Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 1080 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i7-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 04-29-2007, 17:37 | posts: 9,445 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
We are starting to see some results: http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=69411

It seems that their login server (or something like that) has some problems because it can not connect to assignment server. BTW, it did that work unit in about one and a half hour (if that shows it right).

This is interesting....i have let folding home run for a whole night on my laptop and still nothing much has happened.

Also why there are very few members there on the list.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 04-29-2007, 17:58 | posts: 12,913 | Location: Finland

They are slow updating. I am little surprised about results since I have run GPU client about only 2-3H max and still got pretty good results. I have not been able to do any folding after 2 PM because their assignment server has troubles.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 380 4gb
Processor: Intel 6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A M5
Memory: HyperX 4*4gb 2666Mhz
Soundcard: UA-55
PSU: Seasonic G650
Default 04-29-2007, 18:09 | posts: 11,487 | Location: Finland

Joined. My pc would do much, no much cpu power, not much pc turned on, but I'm with you guys
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Kow
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Radeon HD 5850
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Memory: OCZ DDR3 4gb
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 750W
Default 04-29-2007, 18:36 | posts: 1,461 | Location: Twin Cities, MN, USA

If you use the default settings Folding@Home runs at the lowest CPU Priority. This means when you run games or basically any software which runs at normal priority it will take precedence over Folding@Home, so you should notice NO performance drop whatsoever. If you run F@H as a service you should never know that it is running. I'm not sure about the GUI version but it is probably just a frontend to monitor the service, so it can probably be closed without affecting F@H.

Hilbert: this may be something you want to add to Guru's Folding@Home page because I'm sure many will be wondering if it will hinder the computer's performance.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
dfwny
Ancient Guru
 
dfwny's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX280 SSC Ed. 1GB
Processor: Intel Q9450 Quad
Mainboard: EVGA 750SLI FTW
Memory: 4 GB OCZ Platinum
Soundcard: Onboard :(
PSU: Antec 550W
Default 04-29-2007, 21:46 | posts: 3,055 | Location: California

I found that a restart of your computer after installing the client will usually get you connected to the server and folding.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Nagasaki
Banned
 
Videocard: POV 9600GT 512MB DDR3
Processor: E3200 Celeron DC @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP41-UD3L
Memory: 2GB DDR2 800Mhz
Soundcard: On Board HD Audio
PSU: 500W OEM
Default 04-29-2007, 23:54 | posts: 1,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Also joined

i used to do the SETI one but... well.. err.. yeah anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
Cadoam
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 6520g & HD 6650m
Processor: A6-3400M 2-2.6ghz1-1.13V
Mainboard:
Memory: 2x2gb 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek/Altec Lansing
PSU: battery/laptop
Default 04-30-2007, 05:38 | posts: 949 | Location: Oregon

Was doing this ALOT a few months ago, then my computer gimped, reformatted, and just never installed it... now i'll do it in the name of Guru3d!

PS. I've tried the GPU client at one time, and when I tried it, it seemd buggy and didn't show how many packet things were done.. so i'll stick to the CPU one for now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Finchwizard
Don Apple
 
Finchwizard's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 04-30-2007, 10:43 | posts: 16,441 | Location: Locked in Guru3D Server Room. Help!

Got 3 machines up and running, or at least trying to atm.

2 Dual CPU servers and home machine. Might start my work laptop up too.

All I get is this though.

Quote:
[09:51:44] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[09:51:44] Work Unit has an invalid address.
[09:51:44] - Error: Attempt #5 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 04-30-2007, 10:47 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

i got mine working fine now, had to open up port 8080 on my router.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Finchwizard
Don Apple
 
Finchwizard's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 04-30-2007, 10:52 | posts: 16,441 | Location: Locked in Guru3D Server Room. Help!

Tried opening port, still no luck, weird.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
Nagasaki
Banned
 
Videocard: POV 9600GT 512MB DDR3
Processor: E3200 Celeron DC @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP41-UD3L
Memory: 2GB DDR2 800Mhz
Soundcard: On Board HD Audio
PSU: 500W OEM
Default 04-30-2007, 10:55 | posts: 1,113 | Location: United Kingdom

this is going to take a while lol... its been on for 9 hours and its got to 3/250

....

tick tock tick tock tick tock...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Chud Hammer
Master Guru
 
Chud Hammer's Avatar
 
Videocard: His IceQ HD3870XT
Processor: C2D E8400 @ 3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: 2GB Geil Ultra 800mhz @ 1066
Soundcard: X-Fi XMusic
PSU: Hiper 525W
Default 04-30-2007, 12:25 | posts: 196 | Location: Wales

Quote:
Originally Posted by morbias View Post

holy crapola, August 9th 2007 here... Would've thought they'd make the chunks a little smaller tbh
Currently Running a pair of Climateprediction.net simulations, dude - 2570hrs to go...325hrs in @ 8%.
Will also start running the gpu folding@home client thankyou please
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-30-2007, 14:53 | posts: 29,510 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finchwizard View Post
Tried opening port, still no luck, weird.
I think there was an issue at Standford IT, for me it just kicked back in.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
eat@joes
Maha Guru
 
eat@joes's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD 6850
Processor: intel core i5 3570K
Mainboard: asus p8z77-i deluxe
Memory: 8GB corsair vengeance
Soundcard: realtec
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 04-30-2007, 17:02 | posts: 1,031 | Location: Nottingham, MD

I'm going to run it 24/7 on my htpc.

EDIT: It's an Athlon64 3000+ ...and as far as Media Center is concerned, it can have all of it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
fearsjohn
Maha Guru
 
fearsjohn's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga 1060
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: Asrock z97 extreme 6
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: klipsh pro 2.1 speakers
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 04-30-2007, 18:50 | posts: 1,291 | Location: Lost

just to let everyone know on my cpu it takes about 30 mins once you download a protein before it will give you an accurate time of completion. when it starts it gives some high number but then it comes down it takes me about 2-3 days for a protein to complete.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
iako
Maha Guru
 
iako's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 LIGHTNING
Processor: Intel Ci7 920 @ 3.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
Memory: 12GB Corsair 1600 777.20
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS Plat
PSU: TT Tough Power 850W
Default 04-30-2007, 19:45 | posts: 2,072 | Location: London / Athens / New-York / Beirut

Quote:
Originally Posted by fearsjohn View Post
just to let everyone know on my cpu it takes about 30 mins once you download a protein before it will give you an accurate time of completion. when it starts it gives some high number but then it comes down it takes me about 2-3 days for a protein to complete.
All the first estimates when you start running folding@home.. (even to continue an already started WU) are way out, until the first new frame is completed. The estimates then become more accurate once it has the info on how fast each frame can be completed by your CPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Unreal_br
Master Guru
 
Unreal_br's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660ti SC 2GB
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Z97 Sabertooth
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600 G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair GS600
Default 04-30-2007, 19:54 | posts: 295 | Location: São Paulo/ Brazil

I'm joining it!
Gonna grab it as soon as i arrive home!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Satan
Ancient Guru
 
Satan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 1080 GTX Founders
Processor: Intel Core i7-6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170-E
Memory: 64GB G.Skill DDR4
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD et al.
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova G2
Default 04-30-2007, 20:05 | posts: 6,685 | Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

Running now!

First computer to fold for Guru3D in our household is the 740M desktop replacement lappy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
Don Rockard
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX/TR HR-03 Plus
Processor: Intel E6600/TR Ultra-120 eXtreme
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 680i SLI
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2x1gb pc8500 HyperX
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Gamer/Sennheiser PC161
PSU: ThermalTake Toughpower 750w
Default 04-30-2007, 20:58 | posts: 532 | Location: Beneath sea level

Well, this is so nice.
I just joined. What is the purpose again?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Don Rockard
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX/TR HR-03 Plus
Processor: Intel E6600/TR Ultra-120 eXtreme
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 680i SLI
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2x1gb pc8500 HyperX
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Gamer/Sennheiser PC161
PSU: ThermalTake Toughpower 750w
Default 04-30-2007, 21:01 | posts: 532 | Location: Beneath sea level

Well, this is so nice.
I just joined. What is the purpose again??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
iako
Maha Guru
 
iako's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 LIGHTNING
Processor: Intel Ci7 920 @ 3.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
Memory: 12GB Corsair 1600 777.20
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS Plat
PSU: TT Tough Power 850W
Default 04-30-2007, 21:02 | posts: 2,072 | Location: London / Athens / New-York / Beirut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Rockard View Post
Well, this is so nice.
I just joined. What is the purpose again?
Folding@Home
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 04-30-2007, 21:03 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

researching the behavior of different proteins to better understand and possibly find a cure for things like alzheimer and cancer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Don Rockard
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX/TR HR-03 Plus
Processor: Intel E6600/TR Ultra-120 eXtreme
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 680i SLI
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2x1gb pc8500 HyperX
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Gamer/Sennheiser PC161
PSU: ThermalTake Toughpower 750w
Default 04-30-2007, 21:04 | posts: 532 | Location: Beneath sea level

Well, this is so nice.
I just joined. What is the purpose again???

(Just something from my life: my gran did this. Not online though. That's why I'm happy to join)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Don Rockard
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX/TR HR-03 Plus
Processor: Intel E6600/TR Ultra-120 eXtreme
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 680i SLI
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2x1gb pc8500 HyperX
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Gamer/Sennheiser PC161
PSU: ThermalTake Toughpower 750w
Default 04-30-2007, 21:09 | posts: 532 | Location: Beneath sea level

lol, thanks kwak and iako....that was aquick response!

It wasn't all bad for her though. She would love the view from our highrise every five minutes all over again

Last edited by Don Rockard; 04-30-2007 at 21:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Satan
Ancient Guru
 
Satan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 1080 GTX Founders
Processor: Intel Core i7-6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170-E
Memory: 64GB G.Skill DDR4
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD et al.
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova G2
Default 04-30-2007, 21:10 | posts: 6,685 | Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

Yeah, it's a fun program for CPU stress too

No way better to run up the Electricity Bill!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
folding, guru3d

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.