Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 04-29-2008, 21:17 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Aluminium RG6? You guys use the same kinda of cableing over there?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
John
Ancient Guru
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-29-2008, 21:22 | posts: 16,763 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

I've never seen it in a house before, and I've been fiddling with phonelines in quite a few houses over the years. This is originally an old-ish house that's been renovated (my apartment is brand new). But yeah, I guess they must have used it at some point, unless this is something the previous owner of the house did himself, which is likely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 04-29-2008, 21:24 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

ohh, it comes over phone line and not cable... ok...

still aluminum is not very common...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
John
Ancient Guru
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-29-2008, 21:27 | posts: 16,763 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

No, it isn't. Probably a bad job by whoever put it up ages ago, when it didn't matter as analog phones was all it was used for. My landlord who lives on the first floor has had all his wiring re-done, and he said it was crappy. The phoneline I use for DSL belongs to an old lady that lives on the second floor, below me. I use that instead of paying for my own line, quite neat

I have nothing to complain about though. My torrents download at 2 Megabytes/sec. Fast enough. I just want faster upload!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 04-29-2008, 21:32 | posts: 13,736 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

Well at least isp's care over there then.

You have Alu in your line, thats not good for adsl2 from reading about it - never encountered it myself Always had copper.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Oneone
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 280
Processor: Intel Quad core
Mainboard: GIGABYTE
Memory: 4GB Corsair
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Live Gamer!
PSU: Corsair
Default 05-01-2008, 18:36 | posts: 14 | Location: Sweden

ive got 24 / 10 Fiber =)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
squirrel007
Master Guru
 
squirrel007's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480
Processor: AMD FX 9370
Mainboard: AsRock 990fx Extreme4
Memory: G.SKILL Sniper 16GB 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Pro
PSU: Silverstone DA1000 1000W
Default 05-02-2008, 06:24 | posts: 413 | Location: Wisconsin



35 bucks a month, I think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
bLinkZor
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 FTW SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z97
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U7 Sound Card
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 05-03-2008, 00:06 | posts: 1,307 | Location: Las Vegas, NV


Here's my connection, it's not that much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 290X WF3
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 07-05-2008, 01:47 | posts: 8,163 | Location: United Kingdom

I wish virgin media would roll out the 10mb already.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 07-05-2008, 02:08 | posts: 13,049 | Location: Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protocol_48 View Post
I wish virgin media would roll out the 10mb already.
They have, just not in your area.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 290X WF3
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 07-05-2008, 02:25 | posts: 8,163 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatman839 View Post
They have, just not in your area.

You know what I mean.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
p-nut
Master Guru
 
p-nut's Avatar
 
Videocard: Diamond 5870
Processor: Intel i7 875k w/ Hydro50
Mainboard: EVGA P55 SLI
Memory: 4GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750HX
Default 07-05-2008, 02:28 | posts: 647 | Location: San Jose



I'm not even sure if this is right. I just picked the area closest to mines so yeah. Anyways, it's just Comast. 40$ a month about?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
-ToasT-
Maha Guru
 
-ToasT-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard: Onboard 7.1 + Klipsch Pro
PSU: Corsair Pro HX1050
Default 07-05-2008, 08:08 | posts: 2,528 | Location: Washington



Not too bad, that's over wireless G so whatever.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
CommandrX
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-05-2008, 14:14 | posts: n/a

Here is my RR connection...

soon as FiOS is available in my area I be upgrading to it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
midweskid
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-07-2008, 23:09 | posts: n/a



Verizon Fios 20mb/4mb paying 42$ usd

Last edited by midweskid; 07-07-2008 at 23:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Kets mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 07-08-2008, 00:47 | posts: 3,950 | Location: outside the Box...

hy,

i dont know why every single speedtest gets it wrong^^

in real i have cable 6000 @ 870kb/s and an upload of 90kb/s
for about 20,85 euro....(phone and cabelbox tv included^^)

nice deal....

thats the pic^^




greetz BetA
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 Ti
Processor: 6800K@4.1Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock x99 Taichi
Memory: 16GB DDR4
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 07-08-2008, 00:55 | posts: 10,230 | Location: Ireland

heres mine again for anyone who wants a laugh, only costs me the equivalent of $100 a month( 3Mb connection ), lmao


yes, a lovely 7kilobytes upload on my mega cheap 'broadband', im i killer in FPS( if the server was next door lol )

just for consistency's sake heres another run:

Last edited by lmimmfn; 07-08-2008 at 00:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i7-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 07-08-2008, 02:25 | posts: 9,444 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

^^^
That is bad..... and i mean really bad considering the price you pay for it. Is there another alternative or that one is more expensive?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
midweskid
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-08-2008, 02:26 | posts: n/a

Damn 100$ a month for that, where do you live lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
jazziam
Maha Guru
 
jazziam's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 260GTX
Processor: E7200 @ 3.52Ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: DFI Dark Series X38
Memory: Cosiar XMS2 DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Auzentech Xfi Forte
PSU: Kingwin Mach 1 700w
Default 07-08-2008, 10:18 | posts: 1,067 | Location: Great Britain (England)



BT Broadband 8mb 20.00 per month or $40.00

Last edited by jazziam; 07-08-2008 at 10:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
Subaru Swift
Maha Guru
 
Subaru Swift's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1060 Asus 6gb STRIX OC
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.40MHz 1.20v
Mainboard: Asus Z87-DELUXE/DUAL
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Z87-DELUXE/DUAL
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Default 07-08-2008, 12:21 | posts: 959 | Location: UK - Staffordshire \ bromsgrove



UKONLINE, Premier
25 a month

No problems at all ;-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
CommandrX
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-08-2008, 13:55 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by midweskid View Post


Verizon Fios 20mb/4mb paying 42$ usd
See why I want FiOS...your paying $42 for 20/4Mb I'm paying $59 for 15/2Mb. I also see you have better overhead on the bandwidth compared to RR. Damn FiOS can't get here quick enough for me. One good this it is available about 2 miles away so it is getting closer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 Ti
Processor: 6800K@4.1Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock x99 Taichi
Memory: 16GB DDR4
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 07-08-2008, 14:07 | posts: 10,230 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutingwraith View Post
^^^
That is bad..... and i mean really bad considering the price you pay for it. Is there another alternative or that one is more expensive?
i know lol, nope, absolutely 0 alternative in most of Ireland( and none for me unless you go mobile 3G which is even worse ), id say around 95% of the telecoms lines in the country are owned by Eircom which were bought by a Babcock & Brown( an Austrailian investment firm ), they've absolutely no interest in investing in telecoms here so theyre just milking it until effectively nothing works

There are alternatives like cable and other telecoms providers in the largest cites, but not in the town where im living

Its a new phoneline that was installed in February and Eircom just say theres no problem with the line, they dont guarantee any rates, its rate adaptive so there is no problem, lol, not even that but to cancel it costs ~$100

Myself and the missus are moving house just to get working broadband, how messed up is that lol, grrrr
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
midweskid
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-08-2008, 15:57 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by CommandrX View Post
See why I want FiOS...your paying $42 for 20/4Mb I'm paying $59 for 15/2Mb. I also see you have better overhead on the bandwidth compared to RR. Damn FiOS can't get here quick enough for me. One good this it is available about 2 miles away so it is getting closer.
Ya its nice. Before we had earth link service through comcast which was a 6mb/7xx line for about 54$ usd a month. The service was not reliable, we would get random slowdowns and stuff. But the worst part was when we moved and canceled with earthlink they had no communication with comcast for whatever reason, so we were still getting billed even though we had no internet service.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
FE4R
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 4850 512MB
Processor: Phenom II 720 X3
Mainboard: BIOSTAR TA790GX XE AM2+
Memory: 2 x 2048MB PC2 8500
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master 650W
Default 07-08-2008, 16:47 | posts: 539 | Location: Jamaica

15MB download and 1.5MB upload here in Kingston Jamaica.

thats like, 38US a month.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.