Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
John
Ancient Guru
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H²0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H²0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-19-2008, 14:21 | posts: 16,763 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aircool
Damn, poor deprived john lol

Could be noise surrounding the wire, or the modem?

Could try removing the ring wires if they have that kinda phone line setup in norway.
Nah, I've tried what there is to try. I get the connection through a phone line in an apartment below me, as this apartment doesn't have its own line. That's all fine and dandy, but when I was downstairs (old lady) to solder on a wire to lead up to my apartment, I saw the wires, and they were sh*t, to say the least. Could probably obtain some extra speed by putting the modem downstairs in the old ladys apartment, but that means I would have to go down there every time I wanted to reboot it or whatever
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Luvabud
Maha Guru
 
Luvabud's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1060 6GB
Processor: i7 6700k GHz 4.7
Mainboard: GA z170 Gaming K3 F23a
Memory: Corsair 32GB 3200MHz
Soundcard: Creative Z
PSU: Corsair 850
Default 04-19-2008, 14:25 | posts: 918 | Location: Uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psytek View Post
Thanks dude, TBC god damn it, wow there's alot that needs updating.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
x-speed69
Maha Guru
 
x-speed69's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce 980Ti Gaming
Processor: Intel i7-4790K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X
Memory: 16gb Patriot@1666
Soundcard: Asus DXG
PSU: CM M2 850w
Default 04-19-2008, 14:46 | posts: 2,245 | Location: Finland

Downstream Upstream
8128Kbps 928Kbps

42€/month \o/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
tuco
Ancient Guru
 
tuco's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 460's
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xense
PSU: Corsair
Default 04-19-2008, 15:13 | posts: 3,018 | Location: SoL 3



Virgin 20mb.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 04-19-2008, 15:30 | posts: 12,915 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by x-speed69 View Post
Downstream Upstream
8128Kbps 928Kbps

42€/month \o/
24M/1M ADSL2+ 49€/month . I think 7€ premium is worth it.

Last edited by Anarion; 04-19-2008 at 15:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
zinjin
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 04-20-2008, 16:03 | posts: 496 | Location: NOLA area


Cox 15 / 1.5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 04-21-2008, 13:44 | posts: 13,736 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

College wifi:


Ethernet from a while a go:



Bonded ADSL2

Wish it was mine though

Last edited by aircool; 04-21-2008 at 13:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Psytek
Ancient Guru
 
Psytek's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 260 GTX 216 SLI
Processor: Core 2 E5200 @3.36GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5N-T deluxe
Memory: PC2-6400 4GB
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC-166
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 04-21-2008, 14:32 | posts: 3,370 | Location: UK



University WiFi. I can't imagine how fast it'd be if there weren't thousands of people using it right now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
x-speed69
Maha Guru
 
x-speed69's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce 980Ti Gaming
Processor: Intel i7-4790K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X
Memory: 16gb Patriot@1666
Soundcard: Asus DXG
PSU: CM M2 850w
Default 04-21-2008, 16:35 | posts: 2,245 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
24M/1M ADSL2+ 49€/month . I think 7€ premium is worth it.
yes but where i live i can't have that speed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Jordus
Maha Guru
 
Jordus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon X800 PRO / Stock
Processor: Athlon 64 3400+
Mainboard: ASRock Combo Z
Memory: 1024mb (2x512) Mushkin Enhanced
Soundcard: Onboard SoundMAX
PSU:
Default 04-21-2008, 17:46 | posts: 1,134 | Location: Southeast US

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Mannerheim
Ancient Guru
 
Mannerheim's Avatar
 
Videocard: nvidia GTX 1070 mobile
Processor: i7 7700HQ
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB DDR4 2400
Soundcard:
PSU: HP
Default 04-21-2008, 20:30 | posts: 4,748 | Location: Finland

DOWN = 2637 mbps
UP = 414 mbps
(3/512)
30***8364; / month


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
eNgI[n]EeRiNg^
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX275
Processor: Q6600 g0 @ 3,6Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: G.Skill DDR2 4Gb 800mhz
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 04-21-2008, 20:53 | posts: 9 | Location: Barcelona

16mbit/1022kbit fast path off
10mbit/1023kbit fast path on


ISP Jazztel, i pay 35€/month

i'm waiting for my ftth connection to be acivated in 1 month

p.s. i'm spanish...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
Jordus
Maha Guru
 
Jordus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon X800 PRO / Stock
Processor: Athlon 64 3400+
Mainboard: ASRock Combo Z
Memory: 1024mb (2x512) Mushkin Enhanced
Soundcard: Onboard SoundMAX
PSU:
Default 04-22-2008, 01:05 | posts: 1,134 | Location: Southeast US

I knocked my comcast service from 6down/512kup to 3down/256up today.

This gas crunch is KILLING me (i drive a mustang)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 04-22-2008, 02:20 | posts: 17,926 | Location: Coldwells,UK




dnt think scotland will ever upgrade to 20Meg broadband

BT (£30p/m) 8meg DOWN 256kbs UP unlimited downloads

Last edited by DSK; 04-22-2008 at 02:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
vf
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon™
Processor: 3 Intel/ 2 AMD
Mainboard: PS4 1200c
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi/SS Siberia 840
PSU: 165W
Default 04-22-2008, 03:08 | posts: 1,508 | Location: UK

Why are you pinging Dublin... you should be running from Maidenhead or London. To see what your best ping is.

I think you're lucky getting that for Scotland, I use to get 5meg for 5 - 6 month when I moved over to ADSL Max. No more. I wish I never switched. BT took it away from me, and marked my line as a long line. The easiest thing for them to do, to not fix a fault if any. Over 25 BT engineer visits last year, not one could find a fault or wanted to find a fault. Sometimes a 5 minute visit.

Sorry to go off topic, but soon as I see BT anywhere, its sets me off. I have a passion of pure evil hate for them and their incompetence.



I was also being throttled to dial-up speeds with BT.

Even when I left BT, my sync hasn't changed. Fast approaching a year now. Still suffering the problems. BT want nothing to do with it. :/

Also goes to show how bad BT doing what they do, doing what they want, when I asked my ISP to be moved to fixed 2MB ADSL, and so it was done. Granted it took BT a month to do it. With two screw ups.
It was so much better 2MB constantly, obviously because its fixed ADSL and on Fast Path.

All happened before December. 2 months later BT switches me back to ADSL Max in the early hours of the morning without authorization so they can screw with my speeds again, and back on Interleaving that isn't even stabling my line out. Yes, obviously a fault, but once again BT don't want nothing to do with it.

I seriously detest ADSL Max, as BT can screw with the IP profile as they please.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 04-22-2008, 03:27 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

man... thought i was doing well on a 3mb connection...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
John
Ancient Guru
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H²0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H²0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-22-2008, 14:43 | posts: 16,763 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

So we're doing university connections here now? That's cheating! I'll get a screengrab from my uni's OC-192 (or something silly like that) when I get the time
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Psytek
Ancient Guru
 
Psytek's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 260 GTX 216 SLI
Processor: Core 2 E5200 @3.36GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5N-T deluxe
Memory: PC2-6400 4GB
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC-166
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 04-22-2008, 16:23 | posts: 3,370 | Location: UK

Hehe, we have a direct fibre link to nottingham university, if I could get someone there to let me dl a file, the speeds would put us all to shame.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 04-22-2008, 22:30 | posts: 12,915 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by x-speed69 View Post
yes but where i live i can't have that speed
Too bad... They will be offering 100Mbit connections soon here (fibre based thing, not sure what houses can get it though but they are advertising it here).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
SolidBladez
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7950 Boost
Processor: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: Samsung 30nm 8GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: NZXT Hale 90 550W
Default 04-22-2008, 22:36 | posts: 3,716 | Location: CO



This is the computer I'm on atm.

But at home, I get like 1/50 the speed. Thanks Comcast and your fabulous reliablity!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Netgamer
Maha Guru
 
Netgamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6600LE 300/300
Processor: C2D E6550 @ 3.3Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
Memory: 2gigs pc6400 Patriot Extreme 4-4-4
Soundcard: Looking
PSU: COOLMAX V-500 ATX 500W
Default 04-23-2008, 00:33 | posts: 2,096

i thnk this is a double post
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
John Dolan
Maha Guru
 
John Dolan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 780 SLI
Processor: 2600K EK H2o
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: x-fi platinum fatality 7.
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 04-23-2008, 14:17 | posts: 2,248 | Location: uk nottingham

Virgin media 20 mb also digital tv and phone £58 a month
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 04-23-2008, 15:42 | posts: 17,926 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by vf View Post
Why are you pinging Dublin... you should be running from Maidenhead or London. To see what your best ping is.

I think you're lucky getting that for Scotland, I use to get 5meg for 5 - 6 month when I moved over to ADSL Max. No more. I wish I never switched. BT took it away from me, and marked my line as a long line. The easiest thing for them to do, to not fix a fault if any. Over 25 BT engineer visits last year, not one could find a fault or wanted to find a fault. Sometimes a 5 minute visit.

Sorry to go off topic, but soon as I see BT anywhere, its sets me off. I have a passion of pure evil hate for them and their incompetence.



I was also being throttled to dial-up speeds with BT.

Even when I left BT, my sync hasn't changed. Fast approaching a year now. Still suffering the problems. BT want nothing to do with it. :/

Also goes to show how bad BT doing what they do, doing what they want, when I asked my ISP to be moved to fixed 2MB ADSL, and so it was done. Granted it took BT a month to do it. With two screw ups.
It was so much better 2MB constantly, obviously because its fixed ADSL and on Fast Path.

All happened before December. 2 months later BT switches me back to ADSL Max in the early hours of the morning without authorization so they can screw with my speeds again, and back on Interleaving that isn't even stabling my line out. Yes, obviously a fault, but once again BT don't want nothing to do with it.

I seriously detest ADSL Max, as BT can screw with the IP profile as they please.
speedtest recommended dublin for some reason lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 04-23-2008, 15:50 | posts: 13,736 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

ADSL Max is fine, its actually BTw that are problem (make the problem...).

BTw BT Wholesale.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
daveid
Ancient Guru
 
daveid's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8600GTS + 7300GT DDR3 / 7600GS
Processor: Opty 165 @ 2880MHz/3800+ @2700
Mainboard: Lanparty SLI-D/Ultra-D
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum@480/1GB CorsairXMS
Soundcard: onboard sound & external reciever
PSU: Corsair HX520W/Silverstone ST50EF
Default 04-24-2008, 14:51 | posts: 2,780 | Location: BodyMOREMurderville (Baltimore MD)


Comcast Cable, with TV service (and promotional 1 year pricing, not your average three months, I did some talking to the rep for this one). ~$80, for internet alone $22.95, the other fifty or so is for TV and taxes.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.