Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Computer Monitor Forum
Computer Monitor Forum IPS Panels, Brands, Ultra HD, G-Sync, 144Hz, FreeSync it all is monitor related. This is the place where you can discuss all monitor related matters. Find help and information about high resolutions and refresh rates, VGA ti Display port connectors.



View Poll Results: Do you use Color Sustainer in Global mode or in Mode-specific mode (v1.03.1+) ?
Global mode 27 61.36%
Mode-specific mode 9 20.45%
A mix of the two 8 18.18%
Voters: 44. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
[Application] Color Sustainer - ICC Profile Enforcer
Old
  (#1)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default [Application] Color Sustainer - ICC Profile Enforcer - 02-03-2014, 20:40 | posts: 4,320 | Location: Lebanon

What is Color Sustainer?

Color Sustainer is an application that allows you to associate color profiles with particular display modes. These profiles are loaded automatically for their respective modes as you:
-switch displays on and off
-add and remove displays
-change display modes - from Windows, games, media players, this application, or any other application
- load up full-screen applications (e.g. games) that reset and override (but not ignore) set color profiles.

Currently at version 1.05
Download - http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/..._download.html

This application requires the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 redistributable to be installed.

Special thanks to eclap, NCX, and several friends of mine for testing out the application and giving me very helpful feedback.

Extra special thanks to imryno for providing the steps needed to parse ICC profiles. Starting from v1.05, all ICC profiles that have VCGT tags (i.e. have gamma ramps that can loaded into the Video Card LUT) are supported.

Thanks to NCX for suggesting a catchy title.

Feedback will be very appreciated, and questions are welcome of course!

Sister thread is up, keeping a list of games and what they do with respect to color profiles (override, ignore, brightness slider, etc...).

Tip for Intel graphics users (including muxless switchable graphics I believe):

The Intel Graphics application that stays in the Tray overrides your color profiles when certain applications, including games, are launched. The override is permanent and you can no longer change color profiles. The solution is to keep the tray application closed and disable its running on startup. Look for the terms "Intel" and "Tray" for the application.

Some aspects of Color Management
http://www.overclock.net/t/1384767/o...#post_22612393

2017-05-25: People, I am quitting this forum. Anyone who would like to ask anything, or even have a nice chat, contact me at yasamoka (at) hotmail (dot) com until I move this forum thread to my own forum if I see the need to make one.

Last edited by yasamoka; 05-25-2017 at 18:31.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 02-03-2014, 21:00 | posts: 11,379 | Location: England

Stuck.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-04-2014, 00:08 | posts: 12,074 | Location: United kingdom

Great stuff, ill try this out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-04-2014, 02:04 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

nice, finally it's out, you will have a lot of feedback. Great app, works a treat.

EDIT: you little legend, nice to see the startup and minimize to tray added!!!

Last edited by eclap; 02-04-2014 at 02:07.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 02-04-2014, 20:19 | posts: 11,379 | Location: England

Wow, this is awesome. So sorry I didn't have time to test this out for you earlier.

I'm just setting up my profiles now. Brilliant.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-04-2014, 20:43 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Nice, what profiles you got guys?

Last edited by hallryu; 02-04-2014 at 20:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 02-04-2014, 20:46 | posts: 11,379 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
Nice, what profiles you got guys?
I'm using the OP's at the moment.

http://rapidshare.com/share/92A7F889...26163134E51D86
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GX980Ti Amp!Extreme
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 02-04-2014, 21:15 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Proxima \/82

Is this like Colour Profile keeper?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-04-2014, 21:25 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Is this like Colour Profile keeper?
erm... not realy.

It will automatically load your pre-selected color profiles for different refresh rates. You set up your refresh rates, and associate the color profiles you want to run with them. this will then automatically apply the correct color profile when you change your refresh rate.

example.

you run your desktop at 60hz. you launch a game that is set to 110hz. normally, the game would just keep running 110hz with the color profile you have for 60hz. with this, it'll automatically apply the 110hz profile for you, making the colors/gamma remain more accurate. Without this, you'd have gamma shift, everything would be darker, less accurate, black crush can occur.

It's a great app, a real godsend for those with overclocked monitors. Especially now, with the GUI. I tested for Yasa when it had to be done via cmd, it was a bit painful, won't lie, but now it's super easy to get everything setup, takes less than a minute.

Deathchild, I'm using Yasa's profiles for 60/96/110/120 (use the 110hz one for 120hz, it's close enough).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-04-2014, 21:28 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Heh yeah, I'm using Yasas profiles too, they're the closest and best lol, imo.

Using 110hz profile for 116hz.

Last edited by Deathchild; 02-04-2014 at 21:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-04-2014, 21:30 | posts: 4,320 | Location: Lebanon

Glad you like it, guys.

eclap, good description but to add to that, it supports multi-monitor too, so let's say you have 3 monitors at home and you can only connect 2. You connect the first 2, detect, then associate their color profiles. You then substitute one of them for the third, detect, and associate its color profiles. Now, however you connect the monitors, each monitor will have the correct color profile applied for the respective display mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-04-2014, 21:33 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Wow, just setup profiles, yasa, I gotta say, YOU'RE A GOD MAN!! ROFL

The GUI rocks, really makes it easy for the user. Before we had to do all manually. I highly recommend this program lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-04-2014, 21:53 | posts: 4,320 | Location: Lebanon

Guys, try out the LUT bit-depth option. Read more about it in the README if you want to get technical.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-04-2014, 21:56 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

What the heck is that lol. XD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-04-2014, 21:59 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

I'll leave that to someone else :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-04-2014, 22:01 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

rofl

Oiiii! Add a donate button! rofl, I'll donate you 5$. I'm sure the others would like to too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-04-2014, 22:05 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

yeah, donations wouldn't be a bad idea.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-04-2014, 22:07 | posts: 4,320 | Location: Lebanon

Haha, no PayPal support here

Will have to mooch off my friend's lol. Will try.

About the LUT bit-depth, check out the linked post in the README. Remember that? You guys got AMD cards, so setting LUT bit-depth to 8-bit should show you some banding in here: http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/gradient.php

Try it and tell me what you see.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-04-2014, 22:11 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

But what does it do like is is better to use it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-04-2014, 22:13 | posts: 4,320 | Location: Lebanon

Nah, it looks worse, it's just to poke at Nvidia users and hopefully get Nvidia to do something about it. You'll see what I mean.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-04-2014, 22:17 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Lol ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Slasher_Hajj
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ...
Default 02-05-2014, 01:07 | posts: 1

don't forget to send yasa the log if any bug turned up
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: HyperX Beast 16GB 2133
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: XFX 750w Silver
Default 02-05-2014, 21:45 | posts: 10,044

Very well done mate, a lot of hard work went into this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-10-2014, 20:38 | posts: 4,320 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
Very well done mate, a lot of hard work went into this.
Thanks!

Guys, for those who have read this post and took a look at the "LUT Bit Depth" part of the README (and I recommend it!): Today I found an HP workstation with a Core 2 Duo CPU, an Nvidia Quadro FX 580, and Windows XP. Upon applying a color profile, I was surprised to see no gradient banding whatsoever. So, I selected 8-bit LUT depth in Color Sustainer and WHOOP, banding! So this is an Nvidia card using 10-bit dithering on an 8-bit display!

Note that I tried a much more modern machine with an Intel Xeon (not sure which series though) and an Nvidia Quadro NVS series card (not sure of model number) on an 8-bit monitor previously and it did NOT use 10-bit dithering. The results of 8- and 10-bit LUT depth were identical; the card showed gradient banding upon applying a color profile.

Puzzles me, really.

Concerning a new version, it's coming soon with some good new features.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-10-2014, 20:41 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

What new features? Something to make my monitor 32"?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.