Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
Romiz
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-30-2009, 23:32 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
Is there any way to control what type of project the Gpu client downloads? I notice a big difference in points depending on the type and would love to figure that out.
You have no change the groups you are getting. But you have change the type.

Here are the 2 changed that will get bigger folds. These are sometimes slow so be warned.

In config. pick the connection tab and tick last one for over 10 meg files.

and / or

In config add this statement to advanced -advmethods

The Standford site notes none of these commands to give faster more stable projects. But less stable ones reward more points if you do them. So try them for a solid week and see if you PPD goes up or down.

This is technical but it will help you understand how the GPUs differ
http://nostasolutions.com/2008/11/03...dia-vs-amdati/

Last edited by Romiz; 02-04-2010 at 00:34.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Athlonite
Maha Guru
 
Athlonite's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro+RX580 8GB OC
Processor: AMD FX8320 / 4200MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Mushkin DDR3-2400MHz
Soundcard: SB XFi Audio PCIe
PSU: SilverStone ST75F-P 750W
Default 12-15-2009, 05:45 | posts: 1,118 | Location: Hawkes Bay

ok i have a weird problem it's that when i start up F@H gpu my ati hd2600xt reports itself as only having 80 unified shaders but when F@H isn't running it reports 120 unified shaders err ??WTF?? why is it doin that
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
Athlonite
Maha Guru
 
Athlonite's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro+RX580 8GB OC
Processor: AMD FX8320 / 4200MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Mushkin DDR3-2400MHz
Soundcard: SB XFi Audio PCIe
PSU: SilverStone ST75F-P 750W
Default 12-24-2009, 01:42 | posts: 1,118 | Location: Hawkes Bay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Athlonite View Post
ok i have a weird problem it's that when i start up F@H gpu my ati hd2600xt reports itself as only having 80 unified shaders but when F@H isn't running it reports 120 unified shaders err ??WTF?? why is it doin that
Problem solved bought and installed HIS HD5770 1GB going very well did 3 WU's in 9hrs im now upto the 7k and 17WU woohoo

well i think i figured why the strange unified shaders count on the HD2600XT twood seem that not all shader's are equal ie not all of the 120 shader's are capable of doing the sorts of computing that are required by F@H so some don't get used or get combined with others to form the 80 shaders reported by everest 5.3 whilst running F@H

Last edited by Athlonite; 01-10-2010 at 02:49. Reason: possible answer to own question
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 02-03-2010, 05:30 | posts: 1,254 | Location: Iowa

HEY!

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...hp?s=&u=352115


How can someone have 4,523 wu's credit and have no score?

Last edited by must_kill_ati; 02-03-2010 at 21:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
Romiz
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2010, 23:48 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
HEY!

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...hp?s=&u=352115


How can someone have 4,523 wu's credit and have no score?
Good question since official site also shows no score but a PPD. I would have to believe there was a database error since 2008 and his score was removed.

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...rname=Momba121

Last edited by Romiz; 02-03-2010 at 23:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Romiz
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-04-2010, 00:02 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Athlonite View Post
Problem solved bought and installed HIS HD5770 1GB going very well did 3 WU's in 9hrs im now upto the 7k and 17WU woohoo

well i think i figured why the strange unified shaders count on the HD2600XT twood seem that not all shader's are equal ie not all of the 120 shader's are capable of doing the sorts of computing that are required by F@H so some don't get used or get combined with others to form the 80 shaders reported by everest 5.3 whilst running F@H

Been looking at ATI streams and Nvidia shaders and it look like 10 ati stream shaders = 1 of nvidia's. It is sort of like comparing apples to oranges they both do the job not nothing alike. Or something known as patents that made ATI/AMD make shaders totally different.

Compare my card has 64 shaders and the ATI = card 4770 has 640. It also looks like 40 streams you get getting dropped are used for maybe error correction in the ATI cards. Not 100% sure without digging deep into how a ATI/AMD shader stream does its math.

Last edited by Romiz; 02-04-2010 at 00:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
tanner2
Newbie
 
Videocard: bfg gtx 260 512k
Processor: i3 530@3.7
Mainboard: p7h55-m pro asus
Memory: ocz 1600 ddr3 platinum
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: ocz 500w
Default 04-14-2010, 02:58 | posts: 4 | Location: burnsville,mn

HEY!

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...hp?s=&u=352115


How can someone have 4,523 wu's credit and have no score?

I read that there was some kind of cheating and stanford zero'd those people
What does Folding@home do about illegal installations?

We have taken swift action against illegal installations (such as Jethroted and Dales Kid) and are prepared for immediate action in case of other similar infractions. See below for 3rd party uninstallers.

We have remotely terminated any further calculations for these clients so they will no longer use any significant CPU time or bandwidth. In addition, these accounts have been zeroed, no more points will be added, and investigations are on going. One cannot stop someone from installing software in an illegal fashion, but we can and have removed all incentives to do so and are investigating additional prosecution of the offenders.

Last edited by tanner2; 04-18-2010 at 13:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
sambo60
Newbie
 
Videocard: CrossfireX 2x 1GB HD4870s
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.4ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo LGA775
Memory: A-Data 4GB (2x 2GB) DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: Toughpower 750 Watt
Default 05-28-2010, 04:00 | posts: 10 | Location: Los Angeles/New York

Hi guys,
I've been folding on my HD4870 for a few months under the name sambo60. I recently acquired another HD4870, and they work great in crossfire. I tried following the instructions in order to get another instance of the client working on the other card, but I can't get it to work right.
I'm running Windows 7 (64 bit).
I tried disabling crossfire and extending my desktop to a nonexistent screen, but when I start the second client, it crashes after a couple seconds saying "folding@home has run into a serious error running the core and will shutdown." Also, when I extend the screen it's annoying because it adds extra nonexistent space to one side of my screen. Is there a way to make windows aware of the second GPU without extending the screen, or any way of folding on both gpus with crossfire enabled? If I don't extend the screen, the client won't run at all. I'm pretty sure I've followed all of the instructions perfectly, and I would really like this to work. Any ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
Moonkin
Newbie
 
Moonkin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 780Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7 6800K
Mainboard: ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: DDR4 / 64GB Crucial
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 06-03-2010, 22:25 | posts: 41 | Location: Sweden

Hello! Moonkin here again I think i finally found a guide that was easy enough to follow, on how to setup for a multi-gpu card/cards. But my current problem is, is there any other way to fool the system, then to use a vga dummy? I sure dont have the equipment needed for that im affraid, and i do not have a second monitor either. I am using the systray clients if anyone is wondering btw.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 06-03-2010, 22:32 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

You can use SLI Bridge and that way no need to be bothered with the dummy plug. If you monitor has dual input, you can use it. You may want to read this Guide that I have written: (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=322535) If you have any problems, post it in the thread and hopefully, it will be answered.

FYI, installation of Console Version is much easier than Systray.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
Moonkin
Newbie
 
Moonkin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 780Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7 6800K
Mainboard: ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: DDR4 / 64GB Crucial
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 06-03-2010, 22:38 | posts: 41 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherX View Post
You can use SLI Bridge and that way no need to be bothered with the dummy plug. If you monitor has dual input, you can use it. You may want to read this Guide that I have written: (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=322535) If you have any problems, post it in the thread and hopefully, it will be answered.

FYI, installation of Console Version is much easier than Systray.
Thx for the fast awnser, but if i remember correctly didnt i need to have password? (login) on my copy of windows for that to work?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 06-03-2010, 22:41 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

Not for the GPU3 BETA Client or the GPU2 Client or the Classic Client.
The password requirement is only for SMP2 Client but in the future it too will be removed as MPICH will be dropped.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
Athlonite
Maha Guru
 
Athlonite's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro+RX580 8GB OC
Processor: AMD FX8320 / 4200MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Mushkin DDR3-2400MHz
Soundcard: SB XFi Audio PCIe
PSU: SilverStone ST75F-P 750W
Default 06-07-2010, 02:02 | posts: 1,118 | Location: Hawkes Bay

so is that an SMP3 openCL hint there PantherX as far as i know MPICH is the only smp client usable in win 7 x64
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 06-07-2010, 02:15 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

Not sure about the OpenCL, but AFAIK, there is a new Client SMP Client which will only be using the a3 Core and not a1 or a2 so it will not be using the MPICH, hence the installation will be much simpler and hopefully, more people will be able to run the SMP Client.

I have read that the new SMP Client is in early testing stage but I can't verify if it is true or not. Hopefully this will happen soon after the GPU3 Client is out of BETA Stage. AFAIK, isn't OpenCL exclusive to GPUs?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
arcon
Newbie
 
arcon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
Processor: Intel Pentium CPU G6950
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-UD2H
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: be quiet Pure Power 530W
Default 06-25-2010, 15:35 | posts: 42 | Location: Germany

I was looking for a simple gadget to observe (e.g. fine tuning the rotational speed of the fans) my folding systems (Win 7) and found this:

http://blog.orbmu2k.de/

GPU Observer Sidebar Gadget


Intel Core Series Sidebar Gadget


Perhaps it is interesting for you, too

Last edited by arcon; 06-25-2010 at 15:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 06-25-2010, 16:27 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

Thanks a lot for sharing this useful link arcon.Personally I have been using this on my system:


Sourcehttp://taskbarmeters.codeplex.com/)

So far it works great as I have pinned it to my taskbar.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
arcon
Newbie
 
arcon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
Processor: Intel Pentium CPU G6950
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-UD2H
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: be quiet Pure Power 530W
Default 07-10-2010, 11:46 | posts: 42 | Location: Germany

If you really like stats

http://www.hardfolding.com/fh_stats/...101&tnum=69411

http://kakaostats.com/tsum.php?t=69411

http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?p...fah&team=69411

http://www.xcpus.com/folding/Folding...D=69411&page=1

Edit:

07.07.10 Folding @ Home: publication of new results and alpha test of a new client version

http://translate.google.de/translate...home%2FNews%2F

original in german:
http://www.pcgameshardware.de/aid,76...-at-home/News/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 07-11-2010, 08:10 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

Thanks arcon, I will be including them in the Guide when I will be modifying it for the v7 Client which will hopefully be released for Open Public BETA within 2 months so less if no major bugs are found
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
arcon
Newbie
 
arcon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
Processor: Intel Pentium CPU G6950
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-UD2H
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: be quiet Pure Power 530W
Default 07-13-2010, 23:12 | posts: 42 | Location: Germany

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

Windows XP/2003/Vista/7 GPU3 (required for Fermi) System tray client with special viewer for NVIDIA GPU's (installer msi).

v6.32

Released: 2010-7-13


------------

SMP deadline changes

Following an internal discussion, the Pande Group has decided to lengthen the deadlines for non-bigadv SMP units. The new deadlines are:

* Preferred Deadline: 6x the time to completion on the i5 benchmark machine
* Final Deadline: 10x the time to completion on the i5 benchmark machine


Projects 6701 and 6702 will have their preferred deadlines extended to fit the new model for all units issued under the new system. The final deadline will remain the same so as not to change the K factor. No other currently issued projects will be retroactively modified to the new system.

Bigadv work units will continue to use the previous, tighter deadlines. They are specifically designed for fast completion and so the Pande Group would prefer that any machines which are marginal for bigadv, fold standard SMP units instead.

Source: http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=15237

Last edited by arcon; 07-13-2010 at 23:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
in2ition
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 460GTX 1GB OC
Processor: I5 750 2.66 + Megahalems
Mainboard: Asrock P55 PRO
Memory: 2*2GB 1333mhz kingston
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax 525 modu82+
Default 11-08-2010, 18:04 | posts: 41 | Location: Romania

Hello. I'm new in folding and I have some questions:
My gpu shows ~ 13500PPD and finishes a WU ~ 900 points in about 2 hours.
My cpu shows ~ 253PPD and finishes a WU ~ 210 points in about 10 hours. What's wrong with my cpu and how do I fix it. I tried with different clients but the result is the same.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 11-08-2010, 18:31 | posts: 1,716 | Location: uk

hello in2ition your gpu seem to be working as it should
your cpu is a bit on the low side by the look of thinks you are running the classic clinet work unit, you will need to add a flag to your shotcut called -smpX X be the amount of core you want it to run on. rember that cpu and gpu work on different clinet and work unit so conparing TPFs (time per framp) of the work unit out of a 100% will not tell you the hole story can i ask witch montioring sofware you are using aswell?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 11-08-2010, 19:26 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

If you are considering the SMP2 Client as iancook221188 suggested, here are some installation guides:

Detailed Guide For Console Version (Windows): <Click>
Pictorial Guide For Console Version (Windows): <Click>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
in2ition
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 460GTX 1GB OC
Processor: I5 750 2.66 + Megahalems
Mainboard: Asrock P55 PRO
Memory: 2*2GB 1333mhz kingston
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax 525 modu82+
Default 11-09-2010, 05:59 | posts: 41 | Location: Romania

Thanks. I use FAHMon for monitorising.

The gpu is doing the same 264 FS_coil for 5 WU. It's normal?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 11-09-2010, 10:09 | posts: 1,716 | Location: uk

hey in2ition ok a better monitoring is HFM.net http://code.google.com/p/hfm-net/dow...1.zip&can=2&q=
it just give more info and is update more often

264 FS_coil??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Core i7-6700K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ROG Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: 32 GiB @ DDR4-2,667
Soundcard: ASUS Maximus VIII Formula
PSU: SilverStone 850
Default 11-09-2010, 15:11 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Earth

Hey in2ition, we don't refer to WU like that, if you view your FAHlog, you will see this:

[01:50:15] Project: 11223 (Run 0, Clone 16, Gen 35) -> Report this
[01:50:15]
[01:50:15] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[01:50:15] Entering M.D.
[01:50:21] Tpr hash work/wudata_03.tpr: 2174561757 3651667538 2218492815 3168046702 1675577663
[01:50:21] Working on 264 Fs_coil -> Doesn't mean much

Also we need the following (FahMon/HFM.NET shows it)
TPF
PPD
PRCG -> Project Run Clone Gen
With the Project number and PPD, we can tell if the GPU is within the normal range or not. TPF also helps us in certain cases.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
faq, folding, guide, guru3d, information

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.