Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
epguy19
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Xpress 200 - 128Mb
Processor: Intel PentiumD 945 3.4Ghz
Mainboard: Intel D101GGC
Memory: 2Gb DDR SDRAM PC3200
Soundcard: Realtek ALC861 audio
PSU: Antec BP500U
Default 02-15-2015, 18:12 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
Yeah, after I tried those dolby drivers...my thoughts exactly - never again. Dolby drivers and their sound enhancements and handy equaliser are just too awesome...

I didn't forgot...just never had x86 drivers. Plus, I did not even think that someone still uses "straight x86" windows nowadays
@fr33jack: but I still do use 32bit/x86 Windows on two computers - on a custom built PC with an old Intel board with Realtek ALC861 audio and on my mom's Dell Inspiron e1405 laptop with Sigmatel/IDT STAC9220 audio. Both computers use Windows 7 x86 editions because these computers can't handle an x64/64bit Windows OS. The good thing about the Dolby PCEE drivers is that they do work through analog, HDMI and SPDIF audio connections.

I discovered a few flaws with the Dolby PCEE drivers with the INF files. They mention IDT audio as "HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_11D1 ;; IDT"
This is incorrect! The correct Hardware Device ID for IDT Audio is "HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_111D". Therefore the Dolby PCEE drivers won't install on IDT audio chips with VEN_111D because the INF files listed it as 11D1 when it should be 111D [whoops!]. Fortunately on the Dell e1405 laptop, the Sigmatel/IDT audio chip is using HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384.
Also the Dolby PCEE drivers won't work on C-Media HD and Cirrus HD audio chips because their hardware IDs are not listed there. Anyway CMedia and Cirrus HD audio chips are far fewer than HD audio chips from ADI/Conexant/IDT/Realtek/VIA and making the Dolby PCEE drivers work on Cmedia & Cirrus audio chips is not worth the effort.

I may consider modding the INF files and providing updated Dolby PCEE drivers with the necessary corrections to IDT sometime later this year.

Edit: and remember fr33jack: these Dolby PCEE driver / Dolby Advanced Audio V2 / Dolby Home Theater V4 MSI installer packages normally fail to install on Windows Vista unless Vista users mod/edit the MSI packages in Microsoft Orca to allow installation on Vista.

Requirements to install / run those Dolby PCEE4 packages on Vista:
Windows Vista Service Pack 2
.NET Framework 3.5 SP1 (because Dolby Advanced Audio V2 & Home Theater V4 are .NET based apps)
Vista Platform Update - KB971644 (which consists of updates KB960362, KB971512, KB971513 & KB971514)
Microsoft Orca 3.1 or higher for editing MSI packages [Windows Installer 4.5 SDK includes Orca 4.5 and the Windows 7 SDK includes Orca 5.0]

All those Vista updates have to be installed first before installing any Dolby PCEE4 programs. Otherwise they may fail to run on Windows Vista.

Last edited by epguy19; 02-17-2015 at 01:52.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
jorpe
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 980 msi
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Memory: 2x8GB vengeance 2400
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: ax860i
Default 02-18-2015, 09:45 | posts: 1 | Location: A mile high

Any chance that buying a sound card which supports the Dolby home theater v4 software will allow you to enable this with a signed driver? Trying to use it with nvidia HDMI audio.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Venomsword
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus STRIX-GTX1080
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @4500 Air
Mainboard: Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Memory: Kingston DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: GigaWorks T40 Series II
PSU: Chieftec 700W
Default 02-23-2015, 19:35 | posts: 132

Awesome driver for my gtx970 as I have TV connected via HDMI.Now I can control sound and have fancy equalizer settings
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
yurizinho182
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 290X
Processor: Intel core I5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX 650
Default 03-08-2015, 22:30 | posts: 5

Hi guys
i have one problem, i have install PCEE DRIVERS and DOLBY ADVANCED AUDIO V2 and ok.

The drive working normaly.
But i have error when i try configure!


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Nospheratu
Newbie
 
Nospheratu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970M CrossFire
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: Alienware M17x R2 (PM55)
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT 92HD73C1
PSU: Alienware 330W
Default 03-09-2015, 20:49 | posts: 11

Thank you @fr33jack for this promising mod, although it doesnt work entirely on my laptop its a step in the right direction as i cant find any alternatives at the moment.

I'd also like to thank @epguy19 for pointing out the flaw in the drivers INF for IDT's device ID.

I have corrected the INF with the correct 111D instead of 11D1 and the Dolby PCEE Driver installs fine without any complaints. This is on Windows 8.1 with driver signing turned off.

Sound works normally and under device manager the sound device is correctly named "Dolby Advanced Audio v2 - IDT HD Audio" or "Dolby Home Theater v4 - IDT HD Audio" depending on the driver selected during installation.

However, if I install the "Dolby Advanced Audio v2" application with the corresponding driver I get the same error as @yurizinho182, "Dolby Profile Editor has stopped working". This does not occur if I choose the Dolby Home Theater configuration. In both cases the Dolby software does not acknowledge the audio device and there is no activity on the spectrum analyzer.

Switching between the profiles does not help either, there is no change in the audio.

Do you think there needs to be changes made in Dolby's application itself to reflect IDT's correct device ID or the changes in the drivers INF should have been enough?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 03-09-2015, 23:03 | posts: 17,789 | Location: Glasgow

Quote:
Originally Posted by CitroHead View Post
there is no realtek sound control panel with these drivers?
I tried them plugged and unplugged - no change in the audio device list, the selection of different speakers setup remains the same. no headphones option appears after connecting the phones into the jack. The headphones surround slider doesn't work either.

Now, with regular realtek drivers I do get an option and I can choose what exactly is connected into the line out jack and I can select headphones among others options. But for that the realtek control panel should be available.
Same problem here, no jack sensing and software is set up for speakers.

Unfortunately this means the headphone amp isn't used so the output is very low and boosting it with software hurts audio quality.

Nice find though, and great for those who use speakers and not headphones.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
pseudodeed
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD switchable 4250+6630M
Processor: AMDPh.IIX4 N970 2,2Ghz
Mainboard: Samsung R525
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Standard
Default 03-10-2015, 08:48 | posts: 37

Hello,
i have installed this drives on IDT Soundcard and it works great. Thank you!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
pseudodeed
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD switchable 4250+6630M
Processor: AMDPh.IIX4 N970 2,2Ghz
Mainboard: Samsung R525
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Standard
Default 03-10-2015, 10:25 | posts: 37

Hi mybe you have an update from this great Software?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Nospheratu
Newbie
 
Nospheratu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970M CrossFire
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: Alienware M17x R2 (PM55)
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT 92HD73C1
PSU: Alienware 330W
Default 03-11-2015, 13:46 | posts: 11

Well I've gotten it to work now, but the Dolby effects only work then Headphones are plugged in. The spectrum analyzer is absolutely dead when playing music through the laptop speakers, I then plug in the headphones while the music is still playing and it lights up and the effects work perfectly.

I used the same modded INF as mentioned earlier and DHT v4 version that came with a Xonar X-Fi mod that I use on my HTPC.

Interestingly, under Playback devices only the speakers dont have the Dolby tab under properties, both Headphone devices do. I guess I still have a lot more fiddling to do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
pseudodeed
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD switchable 4250+6630M
Processor: AMDPh.IIX4 N970 2,2Ghz
Mainboard: Samsung R525
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Standard
Default 03-11-2015, 23:21 | posts: 37

I can confirm this. The Driver only work with win 7. On winy 8.1 i have the Same effect.
   
Reply With Quote
IDT High Definition Audio with Dolby Home Theater v4 fixed!
Old
  (#61)
Nospheratu
Newbie
 
Nospheratu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970M CrossFire
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: Alienware M17x R2 (PM55)
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT 92HD73C1
PSU: Alienware 330W
Talking IDT High Definition Audio with Dolby Home Theater v4 fixed! - 03-14-2015, 19:47 | posts: 11

After a rediculous amount of testing and asking uncle google for advice it's working!

I've replicated my steps a few times and I'm fairly certain this would work if any of you are experiencing the same problem. It should work without isue on an Alienware M17x R2 with Windows 8.1 as that's what I'm using. You could give it a try if you have an IDT HD Audio card as well.

Fixing the INF for use with an IDT High Definition Audio sound card
1. Download the installation files from the OP. Extract the rar.
2. Extract the "Dolby PCEE Drivers.msi" installation file using msiexec and the command line.
eg. msiexec /a "C:\Dolby PCEE Drivers.msi" /qb TARGETDIR="C:\Extracted Dolby PCEE Drivers"
3. Using the above extraction path as reference here, go to C:\Extracted Dolby PCEE Drivers\Dolby PCEE Drivers\Drivers64\Release. You should see a file called PCEE4-DHT.INF
4. Open the file and find and replace all occurances of HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_11D1 with HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_111D ( Thank you @epguy19 ) Save and close.
4.1 Optional depending on whether you're running Windows 8.1. Reboot with Driver signing off. ie. Hold down Shift when clicking Restart. Select Troubleshoot->Advanced Options->Startup Settings. Click Restart. Once the machine reboots press F7 at the Startup Settings screen to Disable driver signature enforcement.
5. Go back to the extracted Dolby PCEE Drivers folder and run "Dolby PCEE Drivers.msi". Select the "DHT(release)" driver. If you're prompted on whether to install the driver or not, select install.

Your drivers should now be installed. If you can hear a marked difference in sound when you go to your Playback Device's properties and switch between the Dolby profiles on the Dolby tab you can go ahead and install the "Dolby Home Theater v4.msi" application.

If you do not have the Dolby tab under your speaker playback device and have the Enhancements tab instead read on. At this point if I plugged in a pair of headphones, the headphones properties contained the Dolby tab and the Dolby effects were working only with the headphones playback devices.

Enabling the Dolby Tab and effects on the Speaker Playback Device
1. Open regedit and go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\MMDevices\Audio\Render\. There should be multiple entries here. Expand the entries and look for the ones with both "FxProperties" and "Properties" keys. To identify the Speakers playback device one of the "Properties" keys will have a string value called "{a45c254e-df1c-4efd-8020-67d146a850e0},2" with a data value of "Speakers". We're interested in the "FxProperties" key above this "Properties" key.
2. Under this "FxProperties" key, delete all values apart from (Default).
3. Copy and paste the below to Notepad making sure to change ****** to the name of the parent key of that particular "FxProperties" key. eg. Mines was called {36018a56-954a-437d-8bdb-0b6bbf830dbc}. The name will vary as it changes with every driver install.

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\MMDevices\Audio\Render\******\FxProperties]
"{b725f130-47ef-101a-a5f1-02608c9eebac},10"="Dolby PCEE4"
"{d04e05a6-594b-4fb6-a80d-01af5eed7d1d},3"="{C53E5AAF-5F6F-41c2-9F63-ADEBBC9B6B64}"
"{d04e05a6-594b-4fb6-a80d-01af5eed7d1d},0"="{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}"
"{d04e05a6-594b-4fb6-a80d-01af5eed7d1d},1"="{BC8E3B67-3306-4eef-B230-6798E9A67F0B}"
"{1da5d803-d492-4edd-8c23-e0c0ffee7f0e},5"=dword:00000000
3. Run this reg file and select yes when prompted on whether you want to add this information to the registry. If you have a look at the same "FxProperties" key again you will notice the above values have been added.
4. Reboot the machine.
5. You should now have Dolby effects working on your speaker device! Install the "Dolby Home Theater v4.msi" and you're done!

Once again I'd like to thank @fr33jack for providing the files and @epguy19 for pointing out the flaw in the drivers INF for IDT's device ID.

DISCLAIMER: Perform this modification at your own risk. I take no responsibility for any damage caused by technical error, user inexperience or stupidity.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 03-17-2015, 00:56 | posts: 17,789 | Location: Glasgow

Away from my PC so not just being lazy.

I've now moved to using the 970 to pass the audio to a receiver, and noticed the Nvidia HD Audio driver does not support 88.2 and 176.4 khz, does this by an chance fix this issue as it must just be a software limitation on Nvidia's part.

It's not a huge issue, but i would rather not re-sample stuff unless i need to.
   
Reply With Quote
Soundblaster Z + DHT v4
Old
  (#63)
FrameSkip
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus Nvidia GTX760 2gb OC
Processor: Intel Core i5 4670K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CM600
Default Soundblaster Z + DHT v4 - 04-03-2015, 07:24 | posts: 1

I sucessfully installed it with my soundblaster Z but i have one problem with the Z's control panel, it says it doesnt support the audio device but DHT v4 is fully functional.

Can anyone help me out to have the Z control panel working plus the DHT v4? I dont want to lose the Z control panel features as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
Blacklac
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 960 SSC 2GB
Processor: Q9650 @ 4.28Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P45-UD3R
Memory: G.Skill Pi 1100Mhz 4x2GB
Soundcard: HDMI to AVR w/7.1 surroun
PSU: Seasonic X650
Default 04-24-2015, 15:11 | posts: 144

I just want to clarify, this will allow Dolby Live to work from the GPU via HDMI output? And in all its 7.1 glory?

I just did some tweaking to get Dolby Live up and running on my Mobo's onboard optical output, but its limited to 5.1.
   
Reply With Quote
Windows 10
Old
  (#65)
stillmehungry
Newbie
 
Videocard: 780 lightning
Processor: core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000w
Default Windows 10 - 05-04-2015, 15:47 | posts: 1

I had it working perfectly with a via card in my pc. I have recently upgraded to windows 10 preview but cannot get it working again. I can install drivers fine but when I try to enable ddl in settings it says test sound cannot be played. Any ideas as to why I lost functionality?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
cheappo
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7870 xt/2 GB
Processor: i5 750
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550 W
Default 05-27-2015, 09:33 | posts: 12

@Nospheratu, I followed your procedure and got the Dolby Home Theater v4 effects working on Windows 10 (build 10122) on the Realtek HD sound card (Asus Hero VII). Thanks for the effort!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
dove
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Powercolor 6950 2GB
Processor: i5 4670k @4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: eVGA G2 750W
Default 05-31-2015, 00:37 | posts: 312 | Location: London

Thanks for these. They seem to have boosted my Mic input as well as any improvements they've made to the output. Before I had to use Mic Boost +30db with the volume on about 70 but now +10db and 90 seems to give a good level with less hiss. I'll have to double-check with my friends on Teamspeak though, as I might be getting misled by a louder output from my soundcard.

I was hoping the Dolby Virtualiser would work better for me than Razer Surround but unfortunately it doesn't. I seem to be able to get more sense of direction (on my headphones) with it disabled. I get the impression it's trying to expand all the sounds into a 3D space and in doing so it makes everything a bit of a mush with no space between the sounds, making it harder for me to place them.

I guess it must just be me as plenty of people seem happy with both Razor and Dolby virtual surround. I can't make much noise as I live in a flat with poor sound proofing, so all I can do is try and arrange 4 speakers quite near to my head, so that I don't need to have the volume up much to hear them!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
dove
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Powercolor 6950 2GB
Processor: i5 4670k @4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: eVGA G2 750W
Default 06-11-2015, 02:25 | posts: 312 | Location: London

One downside I found with using these instead of the Realtek driver is that it forces my front panel output device to Dolby HT v4 Headphone, which means any games that have a setting in-game (like StarCraft II) are forced to Stereo. So there's no way for me to switch the game to output 5.1/7.1 and have the driver virtualise that down to two channels.

With the Realtek driver, I could have set 5.1/7.1 in the Realtek control panel, which would force StarCraft II to output the same and then Razer Surround or similar could virtualise the signal down to two channels (although I'm not sure that surround is that important in SC II).

I'm sure there used to be a Headphone Virtualisation option in the Realtek control panel as well, so I could use either that or Razer but I just installed the latest Realtek HD driver on a fresh install of Win 8.1 Pro x64 and it's nowhere to be seen now.

EDIT: Guess I was mistaken about the headphone virtualisation option in Realtek control panel as I've switched back to the Realtek driver from Dolby in my old Windows install and there's no sign of it there either.

Last edited by dove; 06-12-2015 at 14:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
dumed
Newbie
 
Videocard: GB 7870 OC
Processor: intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500w
Default 06-17-2015, 04:37 | posts: 6

So will this do dolby digital live out of the HDMI port of my nvidia card?
I want 5.1 surround sound in games. At the moment I am using a Xonar DX for the sole purpose of using dolby digital live. Would be great if I could do away with that.

The HDMI port is connected to my TV but I know it can can pass through the DD signal to it's optical port so another bonus would be that I wouldn't even have to switch inputs when using the PC.

Edit: wow it worked with no problem! just chose Dolby Digital as the default format in sound properties, the speaker configuration would only allow me to choose 2 speakers so I thought it would not work but fired up Project Cars game and its in 5.1! too easy. thankyou!

Last edited by dumed; 06-17-2015 at 05:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1050Ti @1.86|9.0GHz
Processor: Pentium G4600
Mainboard: ASRock B250M
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL12
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: CM Thunder-M 520
Default 06-22-2015, 20:38 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Added separate x86/ x64 driver installers to original post. Updated description/ download link.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
McFly
Newbie
 
Videocard: 16Go
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 07-30-2015, 15:27 | posts: 3

Hello Everyone!

First thing, thanks for all this work trying to get this working for everyone! Really amased by the community effort here and there (techpowerup.com)

I am not a Guru myself and try to do my best so I would appreciate a little help.

So on my laptop (w8.1, intel i7, GTX 970m, 16Go, Realtek card) :

If I uninstall my Realtek drivers and follow the first Post with the updated files as stated above will all work?

Recently when I tried following a different forum's instructions I was stuck with:
- DTH v4 working (the Good)
- Lost functionality of Audio and Micro jacks (the Bad).

Many thanks for your help!

Cheers!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
McFly
Newbie
 
Videocard: 16Go
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-01-2015, 13:13 | posts: 3

OK! I made it work!

Although, I only have Dolby on the speackers.

To get sound via the audio output I must desactivate the speackers, set the other speackers by defaut then I have the pc detecting the output but not working with Dolby.

Is that normal?
Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
kbal
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-05-2015, 18:47 | posts: 16

Can't get it to install on Win 8.1 x32 meegopad t02 (I have disk option, but device fails to start):

Intel SST: ACIP\VEN_8086&DEV_0F28&SUBSYS_80867270

Realtek I2S: ACIP\VEN_10EC&DEV_5640

Any hope?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
McFly
Newbie
 
Videocard: 16Go
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-05-2015, 20:12 | posts: 3

Make sure that you have a Realteck soundcard in your pc first.

Then uninstal the Realteck driver.

Reboot

Update the windows default audio driver

Reboot with desactivated driver signature

Installe the PCEE driver. Make sure you use the correct version for your pc x86 (32 bits) or x64 (64 bits).

Hope that helps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
wilwen12691
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 G
Processor: Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750W
Default 08-07-2015, 07:22 | posts: 1

im getting error failed to test tone on windows 10
output : SPDIF with dolby digital format
please help me im frustating so returned to windows 8.1
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.