably do some OpenCL version of Spline or whatever.

My card 6970 when VSR works (which is with normal drivers + VSR mod) is limited to 1600p, which i also think it's the hardware limit of this GPU.
I wish there was a test program or something, with which we could detect the downsampling filters used.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 18:54 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammarbella View Post
Really?

I don't see the real difference, the supposed "true" VSR has also reg values similar to these in the registry.

I don't believe the "hardware" and "software" VSR versions are different.

AMD explained VSR as a "hardware" only feature.
I meant...you don't have an "VSR" option switch in CCC with these reg downsampling tweaks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
sammarbella
Ancient Guru
 
sammarbella's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
Processor: I7 3770 4.1Ghz (H2O)
Mainboard: Asrock xtreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentX CL7 32GB
Soundcard: SB Zx sennheiser PC350SE
PSU: Lepa G1600
Default 06-01-2015, 18:58 | posts: 3,550 | Location: Imagine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
Yeap. We don't get the VSR downsampling filter from the video unit, and that's it. Performance should be more or less the same, the quality should be better with the hardware. VSR when in hardware DOES look better than NVIDIA's DSR, but even us without the hardware support, get at least equal quality to NVIDIA with DSR.

I'm starting to wonder if my card is limited to 1440p BECAUSE it's doing it on hardware. I don't have any way of proving/disproving it though.
Thanks for the link (who also link to another link ) interesting videos to see the real difference between the two solutions.

Nobody is saying DSR is better which is clearly not but as you said properly VSR is better than DSR only when it's present.

Obviously even GeDoSaTo 4K is better than VSR when there is no 4K VSR avalaible!

What i don't see in any article is a demonstration of this "software" VSR been really different than the "hardware" VSR.

If this was real the 4K VSR additional res i have in my 290X while using modded drivers will be different than the up to 3200x1800 i get from official drivers.

There is something strange in this because when CFX is enabled in my 290X using modded drivers who allow 4K VSR in single GPU none VSR works even the "official" "hardware" ones supported by official drivers are broke.(up to 1800p).

???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 19:18 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

So, R9 3xx-Fiji dll's are the absolutely stellar rock solid best dll's for GTA5 atm. What about Witcher 3?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
Krelianz
Member Guru
 
Krelianz's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290x
Processor: Intel i5 4590
Mainboard: Asus z97 m plus
Memory: 16 gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 750 w TT
Default 06-01-2015, 19:26 | posts: 112

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
So, R9 3xx-Fiji dll's are the absolutely stellar rock solid best dll's for GTA5 atm. What about Witcher 3?
I think a database for best driver dll/game would be awesome for these dlls.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
Atlas
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 290 x2, Saphire reference
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.6 / H80i p/p
Mainboard: MSI gaming 5
Memory: 16GB Crucial BX Sport
Soundcard: Onboard / Phillips
PSU: Silverstone Zeus - 1350 W
Default 06-01-2015, 19:32 | posts: 1,370 | Location: The Netherlands

Hmm, playing the devils advocate here but do you (PRMinisterGR) take copyright into account for the dll's? I don't know AMD's stance on this but just wanted to give you a heads up.

Excellent work btw

Last edited by Atlas; 06-01-2015 at 19:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
Atlas
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 290 x2, Saphire reference
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.6 / H80i p/p
Mainboard: MSI gaming 5
Memory: 16GB Crucial BX Sport
Soundcard: Onboard / Phillips
PSU: Silverstone Zeus - 1350 W
Default 06-01-2015, 19:35 | posts: 1,370 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krelianz View Post
I think a database for best driver dll/game would be awesome for these dlls.
Why (nofi)? I always believed that the current version of a driver (DirectX that is) has the best performance for old games, but I could be wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 19:36 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

So, we need another thread...with person in charge who will be updating game table with new data...

Anyone? Who wants an 295X2 from AMD? @Matt, can you provide such reward?

I would agree to...but I need a good cpu currently...an FX octa or such...8300 will do just fine.

...@Matt?

Last edited by fr33jack; 06-01-2015 at 19:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
Atlas
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 290 x2, Saphire reference
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.6 / H80i p/p
Mainboard: MSI gaming 5
Memory: 16GB Crucial BX Sport
Soundcard: Onboard / Phillips
PSU: Silverstone Zeus - 1350 W
Default 06-01-2015, 19:38 | posts: 1,370 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
So, we need another thread...with person in charge who will be updating game table with new data...

Anyone? Who wants an 295X2 from AMD? @Matt, can you provide such reward?

I would agree to...but I need a good cpu currently...an FX octa or such.
...@Matt?
So, ask for an AMD octacore to be included with the 295X2
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-01-2015, 19:39 | posts: 6,845

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
So, R9 3xx-Fiji dll's are the absolutely stellar rock solid best dll's for GTA5 atm. What about Witcher 3?
How do we know that? Did I miss something? (I probably did, please point to me).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krelianz View Post
I think a database for best driver dll/game would be awesome for these dlls.
That's the idea, I want to put something like that in the repository, but that would need a lot of help, and we should do some standardized testing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlas View Post
Hmm, playing the devils advocate here but do you (PRMinisterGR) take copyright into account for the dll's? I don't know AMD's stance on this but just wanted to give you a heads up.
Excellent work btw
The copyright is obviously not mine, but AMD's. The DLLs are as legal as a mirror for drivers from any website is. I get no income from them, on the contrary I'm spending my time to maintain them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 19:40 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlas View Post
So, ask for an AMD octacore to be included with the 295X2
Nah...it's just too greedy. I'm not a greedy guy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-01-2015, 19:50 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
How do we know that? Did I miss something? (I probably did, please point to me).
AMD Catalyst 15.x (15.200.0.0 May 5) R9 300 Driver - AllCards MOD thread? Those are the R9 3xx-Fiji's from your Repository, right? I saw some posts from people claimed to be r9 300 the best GTA 5 driver's atm. Some people advised me to try it out...I was. I agreed. I convinced
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.