Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Consoles & console games
Consoles & console games This section is for all hardcore console gamers out there .. XBOX 360, PlayStation 3, Wii Threads with posts in January 2007 can be found in General Hardware



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 01-06-2015, 21:59 | posts: 2,056 | Location: Chicago

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatman839 View Post
I would say don't bother yet, unless a console ships with a peripheral developers won't really use it.

Sony may well release that morpheus VR kit to be compatible with ps4, but as to whether games use it or not is another question.
I hope it gets support, but also works well. I've used nvidia's 3d vision and oculus blows it out of the water. There's no ghosting whatsoever, which was the main detractor for me while using nvidia's 3d.

I went in expecting it to suck and it really left me impressed. Unfortunately, even Oculus seems a year or two off from retail. Having messed with the sdk 2, it's 30% playing and 70% fixing/tweaking/re-working/adjusting/still erroring out. When it works it's great though. I guess my only complaint is even the newer v2 model still had a pretty low res screen, it reminded me of an old crt @ 1024x768.

It's this kind of tweaking crap that Oculus will always have that I'm hoping the console version can avoid with consoles typically being more simplistic for users. I just don't have the patience to mess with the stuff like I did when I was younger.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: GT 840M
Processor: I5 4210M 3.2GHz
Mainboard: -
Memory: DD3L 8G
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster
PSU: -
Default 01-06-2015, 23:58 | posts: 4,876

Quote:
Originally Posted by SerotoNiN View Post
I hope it gets support, but also works well. I've used nvidia's 3d vision and oculus blows it out of the water. There's no ghosting whatsoever, which was the main detractor for me while using nvidia's 3d.

I went in expecting it to suck and it really left me impressed. Unfortunately, even Oculus seems a year or two off from retail. Having messed with the sdk 2, it's 30% playing and 70% fixing/tweaking/re-working/adjusting/still erroring out. When it works it's great though. I guess my only complaint is even the newer v2 model still had a pretty low res screen, it reminded me of an old crt @ 1024x768.

It's this kind of tweaking crap that Oculus will always have that I'm hoping the console version can avoid with consoles typically being more simplistic for users. I just don't have the patience to mess with the stuff like I did when I was younger.
In all honestly I can't see VR ever being a success. Why? Well for a few reasons. The first one being the limit time you can spend wearing one. What stress it puts on the eyes or other parts of the head for extending periods. The other big reason being the person wearing it looks like a complete fool using it to anyone else looking on. It is also incredibly anti social.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 01-07-2015, 00:11 | posts: 13,141 | Location: Scotland

It also needs to fix the whole eyesight problems thing, for oculus you'd pretty much need to wear contact lenses.

Not to mention it wouldn't work well with half deaf poeple compared to a normal speaker system
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 01-07-2015, 13:33 | posts: 1,095 | Location: England

Didn't really realise how worn out my DS4 was until I bought a second controller, buttons on the new one feel so much tighter and the sticks feel far more grippy. My old DS4 was a launch model so it could be that they've adjusted the design since then.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill x4
Processor: 2600k HT@4 .5 + NZXT X61
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic 750 Watt
Default 01-07-2015, 13:52 | posts: 26,550 | Location: Netherlands

yes there have been 1 or 2 revisions already
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
(.)(.)
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i72600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence 10gb
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 01-07-2015, 20:35 | posts: 9,098 | Location: NZ

Thought PS4 owners might be interested in these new Nyko PS4 peripherals:
source:Eurogamer

Data Bank

Quote:
"The solution eliminates the need for an external hard-drive, which currently cannot support game installs or save data," Nyko said at CES this week.

"This also allows for larger storage, faster running speeds and less expensive prices found with 3.5" hard-drives.

"The design of the replacement dock lid seamlessly matches the minimalist design of the PS4. Once a 3.5" drive is slid into the Data Bank, a built-in LED strip illuminates while the console is accessing its memory."
Keyboard

Quote:
Meanwhile, Nyko also announced the Type Pad, due out during the first half of 2015. This Bluetooth device attaches to the bottom of a DualShock 4 controller. There's even a mini-analog nub.
Quote:
There's no price or release date yet, but we expect the Data Bank to launch during the first half of 2015. - Eurogamer
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 01-07-2015, 20:40 | posts: 13,141 | Location: Scotland

Interesting case thing, looks a bit tacky, should match the matte on the front and just be shiny on top.

Still, shouldn't need it, sony just need to allow saving to external HDD, it's not as if USB3.0 isn't good enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 01-07-2015, 21:01 | posts: 2,056 | Location: Chicago

I still don't understand how you make a console that requires game installs and push it to retail with 500GB. They should have had 1TB to start. I'd of gladly paid a little more at launch to just have the space.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
(.)(.)
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i72600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence 10gb
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 01-07-2015, 21:08 | posts: 9,098 | Location: NZ

Unless you go 2nd hand, its cheaper to buy a 1tb HDD new these days than a 500gb new, as most retailers will need to make a special order to stock such a redundant storage size.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 01-08-2015, 01:11 | posts: 1,095 | Location: England

I don't really see the HDD size being that big of a problem really, they're cheap enough these days and upgrading the stock drive takes no time at all. Even easier now with update 2.00, you can backup the whole drive before installing the new HDD, which means you don't have to spend hours downloading all your games again which is always a plus.

I don't like the idea of having an external hard drive taking up a USB port all the time, wouldn't be so bad if the PS4 had a rear USB port so it was hidden away.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
Fender178
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 FTW 2113/8996
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 32Gb 2133
Soundcard: RealTek AC1150
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 01-08-2015, 01:20 | posts: 3,273 | Location: Pennsylvania

I know this that I will need to upgrade my PS4's hard drive if my PS4 game library expands to where my PS3 library is at right now. At some point I am hoping to get at least a 2tb for my PS4 unless Sony allows us to install our games to an external drive. What Sony can do to allow us to be able to install our games to an external HDD is have a console specific format where nothing but that console can read that. That is how the Wii-U handles external hard drives and that is how cable/satellite providers such as Dish Network handles external hard drives with their DVRs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: GT 840M
Processor: I5 4210M 3.2GHz
Mainboard: -
Memory: DD3L 8G
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster
PSU: -
Default 01-08-2015, 10:22 | posts: 4,876

500gb of storage should be enough if you tend to buy physical copies of game instead of downloading. I added a 1TB SSHD a couple of months back myself as it offered better performance over the default one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill x4
Processor: 2600k HT@4 .5 + NZXT X61
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic 750 Watt
Default 01-08-2015, 11:35 | posts: 26,550 | Location: Netherlands

Sony already did think about how it would not be enough space.
thats why its so easy to swap a HDD , with even instruction videos from sony out the very first day it was released.
The decision was purely based on money saving.
I can see my 500GB HDD getting filled , especially when larger games become available through PSN+

Now for the last year, mostly indie games or small games have been released so its not a problem yet, but i can see it becoming one.

Im also gonna put a 2TB drive in there in the future. i thought about getting 1TB one, but i figured it would be a waste of money atm since i dont even fill 500GB yet, and by the time it would the 2TB ones would probably be the same price as the 1TB when i thought about getting one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
Fender178
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 FTW 2113/8996
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 32Gb 2133
Soundcard: RealTek AC1150
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 01-08-2015, 17:28 | posts: 3,273 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
500gb of storage should be enough if you tend to buy physical copies of game instead of downloading. I added a 1TB SSHD a couple of months back myself as it offered better performance over the default one.
Yeah 500gb should be enough for physical libraries which the rest of my games will be. But I may upgrade HDD in the future. My Ps3 still has its stock 250gb HDD and I have a few PSN games including 2 PS1 games and 1 PS3 game snd a PS3 arcade game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
Kodiak33
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 6950 2GB
Processor: Intel 2600 3.4Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default 01-08-2015, 17:57 | posts: 251

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
500gb of storage should be enough if you tend to buy physical copies of game instead of downloading. I added a 1TB SSHD a couple of months back myself as it offered better performance over the default one.
Not sure if this is always true, typically the game will fully install whether or not you have the disc or not. NBA 2K14 was about 50 gigs if I remember correctly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 01-08-2015, 18:11 | posts: 13,141 | Location: Scotland

Yep, all games do full installs of their discs, discs are used for authentication really.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
Megabiv
Master Guru
 
Megabiv's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980Ti SLI (h²o)
Processor: i7 6700K (h²o)
Mainboard: Asus Z170-PRO
Memory: 32GB Corsair 3000Mhz
Soundcard: XonarD2X¦Microlab Solo7C
PSU: CM V1200
Default 01-08-2015, 22:50 | posts: 791 | Location: Worcester UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatman839 View Post
Yep, all games do full installs of their discs, discs are used for authentication really.
Just as well the installs are pretty quick considering what it was like on the PS3 and X360 before it. I've already filled my 500gb drive up but when i look at the games installed it's stuff i haven't played for months (MGS5/KillZone/WatchDogs/Wolfenstein) so simply removed them. As mentioned previously by others a 2tb drive is the way to go in the long run.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 01-08-2015, 23:09 | posts: 13,141 | Location: Scotland

Installs take a while tbh, but most games start up from the disc and play while it finishes the install, I thought second sun ran from the disc because the disc noise is so loud, after a while it eventually stopped once it finished installing.

GTA 5 is an exception I know of, so install is up front and takes about 30 mins
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 01-09-2015, 00:09 | posts: 7,562 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megabiv View Post
Just as well the installs are pretty quick considering what it was like on the PS3 and X360 before it. I've already filled my 500gb drive up but when i look at the games installed it's stuff i haven't played for months (MGS5/KillZone/WatchDogs/Wolfenstein) so simply removed them. As mentioned previously by others a 2tb drive is the way to go in the long run.
That works great so long as there not digital download. cause then youw ould have download them again.

500gb is not longer big enough hell 1tb-3tb ist being enough with the size games are these days. and the 5400rp drives they use are just as bad they need to start using 7200 rpm drives so the load times are as horrid as they are still,




   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 01-09-2015, 03:22 | posts: 9,279 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

I can't say i ever had an issue with space. Even with my PS3 which only had a 120GB hard drive, i don't remember ever running out of space. I also don't tend to keep a plethora of games on hand. I usually trade in the ones i haven't touched in a while towards new ones coming out. Pretty much the only ones that stay are the digital downloads. Same trend is happening with the PS4, though i DID upgrade the 500GB HDD to a 1TB SSHDD fairly early on. Helped a bit with performance.

tsunami: I'm pretty sure the main reasons for using 5400RPM drives instead of 7200 are a) lower cost... just like sticking to 500GB, b) less operational noise, and c) less potential heat. I mean hell... it's quite a bit more powerful than the PS3 was, crammed into a smaller package than even the PS3 Slim was. You could always install your own 7200RPM drive if you wanted to, or do what the vast majority are doing.... SSHDD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
Fender178
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 FTW 2113/8996
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 32Gb 2133
Soundcard: RealTek AC1150
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 01-09-2015, 03:46 | posts: 3,273 | Location: Pennsylvania

Well here is something interesting. Some user over at the GameFaqs forums did what exactly Nyko Data bank is supposed to do being able to use 3.5 HDD using an external hard drive caddy and a SATA 7pin male-female cable. He used a 6TB HDD and it worked with the PS4 and you will have 5.4 TB of usable space.
http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/69108...ion-4/69429669
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 01-09-2015, 05:27 | posts: 7,562 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementalDragon View Post
I can't say i ever had an issue with space. Even with my PS3 which only had a 120GB hard drive, i don't remember ever running out of space. I also don't tend to keep a plethora of games on hand. I usually trade in the ones i haven't touched in a while towards new ones coming out. Pretty much the only ones that stay are the digital downloads. Same trend is happening with the PS4, though i DID upgrade the 500GB HDD to a 1TB SSHDD fairly early on. Helped a bit with performance.

tsunami: I'm pretty sure the main reasons for using 5400RPM drives instead of 7200 are a) lower cost... just like sticking to 500GB, b) less operational noise, and c) less potential heat. I mean hell... it's quite a bit more powerful than the PS3 was, crammed into a smaller package than even the PS3 Slim was. You could always install your own 7200RPM drive if you wanted to, or do what the vast majority are doing.... SSHDD.

IF you sub to psn + and download every game for that said system every month the space will disapear quick, if you did 120gb would not be enough in less then 2 years my ps3 with 320gb drive became to small. that is from ps3 ps+ games alone forget about the 40+ disc base games i have that actual have installs too. and the 500gb on the ps4 will be gone in less time considering the size of ps4 games about 40gbs a pop.

ps4 is more powerfull yes but uses the same default slow ass hdd the ps3 uses and most laptops use.

IF ssd where actual cheaper per gb mean in could get 1 tb for like 150gb i would buy one them for both systems and have loading time worthy of such powerfull systems

Last edited by tsunami231; 01-09-2015 at 05:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 01-09-2015, 07:26 | posts: 9,279 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

.... never said anything about SSD. SSHDD. Hybrid drive. Does seem to help a bit with load times.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 01-09-2015, 19:04 | posts: 7,562 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementalDragon View Post
.... never said anything about SSD. SSHDD. Hybrid drive. Does seem to help a bit with load times.
I know what SSHDD those do nothing more then cache the most use files to the ssd, just like hhd cache said files to its onboard cache. yes there faster then hdd 7200rpm but not enough to warrant the extra price tag on them much like ssd.

If the extra price worth to others great , for me they are not.

Last edited by tsunami231; 01-09-2015 at 19:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 01-09-2015, 21:57 | posts: 9,279 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

"Not enough to warrant the extra price tag"? Uuh.... have you looked at Amazon lately?

Current sale prices:

1TB HGST Travelstar 7200RPM 2.5" HDD = $72.99 (Originally $99.99)
1TB Seagate SSHDD 2.5" = $81.99 (Originally $149.99)

Yes... the non-sale price is quite a jump... but it's not often things AREN'T on sale these days.... and a $9 bump is negligible.

I'd never pay to put a SSD in the PS4 though. PC is a different story. I'd just be concerned that the PS4 would be like the PS3.... a slight difference in speed, but nothing major due to it not being designed with SSD's in mind.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.