Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-18-2011, 15:17 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkaŽl_ View Post
Just a little thing, i'm looking for a GTS450 bios with 1680x105 framebuffer resolution, do someone here got one ?
For bioses look here : http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/i...ace=&memSize=0
But what you mean with that I don't know ? Please do explain ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 04-18-2011, 16:08 | posts: 15,642 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
Drop the memory speed a little to 2200 or even 2150 , , the most gain is in the core/shader speed and the memory is the one that causes the artifacts real quick.
ok, will try that out

EDIT:

well everything is stable @ 950/1900/2200 with 1.062v
ran occt for 1 hour, 0 errors. fan was set to 65%. temps did not exceed 70c
now all i have to do is flash the bios to these settings and i will be a happy boy

thanks for all the help civato

Last edited by PhazeDelta1; 04-18-2011 at 19:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-18-2011, 20:30 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
ok, will try that out

EDIT:

well everything is stable @ 950/1900/2200 with 1.062v
ran occt for 1 hour, 0 errors. fan was set to 65%. temps did not exceed 70c
now all i have to do is flash the bios to these settings and i will be a happy boy

thanks for all the help civato
OK , good that it worked out , enjoy !!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 04-18-2011, 21:36 | posts: 15,642 | Location: USA

hmmm fermi bios editior will not recognize this bios. keeps saying unsupported divice. cant use nibitor either. everything is grayed out even when i rescan the bios
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-18-2011, 22:07 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
hmmm fermi bios editior will not recognize this bios. keeps saying unsupported divice. cant use nibitor either. everything is grayed out even when i rescan the bios
Fermi bios editor only supports up to GTX570 and 580 , newer then this doesn't work.
For the GTX560 ti you need NiBiToR 6.01 or 6.02(it's in the new download package)
With Nibitor you need to go to tab = TOOLS / Fermi clocks or Fermi voltage
If it doesn't work please upload your bios that you want to be edited (with zippy or something else) I will do it for you.

Last edited by civato; 04-18-2011 at 22:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 04-18-2011, 22:47 | posts: 15,642 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
Fermi bios editor only supports up to GTX570 and 580 , newer then this doesn't work.
For the GTX560 ti you need NiBiToR 6.01 or 6.02(it's in the new download package)
With Nibitor you need to go to tab = TOOLS / Fermi clocks or Fermi voltage
If it doesn't work please upload your bios that you want to be edited (with zippy or something else) I will do it for you.
ok im gonna let you mess with this lol. i dont want to brick anything. heres the link to the bios. i also added a note in there for you to check out.
thanks

http://www65.zippyshare.com/v/77263054/file.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-19-2011, 00:08 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Speed and voltage like you want it to be , 950 / 1900 / 2200 @ 1.063V

The fan speed adjustment is not possible with this fan controller , that was only possible at the G92 and 200 series NVIDIA cards.
So you need to make a "Afterburner" fan profile.

PS: the bios you sent me was not good, that is why it wouldn't flash.
I got you a bios that works and same version .
The command is nvflash GTX560.rom

http://www66.zippyshare.com/v/9635663/file.html

This is for your ASUS card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 04-19-2011, 00:22 | posts: 15,642 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
Speed and voltage like you want it to be , 950 / 1900 / 2200 @ 1.063V

The fan speed adjustment is not possible with this fan controller , that was only possible at the G92 and 200 series NVIDIA cards.
So you need to make a "Afterburner" fan profile.

PS: the bios you sent me was not good, that is why it wouldn't flash.
I got you a bios that works and same version .
The command is nvflash GTX560.rom

http://www66.zippyshare.com/v/9635663/file.html

This is for your ASUS card.

flash was a success. everything works like it should now. thanks alot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-19-2011, 00:36 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Good to hear !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
halninekay
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Processor: Core i7 2600K@4.5 /H70
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Extreme 6
Memory: G.Skill/RipjawX/1866 8GB
Soundcard: Build in/ Logitech 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX750W
Default 04-20-2011, 08:09 | posts: 18 | Location: Germany

Thank you for this nice tut. I need to change my clock speeds in IDLE.
I'm new to Nvidia used ATi before and since I have 2 monitors attached to my GTX 580 the clock speeds are running at full speed. I read this is normal for Nvidia cards.

Is there a way to circumvent this?

Advice is very much appreciated!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-20-2011, 14:36 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

When using two monitors or 120Hz monitor it is normal that your GPU runs at full clock speed or at 3D lower speeds.(GTX5... series do have this hardware limitation , it is not driver related)For 120Hz monitors only solution is setting at 110Hz in NVIDIA CP.

Editing BIOS for this is not recomended , it is possible but you will have a lot of stabilty problems.

For multi display's:
There is a solution:
You can use NVIDIA INSPECTOR 1.9.5.5 to solve this.

Download it and install it will show any updates available http://blog.orbmu2k.de/tools/nvidia-inspector-tool

Right click on "Show overclocking" = "Start Multi Display Power Saver"


Last edited by civato; 05-19-2011 at 18:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
halninekay
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Processor: Core i7 2600K@4.5 /H70
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Extreme 6
Memory: G.Skill/RipjawX/1866 8GB
Soundcard: Build in/ Logitech 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX750W
Default 04-21-2011, 10:52 | posts: 18 | Location: Germany

Thank you very much! I was a bit annoyed that the card is running on full speed. Oh by the way I love that site, I have all my gadgets from there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-21-2011, 21:44 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Glad I could help !!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
ArkaŽl_
Newbie
 
Videocard: Twintech GTS450 1024Mo
Processor: Intel E6700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ANTEC TruePower Trio 550
Default 04-27-2011, 18:43 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
For bioses look here : http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/i...ace=&memSize=0
But what you mean with that I don't know ? Please do explain ?
Sorry for this very late answer.
As i won't be able to give satisfying explanations... only good explanation i've found is from wikipedia:

Quote:
A framebuffer is a video output device that drives a video display from a memory buffer containing a complete frame of data.
The information in the memory buffer typically consists of color values for every pixel (point that can be displayed) on the screen. Color values are commonly stored in 1-bit binary (monochrome), 4-bit palettized, 8-bit palettized, 16-bit highcolor and 24-bit truecolor formats. An additional alpha channel is sometimes used to retain information about pixel transparency. The total amount of the memory required to drive the framebuffer depends on the resolution of the output signal, and on the color depth and palette size.
Really usefull in linux... to have a nice splash screen at startup ^^

And Twintech GTS 450 is only able to use a very few framebuffer modes and not 1680x1050...
So i'm looking for another one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-27-2011, 20:12 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkaŽl_ View Post

Really usefull in linux... to have a nice splash screen at startup ^^

.
Sorry m8 , this is out of my league. Try the "Boot settings" in NiBiToR ?
I will try to find more info on this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
ArkaŽl_
Newbie
 
Videocard: Twintech GTS450 1024Mo
Processor: Intel E6700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ANTEC TruePower Trio 550
Default 04-27-2011, 21:14 | posts: 9

allready tried, maybe i missed something but it seems i cannot add framebuffer mode...

Strange cause on my 9800GT i had a native 1680x1050 FB mode, and on this 450GTS, only 4:3 modes available
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-28-2011, 10:20 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Linux Framebuffer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_framebuffer

In Nibitor , "Boot settings" / "More bootoptions" /Force Adapter scaling and Non-Native Panel Control.

Last edited by civato; 04-28-2011 at 10:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
ArkaŽl_
Newbie
 
Videocard: Twintech GTS450 1024Mo
Processor: Intel E6700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ANTEC TruePower Trio 550
Default 04-28-2011, 12:28 | posts: 9

Thank you, i have seen these options... but i'm not sure these ones would help to add framebuffer resolutions / modes.
Maybe i'll give it a try.
   
Reply With Quote
Update
Old
  (#119)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default Update - 04-28-2011, 15:10 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Update of the Flash guide that is in the download package .
More info on the commands and over how to "blind flash"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
pakko
Member Guru
 
pakko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GigabyteGTX580 WindF3 SLI
Processor: Intel 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 DELUXE
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium Champion
PSU: ENERMAX 900W MODU 87+
Default 05-14-2011, 09:42 | posts: 56 | Location: Italy

Hello, i bought a second gigabyte GTX580 Windforce 3x and the new one got a different bios: 70.10.20.00.01 instead of 70.10.17.00.01 that the old one got.

Should i put the new bios on the old card?
I have no problem at all opening the old bios with fermi Bios Editor but i can't open the new one, i got as error "Unsupported Device".. wtf!?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 05-14-2011, 18:49 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakko View Post
Hello, i bought a second gigabyte GTX580 Windforce 3x and the new one got a different bios: 70.10.20.00.01 instead of 70.10.17.00.01 that the old one got.

Should i put the new bios on the old card?
I have no problem at all opening the old bios with fermi Bios Editor but i can't open the new one, i got as error "Unsupported Device".. wtf!?
"Fermi Bios Editor" isn't any more supported.
Use NiBiToR 6.02 or 6.01 that is in the download package.
If you use NiBiToR 6.02 please do a rescan (ADV info tab) , if you don't do this with 6.02 you get red integrity (bug in 6.02).

If the card is working fine there is NO need to flash , remember flashing card is not without danger.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
pakko
Member Guru
 
pakko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GigabyteGTX580 WindF3 SLI
Processor: Intel 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 DELUXE
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium Champion
PSU: ENERMAX 900W MODU 87+
Default 05-15-2011, 13:17 | posts: 56 | Location: Italy

it's not, when i play dx10-11 games, my pc just crash, i had this problem with the old card too, i simply gave to the core just 1 tick more voltage and than no problems anymore.. since i have this problem with this new card too i wanna edit the bios.. that's all!

Last edited by pakko; 05-15-2011 at 13:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 05-15-2011, 19:48 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakko View Post
it's not, when i play dx10-11 games, my pc just crash, i had this problem with the old card too, i simply gave to the core just 1 tick more voltage and than no problems anymore.. since i have this problem with this new card too i wanna edit the bios.. that's all!
Upload the stock bios of the old and new GTX580 and give me the settings that you want (core / voltage /Fan).
Use zippy uploader or something else.
I will edit for you .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
pakko
Member Guru
 
pakko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GigabyteGTX580 WindF3 SLI
Processor: Intel 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 DELUXE
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium Champion
PSU: ENERMAX 900W MODU 87+
Default 05-16-2011, 09:34 | posts: 56 | Location: Italy

Here You are!

I just need the Min fan from 40 to 30% and Core Voltage from ? to 1.025mV.

With Fermi Bios Editor was easy but with Nbitor i prefer to do not risk

Thank You man <3

P.S. if the link don't work, just copy and paste on you browser!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 05-16-2011, 13:18 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakko View Post
Here You are!

I just need the Min fan from 40 to 30% and Core Voltage from ? to 1.025mV.

With Fermi Bios Editor was easy but with Nbitor i prefer to do not risk

Thank You man <3
Ok , done ! fan at 30% min and voltage at 1.025V , Download the modified bios here :http://www38.zippyshare.com/v/67674804/file.html

The command in nvflash is : nvflash 580FV.rom

Please flash both cards with this bios so the new bios 70.10.20.00.01 is on both cards.
If you flash sli system don't use overide flash commands( -4-5-6) , just use the command that I gave you. Both cards got same ID's so there should be no problem !!


-Start up from usb , type in DOS the command .
-Now it will say that it found matched device , flash it by pressing "y".
-After succesfull message it will prompt that it found a other matching device.
Flash it with pressing "y".
-Wait for succesfull message , message no more matching devices will appear, now reboot and you are done.

Or flash each card seperatly !

The bios that you modified on your old card got a yellow integrity. Meaning that data is not correct so that is why you better flash both cards.

"Fermi bios editor" doesn't work with offset voltage values and that is causing the wrong data. Better to use NiBiToR from now on.

Hope this helps you out !

Last edited by civato; 05-16-2011 at 13:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.