Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Pictures Of Folding Farms/Rigs
Old
  (#1)
arcon
Newbie
 
arcon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
Processor: Intel Pentium CPU G6950
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-UD2H
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: be quiet Pure Power 530W
Cool Pictures Of Folding Farms/Rigs - 06-24-2010, 12:36 | posts: 42 | Location: Germany

I am wondering, why we don't have a thread with pictures of our folding rigs (found really impressive pictures of private folding-farms in other team forums)?!

Please when posting pictures, use either:
1) Thumbnails which you can link to pictures
2) URLs which can also be linked to the pictures
The reason is that it will reduce the time taken to load this thread and users with slow/capped internet connections would appreciate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant
Now let me start off by showing you the basics steps for posting images:
  1. Edit your Image to a maximum size of 700*500 Pixel
  2. Upload your image to an FTP (Usually you are provided with one from your ISP) or an Image Hosting provider (http://www.imageshack.us"target="_blank" style="color: #22229c">http://www.imageshack.us)
  3. After uploading your image to an FTP, copy the URL of your Image. Supposedly you are in the Posting window, You can do one of these two ways:
  • A) On the top of your posting text box there will be a little click-able box that says "IMG", a pop-up will appear and you will be asked for the Image URL. Paste the URL into that field and click "OK"
  • B) This step is a bit more code needy but less time consuming for me. While you are in the posting window type [IMG] (Make sure there are no spaces) then Paste the URL of your Image after the code then type [/IMG]
Your Image should successfully be viewable after you have posted your post.
{F@HTL}

Last edited by PantherX; 08-12-2010 at 04:04.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 06-24-2010, 12:52 | posts: 29,498 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Post away ...


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
cyberjunk
Member Guru
 
cyberjunk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 285+EVGA GT 240
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme III
Memory: 6GB OCZ Platium 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX2
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 06-24-2010, 14:31 | posts: 50 | Location: Netherlands

A hell, where did I put my camera


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
arcon
Newbie
 
arcon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
Processor: Intel Pentium CPU G6950
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-UD2H
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: be quiet Pure Power 530W
Default 06-24-2010, 15:39 | posts: 42 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Post away ...
Not in my wildest dreams I would dare to show my pictures before our don did
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970
Processor: I7 3770k @4.8 on EK P240
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: SMSL M3 + HD280
PSU: Corsair HX750w
Default 06-24-2010, 16:56 | posts: 4,227 | Location: Antioch, CA, US

I useto run a folding rig with a 9600gso before I realised it cost me more than world of warcraft per year in power costs...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
.:JeeBus:.
Master Guru
 
.:JeeBus:.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Diamond Raedon HD 6850
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Memory: Mushkin Silverline DDR2
Soundcard: String Cup v2
PSU: Zalman ZM-850
Default 06-24-2010, 17:00 | posts: 507 | Location: 127.0.0.1

My folding rig. Y'know, helping the planet?


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970
Processor: I7 3770k @4.8 on EK P240
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: SMSL M3 + HD280
PSU: Corsair HX750w
Default 06-24-2010, 19:31 | posts: 4,227 | Location: Antioch, CA, US

Quote:
Originally Posted by .:JeeBus:. View Post
My folding rig. Y'know, helping the planet?
I see what you did there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Grillz9909
Newbie
 
Grillz9909's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 5770 1gb
Processor: Core i5 750 @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD65
Memory: 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX / Ath AD700
PSU: Antec TP New 750w
Default 06-25-2010, 05:14 | posts: 31 | Location: Wisconsin

I'll post some pictures of mine tomorrow... I would do it tonight, but I have to clean all the dust out first. My case is pretty disgusting atm .


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Mannerheim
Ancient Guru
 
Mannerheim's Avatar
 
Videocard: nvidia GTX 1070 mobile
Processor: i7 7700HQ
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB DDR4 2400
Soundcard:
PSU: HP
Default 06-25-2010, 11:38 | posts: 4,748 | Location: Finland

My ugly folding rig (updated not so ugly rig)
http://img822.imageshack.us/i/img0026fv.jpg/



Last edited by Mannerheim; 08-01-2010 at 16:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
arcon
Newbie
 
arcon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
Processor: Intel Pentium CPU G6950
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-UD2H
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: be quiet Pure Power 530W
Default 06-25-2010, 17:22 | posts: 42 | Location: Germany

my gpu folding rig and yes there is no cable management

Last edited by arcon; 07-21-2010 at 14:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Grillz9909
Newbie
 
Grillz9909's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 5770 1gb
Processor: Core i5 750 @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD65
Memory: 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX / Ath AD700
PSU: Antec TP New 750w
Default 06-26-2010, 16:29 | posts: 31 | Location: Wisconsin





I plan on buying a cm 840 atcs very soon...


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
.:JeeBus:.
Master Guru
 
.:JeeBus:.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Diamond Raedon HD 6850
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Memory: Mushkin Silverline DDR2
Soundcard: String Cup v2
PSU: Zalman ZM-850
Default 06-27-2010, 01:50 | posts: 507 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Rockin that IDE?


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Grillz9909
Newbie
 
Grillz9909's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 5770 1gb
Processor: Core i5 750 @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD65
Memory: 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX / Ath AD700
PSU: Antec TP New 750w
Default 06-27-2010, 04:59 | posts: 31 | Location: Wisconsin

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Nguyen View Post
Rockin that IDE?

I hooked up that hdd to get my old videos and music, and when I tried to take it out... well I couldn't boot. Turns out I somehow managed to save my boot order onto that IDE hdd (I think it's because I forgot to move the jumper to slave before I plugged it in, but who knows). So now I need to reformat I think, and I've just been too lazy to do it.

/end wall of text


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
jacko36
Newbie
 
jacko36's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX HD5870 xFire
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Foxconn Flaming Blade
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 6gb
Soundcard: Pioneer amp,Bose Speakers
PSU: Seasonic 650w
Default 07-02-2010, 13:58 | posts: 26 | Location: Australia, NSW

Got this this one up and running again tonight after a waterpump failed.
It lives in the bedromm and serves as a folding rig, media player and heater.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Grillz9909
Newbie
 
Grillz9909's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 5770 1gb
Processor: Core i5 750 @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD65
Memory: 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX / Ath AD700
PSU: Antec TP New 750w
Default 07-03-2010, 04:19 | posts: 31 | Location: Wisconsin

Pulled the trigger on the 840






It's definitely a full tower! It's hard to tell from the pics but it has room for two power supplies.



Last edited by Grillz9909; 07-03-2010 at 07:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Post 07-03-2010, 06:00 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

@Mannerheim: it doesn't matter if its ugly as along as the hardware is powerful enough to give a high PPD

@arcon: Have you done any custom modding to your case? I noticed that the CPU is located at the bottom of the case in line with the HDD bay. Usually, the CPU is aligned with the ODD bays and the GPU with the HDD Bays

@jacko36: You are cooling dual CPUs and dual GPUs on a single loop? (I have no experience with LCS so I may be wrong) Is it safe? Also what are the components used in this machine

@Grillz9909: congrats for your new case I noticed that the IDE HDD is missing. You finally got rid of it? Is it a full-tower or a mid-tower?

I do have a few questions:
1) what is the upper limit of the picture resolution that I can post here?
2) What is the maximum number of pictures that I can post here?

Hopefully, I will be cleaning my PC today and posting some pictures here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
jacko36
Newbie
 
jacko36's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX HD5870 xFire
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Foxconn Flaming Blade
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 6gb
Soundcard: Pioneer amp,Bose Speakers
PSU: Seasonic 650w
Default 07-03-2010, 08:11 | posts: 26 | Location: Australia, NSW

hey pantherx,

there's nothing too exciting here, it's actually 2x GPU, 1x NB, 1x CPU

the GPUs are gts250s clocked shaders @ 1856, gpu @ 740, mem @ 1065
they are both running at 48șC and the CPU is an e3200 clocked at 2520mhz and is currently 40șC.

the main reason for the watercooling is it's in my bedroom and needs to be silent.

the pump and CPU waterblock are EK.

the NB and GPU waterblocks are sys cooling, which are basically cheap crap but with a little work perform quite well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
poweracer
Newbie
 
Videocard: 480 GTX dual SLI
Processor: intel i7 930
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair 1000
Default 07-03-2010, 10:00 | posts: 8

My Rig.
My Powerbill is huge because of the folding project.

But who cares it is for science.





   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 07-03-2010, 18:09 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

This is my humble PC that is an almost dedicated folding machine. The Case is a mid-tower and the tool-less design is a pleasure to work with EXCEPT the PCI-E Slot which gave me a headache as my GPU is a dual slot design thus I had to remove it and secure it with screws. To accommodate the Zalman CPU Cooler, I had to remove the side fan.
All my fans are running at 100% including the GPU and CPU
Pictures aren't that detailed as I took it using my camera-phone (8MP) and cropped it:

Thermaltake V9 Black Edition:


My PC OC'ed and 100% Stable:


My system at night: (removed side panel for picture only)


My PC at Night: (front and this is how it is 24/7)

Last edited by PantherX; 07-31-2010 at 14:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
arcon
Newbie
 
arcon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
Processor: Intel Pentium CPU G6950
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-UD2H
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: be quiet Pure Power 530W
Default 07-03-2010, 22:10 | posts: 42 | Location: Germany

@arcon: Have you done any custom modding to your case? I noticed that the CPU is located at the bottom of the case in line with the HDD bay. Usually, the CPU is aligned with the ODD bays and the GPU with the HDD Bays

No custom modding, it is a Lian Li PC-A05NB, I like the design and wanted to try it.



http://www.lian-li.com/v2/tw/flashpage/a05n/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 07-03-2010, 23:09 | posts: 1,716 | Location: uk

this is my folding rig/normal use

http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/7853/img3965k.jpg
http://img576.imageshack.us/img576/2254/img3962.jpg
http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9146/img3961j.jpg


Last edited by iancook221188; 07-31-2010 at 19:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 07-18-2010, 22:57 | posts: 19,965 | Location: US East Coast

Well, I don't have any pictures to post cuz my wife would have me committed for it....but I just started running F@H on the rig in my sig this weekend. I had to stop before cuz I couldn't get temps stable. With my Corsair H50 + GTX460...temps seem to be good for folding....GPU is only hitting 60C, whereas my GTX275 was getting to 86C. Will try to get pics when the wife isn't looking..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 07-19-2010, 11:30 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

@sykozis: Maybe you can try to reduce the Core and Memory Frequencies and see if that reduces the temperatures. F@H is mostly depended on Shaders rather than Core and Memory. Most dedicated folders OC the Shaders to maximum while keeping the Memory and Core at stock or as low as possible while ensuring that it is F@H Stable. YMMV so it is best to experiment with your setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 07-19-2010, 13:01 | posts: 19,965 | Location: US East Coast

My GTX460 is doing better at folding than my GTX275 ever did. Estimated 9.6k PPD on the GTX460...6.5k PPD was the best my GTX275 ever managed.....plus 20C temp drop at idle and load.


GTX460
33-35C idle
60-63C load

GTX275
53-56C idle
80-85C load
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
jacko36
Newbie
 
jacko36's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX HD5870 xFire
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Foxconn Flaming Blade
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 6gb
Soundcard: Pioneer amp,Bose Speakers
PSU: Seasonic 650w
Default 07-19-2010, 14:30 | posts: 26 | Location: Australia, NSW

@sykozis, is your gtx460 the 768MB or the 1GB version.
also, what clock speeds are you running.


   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.