Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
obioankenobi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte/GTS450/1GB
Processor: Athlon II X4 640
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler Master 620W
Default 03-27-2011, 17:39 | posts: 7

Hello,

Thanks for all your effort.
This is my BIOS:
http://www61.zippyshare.com/v/25842097/file.html

My version is: 70.06.1F.00.01

I haven't done anything yet. I'm not sure if the bios you posted is the right one.
The VGA board is the one you pointed in your early posts.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 03-27-2011, 19:39 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

I see the board ID is different , so NO you cannot use them , link is removed.
I can mod it but that is up to you .

I also gives a error with fermi bios editor , like it's locked.

I can change fan levels in NiBiToR but it says 30% min and 100% max and not 17% like you say'd.

I think you are better of asking "MKV tech" if you didn't do that already.

It's hard to tell if I don't have the gpu here.
I can perpare some bios version with the same ID's and clocks but the risk is all yours.

Last edited by civato; 03-27-2011 at 19:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 03-27-2011, 20:24 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Here is a BIOS for the GTS450 with modded ID's so it will flash on your card.
All clocks and voltage are the same , fan min is set to 10% and max 90%

Always have a backup of your original BIOS version ready on the same USB.

Command is NVFLASH GTS450F.romhttp://www25.zippyshare.com/v/25085992/file.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
er557
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 1080 sc acx 3.0 sli
Processor: xeon e5 2686 v3 max3.5ghz
Mainboard: msi x99s gaming 7
Memory: 44gb gskill 2133mhz
Soundcard: sb Z
PSU: zalman 1k gvm
Default 03-28-2011, 03:39 | posts: 323

I have a gigabyte gtx 580, and I was wandering to make a bios mod to increase 2d clocks to same as low 3d(as I suspect sometimes in 2d the low clocks cause TDR crashes). Voltages in 2d/low 3d seem the same (setting 0 in nibitor).
So can I just copy the values in clock domains straight from 7 to 3 domain and save/flash?
also can I increase the two voltages in setting 0 and by how much?

Last edited by er557; 03-28-2011 at 03:55.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
obioankenobi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte/GTS450/1GB
Processor: Athlon II X4 640
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler Master 620W
Default 03-28-2011, 06:31 | posts: 7

Thanks for the help. I'll keep that bios close if I decide to flash the card.
In the meantime I'll throw a couple of questions at MVK tech.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 03-28-2011, 12:19 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by er557 View Post
I have a gigabyte gtx 580, and I was wandering to make a bios mod to increase 2d clocks to same as low 3d(as I suspect sometimes in 2d the low clocks cause TDR crashes). Voltages in 2d/low 3d seem the same (setting 0 in nibitor).
So can I just copy the values in clock domains straight from 7 to 3 domain and save/flash?
also can I increase the two voltages in setting 0 and by how much?
What Gigabyte GTX580 , clocks ?

Are you using "performance" setting in NVIDIA cp or "adaptive".

You can copy the setting from 2d to 3Dlow , you don't have to change voltage.
You can raise the 2d voltage to the setting that you want but I don't see the point , I think is 0.96V for the GTX580 so that is enough for 2d and 3Dlow. The GTX590 got a default 3D performance voltage for 608MHz of 0.92V. It's the same chip.

If you plan to do this always have a backup bios ready. It is possible that it won't work , driver not recognizing the card with these settings.

The idle temp will go up a little.
Keep me posted.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 03-28-2011, 12:20 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by obioankenobi View Post
Thanks for the help. I'll keep that bios close if I decide to flash the card.
In the meantime I'll throw a couple of questions at MVK tech.
Don't forget to download the bios I posted , link is removed after a month if not used.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
er557
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 1080 sc acx 3.0 sli
Processor: xeon e5 2686 v3 max3.5ghz
Mainboard: msi x99s gaming 7
Memory: 44gb gskill 2133mhz
Soundcard: sb Z
PSU: zalman 1k gvm
Default 03-28-2011, 18:16 | posts: 323

Success! all flashed according to civato's directions, 2d clocks are now the same as low3d- increased, also 2d\low3d voltage I bumped a bit by one increment- it is now 0.967v instead of 0.955v. Also I raised in mainboard bios the pcie voltage and clock a bit - as people said it might help for stability too.
Ran heaven benchmark- no issues. Will see if the 2d stability for the long run will be good.
BTW, it is a vanilla clocked gtx 580, vga bios also updated to evga rev 03 from rev 01 which the card came with. My power management settings are always set to adaptive. And thanks again civato!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 03-28-2011, 19:05 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by er557 View Post
Success! all flashed according to civato's directions, 2d clocks are now the same as low3d- increased, also 2d\low3d voltage I bumped a bit by one increment- it is now 0.967v instead of 0.955v. Also I raised in mainboard bios the pcie voltage and clock a bit - as people said it might help for stability too.
Ran heaven benchmark- no issues. Will see if the 2d stability for the long run will be good.
BTW, it is a vanilla clocked gtx 580, vga bios also updated to evga rev 03 from rev 01 which the card came with. My power management settings are always set to adaptive. And thanks again civato!
You'r welcome , Good that it worked out !
Enjoy the GTX580 it's a superb gpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Update download package
Old
  (#60)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default Update download package - 04-07-2011, 17:46 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

NiBiToR 6.02 is public so it's included in the download package.
There is one bug in this version and that is that when you open a bios you get a RED or Yellow integrity.
You can solve this by doing a rescan of the bios in the "ADV info" tab , or use the 6.01 version if you don't need these changes .

Changes in this Version (6.02)

Added GeForce GTX 550 Ti
Added GeForce GT 440
Added GeForce GT 330
Added GeForce GT 130
Added GeForce G 100
Added Quadro 600 (Fermi)
Added GeForce GTX 470M
Added GeForce GTS 425M
Added GeForce GTS 350M
Updated GeForce GTX 460M .



Code:
Supported BIOSes:

Nvidia PCI-E 580 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 570 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 560 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 550 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 480 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 470 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 465 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 460 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 450 GTS
Nvidia PCI-E 440 GT

Nvidia PCI-E 330 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 295 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 285 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 280 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 275 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 260 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 250 GTS
Nvidia PCI-E 240 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 230 GT 
Nvidia PCI-E 220 GT 
Nvidia PCI-E 210 GT 
Nvidia PCI-E 140 GT 
Nvidia PCI-E 130 GT 
Nvidia PCI-E 100 G

Nvidia PCI-E 9800 GX2
Nvidia PCI-E 9800 GTX+
Nvidia PCI-E 9800 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 9800 GT (55nm)
Nvidia PCI-E 9800 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 9600 GSO
Nvidia PCI-E 9600 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 9500 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 9500 GS
Nvidia PCI-E 9400 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 9300 GE
Nvidia PCI-E 9300 GS

Nvidia PCI-E 8800 Ultra
Nvidia PCI-E 8800 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 8800 GS
Nvidia PCI-E 8800 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 8800 GTS G92
Nvidia PCI-E 8800 GTS
Nvidia PCI-E 8600 GTS
Nvidia PCI-E 8600 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 8600 GS
Nvidia PCI-E 8500 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 8400 GS

Nvidia PCI-E 7950 GX2
Nvidia PCI-E 7900 GX2
Nvidia PCI-E 7950 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 7900 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 7900 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 7800 GTX
Nvidia PCI-E 7800 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 7800 GS
Nvidia PCI-E 7600 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 7600 GS
Nvidia PCI-E 7300 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 7300 GS
Nvidia PCI-E 7300 LE
Nvidia PCI-E 7300 SE/7200 GS

Nvidia PCI-E 6800 Series GPU
Nvidia PCI-E 6800 GS
Nvidia PCI-E 6800 XT
Nvidia PCI-E 6800
Nvidia PCI-E 6800 XE
Nvidia PCI-E 6800 LE
Nvidia PCI-E 6600 GT
Nvidia PCI-E 6600
Nvidia PCI-E 6610 XL
Nvidia PCI-E 6600 LE
Nvidia PCI-E 6500
Nvidia PCI-E 6200 TC
Nvidia PCI-E 6200 LE
Nvidia PCI-E FX5900
Nvidia PCI-E FX5750
Nvidia PCI-E FX5300

Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX3700
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX600
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX570
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX380
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX3450/4000 SDI
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX4500
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX1700
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX1400
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX1300
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX560
Nvidia PCI-E Quadro FX540

Nvidia AGP 7950 GT
Nvidia AGP 7900 GS
Nvidia AGP 7800 GS
Nvidia AGP 7600 GT
Nvidia AGP 7600 GS
Nvidia AGP 7300 GT
Nvidia AGP 6800 Ultra
Nvidia AGP 6800 GT
Nvidia AGP 6800 GS (BR02)
Nvidia AGP 6800 GS
Nvidia AGP 6800 XT
Nvidia AGP 6800
Nvidia AGP 6800 LE
Nvidia AGP 6600 GT
Nvidia AGP 6600
Nvidia AGP 6600 LE
Nvidia AGP 6600 A- LE
Nvidia AGP 6200
Nvidia AGP FX5950 Ultra
Nvidia AGP FX5900 Ultra
Nvidia AGP FX5900
Nvidia AGP FX5900 XT
Nvidia AGP FX5900 ZT
Nvidia AGP FX5800 Ultra
Nvidia AGP FX5800
Nvidia AGP FX5700 Ultra
Nvidia AGP FX5700
Nvidia AGP FX5700 LE
Nvidia AGP FX5700 VE
Nvidia AGP FX5600 Ultra
Nvidia AGP FX5600
Nvidia AGP FX5600 XT
Nvidia AGP FX5500
Nvidia AGP FX5200 Ultra
Nvidia AGP FX5200
Nvidia AGP FX5100

Nvidia AGP Quadro FX5500
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX4000
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX3400/4400
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX3500
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX3000
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX2000
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX1100
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX1000
Nvidia AGP Quadro FX700

Nvidia C51G 6100

Nvidia 480M GTX
Nvidia 470M GTX
Nvidia 460M GTX
Nvidia 425M GTX
Nvidia 350M GTS
Nvidia 310M GTS
Nvidia 285M GTX
Nvidia 280M GTX
Nvidia 260M GTX
Nvidia 160M GTS
Nvidia 130M GTS
Nvidia 9800M GTX
Nvidia 9800M GTS
Nvidia 9800M GTS 1GB
Nvidia 9800M GT
Nvidia 9800M GS
Nvidia 9700M GT
Nvidia 9650M GT
Nvidia 9650M GS
Nvidia 9600M GT
Nvidia 9600M GS
Nvidia 9500M GS
Nvidia 9300M GS

Nvidia 8800M GTX
Nvidia 8700M GT
Nvidia 8600M GT
Nvidia 8400M GS
Nvidia 8400M
Nvidia 7950 GTX Go
Nvidia 7900 GTX Go
Nvidia 7900 GS Go
Nvidia 7800 GTX Go
Nvidia 7800 Go
Nvidia 7600 Go
Nvidia 7400 Go
Nvidia 7300 Go
Nvidia 7150M
Nvidia 6800 Ultra Go
Nvidia 6800 Go
Nvidia 6600 Go
Nvidia 5600 Go

Nvidia Quadro FX 3800M
Nvidia Quadro FX 3700M
Nvidia Quadro FX 3600M
Nvidia Quadro FX 2500M
Nvidia Quadro FX1600M
Nvidia Quadro FX770M
Nvidia Quadro FX1500 Go
Nvidia Quadro FX1400 Go
Nvidia Quadro FX1000 Go
Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M
I keep the 6.01 version in the download package !!
   
Reply With Quote
change the voltages on the GTX 590
Old
  (#61)
helifax
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX590
Processor: phenom II X4 945
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sirtec 850W
Default change the voltages on the GTX 590 - 04-07-2011, 22:06 | posts: 2

I know the latest version of NiBiTor 6.0.2 doesn't officially support the GTX 590 because some guys fried a lot of these cards.

However I was wondering if I can use the tool to alter the voltages from 0.913 (undervolted atm) to 0.938v (spec voltage). The latest drivers "locked" the voltage to the minimum value.

I opened the rom file with the editor and selected a GTX580 based on the same Fermi GPU 110. It read the voltage values correctly. I saved it with the correct id( integrity was ok). Now I am wondering if I should flash it or not... could the editor mess up my bios file? I don't want to end up with a "no go" card....

Thanks in advance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-08-2011, 13:56 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

NiBiToR 6.03 does support GTX590 , but you need to chipin to get it.

I wouldn't flash the bios that you changed , the ID is different so it is possible that you brick you'r card.

If you ask "MKV tech" they can help you out , only thing they ask to upload your original GTX590 bios.

I got the 6.03 version and it works with the GTX590 that I can confirm.

There are some things I need to check because NVIDIA changed the P levels .
On the GF110 (580 ,570) there are only 3 P levels , the GTX590 got 4 P levels.
Like the GF100 (470 , 480 , 465).

PS: you want a bios that puts the minimum 3D voltage at 0.938V ?

Last edited by civato; 04-08-2011 at 14:11.
   
Reply With Quote
UPDATE GUIDE for the GTX590
Old
  (#63)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default UPDATE GUIDE for the GTX590 - 04-08-2011, 15:52 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Updated the guide for the GTX590 , the PDF file in the download package is also updated with the info of the GTX590.

For the GTX590 NiBiToR 6.03 is needed , this version is not public and NOT included in the download package. When it becomes public I will add it.

If you don't want to wait visit the MKV tech site.

enjoy.......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
helifax
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX590
Processor: phenom II X4 945
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sirtec 850W
Default 04-08-2011, 17:33 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
Updated the guide for the GTX590 , the PDF file in the download package is also updated with the info of the GTX590.

For the GTX590 NiBiToR 6.03 is needed , this version is not public and NOT included in the download package. When it becomes public I will add it.

If you don't want to wait visit the MKV tech site.

enjoy.......
Thanks, but I managed to alter my bios to work at 0.938V using NiBiToR 6.02. All you have to do is keep the ID. The voltage table are the same as those of the GTX 580. In anyone needs proof I can provide. Also be CAREFUL!!! when you OverVolt and OverClock...this is the reason cards BLEW...of "reviewers" who maxed out everything...that was not OC-ing....it was stupid)

Now....again a nice advice: don't get over 0.963 with the voltage (even on water cooling, like myself) even if the maximum officially supported voltage is 1.05V. Also..don't mod the bios to increase the clocks..use a software tool instead.

At the moment I am running the card on this bios ( kept a back-up of the original just in case).

Best regards

Last edited by helifax; 04-10-2011 at 11:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
capchaos
Member Guru
 
Videocard: quad palit gtx 580 on h20
Processor: intel i7 990x @ 4.6
Mainboard: evga 4 way sli e762
Memory: patriot viper ddr3 2000
Soundcard:
PSU: antec 1200w hcp
Default 04-10-2011, 00:20 | posts: 45

when flashing the 590 bios is there 2 separate bios u hve to flash or just 1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-10-2011, 13:53 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

If you are flashing 2 single cards in sli there is no need for different version numbers.
I never flashed X2 GPU single pcb cards so I cannot confirm.
I would think it is not needed , First flash gpu 1 and then NVFLASH will say found match , and flash second gpu.

I did notice that when you save your original bios of the GTX590 you will see that the version numbers are different.

Example: -Version: 70.10.37.00.01 for GPU 1
-Version: 70.10.37.00.02 for GPU 2

So I cannot tell 100%.

Last edited by civato; 04-10-2011 at 13:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
capchaos
Member Guru
 
Videocard: quad palit gtx 580 on h20
Processor: intel i7 990x @ 4.6
Mainboard: evga 4 way sli e762
Memory: patriot viper ddr3 2000
Soundcard:
PSU: antec 1200w hcp
Default 04-11-2011, 01:19 | posts: 45

got it figured out. for the flash to work each version number has to be matched with that gpu b/c one gpu is master and one is the slave . All went good.
Thanks for the response though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-11-2011, 16:56 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Thanks for the info !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 04-11-2011, 23:38 | posts: 12,790 | Location: new jersey

i modded my 580 lighting to 1.21v you guys want to double check i think its ok right?

it would put voltage @1.47v with software not that i'd be dumb enuff to use on air but for ln2.... i sure hope they built it ok

http://download1024.mediafire.com/1c...hting+bios.rom
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
ArkaŽl_
Newbie
 
Videocard: Twintech GTS450 1024Mo
Processor: Intel E6700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ANTEC TruePower Trio 550
Default 04-12-2011, 12:30 | posts: 9

Hi all,

First, thx for this great topic.
As a Linux user, i cannot use software overclocking for my GTS 450 Twintech Fermi GPU Overclock not supported with Coolbits option).
I know this one is GF106, but decided to try all the same...

I overclocked Memory and Shader, but i don't see any instruction about overclocking the GPU itself.
I changed the original clock 783/1566/1800 to something that seems to be easy, so decided to raise Shaders to 1700 and Memory to 1900.
After reboot it seems to work with 850 / 1700 / 1900.

but the question is: Is the GPU clock linked with Shaders clock? It seems possible to overclock the GPU to 900 and maybe more but how without to change other values?

When editing with NiBiTor, i do not see 783 value as default GPU clock... so i don't know if i can change something about the GPU clock it self.

Someone to help or give some informations about this?
Also, what is the bumped shader value? And what is the importance of this one?

thx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-12-2011, 15:36 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
i modded my 580 lighting to 1.21v you guys want to double check i think its ok right?

it would put voltage @1.47v with software not that i'd be dumb enuff to use on air but for ln2.... i sure hope they built it ok

http://download1024.mediafire.com/1c...hting+bios.rom
Yep , seems good m8 , you unlocked it to 1.21V !!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-12-2011, 16:05 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkaŽl_ View Post
Hi all,

First, thx for this great topic.
As a Linux user, i cannot use software overclocking for my GTS 450 Twintech Fermi GPU Overclock not supported with Coolbits option).
I know this one is GF106, but decided to try all the same...

I overclocked Memory and Shader, but i don't see any instruction about overclocking the GPU itself.
I changed the original clock 783/1566/1800 to something that seems to be easy, so decided to raise Shaders to 1700 and Memory to 1900.
After reboot it seems to work with 850 / 1700 / 1900.

but the question is: Is the GPU clock linked with Shaders clock? It seems possible to overclock the GPU to 900 and maybe more but how without to change other values?

When editing with NiBiTor, i do not see 783 value as default GPU clock... so i don't know if i can change something about the GPU clock it self.

Someone to help or give some informations about this?
Also, what is the bumped shader value? And what is the importance of this one?

thx
ALL THE FOLLOWING EXPLAINATION IS FOR THE GTS450

GPU core and shader are linked with Fermi. There is NO way you can unlink them.

So a Shader speed of 1566 = 783MHz core speed.

The bumped shader is important for stability.
The bumped shader is the value in tab 4 and 11 in the P15 level in NiBiToR (Fermi Clock Domain Editor)

Tab 3 in P15 level is the shader speed that you want (default for you is 1566)
Tab 5 in P15 level is memory speed that you want. ( keep in mind that the value you put there is x2 effective data rate , so 1804x2=3608MHz effective)

To know the value of the NEW bumped shader speed (when you change the shader speed) you need to divide the default bumped shader speed by the default shader speed.

Example:1645(default bumped shader speed) : 1566 (default shader speed) = 1,0504(this value we need when we calculate the NEW bumped shader speed)

So in your case: overclocked speed:New shader speed 1700MHz(tab3 in P15 level in NiBiToR)

New Bumped shader speed: 1,0504x1700 = 1785(no numbers behind the comma)(tab 4 and 11 in P15 Level in NiBiToR)

The only values you need to change are located in the P15 Level state , tab 3= Shader speed , tab 4 and 11 = Bumped shader speed and tab 5 memory speed.


Voltage can be modded in the Voltage editor the same as explained in the guide.
Voltage setting 2= is the voltage of the P15 level or the 3D performance clocks.(there are two values , the gpu picks the one that is the best , some use 1V , some use 1.05V depending on the quality of your gpu)
When you overclock up to 850/1700/2000MHz voltage setting of 1V-1.1375V is good.( this is the default setting of every GTS450 fermi gpu running at default speed)

950/1900/2000 voltage setting of 1.0375-1.175V , not recommended if your cooling is not good.

Hope this helped you out.
Don't forget to adjust the bumped shader speed !!!!

Last edited by civato; 04-12-2011 at 16:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
ArkaŽl_
Newbie
 
Videocard: Twintech GTS450 1024Mo
Processor: Intel E6700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ANTEC TruePower Trio 550
Default 04-12-2011, 20:13 | posts: 9

Thx for you answer

What about the first tabs? For me these ones are "1566" do you know what these values are for?
Youy informations confirmed me that what i was doing was right, so i decided to raise freqs a little more

right now the card is running 900 / 1800 / 1950
Temperature is 70 Celsius after 45 minutes of Unigine Heaven windowed Tessel Extreme.

Maybe i'll try to push a lil more, but probably wont change voltages, as i don't think this will give significant boost on this kind of card with stock fan.
But maybe am i wrong?

Also, what kind of test would you recommend to test stability? how long?
I used to test during 1 hour with my 9800GT with same kind of graphic test... but well a long time ago

Last edited by ArkaŽl_; 04-12-2011 at 20:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 04-13-2011, 15:40 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkaŽl_ View Post
Thx for you answer

What about the first tabs? For me these ones are "1566" do you know what these values are for?


Also, what kind of test would you recommend to test stability? how long?
I used to test during 1 hour with my 9800GT with same kind of graphic test... but well a long time ago
The values of first tabs (0 , 1 )are the same as the default shader speed , you can change these to the new shader speed , this sometimes helps for stability.
EVGA does this with almost all of it's factory overclocked cards. Match the values of tab 0 and 1 with tab 3 in the P15 level.

If you get a lot the error "driver stopped responding" this could help make the gpu more stable. But if this is a fact , I could not tell. I'm not using it with latest driver (270.51) and I'm not having any problems.

Always do a reinstall of the driver when you flashed your gpu.


Some say testing with OCCT or furmark , I prefure playing Crysis and Metro2033 for hours .
3DMArk Vantage is also good for me for stability , sometimes games run smooth but put Vantage on for 3 runs and it crashes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
ArkaŽl_
Newbie
 
Videocard: Twintech GTS450 1024Mo
Processor: Intel E6700
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ANTEC TruePower Trio 550
Default 04-13-2011, 20:08 | posts: 9

ok, thank you for these informations.

Quote:
The values of first tabs (0 , 1 )are the same as the default shader speed , you can change these to the new shader speed , this sometimes helps for stability.
EVGA does this with almost all of it's factory overclocked cards. Match the values of tab 0 and 1 with tab 3 in the P15 level.
followed these instructions, andthis is really better! i used to experience some freeze with 900 / 1800 / 2000 on Unigine Heaven... with this and Voltage modifications everything is now running perfectly and with really better performances.

I'll try to play a few hours to see if it crashes, but it seems like Unigine is an heavy test.

Temperature is now 76 degrees, with fan running 55% speed, doesn't seem too hot... am i right?

A thing that seems strange to me, why do i need to reinstall driver after each time i flash the card?

Last edited by ArkaŽl_; 04-13-2011 at 20:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.