Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Dolby Atmos
Old
  (#1)
ASLayerAODsk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus R9 390 8Gig Strix
Processor: Intel i7 4820k 3.7/3.9 WC
Mainboard: Asus P9X79LE
Memory: DDR3 32G Patriot 1600
Soundcard: B&W804D/OnkyoNR737Atmos
PSU: CMaster SilentPro 1Kw
Default Dolby Atmos - 03-16-2015, 00:26 | posts: 762 | Location: Canada

So anyone else have Atmos on their PC? what software would you recommend for blurays?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: DenonAVR-4311CI 7.3ch+FH
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 03-16-2015, 01:00 | posts: 4,509 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASLayerAODsk View Post
So anyone else have Atmos on their PC? what software would you recommend for blurays?
I have read up a bit about Atmos. seems as though it just adds in channels and a few other things. Software for blurays, I recommend Total Media Theatre by Arcsoft. Brilliant piece of software

regards
,RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2100/5556
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Jotunheim BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 03-16-2015, 04:41 | posts: 5,894 | Location: Southfield,MI

I use Windvd 11 my self and it been working flawlessly for me,where Powerdvd usually give me issues.I have used Total media theatre as well and it is really great software but I used it back when I had a Asus Xonar HDAV 1.3.

But sadly Total Media Theatre is not longer maintained or updated they even stop creating it. You can't even get it on the site any more let around buy it. The only software they now maintain is their photo software, its like they left the media sector behind.

Last edited by GenClaymore; 03-16-2015 at 04:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: DenonAVR-4311CI 7.3ch+FH
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 03-16-2015, 04:53 | posts: 4,509 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenClaymore View Post
I use Windvd 11 my self and it been working flawlessly for me,where Powerdvd usually give me issues.I have used Total media theatre as well and it is really great software but I used it back when I had a Asus Xonar HDAV 1.3.

But sadly Total Media Theatre is not longer maintained or updated they even stop creating it. You can't even get it on the site any more let around buy it. The only software they now maintain is their photo software, its like they left the media sector behind.
Oh well, they might offer it for free now, bonus
So, Powerdvd and WinDVD are the 2 that are left...

regards
,RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 03-16-2015, 05:16 | posts: 2,143 | Location: Babylon 5

So you can get Dolby Atmos via software player? My friend had gotten a flagship Onkyo receiver with Dolby Atmos, borrowed a number of Blurays from my collection to test Atmos. IIRC, he borrowed Gravity, John Wick and Guardians of the Galaxy and a couple more......I think, since he's an old friend, I trust that he'll return the disc when he's done.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: DenonAVR-4311CI 7.3ch+FH
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 03-16-2015, 05:19 | posts: 4,509 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeysg View Post
So you can get Dolby Atmos via software player? My friend had gotten a flagship Onkyo receiver with Dolby Atmos, borrowed a number of Blurays from my collection to test Atmos. IIRC, he borrowed Gravity, John Wick and Guardians of the Galaxy and a couple more......I think, since he's an old friend, I trust that he'll return the disc when he's done.
Cool, well Dolby atmos isn't in the software, it's a special ability to add more and more channels, within a Dolby atmos receiver...


regards,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 03-20-2015, 19:00 | posts: 852 | Location: Orange County, CA

Are any discs actually encoded with Atmos, or is it only virtually added in by the receiver?

I believe it adds some height channels iirc?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
mezball
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX1070 FTW ACX 3.0
Processor: 3770K Delid @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 16Gb G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: SBz/Klipsch 5.1/AD700X
PSU: eVga SuperNova G3 1000w
Default 03-21-2015, 02:17 | posts: 483 | Location: Albany, NY

Atmos is software and hardware based. Youíll need a new Atmos-enabled receiver/processor with a renderer that takes the meta-data found in audio of supporting movies and pushes it to not only to the ceiling speakers, but also the rest of your home theatre speakers.

Youíll need to purchase Atmos-enabled ceiling mounted speakers or Atmos-enabled speakers that point up and bounce the sound off the ceiling, itís the same result and it recreates the same 3D audio environment. Also, you will need Dolby Atmos enabled movies:

http://www.dolby.com/us/en/experienc...os/movies.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 03-21-2015, 03:27 | posts: 2,143 | Location: Babylon 5

Yep, he told me hat he'd had to buy a pair of speakers to add to his present speaker setup when he'd gotten his Onkyo receiver. Oh yes, I think he'd taken Lucy and TMNT from me as well.....at least, I don't see them in my collection anymore.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 03-22-2015, 04:58 | posts: 852 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezball View Post
Atmos is software and hardware based. Youíll need a new Atmos-enabled receiver/processor with a renderer that takes the meta-data found in audio of supporting movies and pushes it to not only to the ceiling speakers, but also the rest of your home theatre speakers.

Youíll need to purchase Atmos-enabled ceiling mounted speakers or Atmos-enabled speakers that point up and bounce the sound off the ceiling, itís the same result and it recreates the same 3D audio environment. Also, you will need Dolby Atmos enabled movies:

http://www.dolby.com/us/en/experienc...os/movies.html
So there is Atmos-specific encoding on the disc itself then.

Although "Atmos-Enabled" speaker...? That just sounds like a THX stamp of approval. I can't imagine it not working well with any decent ceiling speaker.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
mezball
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX1070 FTW ACX 3.0
Processor: 3770K Delid @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 16Gb G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: SBz/Klipsch 5.1/AD700X
PSU: eVga SuperNova G3 1000w
Default 03-22-2015, 18:43 | posts: 483 | Location: Albany, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by automaticman View Post
So there is Atmos-specific encoding on the disc itself then.

Although "Atmos-Enabled" speaker...? That just sounds like a THX stamp of approval. I can't imagine it not working well with any decent ceiling speaker.

THX certification is outdated, and certainly doesn't warrant the hefty license fee. Most, if not all good quaility AVR/processor's and speaker's made today far exceed THX standards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 03-22-2015, 19:58 | posts: 852 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezball View Post
THX certification is outdated, and certainly doesn't warrant the hefty license fee. Most, if not all good quaility AVR/processor's and speaker's made today far exceed THX standards.
Right, I was just pointing out that the term "Atmos-Enabled" makes it sound like it will not work with other speakers, when I doubt that is really the case.
   
Reply With Quote
5 Reasons Dolby Atmos May Be DOA
Old
  (#13)
mezball
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX1070 FTW ACX 3.0
Processor: 3770K Delid @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 16Gb G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: SBz/Klipsch 5.1/AD700X
PSU: eVga SuperNova G3 1000w
Default 5 Reasons Dolby Atmos May Be DOA - 03-24-2015, 00:40 | posts: 483 | Location: Albany, NY

Not to pee on anyone's parade, but this is a good read, and let us see where all this goes in a year or two.

http://www.audioholics.com/audio-tec...y-atmos-is-doa
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 03-24-2015, 03:49 | posts: 852 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezball View Post
Not to pee on anyone's parade, but this is a good read, and let us see where all this goes in a year or two.

http://www.audioholics.com/audio-tec...y-atmos-is-doa
If you're going to post that link, you might as well post the counter-point article:

http://www.audioholics.com/audio-tec...s-will-succeed


Both are worth reading.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
akbaar
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700k @4.6
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VIII IMPACT
Memory: 32gb G.SKILL 3200 CL14 1T
Soundcard: SupremeFX Impact III
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 05-12-2017, 04:51 | posts: 218 | Location: Middle East Region

arent ATMOS is the same as sonic studio 2 offered buy ASUS software? do they realy do the same job in headphones?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.