Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Computer Monitor Forum
Computer Monitor Forum IPS Panels, Brands, Ultra HD, G-Sync, 144Hz, FreeSync it all is monitor related. This is the place where you can discuss all monitor related matters. Find help and information about high resolutions and refresh rates, VGA ti Display port connectors.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-21-2013, 21:55 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

meh, I will actually aim for 96hz tbh, don't think I can sustain 120fps in all games. then again, In some less demanding games, 120fps would be easy, hmmm... I might look into some cables if I can't do more than 96hz etc.

Any of you guys had bad luck with dead pixels? I know there might be some, but anyone received a particularly bad model with quite a few dead pixels?

EDIT: Also, can you guys recommend ebay sellers too? Another thing, did you go for pixel perfect ones, or not? I know pixel perfect is still hit 'n miss, from what Yasamoka told me, but still, the more I know the better choice I'll make.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970
Processor: I7 3770k @4.6 on EK P240
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: onboard :( but HD280's :)
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 11-21-2013, 22:06 | posts: 4,224 | Location: Antioch, CA, US

@eclap, 96hz vs 120hz, the screen is refreshing faster it will decrease tearing and response time even if your framerate is lower. The gains are still noticeable.

My Overlord 'grade-A' came with a little sheet saying there was a dead pixel ... After a year of use I still have not found it.


'perfect pixel' rating depends on the seller. Sometimes that just means grade-A+ standards. Where as Overlord actually inspects every display on a bench by hand and gives them a rating.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-21-2013, 22:09 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Oh ok, so 120hz is still better, even when not reaching 120fps, makes sense, faster refresh, like you said. Ok, I might just invest in a sexy cable. Do these qnix come with DVI cables btw?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-21-2013, 22:15 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

I've looked into pixel perfect greatly. The only seller I have found to actually state 0 defective pixels and cover both dead and stuck pixels while understanding the difference is accessorieswhole. I ordered a pixel perfect and got one stuck blue pixel left of center.

I haven't yet heard of any case where the customer was not able to ship back a monitor that suffered from obvious issues like bunches of dead pixels, horribly bent panel (yellow bleed), a defective line of pixels, dark or yellow spots, or even in one case (HardwareDecoder on OCN), a dead pixel that developed 20 days later on a PP monitor.

My opinion: if the defect rate were high, then the sellers might have bothered to check every monitor they ship before shipping it. It's hard to believe that merely shipping the product can damage it in some ways we've seen (mentioned above). So it seems that they'd rather pay for return shipping for the defective monitors rather than (spend more and) check every monitor before shipping. Says something doesn't it?

BTW, Overlord no more sells pixel perfect.

They come with the stock cable. Get the cable after you get the monitor, it's better. I can provide color profiles I have made for 60Hz, 96Hz, and 110Hz tightened timings for those who wish to use them. Done with a Spyder4 + ArgyllCMS + dispcalGUI, 6500K whitepoint 2.2 gamma.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-21-2013, 22:22 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

those profiles will be handy, cheers Yasa. Thing is most if not all ebayers state that they test the monitors before shipping. I'm sure a dead pixel can go unnoticed here and there, but that's to be expected tbh. I'll chat to you on steam in an hours time mate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-21-2013, 22:34 | posts: 12,051 | Location: United kingdom

The difference between 60 and 100 hz is very noticeable even on windows. The difference between 100 and 120hz is not so noticeable. I just leave my Monitor at 100hz but cap the fps to 99fps to decrease chance of input lag. I use this setup for 24/7 use.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-21-2013, 22:40 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
those profiles will be handy, cheers Yasa. Thing is most if not all ebayers state that they test the monitors before shipping. I'm sure a dead pixel can go unnoticed here and there, but that's to be expected tbh. I'll chat to you on steam in an hours time mate.
Well yeah, but problem is:

1) Is actual testing done for non-PP units that slip out in quite a defective state (mentioned above)?
2) For PP, if the monitor is tested, dead and stuck pixels should not possibly be missed. Particularly in the case of ZERO dead / stuck pixels.

That's why I don't think they actually test them. I could be wrong though.

tyt dude.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
The difference between 60 and 100 hz is very noticeable even on windows. The difference between 100 and 120hz is not so noticeable. I just leave my Monitor at 100hz but cap the fps to 99fps to decrease chance of input lag. I use this setup for 24/7 use.
I can notice the difference between 96Hz and 110Hz rather easily. Only tried on the desktop though, I just set to 110Hz in games now.

96Hz-100Hz is epic for when you want locked FPS and can't sustain 120FPS, which is what you're using. There's more chance of a CPU bottleneck @ 120FPS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 11-21-2013, 22:45 | posts: 3,299 | Location: Sheffield UK

Do you require two CF bridges for above 330MHz pixel clock?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 11-21-2013, 22:55 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Damn, can't wait to have this Qnix on my doorstep. And the rest of you guys. +Yasa super good that you already have those profiles, damn dude! Saves us all from trying to look into it ourselves and research the heck outta it. Saves us a lotta time, somewhere we can start from.

And yeah thanks for all the help so far. But yeah I most likely gotta wait till next month till I can buy this monitor.. so it will probably come from the accessorieswhole seller then I guess? Eclap you can probably get it from the same seller? Although there should be one originating in the UK too I think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-21-2013, 22:56 | posts: 12,051 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post


I can notice the difference between 96Hz and 110Hz rather easily. Only tried on the desktop though, I just set to 110Hz in games now.

96Hz-100Hz is epic for when you want locked FPS and can't sustain 120FPS, which is what you're using. There's more chance of a CPU bottleneck @ 120FPS.
Yes i agree but i dont think its as smooth as the jump is from 60-100, that feels massive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 11-21-2013, 22:56 | posts: 3,299 | Location: Sheffield UK

I have few dvi cables dunno if they will be any good
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 11-21-2013, 23:05 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA2RY0X59885
is this the one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 11-21-2013, 23:08 | posts: 3,299 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
yes that one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 11-21-2013, 23:13 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

I been eying that one for a while, interested in seeing how far you can oc it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-21-2013, 23:22 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Yes i agree but i dont think its as smooth as the jump is from 60-100, that feels massive.
Massive? RIDICULOUS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
Damn, can't wait to have this Qnix on my doorstep. And the rest of you guys. +Yasa super good that you already have those profiles, damn dude! Saves us all from trying to look into it ourselves and research the heck outta it. Saves us a lotta time, somewhere we can start from.

And yeah thanks for all the help so far. But yeah I most likely gotta wait till next month till I can buy this monitor.. so it will probably come from the accessorieswhole seller then I guess? Eclap you can probably get it from the same seller? Although there should be one originating in the UK too I think.
The color profiles vary since every monitor is different. It's best to do some trial & error, trying out profiles and seeing what works best. Describing the monitor (as far as you can without having a colorimeter) and then matching it with someone else's monitor & color profile can help. Mine has somewhat of a yellow hue to whites but everything else seems pretty spot on. Others have color profiles for monitors where whites are whites, no yellow tint, etc...

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3vst3r View Post
Do you require two CF bridges for above 330MHz pixel clock?
Yes, I use two bridges. Haven't bothered to try with one only above 330MHz since I know 2 bridges are better for stability in that case. That takes out trifire I guess, but I'd rather go CrossFire 290 / 290X in that case. Those cards are bridgeless too, bingo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I been eying that one for a while, interested in seeing how far you can oc it
The OCN club has statistics on how they OC. Based on what I've seen, many stop at 96Hz only because they've tried some higher refresh rate such as 120Hz and see some artifacts. They might not tighten their timings, try a different cable, try a different DVI port (on the same GPU or the second GPU - multi-GPU is common with these monitors, so are dual DVI port Nvidia cards).

I'd personally be setting the minimum bar for OC to 110Hz since that's before you start crashing into the 450MHz pixel clock limit without tightening timings. 117-120Hz @ 450MHz tightened timings so it's going to be hard for the monitor to give up before that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 11-21-2013, 23:28 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Whaaa? 2 bridges? Damn how do I do that lol.. well.. guess I gotta do it when the 2nd 7950 arrives. rofl
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-21-2013, 23:31 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
Whaaa? 2 bridges? Damn how do I do that lol.. well.. guess I gotta do it when the 2nd 7950 arrives. rofl
Seems like the CrossFire bridge runs out of bandwidth above 330MHz, that's why.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 11-21-2013, 23:38 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Ah.. right, ok.. Yeah. Then I'd need 2 cables, .. :S ****. Don't think I have a 2nd lol XD .. But need to look.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-21-2013, 23:44 | posts: 4,296 | Location: Lebanon

You could do with one bridge at about 82Hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-21-2013, 23:57 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

just made a cheeky offer to excellentcastle, $297 I hope he accepts http://www.ebay.com/itm/261204411997...84.m1427.l2649

EDIT: $297 accepted, paid, will be here next week at some point, hopefully Now someone buy my dell! it's in the trading section. ta.

Last edited by eclap; 11-22-2013 at 00:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: 4790k 4.8 Under Water
Mainboard: EVGA z97 Classified
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 11-22-2013, 00:24 | posts: 1,113 | Location: South Dakota

If your gonna buy a qnix, might as well just go for x star. its the same exact monitor.. It even says its the same company on ebay. Plus its only $279 and free shipping..

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Matte-FREE-E...item4d0d1e678e

After reading a bunch on it, i think i might just end up doing this.. It'd be stupid to pay 500~600 bucks on a LG or Samsung model.. Only thing i have seen is that the stands suck and these should get a proper mount from monoprice.. Thats what im gonna do.. I guess lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-22-2013, 00:29 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taint3dBulge View Post
If your gonna buy a qnix, might as well just go for x star. its the same exact monitor.. It even says its the same company on ebay. Plus its only $279 and free shipping..

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Matte-FREE-E...item4d0d1e678e

After reading a bunch on it, i think i might just end up doing this.. It'd be stupid to pay 500~600 bucks on a LG or Samsung model.. Only thing i have seen is that the stands suck and these should get a proper mount from monoprice.. Thats what im gonna do.. I guess lol.
cheapest x-star you can get in the uk from ebay is $339, that's $42 more than I paid for qnix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-22-2013, 00:30 | posts: 12,051 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Massive? RIDICULOUS!
Why is using the word massive ridiculous? Dont you understand what massive means? I dont get you...care to explain?

@Eclap you dont need the extra cable unless your OC on the monitor dont work that comes with the cable that is provided. Try the monitor first then order a cable if its needed. The performance can vary from monitor to monitor.

Also i dont have to mess about with timings and such, most Overlords today go to atleast 96hz on Auto. The earlier ones you had to fiddle with timings/settings etc. Mine goes to 120hz on auto.

Last edited by Veteran; 11-22-2013 at 00:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 11-22-2013, 00:51 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Estonia

Damn.. Qnix or xstar then?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-22-2013, 01:00 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
Damn.. Qnix or xstar then?
They're the same, xstar is more expensive to get in the UK. Xstar has a different stand.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
overclock, qnix

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.