Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 04-16-2008, 14:56 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

I doubt they***8217;ll sound better than my no opamp-copper wire. Unfortunately I***8217;m lacking the money to verify this statement...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-16-2008, 15:05 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

Yes, that'd really be interesting to know. The specs do sound really nice, shielding should be a really good thing in a PC environment. And I really dig the looks But that price tag is just... *wow*
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 04-16-2008, 15:31 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

Building a shielding for your whole sound card is almost for free and does not only protect the opamp but rather the whole analog section. Such a shielding won***8217;t protect from noise from the soundcard itself but I think the amount of this noise is rather low.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-16-2008, 15:52 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Trouble with this type of shielding is that when it is done incorrectly it can have a negative impact on the sound quality of the card. Keeping the cards operating noise within the shielded area and reflecting it back to the card for induction right back into the card.
All electronics devices radiate EMI, this would just dissipate from the card but if it is shielded it cannot go anywhere except back into the card at random locations. With a shield you are protecting against EMI from the rest of the PC.. It is better to use the shielding medium as a partition, shielding the area of the card instead of wrapping the card in a "blanket" type of shield. Some have great results with shield others not so much...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-17-2008, 07:01 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

When my OPA627 comes this week, what should i notice off hand when compared to the stock opamps?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-17-2008, 09:05 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

@rob: I thought about trying to shield the whole backside of the card or just the opamp "region" of it. I'll have to see if I can get the proper materials for that. If it's not that expensive, it might be worth a try. I would not try to put the whole card in a shield, I guess it would be quite a hassle to get on anyways.

@gen: I think the best way to judge your new purchase would be to listen to your "old" opamps for a little while just before you put in the new ones. You should be able to hear the differences quite fast.
When I put in mine I didn't take the opportunity to demo the older ones again just before the swap. I "liked" the 627s, I really heard the difference just when one of them broke and I had to put in the standard opamp again. It was pretty obvious then
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-17-2008, 14:17 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

Yea I fiqure was a diffents, I tried explaining it to some person on another forum, but they kept on saying . That they all sounded the same and what auzentech had for the info was bs and marketing. Kept trying to make me feel like I wasted 59 dollars, but it didnt work.

I fiqure he was a troll after he didnt care for what i said and still kept on forcing his view on me. plus people wouldnt be buying it if there was no diffents.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-17-2008, 14:26 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

I think it's always hard to explain when it comes to audio gear. Some people hear differences, others don't. Most of the time those differences can't be easily measured like the influence of a new graphics card or CPU.
I think I heard the improvement and so to me it's worth the money. I'd even have my headphones recabled, even though some people think that's just pure voodoo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-17-2008, 15:08 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

Yea I tried my best to explain it to him, hes just stubborn, went like it just a placebo effect.Just said they had some friends over to test his HT system with OPamp and no opamp.They liked it one way and another.But I even said that some people might not hear the differences and others would. I in up giving up, he wasnt worth the hassle any more, as I was trying to explain opamps to another user.

Yea I am still glad I did buy the opamps, I know I will be happy with them. BTW Was the recabling easy for your headphones?

Last edited by GenClaymore; 04-17-2008 at 15:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-17-2008, 15:13 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

I wouldn't want to do the recable myself I'm not a soldering genius and I don't want to break the phones when I take them apart. There seem to be some companies that do it at a reasonable price with a good quality, so that'd be the way to go for me. Changing stuff on the card should be easier, I have a friend that's quite good at soldering and the parts are just in front of you. No plastic covers, hidden screws or anything alike.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
bjorkiii
Newbie
 
Videocard: nvidia one
Processor: dual core thingy
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: prelude opa627au
PSU: 500 watt one
Question 04-17-2008, 16:00 | posts: 9

Could anyone tell me if i would recieve sound if i placed new opamp in back to front would i definately know if i had placed them in wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-17-2008, 16:38 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

Yea, if the 1 on the opamp is upside down from the view of the top of the opamp. because the slot has a notch that pointing up on the prelude. The number 1 is on the top of the opamp.

So from birds eye view you knows where it goes. basicy the 1 should be the area the notch is in. because the holes on the prelude, is going from the top to the bottom on left side. Goes from 1-4 and then the right side starting at the top 5 to 8.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
bjorkiii
Newbie
 
Videocard: nvidia one
Processor: dual core thingy
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: prelude opa627au
PSU: 500 watt one
Default 04-17-2008, 17:25 | posts: 9

Thanks i have just double checked and they seem to be as you said thank god.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-17-2008, 18:14 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

@Gen, the main thing to remember is that audio is subjective. It is further complicated because of gear choices. I hear some guys babel about the Prelude not sounding that good....most of the time they own cheap CL cards or are using onboards.
If a person cannot tell the difference between a cheap CL X-fi and a Prelude I feel sorry for them. Perhaps they should buy some better speakers or perhaps a large BOX of Q-Tips!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-18-2008, 18:47 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

I put my opamp in but i only getting my left side. i even took it out and put it back in again. I know its in the right way because the 1 on the top of the opamp.

Is line with the top left side one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-18-2008, 18:51 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

I've had this two times now with a pre-soldered OPA627 from ebay. Worked nicely first, then the right channel died after a while. The shop exchanged them, now I got the second pair and the right channel died after only half an hour.
I'd say one of those OPA's isn't working right.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-18-2008, 19:42 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

Yea its dead i tried again,be nice if this didnt happen because I liked what I heard. even with one ear. I put back the stock one for now til auzentech gets back for me.

Atleast I see how easy it is to install and uninstall them. had to bent the stock opamp pins back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-18-2008, 19:53 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

when you remove opamps -I use a little steak knife or precision flat screwdriver with a thin point and put the point under the top and pry up very gently and easy just a bit to loosen it, then repeat on the bottom end. If you do it this way you won't bend the pins from prying one side all the way out. Just rock it out easily... works great, If you have no IC puller.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-18-2008, 19:56 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

I used a IC puller that came with a DFI mobo I used to have. I guess I may had used a bit too much force to pull it out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-18-2008, 20:29 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

I'm using a very small screwdriver to lever them out, at least the standard one. I hope I won't have to do that too often anymore... now I'm really considering a partly re-cap, maybe after the re-cable of my headphones This really is something that sucks every penny of of your pocket in no time
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
janderclander14
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-19-2008, 18:06 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAJMI ADNAN View Post
I've mod my Audiotrak Prodigy HD2 with a 100nF metallized polypropylene caps on output coupling capacitor, using solid polymer capacitor on the opamp supply capacitor and using 3x LME49720 opamp. But because my speaker sound is too forward, actually it makes the sounds worse, as everything is 'in my face' experience

I found a new mods on X-Fi Prelude. Try to run the card without any opamp at all! I heard that it sounds better that way

Your Prodigy HD2 uses the AK4396 DAC which is the same DAC as the X-meridian and Prelude. It is a output voltage dac, so it can directly drive low loads without an active output. Potentially, you can bypass the op-amp based output stage briding the opamps sockets (in your case, the 3 sockets). Put a piece of wire between the 1 and 3 pins and the 5 and 7 pins.

If you have an external amp you can give it a try. If the output volume is enough, you will get higher sound quality than any opamp combinations!

Last edited by janderclander14; 04-19-2008 at 18:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-19-2008, 19:54 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

THey snet me a rma forum to send to them for a rma number and its confusing. . I was expecting a number .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-19-2008, 20:18 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

You send in a form to get a number to get the chance to ship it back? Wow... now that's precise
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-19-2008, 22:14 | posts: 5,921 | Location: Southfield,MI

Yea, they used PDF which had me downloading PDF editors heh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
NAJMI ADNAN
Maha Guru
 
NAJMI ADNAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X TriX 4GB
Processor: Core i5 4670K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic SII 620W
Default 04-20-2008, 15:32 | posts: 2,176 | Location: Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by janderclander14 View Post
Your Prodigy HD2 uses the AK4396 DAC which is the same DAC as the X-meridian and Prelude. It is a output voltage dac, so it can directly drive low loads without an active output. Potentially, you can bypass the op-amp based output stage briding the opamps sockets (in your case, the 3 sockets). Put a piece of wire between the 1 and 3 pins and the 5 and 7 pins.

If you have an external amp you can give it a try. If the output volume is enough, you will get higher sound quality than any opamp combinations!
Too bad my soundcard is dead, if not probably I could try it. Beefore its death, I've try bypassed the buffer stage and just use the differential output. It sounds way better that way, more transparent and better separation, not as full and bloated as with buffer

My external DAC running no opamp whatsoever, I liked it more than with opamp (stock is Ti NE5534 and I tried putting LME49720, both of them is not as good as without opamp)

Last edited by NAJMI ADNAN; 04-20-2008 at 15:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.