Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
Fender178
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 FTW 2113/8996
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 32Gb 2133
Soundcard: RealTek AC1150
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 05-09-2014, 17:48 | posts: 3,269 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY_Milojko View Post
Final Mozilla Firefox 29.0.1 available for download:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or.../29.0.1/win32/

ATM FF 29.0.1 still unavailable via autoupdate...
Well that is odd my linux laptop had in its updates an update to FireFox a couple of days ago.

Last edited by Fender178; 05-09-2014 at 17:50.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 05-09-2014, 18:40 | posts: 11,489 | Location: UK

Just auto-updated to 29.0.1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-10-2014, 02:36 | posts: 7,459 | Location: USA

update didnt reslove the firefox from not not shutting down correctly that alot people complain about
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
MrH
Ancient Guru
 
MrH's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 4G
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Corsair TX 750 v2
Default 05-10-2014, 21:02 | posts: 2,773 | Location: UK

I'm also getting the problem where Firefox doesn't close properly.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 05-10-2014, 21:03 | posts: 9,967

Even on a new profile?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
CrazY_Milojko
Maha Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX760, R9 270X, GTX970..
Processor: i7-920C0 i7-2600K X5670/5
Mainboard: Asus & GB X58 /Asus Z68
Memory: 24 / 16 / 24 DDR3 1866
Soundcard: int.RealtekHD on all rigs
PSU: Seasonic 620W, Recom 750W
Default 05-10-2014, 23:19 | posts: 1,667 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrH View Post
I'm also getting the problem where Firefox doesn't close properly.
Weird indeed... I also notice after 29.0 release more FF users are complaining about same Firefox not closing properly problems like yours.

I`m using FF 29.0 or 29.0.1 on 15+ rigs, mostly on Win7 x64 Ult/Pro SP1 and few rigs with WinXP Pro x86 SP3 and still not a single problem with FF...

Almost all of my rigs with FF 29.0/29.0.1 are using updater versions of these Add-Ons:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=18
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 05-11-2014, 00:14 | posts: 13,100 | Location: Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrH View Post
I'm also getting the problem where Firefox doesn't close properly.
I've actually had that a fair few times over the life of firefox. Though honestly no idea what causes it to happen (at some point I tried migrating to chrome only to find it not to my liking).

All I could really say is uninstall it, and delete all the left over files from it and try again.

And give a go of a virtual machine and see if it does it again in that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 05-11-2014, 06:43 | posts: 3,783

...and this is why I'm sticking to Pale Moon.

It's a bit of shame, though...because Firefox on Android is actually getting better on every new releases.
The latest update made it to load add-ons faster when starting up the app.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
big ROBOT bill
Maha Guru
 
big ROBOT bill's Avatar
 
Videocard: R480+ Nitro @ 1425/2030
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.3 noctua
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P
Memory: 16GB Ripjaw DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DG & Logitech
PSU: 750W Seasonic
Default 05-11-2014, 07:38 | posts: 867 | Location: New Zealand

I see I have FF 30, and haven't noticed the 'firefox is already running' for a while. Not sure when it updated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
CrazY_Milojko
Maha Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX760, R9 270X, GTX970..
Processor: i7-920C0 i7-2600K X5670/5
Mainboard: Asus & GB X58 /Asus Z68
Memory: 24 / 16 / 24 DDR3 1866
Soundcard: int.RealtekHD on all rigs
PSU: Seasonic 620W, Recom 750W
Default 05-12-2014, 13:35 | posts: 1,667 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

I've noticed that FF 29.0.1 starts a bit faster than 28.0 or 29.0. On all of my office rigs (mostly Dual-Cores from 2GHz to 2.5GHz, 2GB RAM, HDD...) FF 29.0.1 (+ some 10 Add-Ons) with WinXP x86 Pro SP3 starts from 1 to 1.5sec faster than FF 29/28. I'm 100% sure it's not a placebo, Mozilla changed something about FF startup for sure...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 05-13-2014, 05:46 | posts: 2,346 | Location: Canada

This information is not a tip.
This information is not an optimization.
This information is about a Hidden Easter Egg in Mozilla Firefox v29 or greater.

http://www.askvg.com/tip-revealing-h...zilla-firefox/

I little bit of fun with the newest version of Firefox.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 05-13-2014, 14:41 | posts: 9,967

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY_Milojko View Post
I've noticed that FF 29.0.1 starts a bit faster than 28.0 or 29.0. On all of my office rigs (mostly Dual-Cores from 2GHz to 2.5GHz, 2GB RAM, HDD...) FF 29.0.1 (+ some 10 Add-Ons) with WinXP x86 Pro SP3 starts from 1 to 1.5sec faster than FF 29/28. I'm 100% sure it's not a placebo, Mozilla changed something about FF startup for sure...
I just noticed it too, noticeably quicker than Palemoon 24.5. The latter is based on older Firefox ESR code though. Still, all improvements in speed and responsiveness are welcome
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 05-15-2014, 13:07 | posts: 11,489 | Location: UK

Mozilla slammed over Firefox DRM scheme

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20.../mozilla-drm/1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 05-15-2014, 13:15 | posts: 9,967

I don't think they had a choice in the matter. Those streaming services aren't even available here so I don't care what they do as long as any crap DRM is not loaded with the browser unless called for. That or back to Palemoon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: JetStream 980 Ti 1400MHz
Processor: i5-2500K 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/X2 Fidelio
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 05-15-2014, 13:37 | posts: 3,600 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Mozilla slammed over Firefox DRM scheme

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20.../mozilla-drm/1
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
I don't think they had a choice in the matter. Those streaming services aren't even available here so I don't care what they do as long as any crap DRM is not loaded with the browser unless called for. That or back to Palemoon.
I agree they have 0 choice in reality, they either implement it or become the only the only browser that can't play these video services.

I'm glad they are making it a option to the user though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
Labyrinth
Ancient Guru
 
Labyrinth's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 290 4GB
Processor: i5 6600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: Kingston 8GB DDR4 @ 2666
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair CS750M
Default 05-15-2014, 17:43 | posts: 4,285 | Location: Cheshire, England

I don't watch any DRM services, BBC iplayer works fine (or did the last time I watched anything)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 05-21-2014, 08:43 | posts: 9,967

I just found out about this add on through a Cnet feature. What do you guys think of it? It seems to be similar to Ghostery but w/o the suspect business practices and based on ABP code. I barely seem to be encountering trackers thanks to Easy Privacy but it's nice to have around I guess.

https://www.eff.org/privacybadger
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-21-2014, 22:20 | posts: 7,459 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
I just found out about this add on through a Cnet feature. What do you guys think of it? It seems to be similar to Ghostery but w/o the suspect business practices and based on ABP code. I barely seem to be encountering trackers thanks to Easy Privacy but it's nice to have around I guess.

https://www.eff.org/privacybadger
That made it on to frontpage news while back it it closed for some reason or other, Personal I still wating for FF to fix the damn Firefox has not closed error, related to firefox Clear on exit option.

RAther annoying happening frequently ever since 29

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Mozilla slammed over Firefox DRM scheme

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20.../mozilla-drm/1
IF that happens i will move to cyberfox or waterfox they both would removed such drm stuff only with the other stuff they already remove.

Or altest one can hope, but seriously browsers are gona start having DRM **** in it that stuff dont work half the time and all it does it windup pissing of the normal users. people that hate DRM have and always will find ways to remove/around it.

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-21-2014 at 22:24.
   
Reply With Quote
FF 30.0 Final Stable released
Old
  (#119)
CrazY_Milojko
Maha Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX760, R9 270X, GTX970..
Processor: i7-920C0 i7-2600K X5670/5
Mainboard: Asus & GB X58 /Asus Z68
Memory: 24 / 16 / 24 DDR3 1866
Soundcard: int.RealtekHD on all rigs
PSU: Seasonic 620W, Recom 750W
Default FF 30.0 Final Stable released - 06-10-2014, 09:47 | posts: 1,667 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

First post updated with FF30.0 Final Stable download link. ATM FF30.0 still is not available via autoupdate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 06-10-2014, 17:25 | posts: 11,489 | Location: UK

Thanks, just checked, and its now available through auto-update
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 06-10-2014, 17:39 | posts: 17,572 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
I just found out about this add on through a Cnet feature. What do you guys think of it? It seems to be similar to Ghostery but w/o the suspect business practices and based on ABP code. I barely seem to be encountering trackers thanks to Easy Privacy but it's nice to have around I guess.

https://www.eff.org/privacybadger
That site makes my brain think its moving, like one of those optical illusion images

Bottom pattern bar looks like its growing when you look at the firefox install logo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
umeng2002
Maha Guru
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
Processor: FX-8320E @ 4.6 GHz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX r1
Memory: DDR3 8GB @ 1600 8-9-8-24
Soundcard: SBz > littleDot > SR80e
PSU: On my 2nd Corsair TX750W
Default 06-22-2014, 10:24 | posts: 861 | Location: Milky Way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
There's a new HTTP Cache that can increase the speed of loading web sites.

Info can be found here:

Speed Up Firefox By Enabling Its New HTTP Cache

http://lifehacker.com/speed-up-firef...che-1570488335

http://lifehacker.com/the-best-about...ter-1442137111
I'm looking into mods like this. I enable color profiles in FF for ALL images. But some p*** forums that have hundreds of thumbnails in a page just chugg like a mofo... especially when I open a new tab with a 6 MP image or multiple tabs with 6 MP images.

I think it's really a thread power issue - happens when one CPU core gets pegged 100%. If FF was multithreaded like Chrome... I wouldn't have issues... Or maybe move to intel for better per core performance...

Last edited by umeng2002; 06-22-2014 at 10:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
CrazY_Milojko
Maha Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX760, R9 270X, GTX970..
Processor: i7-920C0 i7-2600K X5670/5
Mainboard: Asus & GB X58 /Asus Z68
Memory: 24 / 16 / 24 DDR3 1866
Soundcard: int.RealtekHD on all rigs
PSU: Seasonic 620W, Recom 750W
Default 07-22-2014, 15:10 | posts: 1,667 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Firefox 31.0 Final gets released, ATM not available via autoupdate:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...es/31.0/win32/

release notes:
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo.../releasenotes/

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 07-22-2014 at 15:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 07-22-2014, 17:00 | posts: 13,794 | Location: Proxima \/82

Auto update started now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
maur0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: point of view gtx 570 1gb
Processor: core 2 quad Q9550
Mainboard: asus P5G41T-M LX3
Memory: ddr3 8gb gskill 1333 mhz
Soundcard: realtek HD
PSU: 500w
Default 07-23-2014, 21:48 | posts: 668 | Location: curitiba brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY_Milojko View Post
Firefox 31.0 Final gets released, ATM not available via autoupdate:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...es/31.0/win32/

release notes:
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo.../releasenotes/

32-bit is past

now is 64-bit
http://xhmikosr.1f0.de/firefox/firef....installer.exe

and if your computer is slow or low memory RAM
light firefox 64-bit

http://ufpr.dl.sourceforge.net/proje....installer.exe
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
firefox, firefox add-ons, firefox addons, firefox beta, mozilla

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.