Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-15-2014, 23:06 | posts: 12,051 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by harkinsteven View Post
I think the strix can do that with a modded bios. It was posted http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2896

It's the only 980 I know of that can.
Yeah i seen that, not much of an increase though for the added voltage tbh. For the amount of volts that its using i expected more tbh.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 11-16-2014, 00:56 | posts: 1,320

I have a MSI 970 gaming, software says 1.218 default and max of 1.26 for unmodded, modded 1.275

Now the real voltage measured from card is way higher , the 1.218 measures is like 1.28-1.3 , the 1.26 is 1.34 measured with DVM .

My 24/7 clock is 1482/7500 but have tested as far as 1537/7700 on stock voltage and not hit the limit yet .

Last edited by EdKiefer; 11-16-2014 at 00:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
BigKid
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVIDIA
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: unknown
Default 12-18-2014, 16:10 | posts: 2

Is this tool by any chance able to edit the BIOS of a GTX980M ?

I'm able to provide links to GTX970M and GTX980M BIOS for testing if the author of that tool is interested...

Last edited by BigKid; 12-18-2014 at 16:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Unlock SMMs?
Old
  (#29)
JJ12
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: Haswell
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic
Default Unlock SMMs? - 12-18-2014, 22:03 | posts: 1

Will the 980 bios flash unlock the extra gtx970 SMMs? Has someone tested that yet?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Ragingun
Maha Guru
 
Ragingun's Avatar
 
Videocard: 295x2
Processor: 5820k@4.6ghz on H2O
Mainboard: ASRock X99X Killer
Memory: 16GB 2400 DDR4 RipJaws
Soundcard: Pro Audigy
PSU: Enermax Revo 1050
Default 12-19-2014, 00:36 | posts: 981 | Location: Wisconsin, USA

What voltage is this flash running? I heard the software maxes out at 1.275v however the measured voltage is actually 1.30v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 06-07-2015, 06:33 | posts: 15,643 | Location: USA

Thread necro.

Need to keep this updated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
mahanddeem
Master Guru
 
mahanddeem's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX1080 Xtreme G
Processor: 7700K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Hero
Memory: DDR4 3200MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220A
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 06-13-2015, 05:35 | posts: 581 | Location: USA

Can anyone please tell me how to only change the boost frequency of my 980 G1 Gigabyte from 1380 to 1530mhz and leave everything to stock?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-19-2015, 23:14 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

Is their an updated version for gm200? Looking to raise the power limit to 115 or so from 109. Unsupported device when I open my saved bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Spets
Ancient Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti FTW3
Processor: Intel Core i7 5820k @ 4.2
Mainboard: MSI Godlike
Memory: G.Skill 16gb 3200
Soundcard: Sound BlasterX G5
PSU: Corsair
Default 07-20-2015, 09:46 | posts: 2,932

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Is their an updated version for gm200? Looking to raise the power limit to 115 or so from 109. Unsupported device when I open my saved bios.
I used version 1.36:
https://mega.co.nz/#!70QAEBTB!RgEgZ_...ZckwhzMMHJ_flU

Last edited by Spets; 07-20-2015 at 09:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Twiddles
Maha Guru
 
Twiddles's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1070 GR @ 2177-9550
Processor: 6700K 4,5 1.26v X62
Mainboard: MSI Z270 Gaming M7
Memory: 2x16GB Ripjaws-V 3000
Soundcard: K702, HD580, LD3&SMSL M6
PSU: Corsair RM650x
Default 07-21-2015, 00:10 | posts: 1,141 | Location: Netherlands, Nieuwpoort ZH

Saw this thread a few seconds ago so I decided to start OC'ing the 750 Ti again No extra voltage, only a modded power limit. Stable (<- screenshot) so far
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-21-2015, 00:33 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spets View Post
You know by chance the value to change for the power limit? I`m guessing its the one with 109? Which version of nvflash you using?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Spets
Ancient Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti FTW3
Processor: Intel Core i7 5820k @ 4.2
Mainboard: MSI Godlike
Memory: G.Skill 16gb 3200
Soundcard: Sound BlasterX G5
PSU: Corsair
Default 07-21-2015, 00:39 | posts: 2,932

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
You know by chance the value to change for the power limit? I`m guessing its the one with 109? Which version of nvflash you using?
I'll post screenshots and nvflash version when I get home, it'll be a few hours.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
Spets
Ancient Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti FTW3
Processor: Intel Core i7 5820k @ 4.2
Mainboard: MSI Godlike
Memory: G.Skill 16gb 3200
Soundcard: Sound BlasterX G5
PSU: Corsair
Default 07-21-2015, 07:33 | posts: 2,932

Nvflash modified by JoeDirt
Windows x64
Windows x86
With that version of NVFLASH you don't need to disable your GPU, it will do it automatically.
Also only -6 works for flashing (-4 won't force it), if you run into an issue with protection use --protectoff.

Maxwell Bios Tweaker 1.36
Zoson did a great job labelling the power table:


6th set of min/def/max down is the Power Target, just set the max(mW).

Guide to flashing for anyone unsure on what to do:
http://www.overclock.net/t/1523391/e...#post_23115962
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-21-2015, 11:14 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

That pt of 125 in the 6th set is what I need to change in my bios? Think it's 109 in my bios? Anything else needed to modify just for power target?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
Spets
Ancient Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti FTW3
Processor: Intel Core i7 5820k @ 4.2
Mainboard: MSI Godlike
Memory: G.Skill 16gb 3200
Soundcard: Sound BlasterX G5
PSU: Corsair
Default 07-21-2015, 11:25 | posts: 2,932

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
That pt of 125 in the 6th set is what I need to change in my bios? Think it's 109 in my bios? Anything else needed to modify just for power target?
Yep that's it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 07-21-2015, 11:44 | posts: 6,733 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Finally someone giving credit to JoeDirt and Zoson
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-28-2015, 23:46 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

Just did a bios flash with a 115 pt, its only showing 114 in msi ab, whats the max safe power limit on air? everything else is stock. at least better than the crappy 109%.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-29-2015, 23:24 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

I flashed them both to a 120 pt, what pt you 980ti guys running? And what else did you change in the bios?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
plywood99
Master Guru
 
plywood99's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 980ti Arctic Storm
Processor: AMD 8350 @5ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX Rev.2
Memory: 32gigs Ripjaws 1600
Soundcard: mobo sound
PSU: Corsair HX850i
Default 08-03-2015, 11:23 | posts: 196 | Location: Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I flashed them both to a 120 pt, what pt you 980ti guys running? And what else did you change in the bios?
^^
Bump.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Spets
Ancient Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti FTW3
Processor: Intel Core i7 5820k @ 4.2
Mainboard: MSI Godlike
Memory: G.Skill 16gb 3200
Soundcard: Sound BlasterX G5
PSU: Corsair
Default 08-06-2015, 21:24 | posts: 2,932

Using a 120 power target as well, haven't tried messing with the voltage yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-06-2015, 21:47 | posts: 17,542 | Location: 127.0.0.1

What's the difference between flashing the BIOS in OP, so the card can hit 1600MHz, vs using Afterburner to OC to 1600Mhz?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-06-2015, 22:31 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

You mean altering the boost tables? Never tried that tbh. Only flashed pt to higher with 780ti and 980ti. I added extra voltage on my 680 sli setup and higher pt. If you add extra voltage in msi ab you might get a higher boost clock vs stock voltage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-06-2015, 23:08 | posts: 17,542 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
You mean altering the boost tables? Never tried that tbh. Only flashed pt to higher with 780ti and 980ti. I added extra voltage on my 680 sli setup and higher pt. If you add extra voltage in msi ab you might get a higher boost clock vs stock voltage.
In the OP it says flashing this BIOS could (if the card can handle it) boost to 1600MHz

Just wondering if the BIOS itself has any better effect on gaining higher clocks, than just using Afterburner

So for example, if using afterburner, I can hit 1530MHz max stable, would flashing this BIOS give me any higher stable OC?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-06-2015, 23:31 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

Says it's a no limits bios so it may work. Flash it if your comfortable doing it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 08-06-2015, 23:37 | posts: 9,398 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
In the OP it says flashing this BIOS could (if the card can handle it) boost to 1600MHz

Just wondering if the BIOS itself has any better effect on gaining higher clocks, than just using Afterburner

So for example, if using afterburner, I can hit 1530MHz max stable, would flashing this BIOS give me any higher stable OC?
No a bios wont magically allow you gain higher core OC, unless voltage was modified. Only potentially allow it to be more stable and to stick to a given clock.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.