Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Computer Monitor Forum
Computer Monitor Forum IPS Panels, Brands, Ultra HD, G-Sync, 144Hz, FreeSync it all is monitor related. This is the place where you can discuss all monitor related matters. Find help and information about high resolutions and refresh rates, VGA ti Display port connectors.



View Poll Results: Do you use Color Sustainer in Global mode or in Mode-specific mode (v1.03.1+) ?
Global mode 27 61.36%
Mode-specific mode 9 20.45%
A mix of the two 8 18.18%
Voters: 44. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#251)
geogan
Master Guru
 
geogan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1070 XTREME
Processor: Intel Core i7 970 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 12Gb
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DSX
PSU: Tagan BZ Modular 800W
Default 09-02-2015, 19:31 | posts: 278

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Please delete the existing log and tree from the Color Sustainer folder and delete the monitors, then do the following:

- Enable the three monitors then start up Color Sustainer, and click on Detect to detect the monitors. Send me the log and tree.

-Delete the log and tree, and then do the same with the main monitor enabled only.

Also, it's recommended to remove all Windows profiles as they may interefering with Color Sustainer's work.
How can i send you text files with this forum - doesn't allow attachments??

Anyway the single and triple logs are identical apart from times:

Single:
[2015-09-02.18:54:19]Color Sustainer v1.05 launched.


[2015-09-02.18:54:19]No existing Tree found.

[2015-09-02.18:54:20]Found existing Settings file.
version = 1.05
defCPAssocMode = 1
loadLinearCurveByDefault = 1
loadLinearCurveOnExit = 1
lockLoadedProfiles = 1
pollingPeriod = 1000
LUTBitDepth = 0
enableTrayIcon = 1
checkForUpdates = 1
updateAvailable = 0
runOnStartup = 1
Successfully loaded all settings.

[2015-09-02.18:54:33]Detect Monitors button pressed.
Detecting new monitors, resolutions, and modes...
[2015-09-02.18:54:33]Saving Tree...
Successfully saved Tree.


Triple:
[2015-09-02.18:56:43]Color Sustainer v1.05 launched.


[2015-09-02.18:56:43]No existing Tree found.

[2015-09-02.18:56:43]Found existing Settings file.
version = 1.05
defCPAssocMode = 1
loadLinearCurveByDefault = 1
loadLinearCurveOnExit = 1
lockLoadedProfiles = 1
pollingPeriod = 1000
LUTBitDepth = 0
enableTrayIcon = 1
checkForUpdates = 1
updateAvailable = 0
runOnStartup = 1
Successfully loaded all settings.

[2015-09-02.18:57:07]Detect Monitors button pressed.
Detecting new monitors, resolutions, and modes...
[2015-09-02.18:57:07]Saving Tree...
Successfully saved Tree.


The tree file for single after I attempt to detect monitors remains empty:

<v1.04>

With triple monitors on it detects them (I deleted all the <resolution> xml tags to save space here):

<v1.04>
<Monitor>
MONITOR\DELA02B\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0021
\Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control \Class\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0021
Dell 2408WFP(Digital)
AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series


<Resolution>
1920 1200
<Mode>
32
0
60

</Mode>
</Resolution>
</Monitor>
<Monitor>
MONITOR\DELA017\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0024
\Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control \Class\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0024
Dell 2407WFP (Digital)
AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series

<Resolution>
1920 1200
<Mode>
32
0
60

</Mode>
</Resolution>
</Monitor>
<Monitor>
MONITOR\DELA017\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0005
\Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control \Class\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0005
Dell 2407WFP (Digital)
AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series

<Resolution>
1920 1200
<Mode>
32
0
60

</Mode>
</Resolution>
</Monitor>


Could it be anything to do with this weird behaviour as seen in the Windows color management interface - it appears correct in triple mode, but in single mode it displays loads of monitors with 1/2/3 or 6/7 etc. on them all. What's that about?



   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#252)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 09-12-2015, 22:16 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercinaigh View Post
No, I don't really play things like that really. i might have bioshock but if I do i've never actually played it. as for e-mail I'll send it out tonight
Good news, I ran into the issue you have mentioned while trying Ethan Carter. Once I'm back on the desktop the profile stays off even beyond the polling period, so I have to restart Color Sustainer for things to work again.

I've been overwhelmed with the start of the semester so I'll work on getting a fix out this week hopefully.

@geogan, I'll take a look into your issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#253)
Vipu2
Master Guru
 
Vipu2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970
Processor: i7 7700K @ 4,8
Mainboard: Asus Strix Z270F
Memory: G.Skill 16GB 3200Mhz
Soundcard: Int. > o2 amp > HD650
PSU: EVGA G2 650W
Default 09-13-2015, 08:06 | posts: 493 | Location: FIN

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Good news, I ran into the issue you have mentioned while trying Ethan Carter. Once I'm back on the desktop the profile stays off even beyond the polling period, so I have to restart Color Sustainer for things to work again.

I've been overwhelmed with the start of the semester so I'll work on getting a fix out this week hopefully.

@geogan, I'll take a look into your issue.
I have that issue with 1 game too, Aion.
Whenever it starts profile doesnt work until I stop and start colorsustainer, but annoying to do that every time I start game.
Hope for fix soonish!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#254)
geogan
Master Guru
 
geogan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1070 XTREME
Processor: Intel Core i7 970 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 12Gb
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DSX
PSU: Tagan BZ Modular 800W
Default 09-14-2015, 17:16 | posts: 278

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post

@geogan, I'll take a look into your issue.
OK thanks. Don't know what you can do about it really. The logs don't tell a lot. Just in single mode, it picks nothing up and the Color Management Windows program behaves very strangely displaying all sorts of non-existant monitors when AMD drivers in use and Eyefinity is turned off (and eyefinity presets exist). I'm nearly 100% sure its buggy AMD drivers - it always is.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#255)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 09-21-2015, 17:25 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Good news, I ran into the issue you have mentioned while trying Ethan Carter. Once I'm back on the desktop the profile stays off even beyond the polling period, so I have to restart Color Sustainer for things to work again.

I've been overwhelmed with the start of the semester so I'll work on getting a fix out this week hopefully.

@geogan, I'll take a look into your issue.
Awesome glad to hear it, may I suggest a option that just reapplies the profile every x period of time? That is what the Spyder Utility does AFAIK, might be a sloppy work around but hey?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#256)
noGuruATall
Member Guru
 
Videocard: gtx 580 3GB
Processor: i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax
Default 09-23-2015, 17:40 | posts: 46

What I done wrong?

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#257)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 09-28-2015, 07:03 | posts: 20

Any word there Yasa?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#258)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 09-28-2015, 08:51 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercinaigh View Post
Any word there Yasa?
I wish. Very rough and busy start of the semester. I hope I can take a look these couple of days. I'll need to find my latest source code on my laptop.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#259)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 09-29-2015, 09:00 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
I wish. Very rough and busy start of the semester. I hope I can take a look these couple of days. I'll need to find my latest source code on my laptop.
No problem
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#260)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 10-05-2015, 22:04 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
I wish. Very rough and busy start of the semester. I hope I can take a look these couple of days. I'll need to find my latest source code on my laptop.
Just checking back in, still overwhelmed I assume?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#261)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-05-2015, 22:54 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercinaigh View Post
Just checking back in, still overwhelmed I assume?
Unfortunately project deadlines and midterms these upcoming two weeks. Maybe I should looking into open-sourcing the project.

Developers here, reading this, would you be interested in working with Color Sustainer's code?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#262)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 10-11-2015, 00:51 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Unfortunately project deadlines and midterms these upcoming two weeks. Maybe I should looking into open-sourcing the project.

Developers here, reading this, would you be interested in working with Color Sustainer's code?
Hope someone got in touch with you, there really isn't another option within reason for people other than this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#263)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 10-22-2015, 18:24 | posts: 20

Any word here? Hate to be somewhat of a pest but like I said there is no better alternative for this sort of thing, surprised this doesn't get more notice.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#264)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-02-2015, 02:41 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercinaigh View Post
Any word here? Hate to be somewhat of a pest but like I said there is no better alternative for this sort of thing, surprised this doesn't get more notice.
Update here, tomorrow I'm knocking out a big post concerning the current situation, and hopefully you'll be very pleased to know that (almost certainly) you'll have your color profiles working across all your games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#265)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 11-02-2015, 07:07 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Update here, tomorrow I'm knocking out a big post concerning the current situation, and hopefully you'll be very pleased to know that (almost certainly) you'll have your color profiles working across all your games.
Thank christ man I am very glad to hear that and thank you for the hard work and sorry to be the pest!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#266)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 11-03-2015, 19:50 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Update here, tomorrow I'm knocking out a big post concerning the current situation, and hopefully you'll be very pleased to know that (almost certainly) you'll have your color profiles working across all your games.
Please tell me you forgot and things didn't fall through, this is maddening of a problem I am starting to play even more games with this issue x.x
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#267)
niciuffo
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 11-04-2015, 15:54 | posts: 2

Hello, just wanted to say that I'm also having the problem Vercinaigh is describing:
  • Some games work really well: they don't change the color profile in any way (not very many).
  • Other games, retain the color profile the first time they launch. If I ALT+TAB, the profile resets (on the desktop AND on the game). I usually Stop and Start the "service" again (File -> stop and File -> Start). One of these games is Assetto Corsa, can't remember other ones.
  • Lastly, some games outright don't work at all with custom profiles. With these, I am usually happy to just mess with the gamma slider in-game (I don't think there's anything that can be done in these cases).
I am also having a weird mouse stutter when Color Sustainer is open. Every second (I'm guessing the polling time for the auto-profile thing), a micro stutter occurs. I am not sure if it's just the mouse, but it seems like also videos stutter a bit.

I read the last posts and see that you are very busy at the moment. I'm just letting you know of the issues, when you'll find the time I hope you'll be able to fix these.

P.S.: I don't have much experience with DirectX and such, but I am currently studying CS in high school and have some C#/C++/Java skills. If you could post the source code on GitHub, or just share it privately if you prefer, I'd be happy to mess around with it (just don't expect me to fix the issues, but I'd love to give an hand).
Especially since this seems to be the only tool that works under Windows (it honestly should be built-in in either the OS or the driver), I realize that more and more people will start utilizing it and finding new bugs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#268)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1070 AMP!
Processor: 7700k / D15s
Mainboard: z270 Taichi
Memory: 16gb Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 11-05-2015, 12:05 | posts: 7,095

This is why I will not buy another monitor without OSD color adjustments. Some games ignore all attempts to abide by color profiles. With a good monitor with OSD adjustable colors, there is no need for profiles.

Still very much appreciative of Yasas CS. It does come in handy in the games where it works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#269)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 11-06-2015, 05:52 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
This is why I will not buy another monitor without OSD color adjustments. Some games ignore all attempts to abide by color profiles. With a good monitor with OSD adjustable colors, there is no need for profiles.

Still very much appreciative of Yasas CS. It does come in handy in the games where it works.
Unfortunately in many cases this is simply not a option. I will not but a non 120+hz monitor and AFAIK none have such a feature yet though why it isn't standard I'll never know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#270)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-07-2015, 01:21 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Finally, I have time to sit down and write this much-needed post to update you guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercinaigh View Post
Thank christ man I am very glad to hear that and thank you for the hard work and sorry to be the pest!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercinaigh View Post
Please tell me you forgot and things didn't fall through, this is maddening of a problem I am starting to play even more games with this issue x.x
No problem at all. Thanks for the encouragement and sorry for all the wait!

Quote:
Originally Posted by niciuffo View Post
Hello, just wanted to say that I'm also having the problem Vercinaigh is describing:
  • Some games work really well: they don't change the color profile in any way (not very many).
  • Other games, retain the color profile the first time they launch. If I ALT+TAB, the profile resets (on the desktop AND on the game). I usually Stop and Start the "service" again (File -> stop and File -> Start). One of these games is Assetto Corsa, can't remember other ones.
  • Lastly, some games outright don't work at all with custom profiles. With these, I am usually happy to just mess with the gamma slider in-game (I don't think there's anything that can be done in these cases).
I am also having a weird mouse stutter when Color Sustainer is open. Every second (I'm guessing the polling time for the auto-profile thing), a micro stutter occurs. I am not sure if it's just the mouse, but it seems like also videos stutter a bit.

I read the last posts and see that you are very busy at the moment. I'm just letting you know of the issues, when you'll find the time I hope you'll be able to fix these.

P.S.: I don't have much experience with DirectX and such, but I am currently studying CS in high school and have some C#/C++/Java skills. If you could post the source code on GitHub, or just share it privately if you prefer, I'd be happy to mess around with it (just don't expect me to fix the issues, but I'd love to give an hand).
Especially since this seems to be the only tool that works under Windows (it honestly should be built-in in either the OS or the driver), I realize that more and more people will start utilizing it and finding new bugs.
Thanks for describing the bug. Believe it or not, I haven't even found time to properly document what happens with the bug for the last month or so. Your description seems accurate enough so I will test some games on my side for that.

For mouse stutter, you might want to raise the polling period to something like 10000 (ms). It should help remove that stutter. Please tell me how it goes.

There is no code in the application related to DirectX, so you might realize that you're more than able to understand and work with the code if you desire such. I will be hosting the code after I'm done with some very intensive refactoring and reorganization I started a few months back and left, after which I would very much appreciate any contribution or reporting of issues concerning the code. Thank you in advance.

As for such functionality being part of Windows, I wouldn't be surprised at the misunderstanding and stubbornness shown from game developers concerning the topic of accurate color reproduction on the consumer / gamer side. Seriously, it's as simple as two things: do not reset the system color profile (avoid using SetGammaRamp() and do color adjustments IN the game engine) and do not ignore the system color profile (avoid using IDXDGI::SetGammaControl() and, again, do color adjustments IN the game engine). For the most part, all those developers do is reset the system color profile and do not load any other profile in place, meaning all they have done is simply wipe away the grayscale calibration. This is the part Color Sustainer takes care of. However, simply choosing to ignore the system profile is something I can't fathom. Stupid.

I wouldn't merely blame Microsoft for providing those functions. I would blame the developers for misusing them and misunderstanding what they do when most of what they care about is pushing shinier, prettier graphics that fail to look color-accurate because of careless programming practices. Alas, that's what leaving too much control in third-party software can do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
This is why I will not buy another monitor without OSD color adjustments. Some games ignore all attempts to abide by color profiles. With a good monitor with OSD adjustable colors, there is no need for profiles.

Still very much appreciative of Yasas CS. It does come in handy in the games where it works.
There is still a need for profiles since no manual controls can get you to the point where the entire grayscale response is neutral over all shades of grey, unless the monitor is accurate enough to give a flat response. Little to no consumer monitors do that in my experience, and only on higher-end IPS monitors you will see a display ship with a proper gamma of 2.2, flat RGB levels from 0 to 100 IRE, etc... However, having manual controls greatly reduces the urgency for a profile as long as gamma is in check. Most gamma controls on monitors do little to straighten out the gamma curve or have it average a proper value of 2.2, 2.4, etc...

Even after all that, errors in the gamut: oversaturated / undersaturated primaries, misaligned secondaries, and all-around inaccurate color tone reproduction are all not accounted for properly with manual RGB controls and grayscale software calibration. Granted, a good grayscale calibration aligns the saturation sweeps for the primaries and secondaries since it adjusts the whitepoint to its proper value, but it does little to fix a misaligned magenta saturation sweep, or a tendency for yellows to have a bit too much green. I will show sample data to explain my point a bit (although I suspect you in particular already know what I'm talking about).

Thanks for the encouragement and glad you like the application.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercinaigh View Post
Unfortunately in many cases this is simply not a option. I will not but a non 120+hz monitor and AFAIK none have such a feature yet though why it isn't standard I'll never know.
You see, the problem with most gaming monitors up until recently with the release of the Acer XB270HU, 120Hz+ monitors were all TN with little to no regard to accurate color reproduction, at least as far as a TN panel can do. Some TN panels are actually very accurate out-of-the-box, such as a famous 27" 1080p Samsung glossy TN monitor. However, with all the gaming ballyhoo and marketing, with color accuracy a subject so rarely discussed and known for gamers, display manufacturers can get away with pretty much anything: using the cheaper TN panels, excessive blue levels, very low / high gamma, shrunken gamut smaller than sRGB, etc... it's been a staple in the gaming scene that only TN panels can do higher than 60Hz which has been shown to be untrue with the release of the overclockable Korean monitors that often reached up to 120Hz with competitive response times for being IPS monitors. TN panels were still faster, but it wasn't the case that IPS monitors couldn't be shipped running above 75Hz, or even 100Hz, without serious pixel response issues. Loads of people enjoyed and still enjoy gaming on their Korean monitors, even though they're slower than the latest 144Hz IPS G-Sync / FreeSync monitors such as the Acer XB271HU or the Asus PG279Q.

For around 2 years, the only option for high refresh rate, 1440p, IPS panels were the Korean monitors. Those have no OSD at all, since their bypass boards allow negligible (~2-3ms) input latency and overclockability way beyond 60Hz. So you can imagine that the dream gaming monitors for 2 whole years had to have their colors adjusted via software, particularly the Qnix variant which has been known (measured) to show gamma shift the further it was overclocked. I'm running a Qnix and a main part of Color Sustainer, per refresh-rate color profiles, was to solve the conundrum of having to load and unload the proper color profile as the monitor was switched from 60Hz to 90Hz - 120Hz.

I will be posting a small guide to setting up the perfect environment for color-accurate gaming across most / all games and some topics for discussion below. Just want to keep the posts separate to make it easier for others to read.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#271)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 11-08-2015, 05:05 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
-snip-
Yeah I know about the color accuracy issues and the IPS panels coming out but IPS has it's own artifacting issues as well. At the end of the day smoothness is what matters to my gaming but at the same time, no point not calibrating a display to get the most of what it has!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#272)
Element
Newbie
 
Videocard: buildin
Processor: intel i3
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: buildin
Default 11-09-2015, 17:34 | posts: 1

Hi,

I have a notebook Fujitsu A530 and monitor Dell 2209WA.
Dell is connected with DVI-HDMI cable. In windows profile manager Dell is visible.
The problem is that Color Sustainer don't detect Dell.
Laptop display is detected correctly and I can assign color profile with no problem.

Is there any solution for this problem?

Rgds,
Michal

Last edited by Element; 11-09-2015 at 17:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#273)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 11-22-2015, 00:00 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Update here, tomorrow I'm knocking out a big post concerning the current situation, and hopefully you'll be very pleased to know that (almost certainly) you'll have your color profiles working across all your games.
Still no update from you AFAIK bro. This thing is becoming progressively more useless for me as more and more games simply break it's functionality every time they are in focus as I had described from before. Makes games look utterly awful but at this point I am about to simply give up on it and half ass it manually on the monitor instead of this program as it now virtually does nothing :/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#274)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-22-2015, 00:18 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Be patient and do whatever you have to do to solve the situation temporarily. I have a life as well and I can't risk failing just to make a post about colors in a game.

If you want me to post now, send my way a donation covering my college courses that I might fail.

Last edited by yasamoka; 11-22-2015 at 00:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#275)
Vercinaigh
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290x Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UD5hv1.1
Memory: Samsung Green 16GB@2133
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Evga Supernova 1000w
Default 11-22-2015, 04:44 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Be patient and do whatever you have to do to solve the situation temporarily. I have a life as well and I can't risk failing just to make a post about colors in a game.

If you want me to post now, send my way a donation covering my college courses that I might fail.
This response was very juvenile of you. A simple update was all that was needed. And when you give a hard deadline people tend to expect some sort of follow through.

Further that, the solution is simply to "Deal with it" because there is no solution to it. So that response was a bit of a piss off on top of it and entirely lacking of sympathy from a guy whom surely would be just as bothered by it.

And to top all of this off. The time it took you to write such a worthless response is more than it would have taken to simply say you're just very busy and still need time to catch up, which would have sufficed, malice was not required, and actually took more effort.

Last edited by Vercinaigh; 11-22-2015 at 04:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.